1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

i5 2500k oc/voltage

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by FerK, Sep 20, 2017.

  1. FerK

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2015
    Messages:
    26 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Hello, I've been running my i5 2500k at 4.2 GHZ for a year or so, using turbo boost and setting 'auto' in core voltage (1.28v was the auto setting, which I think it's not too bad).

    I wanted to extract a little bit more now that it's getting a little bit old so I tried putting the turbo boost at 4.5 GHZ and every other setting untouched. It crashed while starting windows. I tried manually changing the core voltage and I was able to get to Windows at 1.312v. I didn't perform any stress test to see if it was stable because I want to know, first, if it's possible to have the voltage to go down when idle, because if I set it up manually it stays at 1.312 at all times.

    I have a MSI P67A-GD65 as MB, if it helps.

    So my questions are; is there a way to lower that voltage at idle? (it usually goes down to 0.96v in auto). Are those voltages safe for the CPU? Would having 1.312v constantly damage the CPU?

    Regards.
     
  2. CAPSLOCKSTUCK

    CAPSLOCKSTUCK Spaced Out Lunar Tick

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2013
    Messages:
    7,982 (4.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16,930
    Location:
    llaregguB...WALES
    try Windows power options

    press start and type "power + sleep settings"

    additional power settings
     
    Vya Domus says thanks.
  3. Vya Domus

    Vya Domus

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2017
    Messages:
    1,379 (4.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    716
    SpeedStep is probably disabled in the BIOS which cause the CPU to run at the highest power state all the time.
     
  4. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    6,240 (1.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,334
    Location:
    S.E. Virginia
    Your board should do that automatically as your CPU lowers it's clock speeds. If you have the CPU locked at 4.5 GHz, the voltage will stay at 1.312 volts.

    Absolutely, the 2500k can handle up to 1.38 volts with no issues.

    As long as you have adequate cooling to keep the CPU below 80'c, 1.312 volts will not hurt your CPU.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    17,005 (4.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,239
    Location:
    London,UK
    I had 1.39v for 4.9ghz on my old 2500k. So long as you keep temps as close as you can below 70'c you'll be fine. My temps used to top out below 60'c on an Antec 920 AIO i later upgraded toa Corsair H80i and temps dropped to 55-57'c on load
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  6. FerK

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2015
    Messages:
    26 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    I have the balanced mode there. The speed goes down (1600mhz) and I haven't touched many things there. Not sure if there is an option.

    I don't have a 'SpeedStep' option in the BIOS. A quick search seems to indicate that MSI calls it EIST. Its enabled.

    At 4.5 ghz the temperature remains at about 56-60º, with a pretty old CM 212 (Plus or evo, one of the earliest models).

    _________________________________________

    This is a screenshot I just take. With EIST enabled, 4.3 GHZ and 1.29v set on the BIOS, CPUZ shows a constant Core Voltage but CoreTemp VID is variable (starting from 0.98 to 1.35). Does this mean the voltage is constant, variable, or...?
     
  7. haxzion

    haxzion

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2017
    Messages:
    13 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    I wouldn't use Auto Vcore or a fixed value , add an offset voltage till 1.32v and stress it and yes 1.35v is the safe voltage like other users already mentioned.
     
    INSTG8R says thanks.
  8. GorbazTheDragon

    GorbazTheDragon

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    841 (0.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    259
    Location:
    Grunn, Holland
    Check the voltage using HWinfo. It should show the same as CoreTemp, if it doesn't you will have to dig through your BIOS for any "adaptive" voltage settings.
     
  9. FerK

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2015
    Messages:
    26 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    If only I knew... I tried looking at different guides, saw terms I didn't know like LLC or similar then went to my motherboard and... Not the same names or directly no options.

    A little bit more of digging and I found this. If what the first answer says is true, then there's not much hope for me.

    The max I can go with auto voltage and turboboost is 4.3 ghz, any more than that and it doesn't boot. For me to go further I need to set a manual vcore that will stick no matter the CPU speed. What do you guys think I should do? Stay at 4.3 ghz with auto (1.28v) voltage or 4.5+ with a constant voltage?
     
  10. EarthDog

    EarthDog

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    10,763 (3.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,849
    Location:
    Ohio
    1. Use the offset voltage instead of manual. You need to know what your stock voltage is idle, and ise the offset to reach your stable voltage. So for instance, if you manually test and 1.25V is stable, and your stoco voltage is 1.15, your offset should be around .1V/100mv...
    2. 1.3v is fine. Keep it under 1.4v-1.45v. :)
     
    INSTG8R says thanks.
  11. MrGenius

    MrGenius

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2015
    Messages:
    1,380 (1.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,110
    Location:
    On The Highway To Hell \m/
  12. EarthDog

    EarthDog

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    10,763 (3.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,849
    Location:
    Ohio
    Garbage board...lol
     
  13. jaggerwild

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,233 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    575
  14. MrGenius

    MrGenius

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2015
    Messages:
    1,380 (1.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,110
    Location:
    On The Highway To Hell \m/
  15. FerK

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2015
    Messages:
    26 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Curious thing is that I actually bought this motherboard especially for overclocking in the future (now), since I read several reviews and they all said it had I don't know how many power phases and it was good for OC. Obviously I have to improve at researching for my next build. I'm also never going to buy anything from MSI again; last time I opened a ticket with them I ended up waiting about six months for a predefined answer that didn't help me in any way.
     
  16. Vya Domus

    Vya Domus

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2017
    Messages:
    1,379 (4.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    716
    How did we end talking about voltage offset and such when OP's problem was that the CPU would not switch to the lower power sates when idle ?

    Just let it be , running that voltage constantly is going to be fine. If you want to be extra cautious put a fan over the VRM heatsink.
     
  17. hat

    hat Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    18,458 (4.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,122
    Location:
    Ohio
    Because when you force a voltage the way FerK is doing, it stops that from happening. When you use an offset voltage, the voltage you set is applied under load, and it's still able to switch to the lower voltage during idle.
     
    biffzinker and EarthDog say thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  18. Vya Domus

    Vya Domus

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2017
    Messages:
    1,379 (4.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    716
    Never heard of that , maybe it's something specif to Intel boards. My board has a voltage offset option too and whether I use it or set the voltage manually it still switches between P/C states like it should.
     
  19. hat

    hat Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    18,458 (4.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,122
    Location:
    Ohio
    As far as I know, that's just how it works with Intel systems. I assumed AMD was the same, but maybe they work differently?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)