• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

I5 2500k

Paulieg

The Mad Moderator
Joined
Feb 19, 2007
Messages
11,960 (3.03/day)
Likes
2,846
Location
Wherever I can find the iron.
Processor Haswell i7 4770K
Motherboard Gigabyte z79 UD5H Black Edition
Cooling Cryorig R1 Ultimate
Memory Gskill Trident DDR3 2400
Video Card(s) Asus 7970 Direct CU II
Storage Kingston Hyper Fury 240 SSD/ WD Black 640GB
Case Fractal Design R5
Power Supply XFX 650w
Software Win 7/Win 10 Tech preview
#26
That's the thing. I have found it but no option to disable that I can see. Just Auto,Regular,Medium, High, Ultra High and Extreme. I have it set to regular at the moment :confused:

EDIT - Just read your edited post Paulie and my LLC actually powers up to what it needs rather than down.
Right. But if you decrease vcore, it will not spike as high when it is under load. I like load spiking slightly more than going BSOD because vcore drops too low when the cpu is stressed.
 
Joined
Jun 20, 2008
Messages
2,563 (0.74/day)
Likes
396
Location
Kettering,Northants. UK
System Name Crap System
#27
OK just entered 1.32 in manual cpu voltage. Set LLC to High, booted up and tried prime 95. It shot straight to 1.39v???? From your post Paulie should I try lowering my vcore then and see how that goes?
 

Paulieg

The Mad Moderator
Joined
Feb 19, 2007
Messages
11,960 (3.03/day)
Likes
2,846
Location
Wherever I can find the iron.
Processor Haswell i7 4770K
Motherboard Gigabyte z79 UD5H Black Edition
Cooling Cryorig R1 Ultimate
Memory Gskill Trident DDR3 2400
Video Card(s) Asus 7970 Direct CU II
Storage Kingston Hyper Fury 240 SSD/ WD Black 640GB
Case Fractal Design R5
Power Supply XFX 650w
Software Win 7/Win 10 Tech preview
#28
OK just entered 1.32 in manual cpu voltage. Set LLC to High, booted up and tried prime 95. It shot straight to 1.39v???? From your post Paulie should I try lowering my vcore then and see how that goes?
Put it on medium, and set cpu voltage to 1.30v. If 1.30v is stable after testing, then try to bring it down a little more. I THINK my 2500K was able to do 4.5 on just 1.26v.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jun 20, 2008
Messages
2,563 (0.74/day)
Likes
396
Location
Kettering,Northants. UK
System Name Crap System
#29
Scratch that :) When I had entered the manual CPU voltage I hadn't pressed enter which meant it didn't accept the value entered DOH!!:) I have now changed it to 1.32 and LLC to high and running prime currently it's showing min voltage 1.32, max 1.33.....let's see how it goes!! Thanks for your help guys, PS Sandy Bridge Effin rocks. Boot up times even without an SSD are so swift.
 
Last edited:

Paulieg

The Mad Moderator
Joined
Feb 19, 2007
Messages
11,960 (3.03/day)
Likes
2,846
Location
Wherever I can find the iron.
Processor Haswell i7 4770K
Motherboard Gigabyte z79 UD5H Black Edition
Cooling Cryorig R1 Ultimate
Memory Gskill Trident DDR3 2400
Video Card(s) Asus 7970 Direct CU II
Storage Kingston Hyper Fury 240 SSD/ WD Black 640GB
Case Fractal Design R5
Power Supply XFX 650w
Software Win 7/Win 10 Tech preview
#30
Scratch that :) When I had enterd the manual CPU voltage I hadn't pressed enter which meant it didn't accept the value entered DOH!!:) I have now changed it to 1.32 and LLC to high and running prime currently it's showing min voltage 1.32, max 1.33.....let's see how it goes!! Thanks for your help guys, PS Sandy Bridge Effin rocks. Boot up times even without a SSD are so swift.
What are your temps like in prime? You really shouldn't need that much vcore for 4.5 on that chip. If you prime ok for 15-20 minutes, lower the vcore one step, then test again. It's always good to get the vcore as low as possible and still be stable. It will keep your temps down. Better yet, run LinX for 20 cycles each time. It's fast, and if you pass 20, you are at least reasonably stable.
 
Joined
Jun 20, 2008
Messages
2,563 (0.74/day)
Likes
396
Location
Kettering,Northants. UK
System Name Crap System
#31
What are your temps like in prime? You really shouldn't need that much vcore for 4.5 on that chip. If you prime ok for 15-20 minutes, lower the vcore one step, then test again. It's always good to get the vcore as low as possible and still be stable. It will keep your temps down. Better yet, run LinX for 20 cycles each time. It's fast, and if you pass 20, you are at least reasonably stable.
Yeh I just saw that as a good starting point and if it's successful i will try tweaking it from there. As regards temps, I'm using a Corsair A70 with a push/pull setup but the fans are going through the resistors so they are silent and running at slower speed (I hate a noisy PC) Temps on Prime at the minute are loading around 65c. Whats the max safe temp you guys are working around for your chips?

EDIT - Still going strong on Prime, will try for a bit lower after a ciggie break.
 
Last edited:

Paulieg

The Mad Moderator
Joined
Feb 19, 2007
Messages
11,960 (3.03/day)
Likes
2,846
Location
Wherever I can find the iron.
Processor Haswell i7 4770K
Motherboard Gigabyte z79 UD5H Black Edition
Cooling Cryorig R1 Ultimate
Memory Gskill Trident DDR3 2400
Video Card(s) Asus 7970 Direct CU II
Storage Kingston Hyper Fury 240 SSD/ WD Black 640GB
Case Fractal Design R5
Power Supply XFX 650w
Software Win 7/Win 10 Tech preview
#32
Yeh I just saw that as a good starting point and if it's successful i will try tweaking it from there. As regards temps, I'm using a Corsair A70 with a push/pull setup but the fans are going through the resistors so they are silent and running at slower speed (I hate a noisy PC) Temps on Prime at the minute are loading around 65c. Whats the max safe temp you guys are working around for your chips?
General rule of thumb is to stay out of the high 70's for stability testing. Supposedly, these chips have a 100c tjmax. and will throttle at 90c but they are 32nm chips, and I have to believe they are more sensitive to heat than Nehalem. If you are staying in the 60's you are doing fine. However, I gotta think if you can get under 1.30v, you'll find load temps in the mid to high 50's. My 2600k under a Venomous-X stays under 55c at 4.5 1.29v.
 
Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Messages
3,046 (0.91/day)
Likes
684
System Name Has and is well
Processor i7 4770K
Motherboard ASUS B85
Cooling Corsair H100
Memory TEAM 1866mhz 8GBx2 16GB
Video Card(s) MSI 980ti Gold Edition
Storage Intel 520 120GB + Seagate 2TB 7200RPM
Display(s) DELL U2713HM 2560x1440 Monitor
Case Corsair 350D
Power Supply EVGA 850W Gold
Software Win 10
#33
Hmm my chip is shooting up to 90+ degrees during linx at 4.8ghz 1.42 VCORE on my cooler .. that is with LLC at level 1.

I can't even get a decent overclock without LLC on, so with LLC at level 1 or 2 it gives the proc more VCORE overall right?...

The max I'm benching at the moment without LLC is 4.2ghz, that is where my wall is and I can get that stable using less than 1.3vcore with around 50+ degrees load. 4.3ghz won't even boot at the same voltages
 
Joined
Jun 20, 2008
Messages
2,563 (0.74/day)
Likes
396
Location
Kettering,Northants. UK
System Name Crap System
#34
General rule of thumb is to stay out of the high 70's for stability testing. Supposedly, these chips have a 100c tjmax. and will throttle at 90c but they are 32nm chips, and I have to believe they are more sensitive to heat than Nehalem. If you are staying in the 60's you are doing fine. However, I gotta think if you can get under 1.30v, you'll find load temps in the mid to high 50's.
Looks like I am going for a higher overclock tonight then :) BTW, I had to downgrade my GTX 460 to a GTS 450 to help fund these new parts. I pulled 23,500 in 3D Mark 06 with my 1090T@4GHz and GTX 460 @920/1830/200. This chip at 4.5GHz has managed to get a 21,000 3DMark Score out of the GTS 450 :eek: Would love to see what it could have done with my superclocked 460:cry:

That said every game I have tried so far is so smooth, actually smoother than before and GTA IV at max settings plays like a friggin dream :D
 
Last edited:

Paulieg

The Mad Moderator
Joined
Feb 19, 2007
Messages
11,960 (3.03/day)
Likes
2,846
Location
Wherever I can find the iron.
Processor Haswell i7 4770K
Motherboard Gigabyte z79 UD5H Black Edition
Cooling Cryorig R1 Ultimate
Memory Gskill Trident DDR3 2400
Video Card(s) Asus 7970 Direct CU II
Storage Kingston Hyper Fury 240 SSD/ WD Black 640GB
Case Fractal Design R5
Power Supply XFX 650w
Software Win 7/Win 10 Tech preview
#35
Hmm my chip is shooting up to 90+ degrees during linx at 4.8ghz 1.42 VCORE on my cooler .. that is with LLC at level 1.

I can't even get a decent overclock without LLC on, so with LLC at level 1 or 2 it gives the proc more VCORE overall right?...

The max I'm benching at the moment without LLC is 4.2ghz, that is where my wall is and I can get that stable using less than 1.3vcore with around 50+ degrees load. 4.3ghz won't even boot at the same voltages
What you have to remember is the closer you get to the chips limit, the more vcore it will need every step of the way. The problem with Sandy Bridge is the enormous clock speed increments every time you push it further. So, if your board has a ton of vdroop, loadline is preventing it from dipping to low.

That 1.42v is really high for these chips. I know you like that 4.8ghz, but you are so much safe at 4.6 and something like 1.374v...just my 2 cents.
 
Joined
Jun 20, 2008
Messages
2,563 (0.74/day)
Likes
396
Location
Kettering,Northants. UK
System Name Crap System
#36
Randomflip - i have internal PLL voltage disabled and also PLL voltage I have reduced down to 1.7250. That helped alot with temps and stability.

EDIT - Prime is still running like a champ so I'm just going to try 4.6 at the same settings :)
 
Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Messages
3,046 (0.91/day)
Likes
684
System Name Has and is well
Processor i7 4770K
Motherboard ASUS B85
Cooling Corsair H100
Memory TEAM 1866mhz 8GBx2 16GB
Video Card(s) MSI 980ti Gold Edition
Storage Intel 520 120GB + Seagate 2TB 7200RPM
Display(s) DELL U2713HM 2560x1440 Monitor
Case Corsair 350D
Power Supply EVGA 850W Gold
Software Win 10
#37
What you have to remember is the closer you get to the chips limit, the more vcore it will need every step of the way. The problem with Sandy Bridge is the enormous clock speed increments every time you push it further. So, if your board has a ton of vdroop, loadline is preventing it from dipping to low.

That 1.42v is really high for these chips. I know you like that 4.8ghz, but you are so much safe at 4.6 and something like 1.374v...just my 2 cents.
Randomflip - i have internal PLL voltage disabled and also PLL voltage I have reduced down to 1.7250. That helped alot with temps and stability.

EDIT - Prime is still running like a champ so I'm just going to try 4.6 at the same settings :)

Thanks I could probably drop it by setting LLC to level 2 but im not sure what that'll do for the chip itself. This is kind of ridicolous though since I only need 1.315vcore for 4.5ghz to boot and bench
 
Joined
Jun 20, 2008
Messages
2,563 (0.74/day)
Likes
396
Location
Kettering,Northants. UK
System Name Crap System
#38
Here's a question. So I have my LLC set to Ultra High which means the voltage is still deviating a tiny little bit from what I set in the bios when loaded. Are there any negative effects other than added heat to setting my LLC at Extreme? Would it affect anything other than the volts passing through the CPU or any adverse affects to other parts such as the PSU?
 

Paulieg

The Mad Moderator
Joined
Feb 19, 2007
Messages
11,960 (3.03/day)
Likes
2,846
Location
Wherever I can find the iron.
Processor Haswell i7 4770K
Motherboard Gigabyte z79 UD5H Black Edition
Cooling Cryorig R1 Ultimate
Memory Gskill Trident DDR3 2400
Video Card(s) Asus 7970 Direct CU II
Storage Kingston Hyper Fury 240 SSD/ WD Black 640GB
Case Fractal Design R5
Power Supply XFX 650w
Software Win 7/Win 10 Tech preview
#39
Here's a question. So I have my LLC set to Ultra High which means the voltage is still deviating a tiny little bit from what I set in the bios when loaded. Are there any negative effects other than added heat to setting my LLC at Extreme? Would it affect anything other than the volts passing through the CPU or any adverse affects to other parts such as the PSU?
There is no adverse affects from small spikes in voltage, however ultra high may give you to much, and heat the the chip for no good reason. Remember, you only want the voltage as high as it needs to be and no higher. I wouldn't set it beyond medium...if medium is basically eliminating vdroop. That is all LLC is designed to do.
 
Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Messages
3,046 (0.91/day)
Likes
684
System Name Has and is well
Processor i7 4770K
Motherboard ASUS B85
Cooling Corsair H100
Memory TEAM 1866mhz 8GBx2 16GB
Video Card(s) MSI 980ti Gold Edition
Storage Intel 520 120GB + Seagate 2TB 7200RPM
Display(s) DELL U2713HM 2560x1440 Monitor
Case Corsair 350D
Power Supply EVGA 850W Gold
Software Win 10
#40
This is odd.. I get the 0x124 error randomly when I'm just doing things on the desktop although it seldom happens. Whats whack is that I can pass 25 LinX runs with 0 errors, could I be pushing my PSU too hard? I mean to be quite honest I don't think 750watts is enough for 2x 6970's, 5x HDDs, 6x 120mm fans, 1x 200mm fan and an i5 clocked at 4.5ghz plus 1x cathode light ..
 
Joined
Oct 12, 2008
Messages
167 (0.05/day)
Likes
37
Location
Slovenia
System Name Sata Buster
Processor i5 6600K@4.6GHz 1.250Vcore
Motherboard MSI Z170A-M3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory Kingston HyperX Fury 2x4GB DDR4 2133MHz
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 980Ti OC TwinFrozr
Storage Intel 330 240GB SSD + WD 1TB RE4
Display(s) Asus P279q
Case Fractal R3
Audio Device(s) Int. Realtek - Yamaha RXV596 - Sennheiser HD280
Power Supply CoolerMaster V850
Software Win7 64bit
#41
Hey guys,

I currently have my i5 at 45x multi / 13000vcore / 1.100 vtt qpi

when I put a 47x+ multi my computer boots but the clocks reset automatically, is this because my PSU doesn't have enough power? It's the same when I try to overclock my RAM, currently its at 1333mhz when I put it to 1600mhz all the clocks reset, it's bugging the hell outta me.

EDIT: RAM is okay now for some reason after I updated my BIOS to F6, still can't reach 5ghz though.
Try F6a bios. I will give you CPU PLL option, enable it and you will probably get 4.9GHz with 1.300ish volts on CPU.
 
Joined
Jun 20, 2008
Messages
2,563 (0.74/day)
Likes
396
Location
Kettering,Northants. UK
System Name Crap System
#42
Thanks for that Zenith, I don't seem to have as good a chip as Paulie had but I'm trying to tweak the hell out of it for the very best voltage/temps combination:) After reading what you put I raised my CPU PLL to 1.78 which has now enable a 4.7GHz overclock, extreme LLC, which gives me an idle core voltage of 1.34v and loads at 1.38v. Max temps were 70c after an hr and a half and proved to be stable for that time. I have gamed for a bit today and no issues whatsoever.
 

3dsage

New Member
Joined
Nov 8, 2008
Messages
1,797 (0.54/day)
Likes
328
Location
NW Burbs of Chicago
System Name *5GHZ_STAR*
Processor Core i5 2500K 5GHZ 24/7 1.38Vcore
Motherboard Asrock P67 Extreme6
Cooling Scythe SCMG-2100 REV. B
Memory 2x2GB GSkill Ripjaw X 1600 CL7
Video Card(s) 4850 XFIRE
Storage 500GB + 1TB NAS
Display(s) I-INC 28" LCD 1920x1200
Case Antec P180
Power Supply Thermaltake TR2 TRX-650
Software Seven Ultimate 64-bit
#43
Looks like this 2500k is a winner,
5GHZ // 1.38Vcore // LLC L3 //PLL overvoltage enabled//
temps maxed around 71C before I opened the case then they dropped off around 6C lol.

 
Joined
Oct 12, 2008
Messages
167 (0.05/day)
Likes
37
Location
Slovenia
System Name Sata Buster
Processor i5 6600K@4.6GHz 1.250Vcore
Motherboard MSI Z170A-M3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory Kingston HyperX Fury 2x4GB DDR4 2133MHz
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 980Ti OC TwinFrozr
Storage Intel 330 240GB SSD + WD 1TB RE4
Display(s) Asus P279q
Case Fractal R3
Audio Device(s) Int. Realtek - Yamaha RXV596 - Sennheiser HD280
Power Supply CoolerMaster V850
Software Win7 64bit
#45
Nice volts for 5GHz, mine wants a little bit more than 1.4V.
 

3dsage

New Member
Joined
Nov 8, 2008
Messages
1,797 (0.54/day)
Likes
328
Location
NW Burbs of Chicago
System Name *5GHZ_STAR*
Processor Core i5 2500K 5GHZ 24/7 1.38Vcore
Motherboard Asrock P67 Extreme6
Cooling Scythe SCMG-2100 REV. B
Memory 2x2GB GSkill Ripjaw X 1600 CL7
Video Card(s) 4850 XFIRE
Storage 500GB + 1TB NAS
Display(s) I-INC 28" LCD 1920x1200
Case Antec P180
Power Supply Thermaltake TR2 TRX-650
Software Seven Ultimate 64-bit
#46
Here you go..Going to start tweaking voltage thru offset mode, hopefully I will be able to lower volts somehow. Still have to fine tune settings (hopefully lower some).





Edit: figured out why bclk was wavering below 100, didnt disable Spread spectrum. Slipped my mind :p
 
Joined
Jun 20, 2008
Messages
2,563 (0.74/day)
Likes
396
Location
Kettering,Northants. UK
System Name Crap System
#47

3dsage

New Member
Joined
Nov 8, 2008
Messages
1,797 (0.54/day)
Likes
328
Location
NW Burbs of Chicago
System Name *5GHZ_STAR*
Processor Core i5 2500K 5GHZ 24/7 1.38Vcore
Motherboard Asrock P67 Extreme6
Cooling Scythe SCMG-2100 REV. B
Memory 2x2GB GSkill Ripjaw X 1600 CL7
Video Card(s) 4850 XFIRE
Storage 500GB + 1TB NAS
Display(s) I-INC 28" LCD 1920x1200
Case Antec P180
Power Supply Thermaltake TR2 TRX-650
Software Seven Ultimate 64-bit
#48

3dsage

New Member
Joined
Nov 8, 2008
Messages
1,797 (0.54/day)
Likes
328
Location
NW Burbs of Chicago
System Name *5GHZ_STAR*
Processor Core i5 2500K 5GHZ 24/7 1.38Vcore
Motherboard Asrock P67 Extreme6
Cooling Scythe SCMG-2100 REV. B
Memory 2x2GB GSkill Ripjaw X 1600 CL7
Video Card(s) 4850 XFIRE
Storage 500GB + 1TB NAS
Display(s) I-INC 28" LCD 1920x1200
Case Antec P180
Power Supply Thermaltake TR2 TRX-650
Software Seven Ultimate 64-bit
#50
What I know about this board and my chip , is that llc L1 is a no no..llc L2 gives me Bsod's.. seems like L3 is the sweet spot.

I believe it powers it downward..