• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

i5-10300H undervolt

Joined
Jan 10, 2021
Messages
6 (0.46/day)
Location
Ukraine
System Name Asus ROG Strix G15 Electro Punk
Processor Intel Core i5-10300H (UV)
Motherboard G512LI
Cooling 2x in-built laptop coolers + 2x heatpipes
Memory 1x Samsung M471A1K43DB1-CWE (2933 MHz)
Video Card(s) GTX 1650 Ti (UV/OC 2025 MHz)
Storage M.2 Intel SSD 660p 512GB
Display(s) Panda LM156LF2F01 (NCP004D)
Audio Device(s) BT Speaker Divoom Mocha (AUX mode), OneOdio DJ Studio (Headphones)
Power Supply Asus ROG 150W AC Adapter
Mouse Bloody A70
Keyboard Laptop inbuilt
Benchmark Scores Cinebench R23 Score - 1160 pts MCore - 5793 pts | TSBench (8T) 120M - 15.825 960M - 123.746
Hi there. Fortunately I have unlocked 10300H on my Asus ROG Strix G15 (G512LI) laptop, so it's possible for me to undervolt.
Here it is.
1610622919632.png
So far it seem to be stable and doesn't freeze my laptop while using cache undervolt under -100 mV. I am not really understand whether I should undervolt things like iGPU and System Agent, but settings, that I have now didn't cause any issues... Or at least I didn't get any yet.

I don't understand how to remove that PL1 and EDP OTHER warnings and sometimes appearing BD PROCHOT on both CORE and GPU.
1610623147106.png

I hope you, guys, can help me with my problem! :)

1610623095680.png
1610623113426.png
1610623285815.png
 
Joined
Nov 11, 2016
Messages
981 (0.64/day)
System Name The de-ploughminator
Processor I7 9900K @ 5.0Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z370 Gaming 5
Cooling Custom Watercooling
Memory 4x8GB G.Skill Trident Neo 3600mhz 15-15-15-30
Video Card(s) RTX 3090 + Bitspower WB
Storage Plextor 512GB nvme SSD
Display(s) LG 34GN850-B
Case Lian Li 011D Dynamic
Audio Device(s) Creative AE-5
Power Supply Corsair RM1000
In the TPL window, increase the Turbo Boost Long power to something higher like 60, this correlate to a power limit of 60W (PL1). Increase the power limit can improve the performance of your CPU, up until the CPU hit the clock limit.
 
Joined
Jan 10, 2021
Messages
6 (0.46/day)
Location
Ukraine
System Name Asus ROG Strix G15 Electro Punk
Processor Intel Core i5-10300H (UV)
Motherboard G512LI
Cooling 2x in-built laptop coolers + 2x heatpipes
Memory 1x Samsung M471A1K43DB1-CWE (2933 MHz)
Video Card(s) GTX 1650 Ti (UV/OC 2025 MHz)
Storage M.2 Intel SSD 660p 512GB
Display(s) Panda LM156LF2F01 (NCP004D)
Audio Device(s) BT Speaker Divoom Mocha (AUX mode), OneOdio DJ Studio (Headphones)
Power Supply Asus ROG 150W AC Adapter
Mouse Bloody A70
Keyboard Laptop inbuilt
Benchmark Scores Cinebench R23 Score - 1160 pts MCore - 5793 pts | TSBench (8T) 120M - 15.825 960M - 123.746
In the TPL window, increase the Turbo Boost Long power to something higher like 60, this correlate to a power limit of 60W (PL1). Increase the power limit can improve the performance of your CPU, up until the CPU hit the clock limit.
Set TBLPM to 60 Watts like you said. PL1 on CPU and EDP Other on ring are gone and everything seem to be like before, just without limit. Temps didn't go higher than 79 degrees. Very good result. But what I can do about BD PROCHOT? I probably shouldn't turn it off I think, but is there any ways to reduce chances of it happening? By the way GPU (1650 Ti) is already undervolted to 856 mV on 1980 MHz from like ~1.08 V
 
Joined
Nov 11, 2016
Messages
981 (0.64/day)
System Name The de-ploughminator
Processor I7 9900K @ 5.0Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z370 Gaming 5
Cooling Custom Watercooling
Memory 4x8GB G.Skill Trident Neo 3600mhz 15-15-15-30
Video Card(s) RTX 3090 + Bitspower WB
Storage Plextor 512GB nvme SSD
Display(s) LG 34GN850-B
Case Lian Li 011D Dynamic
Audio Device(s) Creative AE-5
Power Supply Corsair RM1000
Set TBLPM to 60 Watts like you said. PL1 on CPU and EDP Other on ring are gone and everything seem to be like before, just without limit. Temps didn't go higher than 79 degrees. Very good result. But what I can do about BD PROCHOT? I probably shouldn't turn it off I think, but is there any ways to reduce chances of it happening? By the way GPU (1650 Ti) is already undervolted to 856 mV on 1980 MHz from like ~1.08 V

Well BD PROCHOT warning can come from overheating VRM, can you check the VRM temperature with HWinfo64 or HWmonitor ?
BD PROCHOT warning can be superfluous sometime too, so if your VRM temp are fine then there is nothing to worry about.
 
Joined
Jan 10, 2021
Messages
6 (0.46/day)
Location
Ukraine
System Name Asus ROG Strix G15 Electro Punk
Processor Intel Core i5-10300H (UV)
Motherboard G512LI
Cooling 2x in-built laptop coolers + 2x heatpipes
Memory 1x Samsung M471A1K43DB1-CWE (2933 MHz)
Video Card(s) GTX 1650 Ti (UV/OC 2025 MHz)
Storage M.2 Intel SSD 660p 512GB
Display(s) Panda LM156LF2F01 (NCP004D)
Audio Device(s) BT Speaker Divoom Mocha (AUX mode), OneOdio DJ Studio (Headphones)
Power Supply Asus ROG 150W AC Adapter
Mouse Bloody A70
Keyboard Laptop inbuilt
Benchmark Scores Cinebench R23 Score - 1160 pts MCore - 5793 pts | TSBench (8T) 120M - 15.825 960M - 123.746
Well BD PROCHOT warning can come from overheating VRM, can you check the VRM temperature with HWinfo64 or HWmonitor ?
BD PROCHOT warning can be superfluous sometime too, so if your VRM temp are fine then there is nothing to worry about.
Can't find VRM anywhere. Maybe I don't have such sensor on my lappy mobo. Also I found out that BD PROCHOT appears only after display sleep state (the state when my display completely turns off, but still doesn't go sleep). I guess that just triggers so power states and shows me that. It seem that I can't get BD PROCHOT while playing or heavily using my laptop
 

unclewebb

ThrottleStop & RealTemp Author
Joined
Jun 1, 2008
Messages
2,739 (0.59/day)
Well BD PROCHOT warning can come from overheating VRM
The Limit Reasons window should show VR THERMAL or VR CURRENT if the voltage regulators are overheating or if they are being forced to their current limit.

BD PROCHOT is buggy in many computers. It is common for false throttling signals to be sent to the CPU using this method. If it was my computer, I would try clearing the BD PROCHOT box on the main screen of ThrottleStop. I would also recommend checking the FIVR Disable and Lock Turbo Power Limits box.

@Kugumin - Thanks for sharing that CPU voltage control works on your 10th Gen laptop. Most people do not bother undervolting the Intel GPU or the System Agent. If you are 100% stable then your voltages are good.
 
Joined
Jan 10, 2021
Messages
6 (0.46/day)
Location
Ukraine
System Name Asus ROG Strix G15 Electro Punk
Processor Intel Core i5-10300H (UV)
Motherboard G512LI
Cooling 2x in-built laptop coolers + 2x heatpipes
Memory 1x Samsung M471A1K43DB1-CWE (2933 MHz)
Video Card(s) GTX 1650 Ti (UV/OC 2025 MHz)
Storage M.2 Intel SSD 660p 512GB
Display(s) Panda LM156LF2F01 (NCP004D)
Audio Device(s) BT Speaker Divoom Mocha (AUX mode), OneOdio DJ Studio (Headphones)
Power Supply Asus ROG 150W AC Adapter
Mouse Bloody A70
Keyboard Laptop inbuilt
Benchmark Scores Cinebench R23 Score - 1160 pts MCore - 5793 pts | TSBench (8T) 120M - 15.825 960M - 123.746
I would try clearing the BD PROCHOT box on the main screen of ThrottleStop
That might be good idea. I will try and see if that "buggy" BD PROCHOT will appear again.
I would also recommend checking the FIVR Disable and Lock Turbo Power Limits box.
I checked it and it seem to work. I got back my PL1 to stock value of 45W, enabled option and I was able to get up to 57W (had to remove undervolt, because with it I barely can get 45W :)).
@Kugumin - Thanks for sharing that CPU voltage control works on your 10th Gen laptop. Most people do not bother undervolting the Intel GPU or the System Agent. If you are 100% stable then your voltages are good.
No problem. Thankfully to ASUS, they didn't lock undervolt yet, despite plundervolt problem and they even give basic option to undervolt in BIOS (offset up to -80 mV)
 

FritadoMaster

New Member
Joined
Jan 16, 2021
Messages
1 (0.14/day)
Hi there. Fortunately I have unlocked 10300H on my Asus ROG Strix G15 (G512LI) laptop, so it's possible for me to undervolt.
Here it is.
So far it seem to be stable and doesn't freeze my laptop while using cache undervolt under -100 mV. I am not really understand whether I should undervolt things like iGPU and System Agent, but settings, that I have now didn't cause any issues... Or at least I didn't get any yet.

I don't understand how to remove that PL1 and EDP OTHER warnings and sometimes appearing BD PROCHOT on both CORE and GPU.

I hope you, guys, can help me with my problem! :)


Hello!

I have a same laptop. I have a same problem with the "Locked" status.
Could you please help me, how can you do that?

Could you please provide me a step by step guide?

Really Thanks in Advance!
 
Joined
Jan 10, 2021
Messages
6 (0.46/day)
Location
Ukraine
System Name Asus ROG Strix G15 Electro Punk
Processor Intel Core i5-10300H (UV)
Motherboard G512LI
Cooling 2x in-built laptop coolers + 2x heatpipes
Memory 1x Samsung M471A1K43DB1-CWE (2933 MHz)
Video Card(s) GTX 1650 Ti (UV/OC 2025 MHz)
Storage M.2 Intel SSD 660p 512GB
Display(s) Panda LM156LF2F01 (NCP004D)
Audio Device(s) BT Speaker Divoom Mocha (AUX mode), OneOdio DJ Studio (Headphones)
Power Supply Asus ROG 150W AC Adapter
Mouse Bloody A70
Keyboard Laptop inbuilt
Benchmark Scores Cinebench R23 Score - 1160 pts MCore - 5793 pts | TSBench (8T) 120M - 15.825 960M - 123.746
Hello!

I have a same laptop. I have a same problem with the "Locked" status.
Could you please help me, how can you do that?

Could you please provide me a step by step guide?

Really Thanks in Advance!
Are you sure you have exactly the same laptop? I have Asus ROG Strix G15 (G15LI) with 10300H +1650 Ti and BIOS Rev. 306. What's your BIOS version?
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 10, 2021
Messages
6 (0.46/day)
Location
Ukraine
System Name Asus ROG Strix G15 Electro Punk
Processor Intel Core i5-10300H (UV)
Motherboard G512LI
Cooling 2x in-built laptop coolers + 2x heatpipes
Memory 1x Samsung M471A1K43DB1-CWE (2933 MHz)
Video Card(s) GTX 1650 Ti (UV/OC 2025 MHz)
Storage M.2 Intel SSD 660p 512GB
Display(s) Panda LM156LF2F01 (NCP004D)
Audio Device(s) BT Speaker Divoom Mocha (AUX mode), OneOdio DJ Studio (Headphones)
Power Supply Asus ROG 150W AC Adapter
Mouse Bloody A70
Keyboard Laptop inbuilt
Benchmark Scores Cinebench R23 Score - 1160 pts MCore - 5793 pts | TSBench (8T) 120M - 15.825 960M - 123.746
Long time no posting here. Fortunately I found that I can undervolt some more and I did. Here's new results:
1611222005655.png

I guess it's possible to push iGPU and System Agent a bit further without loosing stability. Previous CPU Core undervolt was a bit wrong. I undervolt it up to -200 it doesn't go lower than Cache voltage, but when I do a bit more than Cache it does go lower than it. System at the moment seem to be stable in both Cinebench R23 and TSBench. Interesting thing that the CPU uses mostly <1V in TSBench and another one is that it was possible to make CPU use less, than 50W in Cinebench, which is heavy as you all know. I guess it's a great result for CPU like that. Now I can never exceed Turbo Boost Long Power PL1...

On idle CPU can go as low as 0.3W with Screen ON and USB Mouse detached. With it's like 0.4-0.5W.
 
Top