• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

I think i have fried my x1950pro

Joined
Nov 29, 2007
Messages
978 (0.20/day)
Location
Netherlands
Processor i5 6600k
Motherboard MSI B150 Gaming pro AC
Cooling Cooler master hyper 212
Memory 16 GB crucial ballistix sport
Video Card(s) MSI GTX970
Storage 500GB Crucial MX200 2x 2tb WD green
Display(s) BenQ XL2730Z 27" 2560x1440 144hz
Case Bitfenix prodigy ITX
Software Windows 10 pro
I have a sapphire x1950pro hooked up on this psu for a while http://www.hkc-europe.com/spjj.asp?id=219&jb=006002
now i have heard on the sapphire forums that the minimal you need is a 450watt with 30 amps.
i am always getting a black screen when i am gaming for like 5sec. with eve online(wich i have never played before)i am already getting it in the menu so i cant even log in -.-

now i have bought this psu http://www.be-quiet.net/be-quiet.net/index.php?StoryID=77# wich has 500watt and 34 amps on the 12volt rail but still im getting that nasty black screen is it possible i stressed my video card too much?

temps are around 55c so that shouldn't be the problem i ran the vga on the bad psu for about 2 months.
 
Joined
Feb 21, 2008
Messages
4,985 (1.03/day)
Location
Greensboro, NC, USA
System Name Cosmos F1000
Processor i9-9900k
Motherboard Gigabyte Z370XP SLI, BIOS 15a
Cooling Corsair H100i, Panaflo's on case
Memory XPG GAMMIX D30 2x16GB DDR4 3200 CL16
Video Card(s) EVGA RTX 2080 ti
Storage 1TB 960 Pro, 2TB Samsung 850 Pro, 4TB WD Hard Drive
Display(s) ASUS ROG SWIFT PG278Q 27"
Case CM Cosmos 1000
Audio Device(s) logitech 5.1 system (midrange quality)
Power Supply CORSAIR HXi HX1000i 1000watt
Mouse G400s Logitech
Keyboard K65 RGB Corsair Tenkeyless Cherry Red MX
Software Win10 Pro, Win7 x64 Professional
Yeah, that sounds like something on the card died. :(


On the upside, the 4850's and 9800GTX's are around $200 now! :toast:
 

hat

Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 20, 2006
Messages
21,447 (4.06/day)
Location
Ohio
System Name Starlifter :: Dragonfly
Processor i7 2600k 4.4GHz :: Athlon II x4 630 3.5GHz
Motherboard ASUS P8P67 Pro :: GIgabyte GA-770T-USB3
Cooling Corsair H70 :: Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 2x4GB DDR3 1866 :: 2x1GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) 2x PNY GTX1070 :: none
Storage Plextor M5s 128GB, WDC Black 500GB :: Mushkin Enhanced 60GB SSD, WD RE3 1TB
Display(s) Acer P216HL HDMI :: None
Case Antec SOHO 1030B :: Old White Full Tower
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro - iLive IT153B Soundbar (optical) :: None
Power Supply FSP Hydro GE 550w :: something
Software Windows 10 Pro - Plex Server on Dragonfly
Benchmark Scores >9000
Yeah you can get a 4850 which is probably more energy efficent than the x1950. The x1950 is pretty much a beefed up version of a x1900, which ran very hot and sucked a lot of juice.
 
Joined
Nov 29, 2007
Messages
978 (0.20/day)
Location
Netherlands
Processor i5 6600k
Motherboard MSI B150 Gaming pro AC
Cooling Cooler master hyper 212
Memory 16 GB crucial ballistix sport
Video Card(s) MSI GTX970
Storage 500GB Crucial MX200 2x 2tb WD green
Display(s) BenQ XL2730Z 27" 2560x1440 144hz
Case Bitfenix prodigy ITX
Software Windows 10 pro
but you guys have to know im only earning 35euro a month and 14 year old so i cant get a job:(
 

hat

Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 20, 2006
Messages
21,447 (4.06/day)
Location
Ohio
System Name Starlifter :: Dragonfly
Processor i7 2600k 4.4GHz :: Athlon II x4 630 3.5GHz
Motherboard ASUS P8P67 Pro :: GIgabyte GA-770T-USB3
Cooling Corsair H70 :: Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 2x4GB DDR3 1866 :: 2x1GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) 2x PNY GTX1070 :: none
Storage Plextor M5s 128GB, WDC Black 500GB :: Mushkin Enhanced 60GB SSD, WD RE3 1TB
Display(s) Acer P216HL HDMI :: None
Case Antec SOHO 1030B :: Old White Full Tower
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro - iLive IT153B Soundbar (optical) :: None
Power Supply FSP Hydro GE 550w :: something
Software Windows 10 Pro - Plex Server on Dragonfly
Benchmark Scores >9000
Hrm. Try reinstalling video drivers. If you have another PCI-E port, try moving the card to it.
 
Joined
Nov 29, 2007
Messages
978 (0.20/day)
Location
Netherlands
Processor i5 6600k
Motherboard MSI B150 Gaming pro AC
Cooling Cooler master hyper 212
Memory 16 GB crucial ballistix sport
Video Card(s) MSI GTX970
Storage 500GB Crucial MX200 2x 2tb WD green
Display(s) BenQ XL2730Z 27" 2560x1440 144hz
Case Bitfenix prodigy ITX
Software Windows 10 pro
Hrm. Try reinstalling video drivers. If you have another PCI-E port, try moving the card to it.
im going to try that:)
 
Joined
Dec 30, 2007
Messages
1,195 (0.24/day)
Location
Bitola, Macedonia
System Name Brutus
Processor AMD Ryzen 5600X
Motherboard Asus Prime X570-P
Cooling EKWB AIO 240MM Push-Pull fans
Memory Patriot Viper Steel DDR4 4000 32GB (4x8)
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 1080Ti FE
Storage Kingston A2000 500GB + Toshiba 1TB HDD
Display(s) Samsung 24" S24D300 + 2x LG LED 24"
Case Cooler Master H500
Audio Device(s) SB X-Fi Titanium Fatality Professional
Power Supply Sama Forza Modular 750W 80+ Gold
Mouse Cooler Master Master Keys Lite
Keyboard Cooler Master Master Keys Lite
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
If you have a friend with a more powerful PSU, or equivalent, try your card on his PC to see if the GFX will do that in his PC as well.
 

Darkmag

New Member
Joined
Mar 24, 2007
Messages
29 (0.01/day)
Let me get this straight when you playing EVE your monitor will constantly go to a black screen for 5s and then back to the game for a certain amount of time then back to a black screen?

Does this happen in any other game or just EVE?
 
Joined
Nov 29, 2007
Messages
978 (0.20/day)
Location
Netherlands
Processor i5 6600k
Motherboard MSI B150 Gaming pro AC
Cooling Cooler master hyper 212
Memory 16 GB crucial ballistix sport
Video Card(s) MSI GTX970
Storage 500GB Crucial MX200 2x 2tb WD green
Display(s) BenQ XL2730Z 27" 2560x1440 144hz
Case Bitfenix prodigy ITX
Software Windows 10 pro
@Hat: it Doesnt work:cry:
If you have a friend with a more powerful PSU, or equivalent, try your card on his PC to see if the GFX will do that in his PC as well.
im the only one at home with a atx pc

@darkmag:at eve it happens in the menu it goes black and stays black until i reboot with other games it happens after 5seconds of gaming.
 

Darkmag

New Member
Joined
Mar 24, 2007
Messages
29 (0.01/day)
I have come across a similar problem, where the screen would go to a black screen and then back to the game and so it went on black/game/black/game sometimes the black screens would last for 15s and it would only go back to the game for 1s -sometimes minutes - before going back to the black.

The only similarity your problem has with the above one is the black screen during games. The solution to the above problem was to change the resolutions to either 640x480, 800x600, 1024x768, 1440x900 and 1680x1050. anything else would cause the problem.

It worth a try to see if that helps.
 
Joined
Nov 29, 2007
Messages
978 (0.20/day)
Location
Netherlands
Processor i5 6600k
Motherboard MSI B150 Gaming pro AC
Cooling Cooler master hyper 212
Memory 16 GB crucial ballistix sport
Video Card(s) MSI GTX970
Storage 500GB Crucial MX200 2x 2tb WD green
Display(s) BenQ XL2730Z 27" 2560x1440 144hz
Case Bitfenix prodigy ITX
Software Windows 10 pro
well the highest what i can run is 1024x768 on my lcd and anything lower is just unplayable
i think im going to wait a month and watch all the 38xx going for sale and buy one of those
 
Top