• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

i7 2600 + 1070 @ 1080P avg 50FPS in GTA V normal?

TheMailMan78

Big Member
Joined
Jun 3, 2007
Messages
22,599 (4.50/day)
Location
'Merica. The Great SOUTH!
System Name TheMailbox 5.0 / The Mailbox 4.5
Processor RYZEN 1700X / Intel i7 2600k @ 4.2GHz
Motherboard Fatal1ty X370 Gaming K4 / Gigabyte Z77X-UP5 TH Intel LGA 1155
Cooling MasterLiquid PRO 280 / Scythe Katana 4
Memory ADATA RGB 16GB DDR4 2666 16-16-16-39 / G.SKILL Sniper Series 16GB DDR3 1866: 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) MSI 1080 "Duke" with 8Gb of RAM. Boost Clock 1847 MHz / ASUS 780ti
Storage 256Gb M4 SSD / 128Gb Agelity 4 SSD , 500Gb WD (7200)
Display(s) LG 29" Class 21:9 UltraWide® IPS LED Monitor 2560 x 1080 / Dell 27"
Case Cooler Master MASTERBOX 5t / Cooler Master 922 HAF
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1220 Audio Codec / SupremeFX X-Fi with Bose Companion 2 speakers.
Power Supply Seasonic FOCUS Plus Series SSR-750PX 750W Platinum / SeaSonic X Series X650 Gold
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei (RAW) / Logitech G5
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow / Logitech (Unknown)
Software Windows 10 Pro (64-bit)
Benchmark Scores Benching is for bitches.
Uhh, yes it is... read some techspot reviews which show it holding back a 1080 on a few titles (not talking cpu heavy games).. it isnt much but, its there.

That said gta v is pretty cpu heavy last i recall?? But 2600k should do just fine.. see.. http://www.techspot.com/review/991-gta-5-pc-benchmarks/page6.html
I'm not a big techspot fan but, Ill take your word for it. With that being said if it is a bottleneck its a very minor one. VERY MINOR. I highly doubt this is his problem. I bet a nice OC would fix those techspot reviews also. Maybe up to 4.5 would be enough and you and I know that's pretty easy on a 2600k.

Also that link is running a high resolution. Not a good test for a CPU. I wanna see it as 1080p and below. That will make that bitch scream.

I'm not giving you a hard time and I aint doubting you. But, I kinda think your splitting hairs in this guys case. This dudes problem isn't the CPU.
 
Joined
Apr 24, 2012
Messages
1,478 (0.46/day)
Location
Northamptonshire, UK
System Name Main / VR / HTPC
Processor 9900K@4.7 / Ryzen 5 5600X / Ryzen 7 2700
Motherboard Z390 Aorus Pro WiFi / Strix B550i / B450i Aorus Pro
Cooling Custom water / Custom Water / Wraith Spire
Memory NA / Corsair LPX 2x8 3200MHz / HyperX Predator 2x8GB 3200MHz
Video Card(s) NA / MSI RTX 2070 Super Ventus / GT710
Storage Samsung 960 EVO 250GB / Sabrent Rocket 256GB / OCZ ARC100 120 GB
Display(s) Acer Z301c / 39" Panasonic HDTV
Case Fractal Design Arc XL / Bitfenix Prodigy / Cougar QBX
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V379 / Realtek ALC1220
Power Supply Corsair RM850 / Corsair SF600 / BeQuiet SFX Power 2 450W
Mouse Logitech G900
Keyboard Logitech G610 Orion Red / Royal Kludge RK61
Software Win 10 Pro 64Bit
Hi Everyone,

I've attached the screenshots of my settings here... @EarthDog 1997, reminds me of the DiamondMM Stealth card I had back then couple with a P133, and my ditto/jaz drives....and the syquest sparq drive (that I returned the next day) and Circuit City where I got most of my hardware, well, that and the Computer Shopper.

Also, I tried the NVIDIA suggested game optimizations, same result.
Drop the MSAA setting down to 2X, it's pretty much useless in this game and you'll get a lot of fps dips where there is a lot of vegetation. Also, drop the sliders in the advanced section halfway down, as those settings are the most reliant on your CPU.
 
Joined
Jan 29, 2012
Messages
5,617 (1.69/day)
Location
Florida
System Name natr0n-PC
Processor Various
Motherboard Various
Cooling Various
Memory Various
Video Card(s) Various
Storage Various
Display(s) Various
Case Various
Audio Device(s) Various
Power Supply Various
Software XP/8.1/10
Benchmark Scores http://valid.x86.fr/79kuh6
I can run it 60+ fps mostly maxed out with my dinosaur system slightly above 1080p as well.
 
Joined
Jan 5, 2006
Messages
11,209 (2.03/day)
System Name Desktop / Laptop
Processor Intel i7 6700K @ 4.5GHz (1.270 V) / Intel i3 7100U
Motherboard Asus Z170 Pro Gaming / HP 83A3 (U3E1)
Cooling Noctua NH-U12A 2 fans + Thermal Grizzly Kryonaut + 5 case fans / Fan
Memory 16GB DDR4 Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000MHz CL15 / 8GB DDR4 HyperX CL13
Video Card(s) MSI RTX 2070 Super Gaming X Trio / Intel HD620
Storage Samsung 970 Evo 500GB + Samsung 850 Pro 512GB + Samsung 860 Evo 1TB x2 / Samsung 256GB M.2 SSD
Display(s) 23.8" Dell S2417DG 165Hz G-Sync 1440p + 21.5" LG 22MP67VQ IPS 60Hz 1080p / 14" 1080p IPS Glossy
Case Be quiet! Silent Base 600 - Window / HP Pavilion
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX Onboard / Realtek onboard + B&O speaker system
Power Supply Seasonic Focus Plus Gold 750W / Powerbrick
Mouse Logitech MX Anywhere 2 Laser wireless / Logitech M330 wireless
Keyboard RAPOO E9270P Black 5GHz wireless / HP backlit
Software Windows 10 / Windows 10
I don't have any problems running this game @1440p dsr 60fps with my i5 6500 and GTX1070.

You just need to tweak with your ingame settings.

First off, turn Grass Quality down.

Check out this complete guide for GTA V ingame settings:
http://www.geforce.com/whats-new/guides/grand-theft-auto-v-pc-graphics-and-performance-guide

 
Joined
Jan 8, 2017
Messages
6,476 (4.29/day)
System Name Good enough
Processor AMD Ryzen R7 1700X - 4.0 Ghz / 1.350V
Motherboard ASRock B450M Pro4
Cooling Deepcool Gammaxx L240 V2
Memory 16GB - Corsair Vengeance LPX - 3333 Mhz CL16
Video Card(s) OEM Dell GTX 1080 with Kraken G12 + Water 3.0 Performer C
Storage 1x Samsung 850 EVO 250GB , 1x Samsung 860 EVO 500GB
Display(s) 4K Samsung TV
Case Deepcool Matrexx 70
Power Supply GPS-750C
GTA 5 seems to have a lot of engine limitations. On all systems I have played this game on there were always scenarios where both CPU and GPU usage dropped simultaneously resulting in various performance drops.
 
Joined
Aug 22, 2015
Messages
3,191 (1.58/day)
Location
Europe
System Name eazen corp | Xentronon 7.0
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 3700X // PBO max.
Motherboard ASUS TUF Gaming X570-Plus
Cooling Noctua NH-D14 SE2011 w/ AM4 kit // 3x Corsair AF140L case fans (2 blowing in, 1 out)
Memory G.Skill Trident Z RGB 2x16 GB DDR4 3600, CL16-19-19-32-48-1T, 1.4 V
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti FTW3 // ~2000 MHz Core / 1476 MHz G5X
Storage Silicon Power P34A80 1TB NVME/Samsung SSD 830 128GB&850 Evo 500GB&F3 1TB 7200RPM/Seagate 2TB 5900RPM
Display(s) Samsung 27" Curved FS2 HDR QLED 1440p/144Hz&27" iiyama TN LED 1080p/120Hz / Samsung 40" IPS 1080p TV
Case Corsair Carbide 600C, inverted design case
Audio Device(s) HX Cloud Orbit S / Creative SB X AE-5 @ Teufel Concept F / Sony HD AVR @ PC & TV @ Teufel Theater 80
Power Supply EVGA 650 GQ // semi-passive mode on
Mouse Logitech G700 @ Steelseries DeX // XBox 360 Wireless Controller for Windows
Keyboard Corsair K70 LUX RGB Mechanical Keyboard /w Cherry MX Brown switches
Software Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores 10.498 Time Spy | P24.796 Firestrike | P31.547 3DM11 | X56.401 3DM Vantage Extreme
It's not a game which supports many thread CPUs like i7's with 8 threads or more - it will simply run on 3-4 cores then and max the CPU out (not the SMT part of it) resulting in a bottleneck. A low clocked Sandy isn't doing the job - not for a GTX 1070 at least, it needs more CPU power. Comparisons with Skylake or Haswell at same clocks are useless, because IPC is much higher. OP should follow my advice.
 

OneMoar

There is Always Moar
Joined
Apr 9, 2010
Messages
8,049 (2.02/day)
Location
Rochester area
System Name RPC MK2
Processor Intel Core i5 9600K@ 4.8Ghz 1.32V
Motherboard Asrock z390 phantom gaming 4
Cooling Enermax ets-t50
Memory CMK16GX4M2B3000C15 16GB DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce RTX 2060 XC ULTRA GAMING
Storage 512GB Intel 545s ssd 500GB ADATA SU800 ssd 1TB WD blue
Display(s) Cheap VA panel
Case Phanteks P300
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply HX 750i
Mouse M65 Pro RGB
Keyboard K70 RGB
Software Windows 10 +startisback
I just benched gta v at 70 to 80fps with everything on very high
 
Joined
Oct 22, 2014
Messages
11,132 (4.80/day)
Location
Sunshine Coast
System Name Black Box
Processor Intel i5-9600KF
Motherboard NZXT N7 Z370 Black
Cooling Cooler Master 240 RGB AIO / Stock
Memory Thermaltake Toughram 16GB 4400MHz DDR4 or Gigabyte 16GB 3600MHz DDR4 or Adata 8GB 2133Mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) Asus Dual 1060 6GB
Storage Kingston A2000 512Gb NVME
Display(s) AOC 24" Freesync 1m.s. 75Hz
Case Corsair 450D High Air Flow.
Audio Device(s) No need.
Power Supply FSP Aurum 650W
Mouse Yes
Keyboard Of course
Software W10 Pro 64 bit
Joined
Jan 5, 2006
Messages
11,209 (2.03/day)
System Name Desktop / Laptop
Processor Intel i7 6700K @ 4.5GHz (1.270 V) / Intel i3 7100U
Motherboard Asus Z170 Pro Gaming / HP 83A3 (U3E1)
Cooling Noctua NH-U12A 2 fans + Thermal Grizzly Kryonaut + 5 case fans / Fan
Memory 16GB DDR4 Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000MHz CL15 / 8GB DDR4 HyperX CL13
Video Card(s) MSI RTX 2070 Super Gaming X Trio / Intel HD620
Storage Samsung 970 Evo 500GB + Samsung 850 Pro 512GB + Samsung 860 Evo 1TB x2 / Samsung 256GB M.2 SSD
Display(s) 23.8" Dell S2417DG 165Hz G-Sync 1440p + 21.5" LG 22MP67VQ IPS 60Hz 1080p / 14" 1080p IPS Glossy
Case Be quiet! Silent Base 600 - Window / HP Pavilion
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX Onboard / Realtek onboard + B&O speaker system
Power Supply Seasonic Focus Plus Gold 750W / Powerbrick
Mouse Logitech MX Anywhere 2 Laser wireless / Logitech M330 wireless
Keyboard RAPOO E9270P Black 5GHz wireless / HP backlit
Software Windows 10 / Windows 10
Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
19,301 (4.73/day)
Benchmark Scores Faster than yours... I'd bet on it. :)
I'm not a big techspot fan but, Ill take your word for it. With that being said if it is a bottleneck its a very minor one. VERY MINOR. I highly doubt this is his problem. I bet a nice OC would fix those techspot reviews also. Maybe up to 4.5 would be enough and you and I know that's pretty easy on a 2600k.

Also that link is running a high resolution. Not a good test for a CPU. I wanna see it as 1080p and below. That will make that bitch scream.

I'm not giving you a hard time and I aint doubting you. But, I kinda think your splitting hairs in this guys case. This dudes problem isn't the CPU.
i said hed be fine in the same post you quoted bud. Just adressing your thought SB isnt holding things back. It is in some titles, for sure.
 

headik

New Member
Joined
Jun 28, 2016
Messages
25 (0.01/day)
It's not a game which supports many thread CPUs like i7's with 8 threads or more - it will simply run on 3-4 cores then and max the CPU out (not the SMT part of it) resulting in a bottleneck. A low clocked Sandy isn't doing the job - not for a GTX 1070 at least, it needs more CPU power. Comparisons with Skylake or Haswell at same clocks are useless, because IPC is much higher. OP should follow my advice.
This
 
Joined
Jun 4, 2016
Messages
40 (0.02/day)
Processor i7 2600
Motherboard Gigabyte Z68X-UD3H-B3
Cooling OEM Fan
Memory Corsair 32GB Ram
Video Card(s) EVGA 680 2GB SC
Storage Intel 730 / Samsung 850 EVO
Display(s) Dell 2740L
Case Antec 900
Audio Device(s) MB
Power Supply Seasonic 600
Software Win 7 x64
Hi everyone,

I'm sorry I didn't get a chance to reply back earlier, there was a death in my family, so I haven't really been tinkering with the settings, but searching online,

I found the following:
1. https://www.quora.com/What-are-the-...anti-aliasing-such-as-TXAA-MSAA-SSAA-and-MFAA
2. https://forums.geforce.com/default/...-1080-high-dpc-latency-and-stuttering/86/abli

What didn't work:
1. I updated my BIOS to not do HPET, but it didn't matter as my OS wasn't using it, and the BIOS had it configured by default to 32Bit.
2. Forgot to, but did set my memory to XMP Profile 1 -- setting up 32GB of RAM on this board was puzzling, as to get it to work without the whole machine running VERY slow, on my GB motherboard, I had to set video memory to 512MB, which is a known issue, but you have to search a lot to find that bit of info.

What did work:
1. Enabling Turbo on all cores up to 98C -- achieved 72-80 FPS Highs (55FPS average), but 2 cores were reaching 98C and the other two 95C which I don't want.
2. Lowering MSAA to 2X or off and just using FXAA, along with 2X MSAA reflections. With FXAA/TXAA and 2X MSAA, the FPS average was around 50.

Do not want to test:
raising the blck -- from what I read, it's a no-no, unless it's someone else's machine ;) j/k

Now, I put back my cores to no turbo and enabled C1/C3/C6 states and I'm back to ~41FPS but with max core temps of 73C.

So it looks like my clock frequency does make a difference, however, I'm not really impressed coming from the GTX 680. I think my expectations were unrealistic -- a full 60FPS on 1080 with all settings maxed out, so I think I'm going to return it and wait for Vega and see which offers the best value for the dollar.
 

CAPSLOCKSTUCK

Spaced Out Lunar Tick
Joined
Feb 26, 2013
Messages
8,579 (2.93/day)
Location
llaregguB...WALES
System Name Party On
Processor Xeon w 3520
Motherboard DFI Lanparty
Cooling Big tower thing
Memory 6 gb Ballistix Tracer
Video Card(s) HD 7970
Case a plank of wood
Audio Device(s) seperate amp and 6 big speakers
Power Supply Corsair
Mouse cheap
Keyboard under going restoration
Joined
Jan 5, 2006
Messages
11,209 (2.03/day)
System Name Desktop / Laptop
Processor Intel i7 6700K @ 4.5GHz (1.270 V) / Intel i3 7100U
Motherboard Asus Z170 Pro Gaming / HP 83A3 (U3E1)
Cooling Noctua NH-U12A 2 fans + Thermal Grizzly Kryonaut + 5 case fans / Fan
Memory 16GB DDR4 Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000MHz CL15 / 8GB DDR4 HyperX CL13
Video Card(s) MSI RTX 2070 Super Gaming X Trio / Intel HD620
Storage Samsung 970 Evo 500GB + Samsung 850 Pro 512GB + Samsung 860 Evo 1TB x2 / Samsung 256GB M.2 SSD
Display(s) 23.8" Dell S2417DG 165Hz G-Sync 1440p + 21.5" LG 22MP67VQ IPS 60Hz 1080p / 14" 1080p IPS Glossy
Case Be quiet! Silent Base 600 - Window / HP Pavilion
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX Onboard / Realtek onboard + B&O speaker system
Power Supply Seasonic Focus Plus Gold 750W / Powerbrick
Mouse Logitech MX Anywhere 2 Laser wireless / Logitech M330 wireless
Keyboard RAPOO E9270P Black 5GHz wireless / HP backlit
Software Windows 10 / Windows 10
Hi everyone,

I'm sorry I didn't get a chance to reply back earlier, there was a death in my family, so I haven't really been tinkering with the settings, but searching online,

I found the following:
1. https://www.quora.com/What-are-the-...anti-aliasing-such-as-TXAA-MSAA-SSAA-and-MFAA
2. https://forums.geforce.com/default/...-1080-high-dpc-latency-and-stuttering/86/abli

What didn't work:
1. I updated my BIOS to not do HPET, but it didn't matter as my OS wasn't using it, and the BIOS had it configured by default to 32Bit.
2. Forgot to, but did set my memory to XMP Profile 1 -- setting up 32GB of RAM on this board was puzzling, as to get it to work without the whole machine running VERY slow, on my GB motherboard, I had to set video memory to 512MB, which is a known issue, but you have to search a lot to find that bit of info.

What did work:
1. Enabling Turbo on all cores up to 98C -- achieved 72-80 FPS Highs (55FPS average), but 2 cores were reaching 98C and the other two 95C which I don't want.
2. Lowering MSAA to 2X or off and just using FXAA, along with 2X MSAA reflections. With FXAA/TXAA and 2X MSAA, the FPS average was around 50.

Do not want to test:
raising the blck -- from what I read, it's a no-no, unless it's someone else's machine ;) j/k

Now, I put back my cores to no turbo and enabled C1/C3/C6 states and I'm back to ~41FPS but with max core temps of 73C.

So it looks like my clock frequency does make a difference, however, I'm not really impressed coming from the GTX 680. I think my expectations were unrealistic -- a full 60FPS on 1080 with all settings maxed out, so I think I'm going to return it and wait for Vega and see which offers the best value for the dollar.

Your CPU is throttling at those temps!!! Nothing wrong with your GTX1070.
Maybe it's because it's an older CPU, IPC...
Do you have the game on SSD or on an old 5400rpm spinner?

If you would have a Skylake/Kabylake system you wouldn't have this.

I get easily a steady 60fps even with 8xMSAA in most places with my Skylake + 1070 system.

Edit: What do you score in 3D Mark Firestrike "Graphics score" or Unigine Superposition (medium 1080p)?
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jun 4, 2016
Messages
40 (0.02/day)
Processor i7 2600
Motherboard Gigabyte Z68X-UD3H-B3
Cooling OEM Fan
Memory Corsair 32GB Ram
Video Card(s) EVGA 680 2GB SC
Storage Intel 730 / Samsung 850 EVO
Display(s) Dell 2740L
Case Antec 900
Audio Device(s) MB
Power Supply Seasonic 600
Software Win 7 x64
Your old CPU must be the problem then, nothing wrong with your GTX1070.
IPC..

I get easily a steady 60fps even with 8xMSAA in most places with my Skylake + 1070 system.

Edit: What do you score in 3D Mark Firestrike "Graphics score" or Unigine Superposition?

Yeah, probably is the CPU at this point, don't see why with MSAA as it seems to be a GPU intensive task, not a CPU intensive task, but the delta in performance between the 680 and 1070 doesn't justify $404 with tax, esp. since I paid $560 for my 680. I've put back in the 680 and will ship out the 1070 tomorrow. The only thing I have against the 680 is the 2GB memory for newer games.

And my mistake, this is the article I wanted to reference in quora: https://www.quora.com/When-PC-gaming-what-graphic-settings-affect-the-CPU-or-GPU-more

Excerpt from the above article link:
  1. Multisampling Anti-aliasing (MSAA): MSAA is a particular type of anti-aliasing that tries to be smarter, and less system-intensive, by applying itself only to the parts of each frame that will look jagged, rather than across the entire frame. The result is good, but you may still see some jaggies inside polygons--just not on their edges.
  • CPU: Low
  • GPU: High
 
Joined
Jan 5, 2006
Messages
11,209 (2.03/day)
System Name Desktop / Laptop
Processor Intel i7 6700K @ 4.5GHz (1.270 V) / Intel i3 7100U
Motherboard Asus Z170 Pro Gaming / HP 83A3 (U3E1)
Cooling Noctua NH-U12A 2 fans + Thermal Grizzly Kryonaut + 5 case fans / Fan
Memory 16GB DDR4 Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000MHz CL15 / 8GB DDR4 HyperX CL13
Video Card(s) MSI RTX 2070 Super Gaming X Trio / Intel HD620
Storage Samsung 970 Evo 500GB + Samsung 850 Pro 512GB + Samsung 860 Evo 1TB x2 / Samsung 256GB M.2 SSD
Display(s) 23.8" Dell S2417DG 165Hz G-Sync 1440p + 21.5" LG 22MP67VQ IPS 60Hz 1080p / 14" 1080p IPS Glossy
Case Be quiet! Silent Base 600 - Window / HP Pavilion
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX Onboard / Realtek onboard + B&O speaker system
Power Supply Seasonic Focus Plus Gold 750W / Powerbrick
Mouse Logitech MX Anywhere 2 Laser wireless / Logitech M330 wireless
Keyboard RAPOO E9270P Black 5GHz wireless / HP backlit
Software Windows 10 / Windows 10
Yeah, probably is the CPU at this point, don't see why with MSAA as it seems to be a GPU intensive task, not a CPU intensive task, but the delta in performance between the 680 and 1070 doesn't justify $404 with tax, esp. since I paid $560 for my 680. I've put back in the 680 and will ship out the 1070 tomorrow. The only thing I have against the 680 is the 2GB memory for newer games.

And my mistake, this is the article I wanted to reference in quora: https://www.quora.com/When-PC-gaming-what-graphic-settings-affect-the-CPU-or-GPU-more

Excerpt from the above article link:
  1. Multisampling Anti-aliasing (MSAA): MSAA is a particular type of anti-aliasing that tries to be smarter, and less system-intensive, by applying itself only to the parts of each frame that will look jagged, rather than across the entire frame. The result is good, but you may still see some jaggies inside polygons--just not on their edges.
  • CPU: Low
  • GPU: High

Read my edited post...
At those high temps I'm sure your CPU was throttling.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
30,442 (6.10/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Joined
Jun 4, 2016
Messages
40 (0.02/day)
Processor i7 2600
Motherboard Gigabyte Z68X-UD3H-B3
Cooling OEM Fan
Memory Corsair 32GB Ram
Video Card(s) EVGA 680 2GB SC
Storage Intel 730 / Samsung 850 EVO
Display(s) Dell 2740L
Case Antec 900
Audio Device(s) MB
Power Supply Seasonic 600
Software Win 7 x64
Read my edited post...
At those high temps I'm sure your CPU was throttling.

Thanks, it was, it activates the protection circuitry at that temp -- which is why I disabled turbo and re-enabled C1/C3 and C6 states. There's a way to bump the frequency for all cores by manually setting the CPU temp limit in the BIOS less than 95C, but even 80C is very hot, esp. using a stock cooler + stock paste (got lazy, had the ceramique, but didn't want to scrub, clean and apply when I built it in 2010.

My next build will be a Ryzen or Ryzen+ (Pinnacle Ridge) next year. I have two SB setups and they are rock solid, one with Win7 and the other running CentOS 7 as a server.
 
Joined
Jun 4, 2016
Messages
40 (0.02/day)
Processor i7 2600
Motherboard Gigabyte Z68X-UD3H-B3
Cooling OEM Fan
Memory Corsair 32GB Ram
Video Card(s) EVGA 680 2GB SC
Storage Intel 730 / Samsung 850 EVO
Display(s) Dell 2740L
Case Antec 900
Audio Device(s) MB
Power Supply Seasonic 600
Software Win 7 x64

Thanks, but I don't want to upgrade the MB, CPU, MEMORY AND the GPU to achieve 60FPS AVG on 1080P; I also prefer to build from the ground up and recycle my old complete systems for other uses. I'll probably do another build in a year once Pinnacle Ridge is released, as the "infinity fabric" / memory timing looks like the issue between the ccx cores on the current Ryzen system. I can deal with my frame rates on my 680 for one more year....
 
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
43,101 (8.07/day)
Processor i7 8700K
Motherboard Asus Maximus Hero X WiFi
Cooling Deepcool 360 AIO, ID Cooling Frostflow 240
Memory 32GB G.Skill 3200Mhz CL14
Video Card(s) Zotac RTX 3070
Storage SSD's
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Lian Li PC 011 Dynamic
Audio Device(s) Yamaha AG03, Beyerdynamic DT990 Pro, ModMic
Power Supply Corsair H1000i
Mouse PCMR Model O
Keyboard GMMK
Software Windows 10 Enterprise
I could make a 1080ti slow to a crawl with that game. What do you have your advanced graphics set to? (provide a screenshot?) Is your resolution scaling set too high? Are you maxing out MSAA? Reflective AA?
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
30,442 (6.10/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Thanks, but I don't want to upgrade the MB, CPU, MEMORY AND the GPU to achieve 60FPS AVG on 1080P; I also prefer to build from the ground up and recycle my old complete systems for other uses. I'll probably do another build in a year once Pinnacle Ridge is released, as the "infinity fabric" / memory timing looks like the issue between the ccx cores on the current Ryzen system. I can deal with my frame rates on my 680 for one more year....

I never said anything about upgrading that is for your reference for a 1070 to gauge your machine by even though that machine out runs yours but it is still crippled because of the 1070.
 
Joined
Jun 4, 2016
Messages
40 (0.02/day)
Processor i7 2600
Motherboard Gigabyte Z68X-UD3H-B3
Cooling OEM Fan
Memory Corsair 32GB Ram
Video Card(s) EVGA 680 2GB SC
Storage Intel 730 / Samsung 850 EVO
Display(s) Dell 2740L
Case Antec 900
Audio Device(s) MB
Power Supply Seasonic 600
Software Win 7 x64
I never said anything about upgrading that is for your reference for a 1070 to gauge your machine by even though that machine out runs yours but it is still crippled because of the 1070.

Sorry! If I remember correctly, wasn't two 480's equivalent to a 1080? But my issue is I think is related more to my CPU. If I had a 2600K I bet it would perform better with 4.4GHz clock. I was doing much better at 1080P with a 3.7 Turbo, but couldn't keep it because of the temps. Didn't get the K version because I needed the VT-d extension that the K version didn't have but the non-k version did.
 
Joined
Jun 4, 2016
Messages
40 (0.02/day)
Processor i7 2600
Motherboard Gigabyte Z68X-UD3H-B3
Cooling OEM Fan
Memory Corsair 32GB Ram
Video Card(s) EVGA 680 2GB SC
Storage Intel 730 / Samsung 850 EVO
Display(s) Dell 2740L
Case Antec 900
Audio Device(s) MB
Power Supply Seasonic 600
Software Win 7 x64
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
43,101 (8.07/day)
Processor i7 8700K
Motherboard Asus Maximus Hero X WiFi
Cooling Deepcool 360 AIO, ID Cooling Frostflow 240
Memory 32GB G.Skill 3200Mhz CL14
Video Card(s) Zotac RTX 3070
Storage SSD's
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Lian Li PC 011 Dynamic
Audio Device(s) Yamaha AG03, Beyerdynamic DT990 Pro, ModMic
Power Supply Corsair H1000i
Mouse PCMR Model O
Keyboard GMMK
Software Windows 10 Enterprise
Okay, you have resolution scaling normal (yeah it's like DSR, but better since it only applies to the game). MSAA in GTA is somewhat broken/unoptimized (especially x8). Turn it off and use FXAA. Turn AA reflections to x2. From there, you can increase your resolution scaling to 1.25, 1.5 or more depending on how much your system can handle.
 
Joined
Jun 4, 2016
Messages
40 (0.02/day)
Processor i7 2600
Motherboard Gigabyte Z68X-UD3H-B3
Cooling OEM Fan
Memory Corsair 32GB Ram
Video Card(s) EVGA 680 2GB SC
Storage Intel 730 / Samsung 850 EVO
Display(s) Dell 2740L
Case Antec 900
Audio Device(s) MB
Power Supply Seasonic 600
Software Win 7 x64
Okay, you have resolution scaling normal (yeah it's like DSR, but better since it only applies to the game). MSAA in GTA is somewhat broken/unoptimized (especially x8). Turn it off and use FXAA. Turn AA reflections to x2. From there, you can increase your resolution scaling to 1.25, 1.5 or more depending on how much your system can handle.

Thanks! However, I'm going to return it and keep my 680, as it's not a good fit for a SB 2600 non-k at 3.4GHz; it would probably perform well with a 2600K at 4.4GHz (it was performing better at 3.7Ghz with Turbo enabled, but my temps hit 98C!) I got the non-K because I wanted the VT-d extension that Intel didn't include on the K version. I'm going to wait until next year either for a Ryzen or Ryzen+/Pinnacle Ridge and get the best GPU out at that time.
 
Top