• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

I need some more single GPU powa! And no, not a 690.

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Nov 29, 2012
Messages
208 (0.11/day)
Likes
205
System Name "Dark Wind"
Processor Sandy Bridge i5 2500k @ 4.6ghz 1.336v
Motherboard Asus ROG Maximum Gene-Z
Cooling Xigmatek Dark Knight w/AS5
Memory G.Skill Ripjaw X Series 1600mhz 2 x 4gig
Video Card(s) eVGA GTX 670 FTW 2gig
Storage Western Digital Black Cavier 640gig AALS/ Samsung 840 Pro 256gig
Display(s) Dell U2412M / Viewsonic VX2025WM
Case Cooler Master HAF XB
Audio Device(s) SB X-fi Titanium PCI-E
Power Supply Corsair AX860 Platinum
Software Windows 7 64 bit Premium Home
#1
Allrighty, need some suggestions on how to go about this. Lately iv'e been seeing signs that my evga GTX 670 FTW is gonna have a hard time keeping what I feel are acceptable framerates on some of my current and future games, namely Metro 2033, Skyrim visual mods, Far Cry 3 *cough* Crysis 3 and whatever comes down the road. I run at 1920x1200 with no AA In my games but even with my adaptive Vysnic, my 670 FTW is having issues maintaining 60fps at times in my games and I figured I might as well sell it and get most of my money back and put a top of the line single GPU for some more breathing room.

I've got a Corsair AX860 Platinum so power won't be an issue for whatever I choose. However, I simply cannot stomache the cost of GTX 690, so that is not an option. I also have no desire to try my luck with SLI for a few reasons:

1. Way to many horror stories of people having configuration/stability issues in games, especially F2P games like MechWarrior online which STILL doesn't have a working SLi profile

2. SLI is basically unusable nightmare from what i've heard while playing older games like BF1942, Sim City 4, Oblivion, Fallout 3 and Homeworld that I still wanna be able to play without dealing with graphics card issues.

3. I don't wanna spend the money on a second card

4. I run a mATX board which will result in hot running SLI GPU's and I need my PCI-E slot for my sound card



I'm also kinda tired of the noise and poor cooling of the reference cooler "blower" design of the 600 series, especially since I got my new HAF XB case, so I wanna get a faster GPU with a non reference fan cooler. I've tried tweaking the precision X fan profile left and right, but I just can't get the temps and the low noise that I want with it.


That being said, i'm looking into options like the EVGA Signature 2 680 and maybe even going Asus with their freaking huge and badass looking DirectCU II cards. Either way, something with some more GPU ooompfh and quieter/cooling. So whats peoples take on either of this, especially experience wise.


EVGA Superclocked, Signature 2 02G-P4-2687-KR GeF...




ASUS GTX680-DC2T-2GD5 GeForce GTX 680 2GB 256-bit ...

 
Joined
Sep 15, 2009
Messages
2,076 (0.69/day)
Likes
379
System Name Omen
Processor i7-4710HQ
Cooling Dual fan/heatpipe
Memory 16GB
Video Card(s) 4GB GTX 860M
Storage 256GB PCIE SSD/256GB PNY UHS-1 SD Card
Display(s) 15.6' 1080P
Case Aluminium
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Brick
Software Win 10
#2
You should be easily maxing everything, especially with no AA. There might be another part in your system to blame ?
 
Joined
Nov 9, 2010
Messages
5,159 (1.99/day)
Likes
1,705
Processor Intel i7 950 @ 3.2GHz
Motherboard ASUS P6X58D-E
Cooling Corsair H50 push/pull
Memory Kingston HyperX 1600 8GB
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD 7970 OC
Storage Plextor M5P 128GB/WD Black 2x1TB,1x6TB/Seagate 1TB
Display(s) Panasonic TC-L32U3
Case Antec DF-85
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V371 AVR
Power Supply XFX 850w Black Edition
Mouse Logitech G402
Keyboard Logitech K120
Software W10 Pro 64 bit
#3
Technically a 690 is only single card, not single GPU, but they're way too expensive for what you get anyway.

Anyways, if you're stuck on wanting a 680, I'll bow out on suggestions, because you're seriously limiting yourself to a card that is nowhere near best bang for buck in a single GPU setup.
 
Joined
Dec 6, 2012
Messages
145 (0.08/day)
Likes
72
Location
Oklahoma
System Name Main Rig
Processor i5-2500k @ 4.4GHz
Motherboard ASRock Z77 Extreme4
Cooling Silverstone Argon AR01
Memory 2x4GB G.Skill Sniper @ 2133MHz 10-12-12-31 1T
Video Card(s) GTX 1080 Ti
Storage Intel 120GB SSD330/Crucial MX100 256GB/Samsung 1TB HDD
Display(s) LG 27UD68-P 4K IPS
Case Antec 1100
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA G2 750W
Mouse Razer Deathadder Chroma
Keyboard FUNC KB-460 (Cherry Brown)
#5
I'm very surprised that your 670 isn't cutting it at 1920x1200 with no AA. What are the rest of your specs? Is your 670 overclocked?

In all honesty a 680 won't be that much faster than your 670. If you really want a more powerful/futureproof card you might need to look into an oc'd 7970. Maybe one of the ridiculous custom models like the Vapor-X or Toxic. Otherwise you need to wait for 700/8000 series or consider SLI.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Apr 21, 2010
Messages
4,621 (1.66/day)
Likes
1,992
Location
Redditch, Worcestershire, England
System Name RyZen Reynolds
Processor Ryzen 1600 6c/12t -3.8Ghz@1.26v
Motherboard Asrock AB350m
Cooling Wraith Spire
Memory 16GB DDR4 2800
Video Card(s) PNY GTX 780 Ti
Storage Seagate 1TB - 128GB SSD
Display(s) BenQ G2420HD
Case Corsair Carbide Series SPEC-01
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair VS 550w
Mouse Zalman ZM-M401R
Keyboard Razor Lycosa
Software Windows 10 Home x64
#6
Right so a 670 isn't cutting it according to your opinion, you don't want multi-GPU so what can you do?

For a start stop being such a bloody snob, you have a high end GPU infact it's the 2nd best GPU from your chosen manufacturer, if you have money to burn and don't mind spending $500+ for a 5-10% performance increase then by all means get a 680.

The fact you know you have a high end GPU but you have decided to create this thread anyway speaks volumes, you're not a noob because you have mentioned your framerate being the reason you have created this thread leading me to believe you either must be seeking attention or you are just a moron with more sense than money who would spend $500 for such an incremental performance increase.

If a GTX 670 isn't good enough then the chances are a GTX680/HD 7970 won't be either as you can reach those kind of performance levels with a 670 and overclocking, yes you will be able to overclock a 680/7970 aqs well but the performance will remain within 10% of what you already have at considerable expense.

As an FYI there is no game my 7950 cannot max at acceptable framerates, even metro 2033 acheives 40FPS minimum, if you are saying you can tell the difference between 40 and 50FPS in metro 2033 and this is actually affecting your gameplay then you should get in touch with nasa who would be interested in your skills of noticing such a difference in framerate.

I guess I'm just saying your post stinks of attention seeking and you obviously know what you are talking about since you know about multi-gpu configs and have ruled this out, so I think you are trolling. Sorry.
 
Joined
Dec 18, 2012
Messages
146 (0.08/day)
Likes
92
System Name 紅白 [Kōhaku]
Processor i5 3570K @ 4.5GHz 1.290v
Motherboard ASUS Maximus V Formula / Thunder FX
Cooling EK Supremacy Nickel/Plexi + Alphacool 240 XT45 and EK FC670 Nickel/Plexi + Phobya 400
Memory Kingston HyperX Beast 2x 4096MB DDR3 2133MHz
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX670 SLI Unlocked [GPU1 @ 1320MHz max, GPU2 @ 1220MHz max] [RAM @ 7.2 GHz]
Storage 2x Micron C400 256GB RAID0 [System] / 2x 250GB 7200RPM 2.5" [Data]
Display(s) Dell u2913WM 2560x1080 21:9
Case Corsair Graphite 600T SE White
Audio Device(s) Supreme FX IV
Power Supply Zalman ZM850HP
Software Windows 8.1 Pro x64
#7
I second on the opinion that a 680 will not get you much better results than a 670. I saved myself a nice chunk of cash in getting a 670, because honestly, from the reviews I saw comparing the two, the extra 2~10% performance increase in the 680 was far from worth the 30% extra in the price.
 
Joined
May 9, 2011
Messages
394 (0.16/day)
Likes
158
Processor i7 4770k @ 4.6Ghz
Motherboard Asrock z97 Extreme6
Cooling Watercooled
Memory 16GB @ 2400Mhz
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1070 Armor OC
Case Cooltek W2
#8
Looking at his post history i think he has a i5 2500k @ 4.6 so shouldn't have a CPU bottleneck.

Are you measuring or monitoring your FPS what does it drop to? maybe adaptive v sync is causing dips in your FPS.

Are you on the latest drivers?
 
Joined
Dec 26, 2012
Messages
253 (0.14/day)
Likes
196
Location
Babylon 5
System Name DaBeast!
Processor Intel LGA2011 i7 3960X
Motherboard Asus ROG Rampage IV Extreme
Cooling Corsair H100 + 2x Corsair 120mm SP Performance fans
Memory 4x 4GB Corsair Dominator Platinum DDR3 2133mhz
Video Card(s) 2x Sapphire R9 290X + EK WB
Storage 128GB Corsair ForceGT SSD (OS) + 2TB + 2x 1TB WDC Black
Display(s) Acer XR341CK / AOC Q2963PM
Case Caselabs Magnum M8
Audio Device(s) Oppo HA-1 + KRK Rokit5 G3 + HFM HE1000/HE560/HE-4/AKG K812/Senn HD800
Power Supply Seasonic X-1250
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Leopold FC660C Topre
Software 64bit Win10 Pro
#9
Agree with those who've said that the GTX680 would only provide a minor increase in framerate but at a relatively higher cost. Simply not worth it, only real option is to go dual GPU, but since OP's dead set against it, tell me, what else is there to do? Sure, go with the GTX680 if OP wants to, but paying so much more for a minor increase in performance is plainly........badly thought out. My 2nd rig which initially had a single GTX670 for S3D gaming, I found that due to enabling S3D, framerate did suffer somewhat (using a passive Zalman ZM-M240W TriMon S3D monitor which hit performance by up to 20%). So, to ensure that I get the best S3D possible with my setup, I ponied up for a 2nd GTX670 and there's no game I can't max out with that setup.
 
Joined
Nov 29, 2012
Messages
208 (0.11/day)
Likes
205
System Name "Dark Wind"
Processor Sandy Bridge i5 2500k @ 4.6ghz 1.336v
Motherboard Asus ROG Maximum Gene-Z
Cooling Xigmatek Dark Knight w/AS5
Memory G.Skill Ripjaw X Series 1600mhz 2 x 4gig
Video Card(s) eVGA GTX 670 FTW 2gig
Storage Western Digital Black Cavier 640gig AALS/ Samsung 840 Pro 256gig
Display(s) Dell U2412M / Viewsonic VX2025WM
Case Cooler Master HAF XB
Audio Device(s) SB X-fi Titanium PCI-E
Power Supply Corsair AX860 Platinum
Software Windows 7 64 bit Premium Home
#10
Allrighty, well if nothing else I added a rather nice flame baiter troll into my ignore list from this thread.

I'm gonna be looking into the Asus DirectCU II very closely as peoples overclocks on those sucks have been impressive. Sans upgrading my i5 2500k @ 4.6ghz, or getting a faster SSD then my Intel 520, I dunno what else could be holding my system back. Tried both beta and WHQL 31.70 drivers, I notice the framerate dips correspond while watching my GPU gadget show in my GPU core usage isn't maxed out when these framerate drops happen, seems to occur alot in MechWarrior Online and Borderlands 2
 
Joined
Jun 27, 2011
Messages
5,624 (2.38/day)
Likes
2,986
Processor Intel I7 4790k (stock)
Motherboard ASRock H97M-ITX/ac LGA 1150 Intel H97
Cooling Prolimatech megahalem
Memory Crucial 2x4gb 1600mhz
Video Card(s) EVGA 1060 3gb
Storage OWC Mercury SSD 240 GB
Display(s) Asus 144hz
Case Raijintek Metis
Power Supply Corsair SF600 600w psu
Software Windows 10 64 Bit
#11
What are your acceptable frame rates? Honestly, we have similar performing systems except I got about 10-15% more gpu power with my 7970 and your slightly higher clocked 2500k, but still similar enough in peformance. If anything I am cpu bottlenecked not gpu bottlenecked in the games I play. Are you trying to play in 3d or at 120 hz? Honestly, I thought this was a troll thread at first but you seem serious enough.

What is your frame rate threshhold? For most games 40fps is good for me. Some games, very few, I actually need 60 fps.

Anyways.... a 680 is only 10% faster than your 670 by wizz's graphs. That really is not a whole lot. Maybe if your lucky 10 fps. It would be much much better to suffer through till next gen which is just a couple months away. I don't think a 680 overclocked to the max would even be enough for you.

Your ssd is not holding you back at all. How low are you frame rate drops? Like to the 20's?

Welcome to tpu by the way. You have kinda mentioned your rig but it is helpful for us to know your full specs. Then show of just below your username <----. You can fill those out in User CP ->System specs. User CP is the second option in the blue bar up top.
 
Joined
Jul 10, 2008
Messages
574 (0.17/day)
Likes
124
Location
Alberta, Canada
System Name Custom FX
Processor AMD Phenom II X4 965 @ 4.0 GHz
Motherboard ASUS SABERTOOTH 990FX R2.0
Cooling be quiet! Dark Rock 3
Memory G.SKILL F3-10666CL9D-8GBRL Ripjaws 8GB
Video Card(s) GIGABYTE GV-R927XOC-2GD Radeon R9 270X 2GB
Storage Samsung 840 EVO 120GB SSD OS Drive/Seagate Hybrid Drives ST1000LM014 1TB MLC/8GB 64MB Cache
Display(s) ASUS VE228H 21.5 inch
Case Fractal Design Define R4 Window Edition
Audio Device(s) Built in HD
Power Supply Silverstone Strider 750 Plus 750W Modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
#12
Personally i think buying anything is going to be a waste of money since you already have a really nice card that shouldn't be having any problems in ANY game you play and the FPS dips you notice I bet you like 100% that you only notice these dips cuz your constantly watching a performance monitor. If you weren't watching anything and just playing the game and paying attention to the game you wouldn't even notice any Dips in FPS. And really any FPS dips from like 35/40 to 60 FPS isn't even noticeable by the naked eye and shouldn't be anything to worry about. And with the cooler/noise issue you can easily save some money and just buy an aftermarket cooler and install it on to your card which will be alot quieter and will cool the card better.

As of right now the price you pay for any card that is faster then the card you have right now isen't worth it since the performance gain you will get will be next to nothing compaired to the price you have to shell out just for that 5 to 10% speed increase.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 29, 2012
Messages
208 (0.11/day)
Likes
205
System Name "Dark Wind"
Processor Sandy Bridge i5 2500k @ 4.6ghz 1.336v
Motherboard Asus ROG Maximum Gene-Z
Cooling Xigmatek Dark Knight w/AS5
Memory G.Skill Ripjaw X Series 1600mhz 2 x 4gig
Video Card(s) eVGA GTX 670 FTW 2gig
Storage Western Digital Black Cavier 640gig AALS/ Samsung 840 Pro 256gig
Display(s) Dell U2412M / Viewsonic VX2025WM
Case Cooler Master HAF XB
Audio Device(s) SB X-fi Titanium PCI-E
Power Supply Corsair AX860 Platinum
Software Windows 7 64 bit Premium Home
#13
Framerate drops and what is percieved to be "acceptable" differs from everyone is the real issue. What I may find annoying or unacceptable framerate drops others may not notice and or care about. And knock it off with the assumption i'm trolling, as we all know the main problem with assuming anything
 
Joined
Jun 27, 2011
Messages
5,624 (2.38/day)
Likes
2,986
Processor Intel I7 4790k (stock)
Motherboard ASRock H97M-ITX/ac LGA 1150 Intel H97
Cooling Prolimatech megahalem
Memory Crucial 2x4gb 1600mhz
Video Card(s) EVGA 1060 3gb
Storage OWC Mercury SSD 240 GB
Display(s) Asus 144hz
Case Raijintek Metis
Power Supply Corsair SF600 600w psu
Software Windows 10 64 Bit
#14
I said "at first" I thought you were trolling. I also asked what your acceptable frame rates are, in different wording and more questions too.

What is your acceptable frame rates?
How low are your frame drops?
 
Joined
Oct 8, 2012
Messages
1,364 (0.72/day)
Likes
411
Location
Israel
Processor Intel Core i5 3570K @ 4.5Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77X UD5H
Cooling Antec H20 920
Memory Corsair Dominator Platinum DDR3 4x4GB 2000mhz 9-11-10-24 CR-1
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 970 SC
Storage Crucial M500 240Gb/Seagate Barracuda 2TB
Display(s) LG 29UM67 2560x1080 75hz IPS
Case Coolermaster 690
Audio Device(s) Creative X-FI Titanium + Sennheiser PC360
Power Supply Corsair TX850
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard Logitech G710+
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
#15
your 670 should already be easily maxing out any thing out there,metro runs on crap on almost any system,only way to get acceptable frames maxxed out is with a multi gpu setup,you will gain 4-5 frames max from making this upgrade.
 
Joined
Nov 9, 2010
Messages
5,159 (1.99/day)
Likes
1,705
Processor Intel i7 950 @ 3.2GHz
Motherboard ASUS P6X58D-E
Cooling Corsair H50 push/pull
Memory Kingston HyperX 1600 8GB
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD 7970 OC
Storage Plextor M5P 128GB/WD Black 2x1TB,1x6TB/Seagate 1TB
Display(s) Panasonic TC-L32U3
Case Antec DF-85
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V371 AVR
Power Supply XFX 850w Black Edition
Mouse Logitech G402
Keyboard Logitech K120
Software W10 Pro 64 bit
#16
I'm gonna be looking into the Asus DirectCU II very closely as peoples overclocks on those sucks have been impressive.
It's hard to go by other's OC reports, for a few reasons. 1. Many don't say how extensively they've tested for stability. 2. Some bought first batch runs that may have higher binning, less leakage. 3. They may be talking about games that are totally different from some of the current ones, some of which have been spotty on optimization and known to cause problems with OC settings.

I had my eye on an ASUS GPU when I was checking out the 660 Tis, but I found a review that made me worry about them a bit. It showed the ASUS OCing higher than the other 660 Ti cards in the test, but it didn't actually produce the best frame rate when the OCed cards were compared. In another similar review, that same ASUS model was shown to exhibit a wide fluctuation in frame rates.

So there's a lot more to it than looking for the card that can achieve the highest clock speeds. It's all about end results in game and overall stability across several games.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Sep 7, 2010
Messages
752 (0.28/day)
Likes
152
Processor Intel Core i7-4790K
Motherboard Intel Board DZ87KLT-75K
Cooling Intel Stock Cooler
Memory G.Skill RipjawsX {F3-2400C11D-16GXM x 2 [32GB]}
Video Card(s) Nvidia Geforce GTX 970
Storage Samsung EVO 250GB mSATA SSD + Seagate 3TB HDD
Display(s) Dell UltraSharp U2718Q
Case In Win F430
Power Supply Seasonic Platinum 660
Mouse Dell KM714 Wireless
Keyboard Dell KM714 Wireless
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#17
You should be easily maxing everything, especially with no AA. There might be another part in your system to blame ?

Just what i thought exactly, i have the same EVGA GTX670 FTW 2GB and *cough* Far Cry 3 with no AA runs well beyond a dream, in fact I dint have to turn AA off to get 60Fps plus anyway don't have the game any more as its crap not my type of game.

To be on topic your card should be fine.
 
Joined
Oct 29, 2010
Messages
2,944 (1.13/day)
Likes
1,379
System Name The Sheriff / The Deputy
Processor 2500K / G4560
Motherboard ASRock P67Extreme4 / Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3 DDR3
Cooling CM Hyper TX3 / Intel stock
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX / 8 GB Kingston HyperX
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 960 SSC / Gigabyte GTX 1050 Ti LP
Storage SSD, some WD and lots of Samsungs
Display(s) BenQ GW2470 / Samsung SyncMaster T220
Case Cooler Master CM690 II Advanced / Thermaltake Core v31
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D1/Denon PMA500AE/Wharfedale D 10.1/Senn HD518
Power Supply Corsair TX650 / Corsair TX650M
Mouse Steelseries Rival 100/ Mionix Avior 7000
Keyboard Sidewinder
Software Windows 10 / Windows 10 Pro
#18
No current gen card will bring you a considerable improvement. So either go SLI or wait for the new cards.
 
Joined
Oct 8, 2012
Messages
1,364 (0.72/day)
Likes
411
Location
Israel
Processor Intel Core i5 3570K @ 4.5Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77X UD5H
Cooling Antec H20 920
Memory Corsair Dominator Platinum DDR3 4x4GB 2000mhz 9-11-10-24 CR-1
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 970 SC
Storage Crucial M500 240Gb/Seagate Barracuda 2TB
Display(s) LG 29UM67 2560x1080 75hz IPS
Case Coolermaster 690
Audio Device(s) Creative X-FI Titanium + Sennheiser PC360
Power Supply Corsair TX850
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard Logitech G710+
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
#19
What drivers are you using?,when is the last time you installed a fresh windows?
 
Joined
Mar 22, 2011
Messages
551 (0.22/day)
Likes
128
System Name it's a computer
Processor INTEL i5-2500K OC'ed @ 4.5GHz
Motherboard ASUS Z68-V DELUXE Gen3
Cooling NOCTURA NH-C14
Memory 16 GB CORSAIR Vengeance (4 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 970 SSC 4GB
Storage Intel® Solid-State Drive 730 Series SSDSC2BP240G4R5 2.5" 240GB SATA 6Gb/s MLC
Display(s) SAMSUNG 24HD Model # 2494 Sync Master
Case CM HAF 922
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply CORSAIR Gold AX850 Full Modular
Software Windows 10
#20
stinks of attention seeking

:QUOTE=NdMk2o1o;2809672]Right so a 670 isn't cutting it according to your opinion, you don't want multi-GPU so what can you do?

For a start stop being such a bloody snob, you have a high end GPU infact it's the 2nd best GPU from your chosen manufacturer, if you have money to burn and don't mind spending $500+ for a 5-10% performance increase then by all means get a 680.

The fact you know you have a high end GPU but you have decided to create this thread anyway speaks volumes, you're not a noob because you have mentioned your framerate being the reason you have created this thread leading me to believe you either must be seeking attention or you are just a moron with more sense than money who would spend $500 for such an incremental performance increase.

If a GTX 670 isn't good enough then the chances are a GTX680/HD 7970 won't be either as you can reach those kind of performance levels with a 670 and overclocking, yes you will be able to overclock a 680/7970 aqs well but the performance will remain within 10% of what you already have at considerable expense.

As an FYI there is no game my 7950 cannot max at acceptable framerates, even metro 2033 acheives 40FPS minimum, if you are saying you can tell the difference between 40 and 50FPS in metro 2033 and this is actually affecting your gameplay then you should get in touch with nasa who would be interested in your skills of noticing such a difference in framerate.

I guess I'm just saying your post stinks of attention seeking and you obviously know what you are talking about since you know about multi-gpu configs and have ruled this out, so I think you are trolling. Sorry.[/QUOTE]

What he said ...exactly.
:ohwell: :laugh: :nutkick: :roll: :ohwell:

:rolleyes::rolleyes:
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 22, 2011
Messages
551 (0.22/day)
Likes
128
System Name it's a computer
Processor INTEL i5-2500K OC'ed @ 4.5GHz
Motherboard ASUS Z68-V DELUXE Gen3
Cooling NOCTURA NH-C14
Memory 16 GB CORSAIR Vengeance (4 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 970 SSC 4GB
Storage Intel® Solid-State Drive 730 Series SSDSC2BP240G4R5 2.5" 240GB SATA 6Gb/s MLC
Display(s) SAMSUNG 24HD Model # 2494 Sync Master
Case CM HAF 922
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply CORSAIR Gold AX850 Full Modular
Software Windows 10
#21
Allrighty, well if nothing else I added a rather nice flame baiter troll into my ignore list from this thread.
Add me to that list
 
Last edited:
Joined
Sep 27, 2012
Messages
50 (0.03/day)
Likes
11
Location
Juiz de Fora - MG / Brazil
System Name Mec Machine
Processor Core i5 2500K @ 4.5 GHz
Motherboard Asrock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3
Cooling Antec 620 Kuhler
Memory 2x 2GB Adata 1333 @ 1866 9-10-9-27
Video Card(s) Diamond Radeon HD 7970
Storage Seagate 1TB 7200.12 / OCZ Vertex 4 128GB
Display(s) LG LCD W1942SB 19'' 1680x1050
Case Thermaltake Commander
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply 3R System Iceage 450w
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
#22
If you score 30 fps with your GTX 670, be prepared to get a HUGE 10% gain!!!!

YOU WILL GET SOMETHING AROUND 3 FPS!!!!!! THAT'S AMAZING!!!!!!!
 

RCoon

Gaming Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 19, 2012
Messages
11,364 (5.51/day)
Likes
9,491
Location
Gypsyland, UK
System Name HP Omen 17
Processor i7 7700HQ
Memory 16GB 2400Mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) GTX 1060
Storage Samsung SM961 256GB + HGST 1TB
Display(s) 1080p IPS G-SYNC 75Hz
Audio Device(s) Bang & Olufsen
Power Supply 230W
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD+
Software Win 10 Pro
#23
Metro 2033 will run like shit on any system. I have 2 cards and heavily overclocked everything, and i STILL drop below 60fps on 1080p with everything maxed out. If you're not running AA and plain old 1200p gaming, then there is something WRONG with the system, not a mere "unacceptable gpu performance"
 
Joined
Dec 26, 2012
Messages
253 (0.14/day)
Likes
196
Location
Babylon 5
System Name DaBeast!
Processor Intel LGA2011 i7 3960X
Motherboard Asus ROG Rampage IV Extreme
Cooling Corsair H100 + 2x Corsair 120mm SP Performance fans
Memory 4x 4GB Corsair Dominator Platinum DDR3 2133mhz
Video Card(s) 2x Sapphire R9 290X + EK WB
Storage 128GB Corsair ForceGT SSD (OS) + 2TB + 2x 1TB WDC Black
Display(s) Acer XR341CK / AOC Q2963PM
Case Caselabs Magnum M8
Audio Device(s) Oppo HA-1 + KRK Rokit5 G3 + HFM HE1000/HE560/HE-4/AKG K812/Senn HD800
Power Supply Seasonic X-1250
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Leopold FC660C Topre
Software 64bit Win10 Pro
#24
Metro 2033, like FC3, has some weird framerate spike issue I think. I see so many over at guru3d complaining about bad performance in FC3. Metro 2033 is either badly optimized, or is really quite demanding. I can play it maxed out, other than PhysX which is disabled, @1200P, and FR can dip badly. though, in all honesty, gameplay isn't badly affected as I see a mild judder or microstutter and it's smooth again. Here's my benchmark run, note I have pretty good average FR but the min FR can be pretty bad.
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
11,477 (3.95/day)
Likes
6,245
Location
Ohio
System Name Daily Driver
Processor 7900X 4.5GHz 10c/10t 1.15V.
Motherboard ASUS Prime X299 Deluxe
Cooling MCR320 + Kuplos Kryos NEXT CPU block
Memory GSkill Trident Z 4x8 GB DDR4 3600 MHz CL16
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1080 FTW3
Storage 512GB Patriot Hellfire, 512GB OCZ RD400, 640GB Caviar Black, 2TB Caviar Green
Display(s) Yamakasi 27" 2560x1440 IPS
Case Thermaltake P5
Power Supply EVGA 750W Supernova G2
Benchmark Scores Faster than most of you! Bet on it! :)
#25
Technically a 690 is only single card, not single GPU, but they're way too expensive for what you get anyway.

Anyways, if you're stuck on wanting a 680, I'll bow out on suggestions, because you're seriously limiting yourself to a card that is nowhere near best bang for buck in a single GPU setup.
Spot on... :toast:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.