1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

[WTB] I/O plate needed...

Discussion in 'Buy/Sell/Trade/Giveaway Forum' started by 69er, Nov 21, 2008.

  1. 69er

    69er New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    Messages:
    57 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    FLA....USA !
    In need of an I/O plate for an Asus P5N-E SLI.

    :toast:
     
  2. panchoman

    panchoman Sold my stars!

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    9,595 (2.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,201
    have you tried contacting asus about it? sometimes they will provide you with some little things like that.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. Paulieg The Mad Moderator

    Heatware:
    136 0 0 
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,960 (3.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,054
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    meh, no real need for an I/O plate. :)
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. DOM

    DOM

    Heatware:
    13 0 0 
    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,626 (1.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    863
    Location:
    TX, USA
    :toast: so true lol
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. KBD New Member

    Heatware:
    30 0 0 
    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007
    Messages:
    2,477 (0.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    279
    Location:
    The Rotten Big Apple
    why not?

    but id say try getting a hold of Asus, i know they suck at customer support but its worth a shot
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  6. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Heatware:
    316 0 0 
    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    24,531 (5.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,448
    its to block dust usually and if the case flow is front to back it wont pull in dust anyways. I dont use em anymore myself. especially with DFI and the CMOS jumper in the back. its way easier to use/flash without the i/o in the way.
     
    KBD says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  7. KBD New Member

    Heatware:
    30 0 0 
    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007
    Messages:
    2,477 (0.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    279
    Location:
    The Rotten Big Apple
    yea, makes sense, i just got one of those DFI X48 with CMOS on back also, i'll try without the I/O panel and see.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  8. Paulieg The Mad Moderator

    Heatware:
    136 0 0 
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,960 (3.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,054
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    Yeah, especially on DFI boards, it works well with the cmos reset as sneeky said. Hey KBD. Guess what I got today?:D
     
    KBD says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  9. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Heatware:
    77 0 0 
    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    24,158 (5.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,326
    Location:
    Indiana, USA
  10. panchoman

    panchoman Sold my stars!

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    9,595 (2.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,201
    wow, what a rip off.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  11. KBD New Member

    Heatware:
    30 0 0 
    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007
    Messages:
    2,477 (0.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    279
    Location:
    The Rotten Big Apple
    let me guess: FIRESTIX.


    i got your PM, thank you very much for everything!


    nice find, newtekie, didnt know they had an online store. but those prices
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  12. pbmaster

    pbmaster New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    Messages:
    2,588 (0.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    292
    Location:
    Savannah, GA
    Wow, $6.50 for little piece of aluminum. You'd probably be better off crafting something out of tin foil lol
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  13. 69er

    69er New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    Messages:
    57 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    FLA....USA !
  14. panchoman

    panchoman Sold my stars!

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    9,595 (2.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,201
    good idea lol, just get some metal and cut it up to your liking, and boom like 50 cent i/o shield
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  15. 69er

    69er New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    Messages:
    57 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    FLA....USA !
    I think I'll make a paper template first , then once I get it right , transfer it to a stiff cardboard then trace that template onto the AL.:toast:
     
  16. KBD New Member

    Heatware:
    30 0 0 
    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007
    Messages:
    2,477 (0.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    279
    Location:
    The Rotten Big Apple
    if yo got a machine shop it will be real easy. i know, i used to work in one.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  17. 69er

    69er New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    Messages:
    57 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    FLA....USA !
    No machine shop. Woodworking shop. I have a drill press as well as some punches etc...

    I'll probably attach the AL to a piece of scrap wood to serve as a backer to prevent distorting the thin metal.

    On the other hand , if'n someone would step up to the plate and send me one ...

    ...it would save me a lot of hassle.:toast:
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)