• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

I went from AMD to Intel

Joined
Feb 10, 2007
Messages
2,403 (0.61/day)
Likes
468
Location
Oulu, Finland
System Name Enslaver :)
Processor Intel i5 3570K Ivy Bridge, 4GHz no voltage increase OC
Motherboard ASRock Z77 Extreme4
Cooling CPU: Noctua NH-D14, Case: mix of different fans
Memory 24GB DDR3 1866MHz- mix Samsung green 1600MHZ OC + Kingston Fury 1866MHz stock
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 1080 A8G Strix + disbled Intel HD4000
Storage 500GB Samsung Evo 850 SSD, internal WD Red 4TB for storage
Display(s) LG 55SJ810V 4K IPS TV, HDR
Case Corsair 800D
Audio Device(s) Over HDMI
Power Supply Quite new Corsair RM850x
Mouse ROG Gladius
Keyboard QPAD MX-50 mechanical
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#1
Hi!

I recenty ordered a AMD 64 5000+ Black Edition (2x512Kb L2 cache) dual core CPU for about 125€ and when I got it I realized that a Intel Q6600 quad core (4x2Mb L2 cache) costs "only" about the double. So I couldn´t resist to send the AMD back and to buy an Intel.
How can AMD leak back so much in L2 Cache - no wonder that they are in trouble. For example the just released 5000+ Black Edition CPU they hope to make them big bugs which is only having 1Mb of L2 Cache - not worth bying as enthusiast even with an unlocked multiplier. AMD not having a qual core CPU ready to sell by now on the western worlds markets is a shame too.
 
Last edited:

Spunky

New Member
Joined
Nov 17, 2007
Messages
67 (0.02/day)
Likes
3
Location
Orlando, Florida, USA.
Processor AMD Phenom II X4 965 @ 3.4 GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-870A-UD3
Cooling Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro (Rev. 2)
Memory 4GB (2 x 2GB) A-Data DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GTX 465
Storage Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) ASUS 21" Full 1080p
Case Antec Nine Hundred Two
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC892
Power Supply Antec EarthWatts EA750 750W
Software Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit
#2
Everyone is disappointed in AMD right now, except for the loyal fanboys. Intel is pushing on ahead. I mean shit, the QX9650 is ridiculously powerful, and leads me to wonder whether or not AMD will ever recover.
 
Joined
Jun 17, 2005
Messages
1,034 (0.23/day)
Likes
23
System Name Beatle_Juice
Processor i5 4690K
Motherboard Asus Sabertooth Z97 Mark 2
Cooling Noctua NH-U14S
Memory 8 GB G.Skill Sniper DDR3 1866MHz
Video Card(s) ASUS GeForce GTX 770 DirectCU II
Storage Crucial CT064M4 SDD/Samsung 840 EVO 120GB/Samsung F3 1TB
Display(s) BenQ 22" E2220HD
Case Cooler Master ATCS. 840
Audio Device(s) On Board
Power Supply Seasonic 850W M12II-850 Evolution
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
#3
Well i am not to disappointed AMD have fallen some what behind, but they will rise once again
 

von kain

New Member
Joined
Sep 13, 2006
Messages
780 (0.19/day)
Likes
47
Location
athens/greece
System Name intel-hate
Processor Amd phenom 2 955 @ 3800
Motherboard msi 790fx-gd70
Cooling coolermaster
Memory 4096 @1600 corsair
Video Card(s) sapphire 5770 @950-1350
Storage 1 seagate 80gb sata2 1 160gb seagate sata
Display(s) 20inch wide lg
Power Supply chieftech 750w
Software windows 7 x64
Benchmark Scores nah
#4
fanboysm aside the truth is that amd have disappoint us the main reason is that for a couple of years it doesn't deliver.amd turn from faster than intel on cheaper and that it isn't good for us because the competition (intel) tries not to make an a lot faster cpu but a cheaper .it will make qx9650 but the main target will be on price tag 5xxx 7xxxx
 
Joined
Feb 10, 2007
Messages
2,403 (0.61/day)
Likes
468
Location
Oulu, Finland
System Name Enslaver :)
Processor Intel i5 3570K Ivy Bridge, 4GHz no voltage increase OC
Motherboard ASRock Z77 Extreme4
Cooling CPU: Noctua NH-D14, Case: mix of different fans
Memory 24GB DDR3 1866MHz- mix Samsung green 1600MHZ OC + Kingston Fury 1866MHz stock
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 1080 A8G Strix + disbled Intel HD4000
Storage 500GB Samsung Evo 850 SSD, internal WD Red 4TB for storage
Display(s) LG 55SJ810V 4K IPS TV, HDR
Case Corsair 800D
Audio Device(s) Over HDMI
Power Supply Quite new Corsair RM850x
Mouse ROG Gladius
Keyboard QPAD MX-50 mechanical
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#5
AMD is loosing a lot of money every day for not getting the Phenom out worldwide even when it is availible it will be seen if it can cope with the performace/price ratio of the Q6600
 
Joined
Jun 17, 2005
Messages
1,034 (0.23/day)
Likes
23
System Name Beatle_Juice
Processor i5 4690K
Motherboard Asus Sabertooth Z97 Mark 2
Cooling Noctua NH-U14S
Memory 8 GB G.Skill Sniper DDR3 1866MHz
Video Card(s) ASUS GeForce GTX 770 DirectCU II
Storage Crucial CT064M4 SDD/Samsung 840 EVO 120GB/Samsung F3 1TB
Display(s) BenQ 22" E2220HD
Case Cooler Master ATCS. 840
Audio Device(s) On Board
Power Supply Seasonic 850W M12II-850 Evolution
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
#6
fanboysm aside the truth is that amd have disappoint us the main reason is that for a couple of years it doesn't deliver.amd turn from faster than intel on cheaper and that it isn't good for us because the competition (intel) tries not to make an a lot faster cpu but a cheaper .it will make qx9650 but the main target will be on price tag 5xxx 7xxxx
If you are disappoint ,then fine.But dont use the word US, i am quite happy with my 6000+ ;)
 

von kain

New Member
Joined
Sep 13, 2006
Messages
780 (0.19/day)
Likes
47
Location
athens/greece
System Name intel-hate
Processor Amd phenom 2 955 @ 3800
Motherboard msi 790fx-gd70
Cooling coolermaster
Memory 4096 @1600 corsair
Video Card(s) sapphire 5770 @950-1350
Storage 1 seagate 80gb sata2 1 160gb seagate sata
Display(s) 20inch wide lg
Power Supply chieftech 750w
Software windows 7 x64
Benchmark Scores nah
#7
If you are disappoint ,then fine.But dont use the word US, i am quite happy with my 6000+ ;)
you are completely right i can't speak for everyone,but what are you feeling about the new amd marketing idea of price-centric instead of speed-centric ?
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,100 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,528
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#8
i have an FX-62 in my AM2 rig, and its quite nice. Price is stupid here in aus, but AMD chips are good for low power situations (cool and quiet really does rape intels speedstep)

AMD are cheap and low power in the low-mid range, but high end performance intel is king.

Edit: power as in wattage, not performance.
 
Last edited:

Kasparz

New Member
Joined
Feb 27, 2006
Messages
287 (0.07/day)
Likes
4
#9
AMD is loosing a lot of money every day for not getting the Phenom out worldwide even when it is availible it will be seen if it can cope with the performace/price ratio of the Q6600
Being faster and cheaper in low/middle end segment is called loosing money?
 
Joined
Feb 10, 2007
Messages
2,403 (0.61/day)
Likes
468
Location
Oulu, Finland
System Name Enslaver :)
Processor Intel i5 3570K Ivy Bridge, 4GHz no voltage increase OC
Motherboard ASRock Z77 Extreme4
Cooling CPU: Noctua NH-D14, Case: mix of different fans
Memory 24GB DDR3 1866MHz- mix Samsung green 1600MHZ OC + Kingston Fury 1866MHz stock
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 1080 A8G Strix + disbled Intel HD4000
Storage 500GB Samsung Evo 850 SSD, internal WD Red 4TB for storage
Display(s) LG 55SJ810V 4K IPS TV, HDR
Case Corsair 800D
Audio Device(s) Over HDMI
Power Supply Quite new Corsair RM850x
Mouse ROG Gladius
Keyboard QPAD MX-50 mechanical
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#10
How then can it be that AMD is in a financial crises
 

von kain

New Member
Joined
Sep 13, 2006
Messages
780 (0.19/day)
Likes
47
Location
athens/greece
System Name intel-hate
Processor Amd phenom 2 955 @ 3800
Motherboard msi 790fx-gd70
Cooling coolermaster
Memory 4096 @1600 corsair
Video Card(s) sapphire 5770 @950-1350
Storage 1 seagate 80gb sata2 1 160gb seagate sata
Display(s) 20inch wide lg
Power Supply chieftech 750w
Software windows 7 x64
Benchmark Scores nah
#11
Joined
Feb 10, 2007
Messages
2,403 (0.61/day)
Likes
468
Location
Oulu, Finland
System Name Enslaver :)
Processor Intel i5 3570K Ivy Bridge, 4GHz no voltage increase OC
Motherboard ASRock Z77 Extreme4
Cooling CPU: Noctua NH-D14, Case: mix of different fans
Memory 24GB DDR3 1866MHz- mix Samsung green 1600MHZ OC + Kingston Fury 1866MHz stock
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 1080 A8G Strix + disbled Intel HD4000
Storage 500GB Samsung Evo 850 SSD, internal WD Red 4TB for storage
Display(s) LG 55SJ810V 4K IPS TV, HDR
Case Corsair 800D
Audio Device(s) Over HDMI
Power Supply Quite new Corsair RM850x
Mouse ROG Gladius
Keyboard QPAD MX-50 mechanical
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#12
Finally some good news
 
Joined
Aug 30, 2006
Messages
6,374 (1.55/day)
Likes
983
System Name ICE-QUAD // ICE-CRUNCH
Processor Q6600 // 2x Xeon 5472
Memory 2GB DDR // 8GB FB-DIMM
Video Card(s) HD3850-AGP // FireGL 3400
Display(s) 2 x Samsung 204Ts = 3200x1200
Audio Device(s) Audigy 2
Software Windows Server 2003 R2 as a Workstation now migrated to W10 with regrets.
#13
i can see any crises over amd a couple days before an investor organization from abu dhabi buy 8.2% of amd shares http://www.news.com/8301-10784_3-9818987-7.html?tag=nefd.top
Srry, vk, but you misunderstood the news. Why does AMD need the cash NOW? Because it cannot get the bank loans, and stuff needs to be paid for... so it has gone, cap in hand, for additional equity from investors to tide it over.

Remember, this was NOT an investor buying existing shares, but a "private placement" to ensure the company had enough capital so it would look financially stronger. ALL OTHER INVESTORS lose out... because now the same profit is now shared amongst MORE shareholders, so the return on equity goes down.

quote: to make an investment in R&D...

Read as follows:

They need some money to go and buy a company so they can get some more ideas and products, like they did with the ATI purchase. In fact, this recent increase in shares may actually be a way of helping to fund their ATI purchase. They borrowed a lot of money from banks to buy ATI. They thought they could repay it, because on paper, AMD had made a lot of profit over the last 5 years... but they HAVENT made that money this year, those loans need repaying, so AMD desperately needs cash to pay back the banks for financing the ATI acquisition.

AMD is in a terrible mess. And the recent private placement to the middle eastern investors just goes to show it.
 
Last edited:

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,100 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,528
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#14
what lemonade said is true. they did that because they are losing money, the ATI buyout cost them and isnt paying off like it should have.
 
Joined
Aug 30, 2006
Messages
6,374 (1.55/day)
Likes
983
System Name ICE-QUAD // ICE-CRUNCH
Processor Q6600 // 2x Xeon 5472
Memory 2GB DDR // 8GB FB-DIMM
Video Card(s) HD3850-AGP // FireGL 3400
Display(s) 2 x Samsung 204Ts = 3200x1200
Audio Device(s) Audigy 2
Software Windows Server 2003 R2 as a Workstation now migrated to W10 with regrets.
#15
The California-based company was likely to welcome the investment after reporting its fourth consecutive quarter of losses last month in the face of competition from rival Intel, the world's biggest chipmaker, the paper said.

Still the deal could attract the attention of the U.S. Committee on Foreign Investment, which vets acquisitions by overseas investors, particularly in technology and defence companies, on national security grounds, it said.

A spokesman for Advanced Micro Devices declined to comment on a deal, and said that, contrary to the Financial Times report, the company's work did not include government contracts.

AMD has been strapped for cash since its $5.4 billion purchase of Canadian graphics chip company, ATI.

Just look at this shareprice :eek:
 
Joined
Feb 10, 2007
Messages
2,403 (0.61/day)
Likes
468
Location
Oulu, Finland
System Name Enslaver :)
Processor Intel i5 3570K Ivy Bridge, 4GHz no voltage increase OC
Motherboard ASRock Z77 Extreme4
Cooling CPU: Noctua NH-D14, Case: mix of different fans
Memory 24GB DDR3 1866MHz- mix Samsung green 1600MHZ OC + Kingston Fury 1866MHz stock
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 1080 A8G Strix + disbled Intel HD4000
Storage 500GB Samsung Evo 850 SSD, internal WD Red 4TB for storage
Display(s) LG 55SJ810V 4K IPS TV, HDR
Case Corsair 800D
Audio Device(s) Over HDMI
Power Supply Quite new Corsair RM850x
Mouse ROG Gladius
Keyboard QPAD MX-50 mechanical
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#16
Nice info guys/girls
 
Joined
May 6, 2005
Messages
2,786 (0.61/day)
Likes
435
Location
Tre, Suomi Finland
Processor i7 4770K Haswell, watercooled
Motherboard Asus Z87-C2 Maximus VI Formula
Cooling Fuzion V1, MCW60/R2, DDC1/DDCT-01s top, PA120.3, EK200, 3× D12SL-12, liquid metal TIM
Memory 2× 8GB Crucial Ballistix Tactical LP DDR3-1600
Video Card(s) between GPUs
Storage Samsung 840Pro 256@178GB + 4× WD Red 2TB in RAID10 + LaCie Blade Runner 4TB
Display(s) HP ZR30w 30" 2560×1600 (WQXGA) H2-IPS
Case Lian Li PC-A16B
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair AX860i
Mouse Logitech PM MX / Contour RollerMouse Red+
Keyboard Logitech diNovo Edge / Logitech Elite Keyboard from 2006
Software W10 x64
Benchmark Scores yes
#17
If they had not bought ATi then they had no GPU core to be strapped on Fusion. If they had no Fusion to counter Nehalem CGPU-variant (with the integrated GPU), then AMD would eventually get kicked from the budjet sector too.
 
Joined
Mar 27, 2007
Messages
2,746 (0.70/day)
Likes
371
Location
just outside of new orleans
Processor Intel Core i7-4790 Haswell Quad-Core 3.6GHz LGA 1150 84W
Motherboard GIGABYTE GA-H87-D3H LGA 1150 Intel H87 HDMI
Cooling CPU - Cooler Master Hyper T4 / Case - cooler master 120mm rear case fan (Air cooling)
Memory G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 16GB (2 x 8GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX660-DC2O-2GD5 2GB 192-Bit GDDR5 PCI Express 3.0 x16 HDCP Ready SLI support
Storage Samsung 500 GB 840 EVO SSD Drive
Display(s) ASUS 23" LED Monitor
Case COOLER MASTER Centurion 5 (silver & black)
Audio Device(s) (onboard audio) Realtek ALC892
Power Supply CORSAIR SU-750TX 750W ATX12V / EPS12V
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit Edition
#18
i dont know why its so hard to understand the reason AMD cant keep up?


AMD is not a small company but it relative terms to intel they are very small. because of this it is the buisness model of AMD to compete head to head with intel buy reverse engineering intels products to see how they are built then Amd builds a competing product that is simular but hopefully better and designed to be better priced and with more OC potential. the flaw in this buisness model that intel is taking advantage of is that if your competitor keeps advancing their own product line too fast, you dont have time to keep up because you need time to reverse engineer it and design your own competing product, but by that time their is newer tech to compete with. when intel had a smaller line of processors it was easier to keep up. AMD needs time to reorganize its whole buisness model as stand alone and forget all attemps to "match" intels cpus. once they do this it will be like ford vs chevy and not david vs golioth.
 

3991vhtes

New Member
Joined
Apr 22, 2007
Messages
2,785 (0.72/day)
Likes
107
Location
My house.
Processor AMD Athlon 64 3800+ Venice 2.4GHz
Motherboard ASUS A8V-VM SE
Cooling Stock
Memory 1GB DDR400
Video Card(s) DiamondViper Radeon X1650PRO 512MB PCI-e
Storage Seagate 250GB SATA
Display(s) Acer AL2002W 20" LCD Widescreen
Case cheap
Audio Device(s) Creative SoundBlaster
Power Supply 500 watt
Software Vista Ultimate
Benchmark Scores 4.1 Vista index
#19
Intel :nutkick: AMD
 

Tatty_One

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2006
Messages
19,745 (4.54/day)
Likes
6,011
Location
Worcestershire, UK
Processor Skylake Core i7 6700k @ 4.6gig
Motherboard MSI Z170A Tomahawk
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 240V AIO/Viper140's
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000mhz CL14
Video Card(s) Sapphire 4gb R9 290X VaporX @1150mhz
Storage SkHynix SL308 120GB/CrucialM4/1TB WD Black
Display(s) LG 29inch 2560x1080 Curved Ultrawide IPS
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Windowed - Gunmetal
Audio Device(s) Xifi Elite Pro 7.1/VideoLogic ZXR550's
Power Supply XFX Pro Black Edition 750W Gold modular
Keyboard CM Storm Octane Combo
Software Win 10 Home x64
#20
AMD is loosing a lot of money every day for not getting the Phenom out worldwide even when it is availible it will be seen if it can cope with the performace/price ratio of the Q6600
When Phenom is released it wont have to compete with the Q6600.......in January Intel releases its dual core Penyrn's and Quad core Yorkfields....all at 45nm.

Ohhhh and of course you cannot compare the impact of 1 or 2MB L2 cache on AMD against Intels 4 or 8Mb cache as they are different architectures, AMD needs less, it's not actually the cache that really makes the fundementall differences between the 2 architectures. For example, AMD has/had much better memory architecture with an "on die" memory controller which is much more efficient and faster than Intels, memory controller which is located in the Northbridge chip, there are still things that AMD's current (read old) architecture still trumps Intel on, just not enough of them unfortunatly, however, you may be surprised to see in the SM2 thread that there is an A64 6000+ that beats several E6600's in that test.
 
Last edited:

Chewy

New Member
Joined
Jul 9, 2006
Messages
3,287 (0.79/day)
Likes
147
Location
Halifax, Canada
Processor Q6600 G0 @ 3.2Ghz
Motherboard Asus p5k-Premium/Black Pearl
Cooling Luna Block, 240mm rad
Memory Patriot Extreme PC2-6400 2x2GB
Video Card(s) Saphire 5850 1GB
Storage 60GB SSD + 2x500GB/1TB/2TB
Display(s) Samsung 226BW and 50" Panasonic S2
Case Silverstone TJ-09
Audio Device(s) X-fi Prelude
Power Supply Enermax Galaxy Dxx 850watt
Software Windows7 32Bit
Benchmark Scores Super Pi 1M 14.333
#21
atm intel is even kicking butt in the budget section of the price wars... and consuming less power all across the board I think.

Why pay $150 for an amd 5000+ cpu when you can get a an e6750 for $200, and a good mobo to go with it for $140.. I think even the lower end c2d's fair well against amds low end in both power consumption and price/performance. but than amd hasent released any new tech to the market in a while, just revisions? and the black box chips are mainly a shamble the 5400+ black box is a disgrace.. runs to hot cant overclock to save itself, uses a good amount of power and costs as much as a e6750 yet performs slower both @ stock speeds.
 

Wile E

Power User
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Messages
24,318 (5.95/day)
Likes
3,682
System Name The ClusterF**k
Processor 980X @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD5 BIOS F12
Cooling MCR-320, DDC-1 pump w/Bitspower res top (1/2" fittings), Koolance CPU-360
Memory 3x2GB Mushkin Redlines 1600Mhz 6-8-6-24 1T
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 580
Storage Corsair Neutron GTX 240GB, 2xSeagate 320GB RAID0; 2xSeagate 3TB; 2xSamsung 2TB; Samsung 1.5TB
Display(s) HP LP2475w 24" 1920x1200 IPS
Case Technofront Bench Station
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Forte into Onkyo SR606 and Polk TSi200's + RM6750
Power Supply ENERMAX Galaxy EVO EGX1250EWT 1250W
Software Win7 Ultimate N x64, OSX 10.8.4
#22
Why pay $150 for an amd 5000+ cpu when you can get a an e6750 for $200, and a good mobo to go with it for $140.
Because the good mobo to go with the 5000+ can be had for $70. $220 vs $340. AMD is still ahead in the budget market, if only because of mobo prices. If companies start releasing kick-ass budget Intel boards, AMD is doomed.
 
Joined
May 19, 2007
Messages
7,662 (1.98/day)
Likes
536
Location
c:\programs\kitteh.exe
Processor C2Q6600 @ 1.6 GHz
Motherboard Anus PQ5
Cooling ACFPro
Memory GEiL2 x 1 GB PC2 6400
Video Card(s) MSi 4830 (RIP)
Storage Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 320 GB Perpendicular Recording
Display(s) Dell 17'
Case El Cheepo
Audio Device(s) 7.1 Onboard
Power Supply Corsair TX750
Software MCE2K5
#23
Because the good mobo to go with the 5000+ can be had for $70. $220 vs $340. AMD is still ahead in the budget market, if only because of mobo prices. If companies start releasing kick-ass budget Intel boards, AMD is doomed.

endorsed, im even feeling like picking up one soon, if my fortunes change.
 

DR.Death

New Member
Joined
Jul 10, 2005
Messages
1,737 (0.38/day)
Likes
63
Location
Canada
System Name death machine
Processor intel 6600 quad core cooled by scythe mutgen 2
Motherboard dfi lanparty UT P35-T2R
Cooling air
Memory crucial ballistic tracer 4 gb
Video Card(s) nvida 260 gtx
Storage segate baracuta 500 GB , western digital blue 1TB
Display(s) asus 23.6 vh242h
Case lian-li pc-a70 full tower
Power Supply 650 watt Antec Earth Watts
Software windows 7 and lots of other titles
#24
i would not be amazed if AMD sells ATI in the near future because they are not making anny money of eather of them
 

hat

Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 20, 2006
Messages
18,523 (4.59/day)
Likes
3,156
Location
Ohio
System Name Starlifter :: Dragonfly
Processor i5 2400 :: Athlon II x4 630
Motherboard MSI H67-G43-B3 :: GIgabyte GA-770T-USB3
Cooling Corsair H70 :: Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 4x2GB DDR3 1333 :: 2x1GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) 2x PNY GTX1070 :: GT720
Storage Plextor M5s 128GB, WDC Black 500GB :: Mushkin Enhanced 60GB SSD, WD RE3 1TB
Display(s) Acer P216HL HDMI :: None
Case Antec SOHO 1030B :: Old White Full Tower
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro - iLive IT153B Soundbar (optical) :: None
Power Supply Corsair CX600w :: Unknown
Software Windows 10 Pro - Plex Server on Dragonfly
Benchmark Scores >9000
#25
Hi!

I recenty ordered a AMD 64 5000+ Black Edition (2x512Kb L2 cache) dual core CPU for about 125€ and when I got it I realized that a Intel Q6600 quad core (4x2Mb L2 cache) costs "only" about the double. So I couldn´t resist to send the AMD back and to buy an Intel.
How can AMD leak back so much in L2 Cache - no wonder that they are in trouble. For example the just released 5000+ Black Edition CPU they hope to make them big bugs which is only having 1Mb of L2 Cache - not worth bying as enthusiast even with an unlocked multiplier. AMD not having a qual core CPU ready to sell by now on the western worlds markets is a shame too.
They have less cache because they don't need it. AMD cpu's link with the system is so much faster than Intel's setup they don't need that 2-4MB cache per core. However, AMD is lagging behind--bad--in the arcitecture of the core itself.