• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

i5-3570k or i7-3770k?

Joined
Feb 21, 2008
Messages
6,373 (1.68/day)
Likes
3,516
Location
S.E. Virginia
System Name Barb's Domain/Barb's Cruncher#2
Processor i7 3930k@3.8ghz/i7 860 @ 3.3ghz
Motherboard ASUS Rampage IV Black Edition/Gigabyte P55-UD3R
Cooling Deep Cool Assassin/Corsair A50
Memory 16gig DDR3 1600/4gig DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) GTX 1070 /MSI HD7770
Storage 500GB WD Blue SSD, 2TB Seagate Hybrid SSHD/ WD Caviar Blue 160gb
Display(s) HP ZR30W 30" 2560*1600/SOYO Topaz S 24" 1920*1200
Case SilverStone Fortress FT04/NZXT Source 210 Black
Audio Device(s) Logitech Z533
Power Supply XFX 750W XXX edition/PC Power Cooling Turbo Cool 860
Mouse Logitect G5
Software Windows 10 Pro 64 bit /Windows 7 Ult 64 bit
Benchmark Scores https://www.3dmark.com/fs/14508101
#51
That's really strange. I remember reading in reviews that turbo needs to be enabled for this, so the behaviour I see is consistent with that and is a design feature of the CPU. You can underclock it with turbo off though. I've only ever overclocked it through the bios, too.

I have no idea why yours should be different.
no idea, but here's a pic of my bios. as you can see, turbo is disabled



 
Likes: qubit
Joined
Apr 2, 2007
Messages
985 (0.24/day)
Likes
135
Location
United Kingdom
Processor Intel Core i7 8700K Unlocked Coffee Lake OEM CPU/Processor
Motherboard AORUS Gaming 7 Intel Z370 (Socket 1151) DDR4 ATX Motherboard
Cooling Coolermaster Hyper T4 Intel and Amd Socket Heatpipe Cooling Fan
Memory Corsair 16GB DDR4 Vengeance LPX 3000MHz Memory
Video Card(s) Zotac NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 8GB AMP Extreme Edition
Storage Samsung 250GB 960 Evo, 2 x 480 Crucial and 1 x 512 Crucial ssd.
Display(s) Asus PB278QR 27" Professional LED Multimedia Monitor - Black, 2560x1440 Resolution
Case NZXT Phantom 410 Black Orange Special Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Z PCI Express 5.1Ch Sound Card
Power Supply Corsair RM1000
Mouse Logitech MX518
Keyboard Roccat isku/ fx
Software Windows 10 Home 64-bit
#52
Hi FreedomEclipse, If its going to happen it will happen to me so i like a little bit of insurance on my side and at £15.00 to me it's worth it.
 

FreedomEclipse

~Technological Technocrat~
Joined
Apr 20, 2007
Messages
17,698 (4.31/day)
Likes
5,888
Location
London,UK
System Name Codename: Icarus
Processor Intel 8600k@4.8Ghz
Motherboard Asus ROG Strixx Z370-F
Cooling Corsair H105 {2x Corsair ML 120 Pro}
Memory Corsair Vengeance White LED DDR4 3200Mhz
Video Card(s) MSI 1070 Gaming X (Samsung)
Storage WD Black Edition 512GB SSD (Boot)|Crucial MX100|2x 3TB Toshiba DT01ACA300
Display(s) Asus PB278Q 27"
Case Corsair 760T (White) {1xFractal Design HP-12|1x140mm Noctua P14S Redux|2x Corsair ML 140 Pro}
Audio Device(s) Creative SB Z {Speakers: Logitech Z-5500 }
Power Supply Corsair AX760
Mouse Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
Keyboard Duckyshine Dead LED(s) III
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores (ノಠ益ಠ)ノ彡┻━┻
#53
Hi FreedomEclipse, If its going to happen it will happen to me so i like a little bit of insurance on my side and at £15.00 to me it's worth it.
thats your call obviously, but its honestly a waste of time (and money)

When you buy the CPU, It comes with 1 years shop warranty & 3 years manufacturers warranty. THATS your 'Performance Tuning Protection Plan' and it doesnt cost anything extra.

Nothing can protect you against bad luck but the risk of damaging hardware is significantly less if you know what you are doing.

Key things like:

- A case with good airflow/ventilation.
- A good aftermarket CPU cooler.
- Knowing the 'safety' limits of your hardware

And most Importantly of all:

- Knowing what you are doing

these things can significantly decrease the risk.

Ive been overclocking since 2001 and I have never fried any CPUs. almost 98% of my parts were well looked after and healthy enough to be sold on and almost all of my parts are still working and doing their job perfectly fine apart from the lady who decided to bathe the PC in hot coffee.

£15 might not be a lot of money. But with a little reading, asking a few questions here n there and lurking around some. You will gain enough knowledge and regret parting with that £15 because you could have bought yourself a nice medium rare 14oz steak dinner and a few beers to go with.


Unless the CPU is out of warranty and you want to overclock it then fair enough, by all means go ahead and purchase the protection plan.
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Staff member
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,828 (3.75/day)
Likes
11,250
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
#54
Unless the CPU is out of warranty and you want to overclock it then fair enough, by all means go ahead and purchase the protection plan.
What the tuning plan offers is not really more, you are right, except one part. What it does offer that the normal warranty does not is "NO QUESTIONS ASKED" replacement.


You'll also note for the first time ever, noone knows what the safe max voltage for these chips are. IVB has no known public limit for 24/7 clocking.



I can tell you've never had to warranty a CPU, since you don't place any value on that "NO QUESTIONS ASKED", so that good, maybe it's not for you.

If you are like me, and are pushing things every day, trying to get more, erven though it might seem within reason, then yes, the value is there.


Plus, OC voids warranty. If you RMA after OC, then you're kinda a low-life in my books, especially when this costs so little.
 

FreedomEclipse

~Technological Technocrat~
Joined
Apr 20, 2007
Messages
17,698 (4.31/day)
Likes
5,888
Location
London,UK
System Name Codename: Icarus
Processor Intel 8600k@4.8Ghz
Motherboard Asus ROG Strixx Z370-F
Cooling Corsair H105 {2x Corsair ML 120 Pro}
Memory Corsair Vengeance White LED DDR4 3200Mhz
Video Card(s) MSI 1070 Gaming X (Samsung)
Storage WD Black Edition 512GB SSD (Boot)|Crucial MX100|2x 3TB Toshiba DT01ACA300
Display(s) Asus PB278Q 27"
Case Corsair 760T (White) {1xFractal Design HP-12|1x140mm Noctua P14S Redux|2x Corsair ML 140 Pro}
Audio Device(s) Creative SB Z {Speakers: Logitech Z-5500 }
Power Supply Corsair AX760
Mouse Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
Keyboard Duckyshine Dead LED(s) III
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores (ノಠ益ಠ)ノ彡┻━┻
#55
I can tell you've never had to warranty a CPU, since you don't place any value on that "NO QUESTIONS ASKED", so that good, maybe it's not for you.
Never - I'm not that wreckless neither do I push my hardware to breaking point by trying to find out how many volts I can pump through it.

Ive always been careful with my hardware especially when it comes to any sort of tweaking. So no i dont place any value in the 'no questions asked' warranty policy.

I dont like faffing around with lengthy RMA processes and procedures unless I really have to. Ive had my fair share of RMA'ing graphic cards and the odd hard drive here and there though.

But its getting to a point where I dont even bother making any serious effort to OC my graphics cards. Slap an extra 20-30mhz on the clocks here and there, stress test it a little then jump in a game and see how it does.


as for 24/7 voltage for IB, I simply just googled the recommended voltage and gleamed info from loads of other forums. I recently did my first IB build for a friend of mine and his is doing 4.6Ghz at something like 1.37v. Only had enough to put it through one pass of Prime for 12hrs but it passed it and chewed through IBT without any problems and has been working flawlessly with any game my friend throws at it, from BF3 to ARMA II, Crysis 2 and whatever he plays.

I keep watch on the temps and i keep it under 70'c as much as I can.
 

qubit

Overclocked quantum bit
Joined
Dec 6, 2007
Messages
15,265 (3.93/day)
Likes
8,895
Location
Quantum Well UK
System Name Quantumville™
Processor Intel Core i7-2700K at stock (hits 5 gees+ easily)
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB (4 x 4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 PC3-12800 C9 1600MHz)
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080 AMP! Extreme Edition
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB | WD Green 4TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2720Z | Asus VG278HE (both 27", 144Hz, 3D Vision 2, 1080p)
Case Cooler Master HAF 922
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX 850W v1
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
#56
Has anyone been able to overclock these CPUs without turning on turbo mode, like BarbaricSoul in the picture above? I'm talking about multiplier overclocking, because the CPU ignores any value higher than the default if turbo is turned off. This is what I see.
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Staff member
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,828 (3.75/day)
Likes
11,250
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
#57
Never - I'm not that wreckless neither do I push my hardware to breaking point by trying to find out how many volts I can pump through it.

Ive always been careful with my hardware especially when it comes to any sort of tweaking. So no i dont place any value in the 'no questions asked' warranty policy.

I dont like faffing around with lengthy RMA processes and procedures unless I really have to. Ive had my fair share of RMA'ing graphic cards and the odd hard drive here and there though.

But its getting to a point where I dont even bother making any serious effort to OC my graphics cards. Slap an extra 20-30mhz on the clocks here and there, stress test it a little then jump in a game and see how it does.


as for 24/7 voltage for IB, I simply just googled the recommended voltage and gleamed info from loads of other forums. I recently did my first IB build for a friend of mine and his is doing 4.6Ghz at something like 1.37v. Only had enough to put it through one pass of Prime for 12hrs but it passed it and chewed through IBT without any problems and has been working flawlessly with any game my friend throws at it, from BF3 to ARMA II, Crysis 2 and whatever he plays.

I keep watch on the temps and i keep it under 70'c as much as I can.
I was speaking in generalizations, not to you specifically. :p I mean really, at this point, there are so many protections built into the hardware, it really is pretty hard to hurt one of these chips, adn that's why Intel is willing to offer that warranty in the first place. Now, if you're gonna puish it and go really cold, then sure, you might break things. If you pop the lid, you void the wartranty, obviously, so I see that choice of TIM for IVB an intentional one made to save your CPU.


However, at teh same time, when you overvolt, you're gonna shorten the life of the chip, so why not get the warranty? You can transfer it to a new user when you sell the chip, too...Intel really has taken this to the next level when it comes to this warranty.

Has anyone been able to overclock these CPUs without turning on turbo mode, like BarbaricSoul in the picture above? I'm talking about multiplier overclocking, because the CPU ignores any value higher than the default if turbo is turned off. This is what I see.
Yes, it can work, and it might be board-BIOS dependant. I know SB does, I haven't bothered to try with IVB, and SB-E, you need Turbo for OC with some 3960X chips, and Intel will replace retail chips that do that, I heard.
 

qubit

Overclocked quantum bit
Joined
Dec 6, 2007
Messages
15,265 (3.93/day)
Likes
8,895
Location
Quantum Well UK
System Name Quantumville™
Processor Intel Core i7-2700K at stock (hits 5 gees+ easily)
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB (4 x 4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 PC3-12800 C9 1600MHz)
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080 AMP! Extreme Edition
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB | WD Green 4TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2720Z | Asus VG278HE (both 27", 144Hz, 3D Vision 2, 1080p)
Case Cooler Master HAF 922
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX 850W v1
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
#58
From what I'm seeing here (thanks cad, especially) this warranty at a very reasonable £15 is quite a good deal for those looking for that extra peace of mind, so I don't think cookiemonster has made a mistake in going for it.

I didn't bother with it, but then I just don't care. Just gives me an excuse to buy the better one if I break it. :p
 
Joined
Apr 2, 2007
Messages
985 (0.24/day)
Likes
135
Location
United Kingdom
Processor Intel Core i7 8700K Unlocked Coffee Lake OEM CPU/Processor
Motherboard AORUS Gaming 7 Intel Z370 (Socket 1151) DDR4 ATX Motherboard
Cooling Coolermaster Hyper T4 Intel and Amd Socket Heatpipe Cooling Fan
Memory Corsair 16GB DDR4 Vengeance LPX 3000MHz Memory
Video Card(s) Zotac NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 8GB AMP Extreme Edition
Storage Samsung 250GB 960 Evo, 2 x 480 Crucial and 1 x 512 Crucial ssd.
Display(s) Asus PB278QR 27" Professional LED Multimedia Monitor - Black, 2560x1440 Resolution
Case NZXT Phantom 410 Black Orange Special Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Z PCI Express 5.1Ch Sound Card
Power Supply Corsair RM1000
Mouse Logitech MX518
Keyboard Roccat isku/ fx
Software Windows 10 Home 64-bit
#59
Hi there thanks for all the advice, but to me it just means i spent £15 more to buy the processor, maybe i could have got it cheaper from somewhere else but to me peace of mind is a lot when accidents happen. I will give you all a shout when i decide to overclock.
 
Likes: qubit
Joined
Sep 15, 2011
Messages
978 (0.39/day)
Likes
215
Location
coast ,melbourne
System Name THE MEDIAMACHINE
Processor i5-3570k
Motherboard Asus gene v z-77 matx.
Cooling Antec h20 620
Memory 2x4gb g.skill ripjaws z 2400
Video Card(s) h.i.s radeon 7950 reference 3 gb- hooray!!!
Storage samsung 128gb~830 ssd. samsung 500gb hdrive.
Display(s) 22 inch tele.
Case circa 1996 grey rat box with no sides front.until my own is finished
Audio Device(s) inbuilt creative.supreme effects 3
Power Supply thermaltake tt-500w
Software win 7 x64-
Benchmark Scores Coming soon
#60
Interesting reading, i cant clock my 3570k as high as my old 2500k would go, seems to top out around 4.6, 4.8 but that's enough anyway for me.
 
Joined
Dec 6, 2005
Messages
10,354 (2.25/day)
Likes
4,224
Location
Manchester, NH
System Name Working on it ;)
Processor I7-4790K (Stock speeds right now)
Motherboard MSI Z97 U3 Plus
Cooling Be Quiet Pure Rock Air
Memory 16GB 4x4 G.Skill CAS9 2133 Sniper
Video Card(s) GIGABYTE Vega 64 (Non Reference)
Storage Samsung EVO 500GB / 8 Different WDs / QNAP TS-253 8GB NAS with 2x2Tb WD Black
Display(s) 34" LG 34CB88-P 21:9 Curved UltraWide QHD (3440*1440)
Case Rosewill Challenger
Audio Device(s) Onboard + HD HDMI
Power Supply Corsair HX750 (love it)
Mouse Logitech G5
Keyboard Corsair Strafe RGB & G610 Orion Red
Software Win 10 upgraded from Win 7 Pro
#61
So back to turbo and overclock!

Sounds like that's board dependent, if it needs to be enabled to overclock. From what I understand, turbo will save some power and keep things a lot cooler in idle mode.

Wo with the 3770k, stock speeds are 3.5Ghz (idle) & 3.9Ghz (turbo). How does that work? Does the chip regulate the multiplier increase depending on the load? Does it do it core-for-core?
 

btarunr

Editor & Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2007
Messages
35,263 (8.95/day)
Likes
17,897
Location
Hyderabad, India
System Name Crypto-plague Survival Kit
Processor Intel Core i7-4770K
Motherboard ASUS Z97-A
Cooling Xigmatek Aegir CPU Cooler
Memory 2x 8GB Kingston HyperX Beast DDR3-1866
Video Card(s) Colorful iGame GTX 1070 Ti Vulcan X
Storage ADATA SU800 512GB + Intel SSD320 120GB + Patriot WildFire 120GB
Display(s) Samsung U28D590 28-inch 4K UHD
Case Corsair Carbide 100R
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Recon3D PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX850W
Mouse Razer Abyssus
Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder X4
Software Windows 10 Pro
#62
I would pick an i5-3570K for any application over the i7-3770K. There's too little in the 3770K that warrants the price gap between the two chips.
 
Joined
Dec 6, 2005
Messages
10,354 (2.25/day)
Likes
4,224
Location
Manchester, NH
System Name Working on it ;)
Processor I7-4790K (Stock speeds right now)
Motherboard MSI Z97 U3 Plus
Cooling Be Quiet Pure Rock Air
Memory 16GB 4x4 G.Skill CAS9 2133 Sniper
Video Card(s) GIGABYTE Vega 64 (Non Reference)
Storage Samsung EVO 500GB / 8 Different WDs / QNAP TS-253 8GB NAS with 2x2Tb WD Black
Display(s) 34" LG 34CB88-P 21:9 Curved UltraWide QHD (3440*1440)
Case Rosewill Challenger
Audio Device(s) Onboard + HD HDMI
Power Supply Corsair HX750 (love it)
Mouse Logitech G5
Keyboard Corsair Strafe RGB & G610 Orion Red
Software Win 10 upgraded from Win 7 Pro
#63
I would pick an i5-3570K for any application over the i7-3770K. There's too little in the 3770K that warrants the price gap between the two chips.
That was my thought too, though many opinions to the contrary :)

Price of 3570k is ~60% of the 3770k, performance (on average) of 3570K is about 80-90% of the 3770k. So the price point doesn't suck. Of course it's debatable, but the overclockability seems about the same.
 

Tatty_One

Senior Moderator & Combat Squirrel
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2006
Messages
20,253 (4.43/day)
Likes
6,691
Location
Worcestershire, UK
System Name The Grey
Processor Skylake i7 6700k @ 4.6gig
Motherboard MSI Z170A Tomahawk
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 240V AIO/Viper140's
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000mhz CL14
Video Card(s) Palit 8GB GTX 1070 GameRock Edition
Storage SkHynix SL308 120GB/CrucialM4/1TB WD Black
Display(s) LG 29inch 2560x1080 Curved Ultrawide IPS
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Windowed - Gunmetal
Audio Device(s) Xifi Elite Pro 7.1/VideoLogic ZXR550's
Power Supply XFX Pro Black Edition 750W Gold modular
Keyboard CM Storm Octane Combo
Software Win 10 Home x64
#64
I suppose I suffer from over simplification....... if you are regularily using apps that can use and perform significantly better with more than 4 cores/threads, then go 3770K, if not, the cheaper 3570 is the answer.

About 3 years ago after using my i7 920 for some months I decided to disable HT to see what impact it would have in terms of temps and reduced voltage requirements at high overclocks, I played around for a couple of weeks tweaking settings and benching, I realised about 4 months later when I updated the Bios that I had forgotten to re-enable HT..... did not see any difference, but all I do is surf, a bit of light gaming and a fair bit of Office 2010 work.
 
Joined
Dec 6, 2005
Messages
10,354 (2.25/day)
Likes
4,224
Location
Manchester, NH
System Name Working on it ;)
Processor I7-4790K (Stock speeds right now)
Motherboard MSI Z97 U3 Plus
Cooling Be Quiet Pure Rock Air
Memory 16GB 4x4 G.Skill CAS9 2133 Sniper
Video Card(s) GIGABYTE Vega 64 (Non Reference)
Storage Samsung EVO 500GB / 8 Different WDs / QNAP TS-253 8GB NAS with 2x2Tb WD Black
Display(s) 34" LG 34CB88-P 21:9 Curved UltraWide QHD (3440*1440)
Case Rosewill Challenger
Audio Device(s) Onboard + HD HDMI
Power Supply Corsair HX750 (love it)
Mouse Logitech G5
Keyboard Corsair Strafe RGB & G610 Orion Red
Software Win 10 upgraded from Win 7 Pro
#65
I suppose I suffer from over simplification....... if you are regularily using apps that can use and perform significantly better with more than 4 cores/threads, then go 3770K, if not, the cheaper 3570 is the answer.

About 3 years ago after using my i7 920 for some months I decided to disable HT to see what impact it would have in terms of temps and reduced voltage requirements at high overclocks, I played around for a couple of weeks tweaking settings and benching, I realised about 4 months later when I updated the Bios that I had forgotten to re-enable HT..... did not see any difference, but all I do is surf, a bit of light gaming and a fair bit of Office 2010 work.
4 cores vs. 8 virtual... and from what I recall seeing in past performance tests, it does improve things if their being utilized, but each one is slight slower than a single core that is not broken into two.

I suspect that the 8MB vs 6MB cache is probably the biggest bottleneck.

Hell, I'm running a 2x Core2 rigs right now and even wondering why I'm upgrading :laugh:
 
Joined
Jun 4, 2011
Messages
3,051 (1.17/day)
Likes
1,280
System Name The SwagMachine / The Sister
Processor Core i5 3570K @5.2ghz 1.3V/ 1100T
Motherboard ASUS P8Z77-V / ASUS M5A99X EVO
Cooling Phanteks PH TC14PE / Corsair H40
Memory M379B5273DH0-YK0 2X4GB + PVI316G213C1QK 2X4GB / 2x4GB Patriot 2133
Video Card(s) PNY 780Ti /Windforce 7950
Storage 2xSamsung 840 EVO 250gb+WD10EZEX + WD30EZRX/ 1x WD1500 Black
Display(s) AOC Q2963PM+Acer S200HL / Acer S200L+ LG 22LD350
Case Fractal Define R4 / NZXT Trinity
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DG / Asus Xonar DG
Power Supply Seasonic 750X / ROSEWILL RG630-S12 630W R
Mouse Razer Deathadder Chroma / Roccat Kone+
Keyboard Razer Blackwidow 2013 Stealth / Roccat Isku
Software Windows 8.1 Pro / Windows 7 Ultimate
Benchmark Scores one time I scored a 3 on 3dmark 11
#66
4 cores vs. 8 virtual... and from what I recall seeing in past performance tests, it does improve things if their being utilized, but each one is slight slower than a single core that is not broken into two.

I suspect that the 8MB vs 6MB cache is probably the biggest bottleneck.

Hell, I'm running a 2x Core2 rigs right now and even wondering why I'm upgrading :laugh:
If you're wondering why you're upgrading why are you then? haha Save your money and upgrade in the next generation then.
 
Joined
Dec 6, 2005
Messages
10,354 (2.25/day)
Likes
4,224
Location
Manchester, NH
System Name Working on it ;)
Processor I7-4790K (Stock speeds right now)
Motherboard MSI Z97 U3 Plus
Cooling Be Quiet Pure Rock Air
Memory 16GB 4x4 G.Skill CAS9 2133 Sniper
Video Card(s) GIGABYTE Vega 64 (Non Reference)
Storage Samsung EVO 500GB / 8 Different WDs / QNAP TS-253 8GB NAS with 2x2Tb WD Black
Display(s) 34" LG 34CB88-P 21:9 Curved UltraWide QHD (3440*1440)
Case Rosewill Challenger
Audio Device(s) Onboard + HD HDMI
Power Supply Corsair HX750 (love it)
Mouse Logitech G5
Keyboard Corsair Strafe RGB & G610 Orion Red
Software Win 10 upgraded from Win 7 Pro
#67
If you're wondering why you're upgrading why are you then? haha Save your money and upgrade in the next generation then.
I've skipped generations of CPUs, from the 920, 2600 and now Ivy Bridge. My plan was always to jump to Ivy Bridge when it arrived and here it is.

Do I need to? Probably not. Do I want to? Yes.
 

Tatty_One

Senior Moderator & Combat Squirrel
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2006
Messages
20,253 (4.43/day)
Likes
6,691
Location
Worcestershire, UK
System Name The Grey
Processor Skylake i7 6700k @ 4.6gig
Motherboard MSI Z170A Tomahawk
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 240V AIO/Viper140's
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000mhz CL14
Video Card(s) Palit 8GB GTX 1070 GameRock Edition
Storage SkHynix SL308 120GB/CrucialM4/1TB WD Black
Display(s) LG 29inch 2560x1080 Curved Ultrawide IPS
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Windowed - Gunmetal
Audio Device(s) Xifi Elite Pro 7.1/VideoLogic ZXR550's
Power Supply XFX Pro Black Edition 750W Gold modular
Keyboard CM Storm Octane Combo
Software Win 10 Home x64
#68
Between the 2 the greater cache will of course help, I was in a dilemma wheter I should upgrade/sidegrade/downgrade/anyGrade from my i7 920 to a 3570K, some have said that with the loss of HT AND cache size I would take a fair hit in performance, where actually the 3570k improves most CPU/Encode type benches by a fair bit, add to that the overclocking headroom on a typical 3570K in comparision to an i7 920 and it's good enough for me.
 
Joined
Dec 6, 2005
Messages
10,354 (2.25/day)
Likes
4,224
Location
Manchester, NH
System Name Working on it ;)
Processor I7-4790K (Stock speeds right now)
Motherboard MSI Z97 U3 Plus
Cooling Be Quiet Pure Rock Air
Memory 16GB 4x4 G.Skill CAS9 2133 Sniper
Video Card(s) GIGABYTE Vega 64 (Non Reference)
Storage Samsung EVO 500GB / 8 Different WDs / QNAP TS-253 8GB NAS with 2x2Tb WD Black
Display(s) 34" LG 34CB88-P 21:9 Curved UltraWide QHD (3440*1440)
Case Rosewill Challenger
Audio Device(s) Onboard + HD HDMI
Power Supply Corsair HX750 (love it)
Mouse Logitech G5
Keyboard Corsair Strafe RGB & G610 Orion Red
Software Win 10 upgraded from Win 7 Pro
#69
Between the 2 the greater cache will of course help, I was in a dilemma wheter I should upgrade/sidegrade/downgrade/anyGrade from my i7 920 to a 3570K, some have said that with the loss of HT AND cache size I would take a fair hit in performance, where actually the 3570k improves most CPU/Encode type benches by a fair bit, add to that the overclocking headroom on a typical 3570K in comparision to an i7 920 and it's good enough for me.
I haven't looked up any comparisons between the 920 and the 3570k or 3770k.

I just know in my case, the memory bandwidth alone with an IMC will be a big jump from a Core2 duo.

To bad the deal on the 3750k I listed before is expired, so now I'm looking at about $220 for a 3570k or $330 for a 3770k.
 
Top