• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

I need help flashing new vbios, mobile 1080

Jen1

New Member
Joined
May 7, 2020
Messages
9 (0.02/day)
I have MSI GT83vr with 2 NVIDIA Cards 1080 with SLI, Everything is fine, until I had a HDMI issue with Samsung TV, this issue is for sure according to bugs in Driver/VBios or it could be the bios for the laptop.

I already have the latest bios, and in contact with NVIDIA costumer care to address if it is a bug driver which I believe, any how I am thinking flashing new vbios esp nvidia has released Firmware to fix HDMI issue before.

My bios is this one https://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/197477/197477

Code:
Sign-On Message       : GP104 E2915 SKU 10 VGA BIOS
Build GUID            : 00000000000000000000000000000000
IFR Subsystem ID      : 1462-11FF
Subsystem Vendor ID   : 0x1462
Subsystem ID          : 0x11FF
Version               : 86.04.31.00.03
Image Hash            : 89CF095620DCC0F53EFDA29EFD28E80E
Product Name          : GP104 Board
Device Name(s)        : GeForce GTX 1080
Board ID              : 0xED0E
Vendor ID             : 0x10DE
Device ID             : 0x1BA0
Hierarchy ID          : Normal Board
Chip SKU              : 750-0
Project               : 2915-0010
Build Date            : 07/22/16
Modification Date     : 07/25/16
UEFI Version          : 0x30003
UEFI Variant ID       : 0x0000000000000007 ( GP1xx )
UEFI Signer(s)        : Microsoft Corporation UEFI CA 2011
XUSB-FW Version ID    : N/A
XUSB-FW Build Time    : N/A
InfoROM Version       : G001.0000.01.03
InfoROM Backup        : Not Present
License Placeholder   : Not Present
GPU Mode              : N/A

I am trying to flash this one https://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/216837/216837

Code:
Sign-On Message       : GP104 E2915 SKU 10 VGA BIOS
Build GUID            : 00000000000000000000000000000000
IFR Subsystem ID      : 1CF6-1BA0
Subsystem Vendor ID   : 0x1CF6
Subsystem ID          : 0x1BA0
Version               : 86.04.39.00.00
Image Hash            : 7CD2104D306DE5060EC11C1BE65D64B4
Product Name          : GP104 Board
Device Name(s)        : GeForce GTX 1080
Board ID              : 0xED0E
Vendor ID             : 0x10DE
Device ID             : 0x1BA0
Hierarchy ID          : Normal Board
Chip SKU              : 750-0
Project               : 2915-0010
Build Date            : 08/05/16
Modification Date     : 08/23/17
UEFI Version          : 0x30004
UEFI Variant ID       : 0x0000000000000007 ( GP1xx )
UEFI Signer(s)        : Microsoft Corporation UEFI CA 2011
XUSB-FW Version ID    : N/A
XUSB-FW Build Time    : N/A
InfoROM Version       : G001.0000.01.03
InfoROM Backup        : Not Present
License Placeholder   : Not Present
GPU Mode              : N/A


The only difference is the subsystem ID, when I did a compare using winhex, they are almost have the same bits, esp in every beginning and ending, then it will differ sometimes by shifting, of course there are lots of bits has been changed,

When I do the -k I get this error

Code:
NVIDIA Firmware Update Utility (Version 5.590.0)
Copyright (C) 1993-2019, NVIDIA Corporation. All rights reserved.


Select a display adapter:
<0> GeForce GTX 1080     (10DE,1BA0,1462,11AE) H:--:NRM  S:00,B:01,D:00,F:00
<1> GeForce GTX 1080     (10DE,1BA0,1462,11AE) H:--:NRM  S:00,B:02,D:00,F:00
Select a number (ESC to quit):
1
Adapter: GeForce GTX 1080     (10DE,1BA0,1462,11AE) H:--:NRM  S:00,B:02,D:00,F:00


EEPROM ID (C2,2534) : MX MX25U8033E-MX25U8035F 1.65-2.0V 8192Kx1S, page

NVIDIA Firmware Comparison
Comparing 3.rom...
Current      - Version:86.04.31.00.03 ID:10DE:1BA0:1462:11FF
               GP104 Board (Normal Board)
Compare with - Version:86.04.39.00.00 ID:10DE:1BA0:1CF6:1BA0
               GP104 Board (Normal Board)

ERROR: Size difference between file(256000) and adapter ROM space (1046016)
NOTE: Make sure to compare with entire saved image file.
    Firmware
        Legacy BIOS ........................................ Mismatch
        UEFI ............................................... Mismatch
        Firmware Certificate ............................... Mismatch
    InfoROM ................................................ Mismatch
        Static ............................................. Mismatch
    Unallocated Space ...................................... Pass
    Mismatch Details
        Static
            InfoROM Header                                 - Timestamp


MISMATCH ERROR: Command Compare error


Can I flash this bios? Of course I need to add the -6 to override the subsystem difference
 
Last edited:

Regeneration

NGOHQ.COM
Joined
Oct 26, 2005
Messages
2,556 (0.45/day)
Flashing BIOSes for mobile GPUs is ill-advised. The video BIOS is integrated with the motherboard BIOS. Therefore, manipulation or recovery can be difficult.

Try to contact MSI and Samsung. Maybe there is a firmware for the TV, or alternative way to connect the laptop to the TV.

Try using a certified HDMI 2.0 cable and different color format settings in Nvidia control panel.

If there is no way around and you still interested in crossflashing against my recommendation. Make sure to take a backup of both BIOSes, check this database for the latest by date, and then look in this thread for flash instructions. You'll need to flash both GPUs.

The BIOS you're flashing to, must have the same Device ID like the original (10DE 1BA0).
 
Last edited:

Jen1

New Member
Joined
May 7, 2020
Messages
9 (0.02/day)
Flashing BIOSes for mobile GPUs is ill-advised. The video BIOS is integrated with the motherboard BIOS. Therefore, manipulation or recovery can be difficult.

Why then Laptop manufactures release VBIOS update if there is risk?

The problem I couldn't find the same ID and Subsystem (manufacture)


Try to contact MSI and Samsung. Maybe there is a firmware for the TV, or alternative way to connect the laptop to the TV.

Try using a certified HDMI 2.0 cable and different color format settings in Nvidia control panel.

If there is no way around and you still interested in crossflashing against my recommendation. Make sure to take a backup of both BIOSes, check this database for the latest by date, and then look in this thread for flash instructions. You'll need to flash both GPUs.

The problem I have been in contact with MSI/Samsung/NVIDIA so far no one could help.

MSI no reply so far and I don't expect anything
Samsung asked me to name the HDMI as PC and it will work (the most stupid thing I have ever heard), out of desperation I named the HDMI as PC but didn't work.
NVIDIA, the best so far, and told me to use DDU and install the driver again, which I did although I don't believe in such thing and didn't help


I have tried everything, 8 depth color, it was selected by default, and I Have a very expensive 2.0 4K cable, both mini-display to HDMI and HDMI to HDMI.

Connecting using HDMI cable, will show no signal, no matter what resolution I choose,
Connecting using mini-display it will work only with 567P (720x576@50hz) or 480p (720x480@60hz), any other resolution will show no signal.

There is nothing wrong with the TV which has the latest firmware and worked with my old Intel 630 VGA.


The collection has newer firmware but with different device ID. My ID is 0x1BA0 and most of the other Mobile 1080 has the ID 0x1BE0

THe one I posted in my first post has the same ID 0x1BA0 but different subsystem and different manufacture is that OK?


It is for sure NVIDIA (driver/VBIOS) or MSI bios problem
 
Last edited:

Regeneration

NGOHQ.COM
Joined
Oct 26, 2005
Messages
2,556 (0.45/day)
HDMI is not a new standard. GTX 1080 doesn't need a BIOS update to support a basic functionality like digital output.

Some TVs have secret ways to enable 4:4:4 (full RGB) output. In Samsung and LG, you just name the HDMI input as "PC".

Try another cable, try another port in the TV. Maybe new Mini DP to HDMI adapter. Try different settings (Use Nvidia color settings > 8 BPC).

There are a lot of reports about MSI laptops having problems with the HDMI port.
 

Jen1

New Member
Joined
May 7, 2020
Messages
9 (0.02/day)
HDMI is not a new standard. GTX 1080 doesn't need a BIOS update to support a basic functionality like digital output.

It could be a bug issue, this why always new BIOS/VBIOS are released, bug fixes, stability and improvements.

Some TVs have secret ways to enable 4:4:4 (full RGB) output. In Samsung and LG, you just name the HDMI input as "PC".

So that was no stupid! my bad :p ! Anyhow I tried it and it is still PC on both HDMI ports, but they should rename it the from "Name" to "Color Profile" Maybe
Try another cable, try another port in the TV. Maybe new Mini DP to HDMI adapter.

I have already said that, I have 2 expensive 5 meters 4k 2.0 HDMI to HDMI and one very expensive 4k 2.0 with audio mini-display port to HDMI ( all 3 cables have gold connectors and 99.99% or something copper). and I have 2 cheap hdmi to hdmi cables (I don't know what they even support).

Try different settings (Use Nvidia color settings > 8 BPC).

I said already I tried and BTW it is the default value, you can see it 8BPC in windows display settings, infact if I choose 12BPC the TV will not work with 576p and 480p


There are a lot of reports about MSI laptops having problems with the HDMI port.


I said before, nothing wrong with any of the TV or the cables or my MSI ports.

The TV worked well with the cheap cables and my old Asus ROG with Intel 630 VGA
The MSI laptop works will with my other 4k Samsung TV with all the mentioned cables.

It is for sure a compatibility bug issue, it could be the drivers, the bios or the Vbios.

ON TOPIC:

Out of desperation I made a bootable USB Ubuntu 20.04 and tried it. Here are the results.

  • Ubuntu without installing NVIDIA drivers works with TV, and recognize HDMI and mini-display port but will work only via mini-display port.
  • Ubuntu will see whole different supported resolutions with whole different refresh rates.
  • The minimum resolution in Ubuntu was 800x600@56.25hz and it will work showing 800x600@56hz
  • Choosing 800x600@60hz will work also the TV will show 800x600@60hz
  • Any higher resolution the TV will work but the TV will show its supported resolution @ 1024x768@60hz and not the selected resolution. for example, if I choose 960x540@59.82hz the TV will work but it will show 1024x768@60hz
  • The TV will work ONLY with mini-display port not via HDMI the same as in Windows.
  • The TV will work in Ubuntu without flickering.
  • The TV didn't work @ the optimal resolution for TV 1366x768@60hz.
  • Sometimes the TV will work (usually it shows no signal) with the 1366x768@60hz but it will show a black screen except it will write the resolution 1366x768@60hz at the info bar.

So I restart to Windows with NVIDIA drivers and it will work only with the resolutions 567P (720x576@50hz) or 480p (720x480@60hz) via mini-display port.

I tried 800x600@60hz and it showed me no signal as usual, so I made a custom resolution 800x600@56hz (NVIDIA won't allow refresh rates in decimals) and the TV worked with 800x600@56hz.

I tried to changed to 800x600@60hz the default value, and it worked, and now it will work will 800x600@60hz all the time, even upon restarting windows. but the TV will flicker black the whole time, in both 60hz and 56hz

I tried to make all custom resolution to make 1024x768 works as it did in Ubuntu but I couldn't, I tried so many.


What does that mean?
The TV will work in Ubuntu without NVIDIA drivers installed with both 800x600 and 1024x768 without flickering. only via mini/display port. HDMI port will not work

Now the TV will work in windows only with NVIDIA drivers and only with 800x600 both 56hz and 60hz but with a very annoying flickering. but the 1024z768 will not work


I noticed that colors are much better now with the resolution 800x600 than the old 576p and 480p, and text even if are so small are readable cause of the good coloring (not only the resolution) except for the flickering, there is no flickering with 576p and 480p in windows


To me it is a NVIDIA driver bug? what do you think?
 
Last edited:

Jen1

New Member
Joined
May 7, 2020
Messages
9 (0.02/day)
After 800x600 worked in Ubuntu, now it is working in Windows at any time I choose it even after I have deleted the custom 800x600@56hz, that is really strange, and I can't even think why this would happen, before it never worked o_O

And this forum is really strict, you will be checked for every post, it even support an app 2 step verification, some big mail providers and social media doesn't support that
 

sneekypeet

Retired Super Moderator
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
28,872 (5.23/day)
System Name His
Processor Intel i9 7920X
Motherboard Asus Prime X299 Deluxe
Cooling Corsair H115i RGB Platinum
Memory G.Skill TridentZ RGB 32GB @ 3600MHz
Video Card(s) nVidia RTX 2080ti
Storage Samsung 960 Pro / Crucial MX300 750GB / Seagate 1TB Spinner
Display(s) Samsung 55" 4K 60hz
Case Cooler Master Cosmos C700P (Inverted Layout)
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony Receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply Thermaltake TPSG 1050W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
After 800x600 worked in Ubuntu, now it is working in Windows at any time I choose it even after I have deleted the custom 800x600@56hz, that is really strange, and I can't even think why this would happen, before it never worked o_O

And this forum is really strict, you will be checked for every post, it even support an app 2 step verification, some big mail providers and social media doesn't support that

New members have to be vetted by moderators as they make the first few posts. After 5 to 7 posts. You will see your posts go live once you click post reply.
 

Regeneration

NGOHQ.COM
Joined
Oct 26, 2005
Messages
2,556 (0.45/day)
This is a compatibility problem between the cards and TV. Can't know for sure who's to blame.

TVs favorite coloring system is YCbCr 4:2:x, while PC monitors use full RGB (4:4:4).

You can try to switch color formats in Nvidia control panel (Change resolution).

There are some other alternatives like USB C to HDMI, or Miracast.

What kind of TV is that? Recent 4K TV? or old 720p/1080p?
 

Jen1

New Member
Joined
May 7, 2020
Messages
9 (0.02/day)
This is a compatibility problem between the cards and TV. Can't know for sure who's to blame.

TVs favorite coloring system is YCbCr 4:2:x, while PC monitors use full RGB (4:4:4).

You can try to switch color formats in Nvidia control panel (Change resolution).

There are some other alternatives like USB C to HDMI, or Miracast.

What kind of TV is that? Recent 4K TV? or old 720p/1080p?

Sorry for the late reply I had a busy week!

I flashed the above VBIOS https://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/216837/216837 as it is almost identical with my current bios, and it has the same ID, on one of my 1080s,

I didn't use the patched veriosn of NVFLASH, just the normal version, and it succeeded using only -6 command, of course I had to remove the protection first,
Code:
nvflash64 -i1 -r
nvflash64 -i1 -6 xxx.rom

After restating both Cards fail to load, but they were both detected as 1080s, GPU-z couldn't read the vbios version only for the new flashed card, so I panicked and restore immediately the old vbios for the card and restarted,. both cards are working again.

Is it because they are in SLI mode both didn't work?

I didn't dare to flash both cards cause I was afraid that the laptop won't start
 

Jen1

New Member
Joined
May 7, 2020
Messages
9 (0.02/day)
Update:

Interesting results when updating to Windows 2004 and the driver 451 with HGSA: not sure what the reason is.

HDMI port still not working
Mini display port works at 800x600 only @56hz rock solid without flickering. Please note 56hz are not supported by the monitor I added it myself.


After updating to the hot fix driver 451.85 things changed.

Now the resolutions the 567P, 480p and 640x480 are not working at all, even though they used to work all the time with all drivers BUT now only the resolution 800x600 is working @60hz without flickering and immediately every time I choose it.

To me that is a huge improvement, I don't need the lower resolutions. the higher resolution 800x600 is much better. And now it is working @60hz without flickering.

I should note Nvidia listed in the change log this: NVIDIA Control Panel does not display the native resolution of some HDTVs with invalid timings

To me that is a driver bug, and only Nvidia to blame.
 
Last edited:

Jen1

New Member
Joined
May 7, 2020
Messages
9 (0.02/day)
I was bored last weak so I decided to flash both cards with 86.04.39.00.00 but my laptop failed to turn on screen lights after rebooting, I guess I was lucky the screen still worked but without light.

I manged to restore the original vbios by lighting the screen using the MSI logo from behind, it was challenging but I could do it at the end.

The point is don't try to flash this model with any other vbios it won't work ....
 
Last edited:
Joined
Apr 28, 2011
Messages
781 (0.21/day)
Location
Botevgrad, Bulgaria, Europe
System Name Main PC/OldPC/3rd PC
Processor Intel Core i7-3770K Ivy Bridge/Core i5-3470 Ivy Bridge/Core i3-4330 Haswell
Motherboard ASUS P8Z77-V/ASRock Z68 Pro3 Gen1/ASUS H81M2
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO/Intel Box cooler/Intel Box cooler
Memory 32GB Corsair Vengeance/32GB ADATA/16GB ADATA
Video Card(s) SAPPHIRE R9 290 Tri-X OC 4GB/MSI RX 480 8GB/SAPPHIRE R9 390 8GB
Storage 2x1TB ADATA SSDs in RAID0+3 HDDs/2xCrucial 1TB SSDs in RAID0+3 HDDs/Samsung 1TB SSD+8TB+4TB HDDs
Display(s) Philips 274E5QHAB@HDMI + Philips 273EQH@DVI (both 27")
Case Fractal Design Define R4 Titanium
Audio Device(s) Kenwood Mini HiFi system/Microlab speakers/Philips HDMI (main)+LG TV monitor HDMI + Apple headphones
Power Supply Cooler Master Silent ProM 600 W (modular)
Mouse Microsoft Ergonomic Sculpt Desktop 2.0 (combo)@Razer Goliath mousepad (Medium speed)
Keyboard Microsoft Ergonomic Sculpt Desktop 2.0 (combo)
Software Win10 64-bit (Main PC v.1809 RTM Enterprise/2nd PC v.1903 Insider Preview Pro/3rd PC - same as 2nd)
Could you please list this TV exact model, and max/native resolution? :)
 

Jen1

New Member
Joined
May 7, 2020
Messages
9 (0.02/day)
Here is monitor assent manager report:
Code:
Monitor
  Model name............... SAMSUNG
  Windows description...... Generic PnP Monitor
  Manufacturer............. Samsung
  Plug and Play ID......... SAM0C3C
  Serial number............ n/a
  Manufacture date......... 2014, ISO week 46
  Filter driver............ None
  -------------------------
  EDID revision............ 1.3
  Input signal type........ Digital
  Color bit depth.......... Undefined
  Display type............. RGB color
  Screen size.............. 890 x 500 mm (40.2 in)
  Power management......... Not supported
  Extension blocs.......... 1 (Unknown type)
  -------------------------
  DDC/CI................... n/a

Color characteristics
  Default color space...... Non-sRGB
  Display gamma............ 2.20
  Red chromaticity......... Rx 0.640 - Ry 0.330
  Green chromaticity....... Gx 0.300 - Gy 0.600
  Blue chromaticity........ Bx 0.150 - By 0.060
  White point (default).... Wx 0.313 - Wy 0.329
  Additional descriptors... None

Timing characteristics
  Horizontal scan range.... 15-68kHz
  Vertical scan range...... 24-75Hz
  Video bandwidth.......... 230MHz
  CVT standard............. Not supported
  GTF standard............. Not supported
  Additional descriptors... None
  Preferred timing......... Yes
  Native/preferred timing.. 1366x768p at 60Hz
    Modeline............... "1366x768" 85.500 1366 1436 1579 1792 768 771 774 798 +hsync +vsync
  Detailed timing #1....... 1280x720p at 60Hz
    Modeline............... "1280x720" 74.250 1280 1390 1430 1650 720 725 730 750 +hsync +vsync

Standard timings supported
     720 x  400p at  70Hz - IBM VGA
     640 x  480p at  60Hz - IBM VGA
     640 x  480p at  67Hz - Apple Mac II
     640 x  480p at  72Hz - VESA
     640 x  480p at  75Hz - VESA
     800 x  600p at  60Hz - VESA
     800 x  600p at  72Hz - VESA
     800 x  600p at  75Hz - VESA
     832 x  624p at  75Hz - Apple Mac II
    1024 x  768p at  60Hz - VESA
    1024 x  768p at  70Hz - VESA
    1024 x  768p at  75Hz - VESA
    1280 x  720p at  60Hz - VESA STD

Report information
  Date generated........... 4/19/2021
  Software revision........ 2.91.0.1043
  Data source.............. Registry
  Operating system......... 10.0.19043.2

Raw data
  00,FF,FF,FF,FF,FF,FF,00,4C,2D,3C,0C,00,00,00,00,2E,18,01,03,80,59,32,78,0A,EE,91,A3,54,4C,99,26,
  0F,50,54,BD,EE,00,81,C0,01,01,01,01,01,01,01,01,01,01,01,01,01,01,66,21,56,AA,51,00,1E,30,46,8F,
  33,00,61,5B,21,00,00,1E,01,1D,00,72,51,D0,1E,20,6E,28,55,00,61,5B,21,00,00,1E,00,00,00,FD,00,18,
  4B,0F,44,17,00,0A,20,20,20,20,20,20,00,00,00,FC,00,53,41,4D,53,55,4E,47,0A,20,20,20,20,20,01,E9

it shows me 1920x1080P and lots of resolutions below, sometimes it works with 1920x1080P and the TV shows me 1920x1080p but only pink color
 
Joined
Apr 28, 2011
Messages
781 (0.21/day)
Location
Botevgrad, Bulgaria, Europe
System Name Main PC/OldPC/3rd PC
Processor Intel Core i7-3770K Ivy Bridge/Core i5-3470 Ivy Bridge/Core i3-4330 Haswell
Motherboard ASUS P8Z77-V/ASRock Z68 Pro3 Gen1/ASUS H81M2
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO/Intel Box cooler/Intel Box cooler
Memory 32GB Corsair Vengeance/32GB ADATA/16GB ADATA
Video Card(s) SAPPHIRE R9 290 Tri-X OC 4GB/MSI RX 480 8GB/SAPPHIRE R9 390 8GB
Storage 2x1TB ADATA SSDs in RAID0+3 HDDs/2xCrucial 1TB SSDs in RAID0+3 HDDs/Samsung 1TB SSD+8TB+4TB HDDs
Display(s) Philips 274E5QHAB@HDMI + Philips 273EQH@DVI (both 27")
Case Fractal Design Define R4 Titanium
Audio Device(s) Kenwood Mini HiFi system/Microlab speakers/Philips HDMI (main)+LG TV monitor HDMI + Apple headphones
Power Supply Cooler Master Silent ProM 600 W (modular)
Mouse Microsoft Ergonomic Sculpt Desktop 2.0 (combo)@Razer Goliath mousepad (Medium speed)
Keyboard Microsoft Ergonomic Sculpt Desktop 2.0 (combo)
Software Win10 64-bit (Main PC v.1809 RTM Enterprise/2nd PC v.1903 Insider Preview Pro/3rd PC - same as 2nd)
No, sorry -- TMI here, and I must say -- quite useless TMI.
I have no idea what that is, or what to do with it!
Please list the Samsung TV exact MODEL, should be a series of letters & digits, say QN50Q60TAFXZA.
This is all I need, not this technical mumbo-jumbo that shows nothing at all useful. :)

EDIT: To clarify, once exact Samsung TV model code is known, we could check its official specs to know if its max/native resolution is Full HD (1080p), or HD Ready (768p), or even lower (ouch, if so!). :)
Obviously, on a low-res TV that is 768p or 720p or lower there is not reason or use trying to set it to use Full HD/1080p resolution, it cannot work. :)

More info on models:
 
Last edited:

Jen1

New Member
Joined
May 7, 2020
Messages
9 (0.02/day)
UE40H4205AWXXE, MY tv is 1080p with 1366x768@60hz native resolution.

Here is the table from the manual:
samsung-ue40h4205aw-quick-setup-guide-page-021.jpg
 
Top