1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

I need solid advice on a new build.

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by TheMailMan78, Dec 10, 2008.

  1. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    22,039 (6.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8,750
    Well this may be all for not because I haven't got the clearance with the wife yet but I wanted some feedback on a system I'm looking at building. A girl I work with happens to work at Tigerdirect here in Miami and she can get me everything at cost. I plan on parting out my old system and building the rest up with the following.

    1. Biostar TFORCE TA790GXA2+ Motherboard - AMD 790GX, Socket AM2/AM2+, ATX, Audio, Video, DVI, PCI Express 2.0, Hybrid CrossFire Support, Gigabit LAN, USB 2.0, Serial ATA, RAID Link

    2.Corsair Dual Channel XMS2 4096MB PC8500 DDR2 1066MHz Memory (2 x 2048MB) Link

    3. AMD Phenom X4 9950 FREE ecobutton Bundle - USB Power Controller Quad Core Processor, HD995ZXAGHBOX, Black Edition, Unlocked 2.60GHz, 4MB Cache, 2000MHz (4000 MT/s) FSB, Agena, Retail, Socket AM2+, Fan Link

    4. Ultra MD2 5.25" 4 Port USB 2.0 and Card Reader Link

    5. Ultra m998 ULT40069 Mid-Tower ATX Case - Aluminum. Clear Side, Front USB 2.0, FireWire, eSATA and Audio Ports Link

    My only real concerns are the fact Iv never had a Biostar Mobo before. Are they any good? Also since this is a retail CPU will it come with thermal paste? Any help/suggestions you guys can give is greatly appreciated. :toast:
     
  2. Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,961 (3.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,055
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    First, Biostar now makes quality boards. I was fairly impressed with the p45 that I had for awhile. Most of the stuff you listed looks fairly good. I would suggest getting a cheap processor, then getting a Phenom II when they come out in January instead of buying that 9950 now. Yes, the cpu will come with paste installed on the cooler, though I'd replace it with MX-2 or AS5. I'm assuming you're keeping the same psu and VC?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    22,039 (6.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8,750
    Yeah I already have a 600watt PSU and a HD4850. Now that I think about it will a 600watt PSU push all this stuff? FYI I'm getting all this stuff for 446.78 out the door.
     
  4. TRIPTEX_CAN

    TRIPTEX_CAN

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    Messages:
    3,302 (0.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    723
    Location:
    BC.CAN
    The 600w PSU should be enough but that all depends on you future upgrades like adding a second GPU. The Biostar P45 Paulieg was referring to now resides in my PC and has been very stable since day one. I think your getting a good deal for that stuff. :)
     
    TheMailMan78 says thanks.
  5. kid41212003

    kid41212003

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,588 (1.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    539
    Location:
    California
    I suggest you to keep your current CPU, get an AMD 790FX+SB750 board, and wait for the Phenom II.
    Personally, I got your CPU in my mom's computer, and I tried to OC it once with the M2N-VM mobo, and I could get it to 2.6GHz, with a stock fan. It should be enough until January for Phenom II.
    I always get the best board, because it's easier to upgrade your other stuffs than to upgrade your mainboard, like what If you use Raid? And then move to a new board? It's alot easier to replace ram, cpu, vga, than to remove your board.

    And, because Phenom II Is coming out soon, too.
     
  6. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    22,039 (6.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8,750
    Well I currently have an 4200+ x2. I pretty much don't need to even upgrade as I can play almost all of my games maxed out. However its on its last leg and I have a 939 slot. Sure what I get wont be as fast as a Phenom II but it will damn sure be faster than what I have now. Hell even my PCI-E is 1.0.
     
  7. Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,961 (3.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,055
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    Just buy a really cheap used cpu, then when Phenom comes out, resell that and buy the Phenom II. From what I've seen, it will be worth the wait. Hell, you can pick up a 5400 BE for what, like $60?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  8. mdm-adph

    mdm-adph

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,478 (0.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    340
    Location:
    Your house.
    Exactly.


    Then get a good board and a cheap CPU to tide you over until the Phenom II -- one of those $20 single-core's would be fine.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  9. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,919 (5.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,643
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Newegg has 4850e's for like 50-55$. I hear they OC fairly well too.
     
  10. kysg New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2008
    Messages:
    1,255 (0.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    99
    Location:
    Pacoima, CA
    yea actually instead of phenom get another dual core or something to hold you over till phenom II, Just aim for a top end board.
     
  11. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    22,039 (6.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8,750
    What exactly is wrong with this board?
     
  12. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,919 (5.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,643
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
  13. kid41212003

    kid41212003

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,588 (1.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    539
    Location:
    California
    These boards here, are my suggestions.

    790FX+SB750

    The best AMD chipset will last you longer than the mainstream chipset. I won't call this a fact, but If there is newer CPU coming out, the current top-chipset will get better supports from AMD, and motherboard manufacturer.
    And there are more upgrade option.

    If I have to pick one myself, I would pick the Asus one.
     
  14. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,919 (5.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,643
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Yea if I had a choice I would get the ASUS 790FX SB750 as well if you can afford it.
     
  15. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    22,039 (6.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8,750
    Guys it has to be from Tigerdirect. Its the only place I can get stuff at cost. I wanted the MSI 790FX but they don't sell it anymore.

    The board I posted has SB750 and Solid caps from what I understand. I mean I cant see the difference in this one and the one ShadowFold posted. Do you guys see something better in tiger?
     
  16. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,919 (5.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,643
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    I think its got a better bios and some other internal features. Also it has more sideport memory. Why TD tho? All that stuff is cheaper on newegg.
     
  17. Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,961 (3.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,055
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    I think the Biostar name scares people, because they have released some notoriously bad boards. However, over the last couple of years they have improved quality control, and have released some nice, stable enthusiast class boards. People always have their favorites too. So many people swear by ASUS. I'm partial to DFI, but I'm willing to step "out of the box" to try other brands.

    I'd stick with the Biostar board.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  18. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    22,039 (6.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8,750
    I get everything at cost from TD. Someone I know works there.

    I'm a huge fan of MSI but TD doesnt have anything on sale worth a damn. Ill try anything when it comes to computers. To be honest I'v have the WORST luck with Asus GPUs
     
  19. kysg New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2008
    Messages:
    1,255 (0.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    99
    Location:
    Pacoima, CA
    This is true with what he says, Asus gets a lot of fandom, Biostar has been hit and miss on their boards, DFI is for people who got money, and can put up with some partial slow releases.

    then you get MSI and gigabyte, then foxconn and it all trickles down.
     
  20. Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,961 (3.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,055
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    And I've had terrible luck with ASUS motherboards, except for my Maximus Formula. That's the only one I've enjoyed working with, and I still prefer the DFI "Genie" bios. The Biostar bios isn't bad. I do remember that I wasn't thrilled with the vcore increments, since it didn't alllow for very small adjustments. but that was really my only complaint.
     
    Last edited: Dec 10, 2008
    10 Year Member at TPU
  21. HolyCow02

    HolyCow02 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,638 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    111
    Location:
    New York
    I went from an MSI board with my first PC to an Asus when I had my 754, and the hated it. The update software sucked, the support was no good. I went back to MSI with my AM2 build and I couldn't be happier. I don't know much about BioStar but I hear they are better than they used to be.
     
  22. TRIPTEX_CAN

    TRIPTEX_CAN

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    Messages:
    3,302 (0.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    723
    Location:
    BC.CAN
    Just to add my experiences. Every Asus board I've touched has been stable and top quality. Several board from the p5b-p5q Deluxe.
     
  23. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    22,039 (6.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8,750
    Thanks guys. But I dont want to turn this in to a fanboy contest. (Not that it is yet) However if the board I picked is sub-par then I would like some suggestions that can be bought at Tiger Direct.

    1. AMD (No debate. I own stock.)
    2. Crossfire Ready
    3. Can upgrade to a Phenom II later.

    Also can someone tell me if any of the AMD boards today support DDR3? If so do they fit into the same slot as DDR2? I ask because I read elsewhere its just a bios update. That just didnt seem correct.
     
  24. TRIPTEX_CAN

    TRIPTEX_CAN

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    Messages:
    3,302 (0.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    723
    Location:
    BC.CAN
    It cant just be a BIOS update as the DDR3 slot is differet than DDR2 with the notch in the RAM being offset a few pins. So that sounds incorrect to me but please correct me if I'm wrong.

    This sounds like a TD scavenger hunt. :rockout:
     
  25. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    22,039 (6.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8,750
    Thats what I thought also. So many sites with so much misinformation.

    TD scavenger hunt? Well anyone that finds me the best board will get a shiny new cookie. :roll:
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)