• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

I only see two cores

jdr

New Member
Joined
Jan 16, 2012
Messages
11 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#1
Hi newbie to Real Temp.

I installed program but only see two cores displayed. I have i7 four core. How to I get all four to show up?

Thanks
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Messages
10,033 (3.47/day)
Likes
6,639
Location
Oregon
System Name Delta // Alpha-HTPC
Processor Intel i7 6700K // Intel i5 4570
Motherboard GIGABYTE Z270X-Gaming K7 // Gigabyte H97M -D3H
Cooling Corsair H80i V2 // Silverstone NT-06 Pro
Memory Corsair DDR4 3000 32gb //G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX980ti// EVGA GTX 1050ti
Storage Samsung 950 Pro 512, 2 Tb FireCuda// Samsung 850 Pro, 1 X 4 Tb HGST, 1 x 6Tb Toshiba
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" 1440X 2560 // 50" Samsung Plasma 720p
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 550D // Silverstone Granada GD05
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DGX // HDMI to Yamaha RX V571
Power Supply Corsair TX850M // SeaSonic G Series 550w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software Windows 10 64bit // Windows 7 64bit with Kodi
#2
Is it he latest release of realtemp?
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Messages
10,033 (3.47/day)
Likes
6,639
Location
Oregon
System Name Delta // Alpha-HTPC
Processor Intel i7 6700K // Intel i5 4570
Motherboard GIGABYTE Z270X-Gaming K7 // Gigabyte H97M -D3H
Cooling Corsair H80i V2 // Silverstone NT-06 Pro
Memory Corsair DDR4 3000 32gb //G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX980ti// EVGA GTX 1050ti
Storage Samsung 950 Pro 512, 2 Tb FireCuda// Samsung 850 Pro, 1 X 4 Tb HGST, 1 x 6Tb Toshiba
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" 1440X 2560 // 50" Samsung Plasma 720p
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 550D // Silverstone Granada GD05
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DGX // HDMI to Yamaha RX V571
Power Supply Corsair TX850M // SeaSonic G Series 550w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software Windows 10 64bit // Windows 7 64bit with Kodi
Joined
Jun 18, 2005
Messages
609 (0.13/day)
Likes
76
Location
London, UK
System Name this_is_so_leet_it_needs_no_name
Processor Intel I5 2500k @ 4.5Ghz
Motherboard Asus P8 P67-M Pro
Cooling MUX-120 with Dual Fan
Memory Samsung Memory DDR3 2133 Overclocked (non LP)
Video Card(s) XFX ATI/AMD 5870 1gb @ [tbc]
Storage 2*2tb Samsung Raid 0 + 64gb Kingston SSD
Display(s) BenQ G2420HDBL LED monitor
Case Lian Li PC-60 old skool alu case
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DX/XD PCI-Express (great)
Power Supply Corsair 650 TX
Software Win 7 64bit
#6
Are all your cores enabled in BIOS? Can you fill in your system specs or let us know mobo brand/model?

Also if you have CPU-Z can you post a screenshot of main page please?
 

jdr

New Member
Joined
Jan 16, 2012
Messages
11 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#7
Are all your cores enabled in BIOS? Can you fill in your system specs or let us know mobo brand/model?

Also if you have CPU-Z can you post a screenshot of main page please?
Asus P8Z68-V

Memory > DDR3 RAM
Corsair CMZ8GX3M2A1600C9B Vengeance Desktop Memory Kit - 8GB (2x 4GB), PC3-12800, DDR3-1600MHz, 9-9-9-24 CAS Latency, Intel XMP Ready, Unbuffered



CPUs (Processors) > Intel CPUs > Core i7 2nd generation [1155] > Retail
Intel Core i7-2600K BX80623I72600K Unlocked Processor - Quad Core, 8MB L3 Cache, 1MB L2 Cache, 3.40 GHz (3.80 GHz Max Turbo), Socket H2 (LGA1155), 95W, Fan, Retail



Fans, Heatsinks & Cooling > Liquid Cooling
Corsair CW-9060001-WW Hydro H40 CPU Liquid Cooler - Socket LGA775, LGA1155, LGA1156, LGA1366, AM2, AM3, FM1


Video / Graphics Cards > PCI Express 2.0 > 1GB or more
EVGA 01G-P3-1302-LR GeForce 8400 GS Video Card - 1024MB DDR3, PCI Express, DVI, VGA, HDMI, Low Profile
 
Joined
Sep 8, 2005
Messages
802 (0.18/day)
Likes
462
Location
Romania
Processor i5-2500K
Motherboard ASRock P67 Extreme4
Cooling Ninja 3 fanless
Memory Corsair 4GB DDR3 1600MHz CL9 XMS3 rev. A
Video Card(s) MSI GeForce GTX 1060 GAMING X 6GB
Storage Intel 535 Series 120GB + WD 6400AAKS
Display(s) Benq EW2420
Case Antec P182
Audio Device(s) Xonar D1
Power Supply Antec Signature 650
Software Win 10
#9
A picture from Task Manager tab Performance please ?
 
Joined
Jun 18, 2005
Messages
609 (0.13/day)
Likes
76
Location
London, UK
System Name this_is_so_leet_it_needs_no_name
Processor Intel I5 2500k @ 4.5Ghz
Motherboard Asus P8 P67-M Pro
Cooling MUX-120 with Dual Fan
Memory Samsung Memory DDR3 2133 Overclocked (non LP)
Video Card(s) XFX ATI/AMD 5870 1gb @ [tbc]
Storage 2*2tb Samsung Raid 0 + 64gb Kingston SSD
Display(s) BenQ G2420HDBL LED monitor
Case Lian Li PC-60 old skool alu case
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DX/XD PCI-Express (great)
Power Supply Corsair 650 TX
Software Win 7 64bit
#11
2600k should be showing 8 graphs unless HT is disabled... ?

edit: HT is hyperthreading you would find on/off in BIOS
 
Last edited:

brandonwh64

Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!
Joined
Sep 6, 2009
Messages
19,516 (6.46/day)
Likes
6,937
Location
Chatsworth, GA
System Name The StarCrunch Defender! | X58 Cruncher!
Processor I7 6700K @ STOCK | Intel I7-920
Motherboard Gigabyte Z170X-UD5 | Alienware MS-7543 X58
Cooling Corsair A70 Push/Pull | Corsair H50
Memory Crucial Ballistix DDR4 2400 MHz | Pereema 3x2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Gaming G1 GTX 1070 | Gigabyte 7970 3GB
Storage 2x Samsung Pro 256GB M.2 SSD's in Raid 0 | 4TB Western Digital SATA drive
Display(s) ViewSonic VG2227wm 1080P | OLD viewsonics
Case NZXT Tempest 410 Elite | NZXT Source 210
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 750TX | Enermax Liberty 500W
Mouse MX518 | MX502
Keyboard TESORO Mechanical | ANZO Mechanical
Software Windows 10 Pro on both
#13
Can you open task manager (To open, right click on the task bar and click task manager) then goto the performance tab and then take a screenshot post it here please :)
 

unclewebb

RealTemp Author
Joined
Jun 1, 2008
Messages
1,141 (0.33/day)
Likes
676
#14
You have half of your CPU disabled.

This problem can usually be fixed by going into msconfig, click on the Boot tab - Advanced Options and then making sure that Number of processors: is not checked. There is an internet myth that setting this to 4 will speed up your boot times or something silly like that. Your CPU supports hyperthreading which means your 4 core CPU can process 8 threads of information at a time. If this is set to only 4, only half of your CPU is being utilized.

Once you uncheck this box reboot and see what RealTemp, the Task Manager and CPU-Z say. The APIC ID box in RealTemp shows 0 1 2 3. That means hyper-threading is enabled which is good but only the first two cores of your CPU are active. It should be showing 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
 

jdr

New Member
Joined
Jan 16, 2012
Messages
11 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#15
You have half of your CPU disabled.

This problem can usually be fixed by going into msconfig, click on the Boot tab - Advanced Options and then making sure that Number of processors: is not checked. There is an internet myth that setting this to 4 will speed up your boot times or something silly like that. Your CPU supports hyperthreading which means your 4 core CPU can process 8 threads of information at a time. If this is set to only 4, only half of your CPU is being utilized.

Once you uncheck this box reboot and see what RealTemp, the Task Manager and CPU-Z say. The APIC ID box in RealTemp shows 0 1 2 3. That means hyper-threading is enabled which is good but only the first two cores of your CPU are active. It should be showing 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
unclewebb you are my favorite Uncle :) Thank you very much. I have one more question though Uncle, Why do they put that 4 is better than 2 in there? Curious:)
 

unclewebb

RealTemp Author
Joined
Jun 1, 2008
Messages
1,141 (0.33/day)
Likes
676
#16
It's an internet myth and like other internet myths, if it gets repeated enough it seems to become true. I have no idea when the msconfig idea got started.

On some motherboards, if you put 4 in that box, this was a "trick" to disable hyper threading. Some gamers didn't like hyper threading when it was first introduced so this trick disabled it. Depending on how Windows and your bios get along; this trick will either disable the last 4 threads or every other thread. If it disables every other thread, that would be good for this purpose because you would end up with 4 cores and 4 threads. On your motherboard, it disables the last 4 threads so you end up with only 2 cores and 4 threads or exactly half of what you paid for.

Leaving that box unchecked is usually best. Then when Windows boots up, it is able to find all your threads.

Post some pics to show your new and improved CPU. It really makes me wonder how many people around the world are using only half of their CPU because of this.

CPU-Z will show you how many cores and threads you have. If the APIC ID box in RealTemp shows 0 2 4 6 then that means msconfig is disabling every other thread and you have 4 cores 4 threads.
 

brandonwh64

Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!
Joined
Sep 6, 2009
Messages
19,516 (6.46/day)
Likes
6,937
Location
Chatsworth, GA
System Name The StarCrunch Defender! | X58 Cruncher!
Processor I7 6700K @ STOCK | Intel I7-920
Motherboard Gigabyte Z170X-UD5 | Alienware MS-7543 X58
Cooling Corsair A70 Push/Pull | Corsair H50
Memory Crucial Ballistix DDR4 2400 MHz | Pereema 3x2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Gaming G1 GTX 1070 | Gigabyte 7970 3GB
Storage 2x Samsung Pro 256GB M.2 SSD's in Raid 0 | 4TB Western Digital SATA drive
Display(s) ViewSonic VG2227wm 1080P | OLD viewsonics
Case NZXT Tempest 410 Elite | NZXT Source 210
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 750TX | Enermax Liberty 500W
Mouse MX518 | MX502
Keyboard TESORO Mechanical | ANZO Mechanical
Software Windows 10 Pro on both
#17
unclewebb you are my favorite Uncle :) Thank you very much. I have one more question though Uncle, Why do they put that 4 is better than 2 in there? Curious:)
Technically windows should not have change anything in the core setting on MSconfig or at least it has never happened to me. I have seen instances were individuals do it by mistake and other times they swear no one has touched it. Maybe someone made a program that does it silently and never changes it back.
 

jdr

New Member
Joined
Jan 16, 2012
Messages
11 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#18
It's an internet myth and like other internet myths, if it gets repeated enough it seems to become true. I have no idea when the msconfig idea got started.

On some motherboards, if you put 4 in that box, this was a "trick" to disable hyper threading. Some gamers didn't like hyper threading when it was first introduced so this trick disabled it. Depending on how Windows and your bios get along; this trick will either disable the last 4 threads or every other thread. If it disables every other thread, that would be good for this purpose because you would end up with 4 cores and 4 threads. On your motherboard, it disables the last 4 threads so you end up with only 2 cores and 4 threads or exactly half of what you paid for.

Leaving that box unchecked is usually best. Then when Windows boots up, it is able to find all your threads.

Post some pics to show your new and improved CPU. It really makes me wonder how many people around the world are using only half of their CPU because of this.

CPU-Z will show you how many cores and threads you have. If the APIC ID box in RealTemp shows 0 2 4 6 then that means msconfig is disabling every other thread and you have 4 cores 4 threads.

Interesting and Thanks again for solving my problem Uncle:)