• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

i5 760 vs A8-3870k

Fros

New Member
Joined
Dec 27, 2011
Messages
23 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#1
Im wondering if anyone here has the new A8-3870K my cpu now is the i5 760 and it does everything i need it to and i wouldn't have given a upgrade a thought until i saw the perfect motherboard :p i spend alot of time just looking at computer parts and i have come across a few motherboards that are very well laid out for what i need, however this one takes the cake.
(ASUS F1A75-V EVO FM1 AMD A75 (Hudson D3) HDMI SATA...) for anyone who is curious. So my question is how does the A8 compare to the i5 760. i looked around for benchmarks but there is not alot of info spread around yet. I do plan on overclocking it and possibly the gpu though i will be running a 6950. or two :D
 
Joined
Apr 4, 2008
Messages
4,659 (1.32/day)
Likes
1,009
System Name Obelisc
Processor i7 3770k @ 4.8 GHz
Motherboard Asus P8Z77-V
Cooling H110
Memory 16GB(4x4) @ 2400 MHz 9-11-11-31
Video Card(s) GTX 780 Ti
Storage 850 EVO 1TB, 2x 5TB Toshiba
Case T81
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium HD
Power Supply EVGA 850 T2 80+ TITANIUM
Software Win10 64bit
#2

Fros

New Member
Joined
Dec 27, 2011
Messages
23 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#3
:twitch: Yeah that's way to much of a downgrade for me, if it was close i would have probably done it to :( that motherboard has so much of a better layout then mine the P55 SLI board from Evga is pretty terrible

PS: Bookmarked that website its really helpful thanks for the link
 
Joined
Jan 12, 2007
Messages
2,276 (0.57/day)
Likes
230
Location
Cairns QLD, Aussie
System Name GaMEr / HTPC
Processor FX8320 4.5ghz so far NB- 2815mhz / X2 255 @ 3.2ghz (Temp till BD)
Motherboard 990FX-UD5 / GA-MA785GPMT-US2H
Cooling XSPC - 240rad 480rad 5 x 120mm out, 6 x 80mm in / H220-edge 1/2" & 2 x 120mm Magma
Memory 4gb PI 6,8,6,18 1T 1706mhz / 4gb Crucial D9's 1400 @ 6,6,6,18,1T
Video Card(s) 3gb HD7950 / Onboard
Storage 2 x 120gb Sandisk ultra plus 2tb WD / 60gb vertex 2 + 2 x 2tb WD Greens
Display(s) 3x24in Dell Ultra (portrait) / NEC 32" FullHD LCD
Case LL PC71A Full tower / Antec fusion black with Imon remote Modded for WC
Audio Device(s) OB / Auzentech cinema 7.1
Power Supply TT 700w TR2 / TT 600w Litepower modded with Noctua S12 fan.
Software 7 Ult / 7 premium x64
#4
I think the only thing FM1 is good for is HTPC/office applications.. Anything else is a waste imo, I don't even know why they make FM1 ATX sized motherboards with dual pcie slots etc... Complete waste if you ask me.

Stay away from it if you are planning to put a gaming card in your system.
 
Joined
Jun 29, 2007
Messages
1,126 (0.29/day)
Likes
651
Location
Repentigny, QC, CANADA
System Name CTG Computer
Processor Intel i7 4770k @ 4.3ghz 1.264v
Motherboard Asus Maximus VI Formula
Cooling Noctua NH-U12S
Memory 2x 8gb Mushkin Blackline 2133mhz@2400mhz 11-13-13-31-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) Gigabyte RX580 Gaming 4GB
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256gb (OS) | Crucial MX100 256gb (games) | Silicon Power S55 240gb (Games)
Display(s) Asus vg248qe
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Creative SoundBlaster Z PCI-E
Power Supply eVGA SuperNova 750w G2
Mouse CM Mizar
Keyboard Logitech G110
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#5
an i5 760 should be as good as the Phenom x4 line.. the A8-3870K is like an Athlon x4 640 but maybe a bit better:

-it has a bus of 100mhz x 30 instead of 200 x 15
-it has 4x 1mb cache L2 instead of 4x 512kb
-it has a IGP
-it's overclocking should be good since it has unlocked multiplicator and 32nm process instead of 45nm
-No cache L3

For me, this CPU is slower than an i7 760...

http://www.bit-tech.net/hardware/cpus/2010/10/15/intel-core-i5-760-review/3

It always doing VS x4 970...
 

dude12564

New Member
Joined
Dec 18, 2011
Messages
470 (0.22/day)
Likes
216
Location
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
System Name Dell Studio XPS 8100 / Current PC
Processor Intel Core i5-750 @ 2.66 GHz / i5-3570K @ 3.4 GHz
Motherboard Dell Stock H55 / ASUS P8Z77-VLK
Cooling Stock
Memory Hynix 8GB DDR3-1333 / Kingston HyperX Blu Black 8 GB DDR3-1600
Video Card(s) MSI Radeon HD 7770 / EVGA GTX 560 Superclocked
Storage 1TB Western Digital Caviar Black / 128 GB Crucial m4 + 2TB Seagate Barracuda
Display(s) Samsung 19'' LCD / Dell 24'' LCD
Case Dell Studio XPS 8100 / Bitfenix Merc Alpha
Audio Device(s) Realtek Integrated
Power Supply Dell Stock 350W / OCZ ModXStream 700W
Benchmark Scores Dell Keyboard + Dell Mouse / Azio Levetron Clicker + Razer Lachesis
#6
I think the only thing FM1 is good for is HTPC/office applications.. Anything else is a waste imo, I don't even know why they make FM1 ATX sized motherboards with dual pcie slots etc... Complete waste if you ask me.

Stay away from it if you are planning to put a gaming card in your system.
As stated in this TPU test.http://www.techpowerup.com/reviews/AMD/A8-3850_Fusion_GPU_Performance/

"AMD also introduces a new feature with their A-Series platform called "Dual Graphics". This is basically AMD's CrossFire in disguise. It combines the processing power of the CPU integrated Radeon graphics with an additional discrete graphics card. For optimum results, AMD recommends a low-end Radeon card like HD 6450, 6570 or 6670."
 
Joined
Jan 12, 2007
Messages
2,276 (0.57/day)
Likes
230
Location
Cairns QLD, Aussie
System Name GaMEr / HTPC
Processor FX8320 4.5ghz so far NB- 2815mhz / X2 255 @ 3.2ghz (Temp till BD)
Motherboard 990FX-UD5 / GA-MA785GPMT-US2H
Cooling XSPC - 240rad 480rad 5 x 120mm out, 6 x 80mm in / H220-edge 1/2" & 2 x 120mm Magma
Memory 4gb PI 6,8,6,18 1T 1706mhz / 4gb Crucial D9's 1400 @ 6,6,6,18,1T
Video Card(s) 3gb HD7950 / Onboard
Storage 2 x 120gb Sandisk ultra plus 2tb WD / 60gb vertex 2 + 2 x 2tb WD Greens
Display(s) 3x24in Dell Ultra (portrait) / NEC 32" FullHD LCD
Case LL PC71A Full tower / Antec fusion black with Imon remote Modded for WC
Audio Device(s) OB / Auzentech cinema 7.1
Power Supply TT 700w TR2 / TT 600w Litepower modded with Noctua S12 fan.
Software 7 Ult / 7 premium x64
#7
As stated in this TPU test.http://www.techpowerup.com/reviews/AMD/A8-3850_Fusion_GPU_Performance/

"AMD also introduces a new feature with their A-Series platform called "Dual Graphics". This is basically AMD's CrossFire in disguise. It combines the processing power of the CPU integrated Radeon graphics with an additional discrete graphics card. For optimum results, AMD recommends a low-end Radeon card like HD 6450, 6570 or 6670."

Yeah I realise that man, but he is putting a 6950 in there, maybe 2. So having a gfx chip built into the cpu is no use. The intel would be a much better solution in this instance.
 

Fros

New Member
Joined
Dec 27, 2011
Messages
23 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#8
Looks like i am going to save up some cash for the ivy bridge then, probably go with the I5 3570k on a z68 or w/e new board they are making it seems like a good upgrade but will cost more then i planned to spend the A8 was just wishful thinking i suppose :p
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,188 (5.03/day)
Likes
4,795
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#9
AMD A Series has a stronger IMC than the Phenom II Series. Supports 1866 right off the back. I Suspect after Piledriver and FM2 socket is released- FM2 replaces both FM1 and AM3+

FM1 isnt a bad solution and is very upgradeable, course what you were doing was buying a CPU that has the Strongest GPU out of the series

an i5 760 should be as good as the Phenom x4 line.. the A8-3870K is like an Athlon x4 640 but maybe a bit better:

-it has a bus of 100mhz x 30 instead of 200 x 15
-it has 4x 1mb cache L2 instead of 4x 512kb
-it has a IGP
-it's overclocking should be good since it has unlocked multiplicator and 32nm process instead of 45nm
-No cache L3

For me, this CPU is slower than an i7 760...



http://www.bit-tech.net/hardware/cpus/2010/10/15/intel-core-i5-760-review/3

It always doing VS x4 970...
 

dude12564

New Member
Joined
Dec 18, 2011
Messages
470 (0.22/day)
Likes
216
Location
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
System Name Dell Studio XPS 8100 / Current PC
Processor Intel Core i5-750 @ 2.66 GHz / i5-3570K @ 3.4 GHz
Motherboard Dell Stock H55 / ASUS P8Z77-VLK
Cooling Stock
Memory Hynix 8GB DDR3-1333 / Kingston HyperX Blu Black 8 GB DDR3-1600
Video Card(s) MSI Radeon HD 7770 / EVGA GTX 560 Superclocked
Storage 1TB Western Digital Caviar Black / 128 GB Crucial m4 + 2TB Seagate Barracuda
Display(s) Samsung 19'' LCD / Dell 24'' LCD
Case Dell Studio XPS 8100 / Bitfenix Merc Alpha
Audio Device(s) Realtek Integrated
Power Supply Dell Stock 350W / OCZ ModXStream 700W
Benchmark Scores Dell Keyboard + Dell Mouse / Azio Levetron Clicker + Razer Lachesis
#10
Yeah I realise that man, but he is putting a 6950 in there, maybe 2. So having a gfx chip built into the cpu is no use. The intel would be a much better solution in this instance.
Yeah, I should have probably said something instead of just quoting. That was what I was trying to hint.