• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

i7 2600 + 1070 @ 1080P avg 50FPS in GTA V normal?

Joined
Jun 4, 2016
Messages
40 (0.03/day)
Processor i7 2600
Motherboard Gigabyte Z68X-UD3H-B3
Cooling OEM Fan
Memory Corsair 32GB Ram
Video Card(s) EVGA 680 2GB SC
Storage Intel 730 / Samsung 850 EVO
Display(s) Dell 2740L
Case Antec 900
Audio Device(s) MB
Power Supply Seasonic 600
Software Win 7 x64
Hi everyone,

My system config is as follows:
1. Gigabyte Z68X-UD3H-B3
2. i7 2600 (stock clock)
3. 32 GB RAM
4. EVGA 1070 FE
5. 4 1080P S2740L monitors (only displayed to 1)

My question is, is it normal to avg 50FPS in GTA V and about 42 in the city (with more people/cars,) with dips into the 30's?

I replaced my GTX680 2GB for this, and my EVGA 680 2GB achieved nearly the same results, however, I have to turn down draw distance and people variation on the GTX680.

Looking at this video:






Is there something I'm missing to get better performance? His i7 2600 is clocked at 4.4GHz, but mine is stock clocked.

Thanks!

UPDATE: I did call EVGA and they recommended the 1060 instead of the 1070 for an i7 2600. Which is nice, they are not trying to upsell, but I can't help wonder, is it really my CPU that's the issue? I don't have the K version, so I can't overclock it to test it. We also set the DSR to 2.00 to offload more work the the GPU and while in the city, with lots of action, GPU-Z reports max of everything (clocks/TDP/GPU Load) but I still get around 41 FPS avg, with dips in the 30's. My CPU hits 62% max in the city/action areas.
 

rtwjunkie

PC Gaming Enthusiast
Supporter
Joined
Jul 25, 2008
Messages
12,923 (3.02/day)
Location
Louisiana -Laissez les bons temps rouler!
System Name Bayou Phantom
Processor Core i7-8700k 4.4Ghz @ 1.18v
Motherboard ASRock Z390 Phantom Gaming 6
Cooling All air: 2x140mm Fractal exhaust; 3x 140mm Cougar Intake; Enermax T40F Black CPU cooler
Memory 2x 8GB Mushkin Redline DDR-4 3200
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080Ti Gaming X
Storage 1x 500 MX500 SSD; 1x 2TB WD Black; 2x 4TB WD Black; 1x400GB VelRptr; 1x 3TB WD Blue storage (eSATA)
Display(s) HP 27q 27" IPS @ 2560 x 1440
Case Fractal Design Define R4 Black w/Titanium front -windowed
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Z
Power Supply Seasonic X-850
Mouse Coolermaster Sentinel III (large palm grip!)
Keyboard Logitech G610 Orion mechanical (Cherry Brown switches)
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit (Start10 & Fences 3.0 installed)
If your GPU is maxing out in those high impact city areas, but the CPU is only at 62%, then IMHO, your CPU is not the issue here. If your CPU were at 99%, and GPU was not working at full potential, then yes, I would agree with them. This is especially true at 1080 where the CPU has more impact than at 1440p.

As to the actual cause I cannot hazard a guess at this point. I don't think your i7-2600 is the issue. I have GTA V on my secondary system with an i3-4160 and an RX 480 gets slightly better frames than you, which shouldn't be.
Possibly DSR is the issue? Have you tried it without DSR?
 
Joined
Jun 4, 2016
Messages
40 (0.03/day)
Processor i7 2600
Motherboard Gigabyte Z68X-UD3H-B3
Cooling OEM Fan
Memory Corsair 32GB Ram
Video Card(s) EVGA 680 2GB SC
Storage Intel 730 / Samsung 850 EVO
Display(s) Dell 2740L
Case Antec 900
Audio Device(s) MB
Power Supply Seasonic 600
Software Win 7 x64
If your GPU is maxing out in those high impact city areas, but the CPU is only at 62%, then IMHO, your CPU is not the issue here. If your CPU were at 99%, and GPU was not working at full potential, then yes, I would agree with them. This is especially true at 1080 where the CPU has more impact than at 1440p.

As to the actual cause I cannot hazard a guess at this point. I don't think your i7-2600 is the issue. I have GTA V on my secondary system with an i3-4160 and an RX 480 gets slightly better frames than you, which shouldn't be.
Possibly DSR is the issue? Have you tried it without DSR?
Thanks for the reply, when I had DSR disabled, the GPU would get around 52% GPU Load (but I'll verify tomorrow in high activity areas) and the CPU would hit about 72%-78%peak, so the CPU looks like it's working more when DSR is off.
 

rtwjunkie

PC Gaming Enthusiast
Supporter
Joined
Jul 25, 2008
Messages
12,923 (3.02/day)
Location
Louisiana -Laissez les bons temps rouler!
System Name Bayou Phantom
Processor Core i7-8700k 4.4Ghz @ 1.18v
Motherboard ASRock Z390 Phantom Gaming 6
Cooling All air: 2x140mm Fractal exhaust; 3x 140mm Cougar Intake; Enermax T40F Black CPU cooler
Memory 2x 8GB Mushkin Redline DDR-4 3200
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080Ti Gaming X
Storage 1x 500 MX500 SSD; 1x 2TB WD Black; 2x 4TB WD Black; 1x400GB VelRptr; 1x 3TB WD Blue storage (eSATA)
Display(s) HP 27q 27" IPS @ 2560 x 1440
Case Fractal Design Define R4 Black w/Titanium front -windowed
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Z
Power Supply Seasonic X-850
Mouse Coolermaster Sentinel III (large palm grip!)
Keyboard Logitech G610 Orion mechanical (Cherry Brown switches)
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit (Start10 & Fences 3.0 installed)
Well now that certainly looks more like GTA numbers as far as the CPU is concerned. What did you say your graphics settings are set at? If you did, I must have missed it and apologize.

EDIT: no DSR puts the pressure back on CPU. What I see is normal CPU usage for the game. Any higher and the CPU would be the bottleneck.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 22, 2015
Messages
2,832 (1.67/day)
Location
Europe
System Name eazen corp | Xentronon 6.7
Processor Core i7 3960X @ 4.5 GHz
Motherboard Asus P9X79
Cooling Noctua NH-D14 SE2011 / 3x Corsair AF140L case fans (2 blowing in, 1 out)
Memory G.Skill Sniper 4x4 GB DDR3 1866, CL9-10-9-9-2T, 1.5 V
Video Card(s) G1 Gaming GeForce GTX 980 Ti @ ~1391 MHz Core / 1925 MHz RAM
Storage Samsung SSD 830, 128GB & SSD 850 Evo, 500GB & F3, 1TB 7200RPM / Seagate Barracuda Green, 2TB 5900RPM
Display(s) Samsung 27" Curved FS2 HDR QLED 1440p@144Hz & 27" iiyama TN LED 1080p@120Hz / Samsung 40" 1080p HDTV
Case Corsair Carbide 600C, inverted design case
Audio Device(s) Creative SB X-Fi Xtreme Music/Sony HD AVR@PC&HDTV @ Teufel Concept F &Theater 80 & Razer Carcharias
Power Supply EVGA 650 GQ @ semi-passive mode on
Mouse Logitech G700 @ Steelseries DeX
Keyboard Corsair K70 LUX RGB Mechanical Keyboard /w Cherry MX Brown switches
Software Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores 4144 UG Superposition 1080p Extreme|6302 Time Spy|P16615 Firestrike|P21524 3DM11|X37002 3DM Vantage
That's a CPU bottleneck, GTA 5 isn't using all threads of the i7 2600 (or of any SMT based CPU besides dual cores) thus resulting in lower than 100% usage, but it uses all 4 cores at a 100% I would bet. You have a Z board, you can overclock the i7 2600 at least 4 multipliers, you should do it. Of course CPU utilization decreases when you increase GPU usage by using DSR, hence why it decreased after you switched it off. You should consider upgrading your system too, as that's not really a balanced setup. Too bad it's a non-K i7. Essentially the same CPU at 4.5-5 GHz does the job pretty well.
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 31, 2016
Messages
1,677 (1.19/day)
System Name Bro2
Processor Ryzen 2700X
Motherboard MSI X470 Gaming Carbon
Cooling Corsair h115i pro rgb
Memory G.Skill Flare X 3200 CL14
Video Card(s) RX Vega 64 Red Devil
Storage M.2 Samsung Evo 970 250MB/ Samsung 860 Evo 1TB
Display(s) LG 27UD69 UHD
Case Fractal Design G
Audio Device(s) realtec 5.1
Power Supply Corsair AXi 760W
Mouse Logitech G402
Keyboard Logitech slim
Software Windows 10 64 bit
This is weird. 2600 should be able to maintain GTAV load with no problem. My 3770k doesn't have any problems with it and it's at stock. I got 60 FPS with my 780 Ti and yes in some areas it may fall to 50 but that's all. I agree with Kanan. It must be your CPU. But on the other hand the difference between 3770k and 2600k isn't much so it shouldn't have such an impact on the FPS with 1070.
 

Bo$$

Lab Extraordinaire
Joined
May 7, 2009
Messages
5,638 (1.41/day)
Location
London, UK
System Name Desktop | Server
Processor Intel i7 2700k @ 4.6GHZ | AMD 5350 @ 2500MHZ
Motherboard Asus P7Z77-V Pro | Asus AM1I-A
Cooling Corsair H60v2 | Stock Air
Memory Crucial Ballistix 2x8GB CL8 1600MHZ | Corsair Vengence 2x4GB CL9 1600MHZ
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1060 6GB | PNY GTX 750Ti
Storage Samsung 840 EVO 250GB + 4TB WD Red | 2x Seagate Barracuda 2TB
Display(s) Samsung S27D390H + Asus VE276Q | Headless
Case Fractal Design R5 | CM Elite 110
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D1 w/Otone Stilo 5.1 and Creative Fatal1ty headset
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 850 G2| Corsair CX430M
Mouse Razer Imperator 2012
Keyboard Corsair K90
Software Windows 7 SP1 X64 | Ubuntu 16.04LTS
With my 2600k at 4.3 and a GTX780 I get the same if not more FPS. you should try overclocking it. You'll see the FPS dips go away.
 

TheMailMan78

Big Member
Joined
Jun 3, 2007
Messages
22,599 (4.81/day)
Location
'Merica. The Great SOUTH!
System Name TheMailbox 5.0 / The Mailbox 4.5
Processor RYZEN 1700X / Intel i7 2600k @ 4.2GHz
Motherboard Fatal1ty X370 Gaming K4 / Gigabyte Z77X-UP5 TH Intel LGA 1155
Cooling MasterLiquid PRO 280 / Scythe Katana 4
Memory ADATA RGB 16GB DDR4 2666 16-16-16-39 / G.SKILL Sniper Series 16GB DDR3 1866: 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) MSI 1080 "Duke" with 8Gb of RAM. Boost Clock 1847 MHz / ASUS 780ti
Storage 256Gb M4 SSD / 128Gb Agelity 4 SSD , 500Gb WD (7200)
Display(s) LG 29" Class 21:9 UltraWide® IPS LED Monitor 2560 x 1080 / Dell 27"
Case Cooler Master MASTERBOX 5t / Cooler Master 922 HAF
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1220 Audio Codec / SupremeFX X-Fi with Bose Companion 2 speakers.
Power Supply Seasonic FOCUS Plus Series SSR-750PX 750W Platinum / SeaSonic X Series X650 Gold
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei (RAW) / Logitech G5
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow / Logitech (Unknown)
Software Windows 10 Pro (64-bit)
Benchmark Scores Benching is for bitches.
I get better than that with my rig. Zero overclocks. I run a solid 60 fps if not more.
 
Joined
Oct 17, 2012
Messages
9,213 (3.37/day)
Location
Massachusetts
System Name Americas cure is the death of Social Justice & Political Correctness
Processor i5 8600k
Motherboard Asrock Z370 Extreme 4
Cooling Corsair H-110i GTX
Memory 2x 4Gb Crucial Sport LT
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 980 Gaming
Storage Samsung 850 evo 250Gb
Display(s) Dell Ultra Sharp Widescreen 24" 1200P
Case Fractal Design Meshify-C
Power Supply Seasonic Focus+ 750 Gold
Mouse Logitech G502 spectrum
Keyboard AZIO MGK-1 RGB (Kaith Blue)
Software Win 10 Professional 64 bit
Last night I ran Grandtheft auto for a short while, the parts that matter are

Pc:
4core+4thread 3.7ghz
Gtx970@ 25% overclock

Maximum gtaV settings@1200p

And your FPS is right about where mine was ,respectively
 
Joined
Nov 18, 2010
Messages
4,977 (1.45/day)
Location
Rīga, Latvia
System Name HELLSTAR
Processor Intel 5960X @ 4.4GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X99-UD3
Cooling Custom Loop. 360+240 rads. 5x Nidec Servo Gentle Typhoons. AC CUPLEX KRYOS NEXT.
Memory 4x8GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000MHz 15-17-17-36 CR1
Video Card(s) ASUS 1080 Ti FE + water block
Storage Optane 900P + Samsung PM981 NVMe 1TB + 750 EVO 500GB
Display(s) Philips PHL BDM3270
Case Phanteks Enthoo Evolv ATX Tempered Glass
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Fractal Design Newton R3 1000W
Mouse Razer Basilisk
Keyboard Razer Deathstalker
Software Windows 10 insider
I have fought this on that platform. It is the CPU. You need 4.6+GHz for Sandy to run this game smooth.

Also play around with affinities and thread priorities.
 
Joined
Feb 17, 2015
Messages
117 (0.06/day)
System Name Snizzle
Processor AMD Ryzen 9 3900X
Motherboard ROG STRIX X470-F GAMING
Cooling CORSAIR Hydro Series™ H100i PRO RGB
Memory CORSAIR VENGEANCE® RGB PRO 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 DRAM 3200MHz C14 Memory Kit
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce RTX 2080 Ti XC ULTRA GAMING, 11G-P4-2383-KR
Storage SAMSUNG 970 EVO M.2 2280 500GB
Display(s) ASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
Case NZXT H500
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA 850 G2 220-G2-0850-XR 850W
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei
Keyboard Ducky DK2108S
Software Windows 10 Pro
Hi everyone,

My system config is as follows:
1. Gigabyte Z68X-UD3H-B3
2. i7 2600 (stock clock)
3. 32 GB RAM
4. EVGA 1070 FE
5. 4 1080P S2740L monitors (only displayed to 1)



UPDATE: I did call EVGA and they recommended the 1060 instead of the 1070 for an i7 2600. Which is nice, they are not trying to upsell, but I can't help wonder, is it really my CPU that's the issue? I don't have the K version, so I can't overclock it to test it. We also set the DSR to 2.00 to offload more work the the GPU and while in the city, with lots of action, GPU-Z reports max of everything (clocks/TDP/GPU Load) but I still get around 41 FPS avg, with dips in the 30's. My CPU hits 62% max in the city/action areas.

I dont think it the CPU because of what you are saying, the cpu is not maxing it out. Something missing here. I have an i7 2600k stock speed and gtx 1070fe. getting around 80-120 fps @ 1080p Veryhigh.
 

CAPSLOCKSTUCK

Spaced Out Lunar Tick
Joined
Feb 26, 2013
Messages
8,579 (3.30/day)
Location
llaregguB...WALES
System Name Party On
Processor Xeon w 3520
Motherboard DFI Lanparty
Cooling Big tower thing
Memory 6 gb Ballistix Tracer
Video Card(s) HD 7970
Case a plank of wood
Audio Device(s) seperate amp and 6 big speakers
Power Supply Corsair
Mouse cheap
Keyboard under going restoration
I get similar figures with a minimum of 40fps using the pc in my specs running cpu @ 4.1ghz and GPU core at 1455.



gta 4.0 oc gpu.PNG
 
Joined
Jan 5, 2006
Messages
10,258 (1.97/day)
System Name Desktop / Laptop
Processor Intel i7 6700K @ 4.3GHz (1.180 V) / Intel i3 7100U
Motherboard Asus Z170 Pro Gaming / HP 83A3 (U3E1)
Cooling Noctua NH-U12A 2 fans + Thermal Grizzly Kryonaut + 5 case fans / Fan
Memory 16GB DDR4 Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000MHz CL15 / 8GB DDR4 HyperX CL13
Video Card(s) MSI RTX 2070 Super Gaming X Trio / Intel HD620
Storage Samsung 970 Evo 500GB + Samsung 850 Pro 512GB + Samsung 860 Evo 1TB / Samsung 256GB M.2 SSD
Display(s) 23.8" Dell S2417DG 165Hz G-Sync 1440p + 21.5" LG 22MP67VQ IPS 60Hz 1080p / 14" 1080p IPS Glossy
Case Be quiet! Silent Base 600 - Window / HP Pavilion
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX Onboard / Realtek onboard + B&O speaker system
Power Supply Seasonic Focus Plus Gold 750W / Powerbrick
Mouse Logitech MX Anywhere 2 Laser wireless / Logitech M330 wireless
Keyboard RAPOO E9270P Black 5GHz wireless / HP backlit
Software Windows 10 / Windows 10
I'm using v-sync but I have a quite stable 60fps everywhere in the game, using some mods with my GTX1070 + i5 6500 combo.
Have turned down "particles quality" from very high to normal, since this seemed to affect CPU usage IMO when I play the game with lots of things going on and many explosions at the same time.
Besides that I'm running the game at 1080p 4xMSAA at the moment.
 
Joined
Jun 4, 2016
Messages
40 (0.03/day)
Processor i7 2600
Motherboard Gigabyte Z68X-UD3H-B3
Cooling OEM Fan
Memory Corsair 32GB Ram
Video Card(s) EVGA 680 2GB SC
Storage Intel 730 / Samsung 850 EVO
Display(s) Dell 2740L
Case Antec 900
Audio Device(s) MB
Power Supply Seasonic 600
Software Win 7 x64
Hi Everyone,

Thanks for your replies, I'm going to read them tonight and reply back tomorrow, I've attached some screen shots of the performance I'm getting. I just got home and got a nvidia driver update message and did the update, but still the same performance. I've turned off DSR for the performance values below.

My settings are pretty much maxed out on everything, except motion blur and depth of field which I have off. I'll take screen shots of those two later.

Thanks!
 

Attachments

Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
17,104 (4.56/day)
Perhaps i missed it... but what are your in game settings? Screenshots...sorry screencaps (what is this, 1997?? Lol!) of what you already mentioned arent helpful...

Edit, you say 'pretty much maxed out' but wth does that mean EXACTLY????
 

OneMoar

There is Always Moar
Joined
Apr 9, 2010
Messages
7,886 (2.16/day)
Location
Rochester area
System Name RPC MK2
Processor Intel Core i5 9600K@ 4.8Ghz 1.32V
Motherboard Asrock z390 phantom gaming 4
Cooling Enermax ets-t50
Memory CMK16GX4M2B3000C15 16GB DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce RTX 2060 XC ULTRA GAMING
Storage 512GB Intel 545s ssd 500GB ADATA SU800 ssd 1TB WD blue
Display(s) Cheap VA panel
Case Phanteks P300
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply HX 750i
Mouse M65 Pro RGB
Keyboard K70 RGB
Software Windows 10 +startisback
what I get over 100 on my 1060 with things mostly turned up
something is wrong
beware of the extended distance sliders and the population density sliders

they don't do much for quality but maxing them MURDERS performace
make sure vsync is off

it should be running closer to 80 at least I got that on a 7970 .. the game isn't hard to run
 
Joined
Jun 4, 2016
Messages
40 (0.03/day)
Processor i7 2600
Motherboard Gigabyte Z68X-UD3H-B3
Cooling OEM Fan
Memory Corsair 32GB Ram
Video Card(s) EVGA 680 2GB SC
Storage Intel 730 / Samsung 850 EVO
Display(s) Dell 2740L
Case Antec 900
Audio Device(s) MB
Power Supply Seasonic 600
Software Win 7 x64
Hi Everyone,

I've attached the screenshots of my settings here... @EarthDog 1997, reminds me of the DiamondMM Stealth card I had back then couple with a P133, and my ditto/jaz drives....and the syquest sparq drive (that I returned the next day) and Circuit City where I got most of my hardware, well, that and the Computer Shopper.

Also, I tried the NVIDIA suggested game optimizations, same result.
 

Attachments

OneMoar

There is Always Moar
Joined
Apr 9, 2010
Messages
7,886 (2.16/day)
Location
Rochester area
System Name RPC MK2
Processor Intel Core i5 9600K@ 4.8Ghz 1.32V
Motherboard Asrock z390 phantom gaming 4
Cooling Enermax ets-t50
Memory CMK16GX4M2B3000C15 16GB DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce RTX 2060 XC ULTRA GAMING
Storage 512GB Intel 545s ssd 500GB ADATA SU800 ssd 1TB WD blue
Display(s) Cheap VA panel
Case Phanteks P300
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply HX 750i
Mouse M65 Pro RGB
Keyboard K70 RGB
Software Windows 10 +startisback
pull those sliders back to 50 to 70%
also vsync is on switch it to adaptive
 
Last edited:

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
30,428 (6.52/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
speed of ram?

OC that CPU try for 4.3 first
 
Joined
Mar 23, 2016
Messages
3,643 (2.47/day)
Processor Ryzen 5 3600
Motherboard MSI B450 Tomahawk ATX
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu with AM4 bracket
Memory PNY Anarchy-X XLR8 Red DDR4 3200 MHz C15-17-17-17-35
Video Card(s) MSI GeForce RTX 2060 GAMING Z 6G
Storage Samsung 970 EVO NVMe M.2 500 GB, SanDisk Ultra II 480 GB
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster C27H711 OC refresh rate 110Hz
Case Phantek Eclipse P400S (PH-EC416PS)
Audio Device(s) EVGA NU Audio
Power Supply EVGA 850 BQ
Mouse SteelSeries Rival 310
Keyboard Logitech G G413 Silver
Software Windows 10 Professional 64-bit v1903
I don't have the K version, so I can't overclock it to test it.
I think you can take advantage of Intel leaving TurboBoost unlocked on the Sandy bridge and go four clock speed bins up over (400 MHz.) The only other requirement is a Z77 or Z68 chipset.

Intel later locked it down for Haswell.
 
Joined
Jan 6, 2013
Messages
156 (0.06/day)
Can you run the benchmark and record CPU/GPU usage during it? i7 2600 has a pretty low clock and also the IPC has been quite improved from Sandy Bridge to Skylake.
 

TheMailMan78

Big Member
Joined
Jun 3, 2007
Messages
22,599 (4.81/day)
Location
'Merica. The Great SOUTH!
System Name TheMailbox 5.0 / The Mailbox 4.5
Processor RYZEN 1700X / Intel i7 2600k @ 4.2GHz
Motherboard Fatal1ty X370 Gaming K4 / Gigabyte Z77X-UP5 TH Intel LGA 1155
Cooling MasterLiquid PRO 280 / Scythe Katana 4
Memory ADATA RGB 16GB DDR4 2666 16-16-16-39 / G.SKILL Sniper Series 16GB DDR3 1866: 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) MSI 1080 "Duke" with 8Gb of RAM. Boost Clock 1847 MHz / ASUS 780ti
Storage 256Gb M4 SSD / 128Gb Agelity 4 SSD , 500Gb WD (7200)
Display(s) LG 29" Class 21:9 UltraWide® IPS LED Monitor 2560 x 1080 / Dell 27"
Case Cooler Master MASTERBOX 5t / Cooler Master 922 HAF
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1220 Audio Codec / SupremeFX X-Fi with Bose Companion 2 speakers.
Power Supply Seasonic FOCUS Plus Series SSR-750PX 750W Platinum / SeaSonic X Series X650 Gold
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei (RAW) / Logitech G5
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow / Logitech (Unknown)
Software Windows 10 Pro (64-bit)
Benchmark Scores Benching is for bitches.
2600k is not yet a bottleneck on a single GPU system.......yet. In your case definitely no. I suspect on a rig running two 1080ti's in SLI it might be a different story. Even then a nice OC of the CPU would pretty much balance it out.
 

qubit

Overclocked quantum bit
Joined
Dec 6, 2007
Messages
15,925 (3.53/day)
Location
Quantum Well UK
System Name Quantumville™
Processor Intel Core i7-2700K at stock (hits 5 gees+ easily)
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB (4 x 4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 PC3-12800 C9 1600MHz)
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080 AMP! Extreme Edition
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB | WD Green 4TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2720Z | Asus VG278HE (both 27", 144Hz, 3D Vision 2, 1080p)
Case Cooler Master HAF 922
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX 850W v1
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Uhh, yes it is... read some techspot reviews which show it holding back a 1080 on a few titles (not talking cpu heavy games).. it isnt much but, its there.
I noticed it in Far Cry 4 with my stock 2700K and GTX 1080. Ran at about 80-100fps, even at low resolution. My target framerate is at least a solid 120fps, so a CPU upgrade or overclock is definitely in order for this game. Good thing I didn't like it much in the end, then.
 
Joined
Oct 17, 2012
Messages
9,213 (3.37/day)
Location
Massachusetts
System Name Americas cure is the death of Social Justice & Political Correctness
Processor i5 8600k
Motherboard Asrock Z370 Extreme 4
Cooling Corsair H-110i GTX
Memory 2x 4Gb Crucial Sport LT
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 980 Gaming
Storage Samsung 850 evo 250Gb
Display(s) Dell Ultra Sharp Widescreen 24" 1200P
Case Fractal Design Meshify-C
Power Supply Seasonic Focus+ 750 Gold
Mouse Logitech G502 spectrum
Keyboard AZIO MGK-1 RGB (Kaith Blue)
Software Win 10 Professional 64 bit
That 2600 will handle Grandtheft auto five no problem whatsoever I am 1010% sure of it. That's not an opinion that is 100% fact. I can run Grandtheft auto five at almost 60 FPS on a Pentium dual core (med settings) , you have four cores 8 threads on that CPU , it is having no issue running it. At highest settings you might see some strain, but ime the settings in graphics dont really change in regards to the cpu from low to highest by all that much.
 
Top