• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

i7 2600 + 1070 @ 1080P avg 50FPS in GTA V normal?

Joined
Jan 14, 2012
Messages
242 (0.08/day)
Location
UK
System Name Intel RED6G
Processor Intel Core i7 6850K 3.6Ghz @ 6.8Ghz
Motherboard GIGABYTE X99 Gaming 7 Wifi
Cooling Corsair H75 push n pull config + 4 fans 120mm RGB LEDs
Memory Corsair VENGENCE 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4 3000/ MXP Profile SET
Video Card(s) MSI GAMING X GTX 1080
Storage 1TB SSHD Firecuda / 500Gb M.2 Samsung 970EVO
Display(s) AOC 1MS 24'5inch TN Monitor 75hz G-Sync G2590VXQ
Case Stormforce Atx Tempered Glass Extreme RGB
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Recon3Di 7.1
Power Supply Corsair RM Series RM850 Fully Modular 80 PLUS Gold
Mouse Corsair M65Pro RGB
Keyboard Corsair K55
Software Windows 10Pro 64Bit
Only one word bottleneck and this GTX1070 and trust me I have tested so much the 1070 and I had long time to play with it, and now I have another one 1070 and this is faster than Titan X!
Me and my friend we did tested in many benchmarks and situations the GTX 1070 founders beats up the titan x! And founders is not even fastest 1070!

Now I have in my rig EVGA GTX 1070 FTW and damn this card is beast is killer of any game!

So with all this said you pity much have in your PC an better version of Titan X! and your cpu can't handle it!

Time to change the board and cpu and your ram!

Regards from UK!
 
Joined
Jan 5, 2006
Messages
10,176 (1.97/day)
System Name Desktop / Laptop
Processor Intel i7 6700K @ 4.3GHz (1.180 V) / Intel i3 7100U
Motherboard Asus Z170 Pro Gaming / HP 83A3 (U3E1)
Cooling Noctua NH-U12A 2 fans + Thermal Grizzly Kryonaut + 5 case fans / Fan
Memory 16GB DDR4 Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000MHz CL15 / 8GB DDR4 HyperX CL13
Video Card(s) MSI RTX 2070 Super Gaming X Trio / Intel HD620
Storage Samsung 970 Evo 500GB + Samsung 850 Pro 512GB + Samsung 860 Evo 1TB / Samsung 256GB M.2 SSD
Display(s) 23.8" Dell S2417DG 165Hz G-Sync 1440p + 21.5" LG 22MP67VQ IPS 60Hz 1080p / 14" 1080p IPS Glossy
Case Be quiet! Silent Base 600 - Window / HP Pavilion
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX Onboard / Realtek onboard + B&O speaker system
Power Supply Seasonic Focus Plus Gold 750W / Powerbrick
Mouse Logitech MX Anywhere 2 Laser wireless / Logitech M330 wireless
Keyboard RAPOO E9270P Black 5GHz wireless / HP backlit
Software Windows 10 / Windows 10
better version of Titan X! and your cpu can't handle it!
Time to change the board and cpu and your ram!
^This.

Nothing wrong with your 1070.
 
Joined
Jan 14, 2012
Messages
242 (0.08/day)
Location
UK
System Name Intel RED6G
Processor Intel Core i7 6850K 3.6Ghz @ 6.8Ghz
Motherboard GIGABYTE X99 Gaming 7 Wifi
Cooling Corsair H75 push n pull config + 4 fans 120mm RGB LEDs
Memory Corsair VENGENCE 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4 3000/ MXP Profile SET
Video Card(s) MSI GAMING X GTX 1080
Storage 1TB SSHD Firecuda / 500Gb M.2 Samsung 970EVO
Display(s) AOC 1MS 24'5inch TN Monitor 75hz G-Sync G2590VXQ
Case Stormforce Atx Tempered Glass Extreme RGB
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Recon3Di 7.1
Power Supply Corsair RM Series RM850 Fully Modular 80 PLUS Gold
Mouse Corsair M65Pro RGB
Keyboard Corsair K55
Software Windows 10Pro 64Bit
Another fast explanation to OP of this topic, you my friend have here the test at TPU.

Check this link: https://www.techpowerup.com/222732/nvidia-geforce-gtx-1070-faster-than-gtx-titan-x

here the test reviled take a look :



there you go mate!

So with all this said once more, and I did some research for ya, you can now get at very good price nice i5 not k version if you are not into overclock, an 6500 will do nice job and will open full potential of this beautiful gpu! and at nice dicent price you can get an Z170 board or Z270 but if you get an i5 6500 and pair it with z270 board an update bios will be needed if I'm not wrong in order to make it work proper, now as far for ram anything 16gb 2133mhz + will be sweet spot! An we looking at around 430£/ 390£ and if you get this parts that I will be listing for you below as used it will be even much cheaper!

So I did fast two solid options for you:

v1
MB: Asus Z170 Pro Motherboard (Black and White)
RAM: DDR4 Ballistix Sport LT 16Gb Kit (White Snow) 2400Mhz (8Gb x2)
CPU: Skylake Intel Core i5 6500 3.2Ghz
Total price= 419£

v2
MB: MSI Z170 A Tomahawk ATX (Black and RED)
RAM: DDR4 Corsair CMU 16GBX 2666Mhz XMP2.0 Enthusiast LED Illuminated Kit Black and Red
CPU: Skylake Intel Core i5 6500 3.2Ghz
Total price=394£

At this last build you also can drop and symbolic 1£ pound and get an Asus Strix Z270 B250F Gaming


All this builds will look super nice with an GTX 1070 FE or any aftermarket solutions.
All parts you find at Amazon.co.uk


There is so much solutions and options I just build here related price and performance!

Best Regards from UK

PS:
Oh almost forgot to mention guys I know not all have opportunity to update at once, but step by step you can save and update to give an new life to your rig!

Stop thinking that your 1950's calculators that you call is still okay pc will run late programs and games with this fast progressing gaming world and hardware! NOP it will not and don't think that by getting one component like gpu that powerful and stick it in to calculator era pc will give you an upgrade! Sorry by say this, but is real facts so many people that think like that and at the end they cry why this and why that is happening with their systems? well simple answer upgrade must be done uniform and you have to go rational, like in this particular situation first logical steps would be CPU,Board,RAM and only then the rest like GPU and probably PSU but if OP have anything 500W and greater then is okay! But you always want to get bit an room a head so if say on gpu box is okay with 500W always get an 550W or 650W or for best 750W so if in near future you want add more staff to pc you have more room to use!

With all this said Have a nice evening and Keep Your beasts alive and up the date!
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 22, 2015
Messages
2,832 (1.72/day)
Location
Europe
System Name eazen corp | Xentronon 6.7
Processor Core i7 3960X @ 4.5 GHz
Motherboard Asus P9X79
Cooling Noctua NH-D14 SE2011 / 3x Corsair AF140L case fans (2 blowing in, 1 out)
Memory G.Skill Sniper 4x4 GB DDR3 1866, CL9-10-9-9-2T, 1.5 V
Video Card(s) G1 Gaming GeForce GTX 980 Ti @ ~1391 MHz Core / 1925 MHz RAM
Storage Samsung SSD 830, 128GB & SSD 850 Evo, 500GB & F3, 1TB 7200RPM / Seagate Barracuda Green, 2TB 5900RPM
Display(s) Samsung 27" Curved FS2 HDR QLED 1440p@144Hz & 27" iiyama TN LED 1080p@120Hz / Samsung 40" 1080p HDTV
Case Corsair Carbide 600C, inverted design case
Audio Device(s) Creative SB X-Fi Xtreme Music/Sony HD AVR@PC&HDTV @ Teufel Concept F &Theater 80 & Razer Carcharias
Power Supply EVGA 650 GQ @ semi-passive mode on
Mouse Logitech G700 @ Steelseries DeX
Keyboard Corsair K70 LUX RGB Mechanical Keyboard /w Cherry MX Brown switches
Software Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores 4144 UG Superposition 1080p Extreme|6302 Time Spy|P16615 Firestrike|P21524 3DM11|X37002 3DM Vantage
I've ran my GTX 1080 on my 2500k and 3770k on stock and overclocked speeds, and yes - its the stock clocks holding you back.

GTA V is very poorly multi threaded, so it needs the higher clockspeeds. thats about it.
Thanks for confirming everything I said. :p

OP update us when you got news on your pc progress.
 
Joined
Jun 4, 2016
Messages
40 (0.03/day)
Processor i7 2600
Motherboard Gigabyte Z68X-UD3H-B3
Cooling OEM Fan
Memory Corsair 32GB Ram
Video Card(s) EVGA 680 2GB SC
Storage Intel 730 / Samsung 850 EVO
Display(s) Dell 2740L
Case Antec 900
Audio Device(s) MB
Power Supply Seasonic 600
Software Win 7 x64
Thanks for confirming everything I said. :p

OP update us when you got news on your pc progress.
Thanks to everyone who replied to this thread, I really appreciate it, but I'm sorry I that I just don't have the time this week to reply back to everyone individually, but I did read every reply and I thank you all.

Ok, on to the update...
Antec 900.
1. I was mistaken, I bought the Enthoo Luxe Full Tempered Glass case to transfer everything into, but I was wrong, my updated rev. Antec 900 case has a significant cutout for a CPU bracket. I'm keeping the new case for my next build, probably the AMD Threadripper 1976X in two years from now instead of the Ryzen 1700X.
2. Max temps on my Antec 900 @ 3.8 GHz: 56C at 24.5C Ambient; Idles at 33C (High idle probably due to the rat nest cabling.)
3. GTA V Results: 83 Max FPS (driving with little AI activity) and 47 Lowest (city), Avg ~60FPS. CPU barely hits 63% and that's while streaming Time Warner Live TV on IE and playing a 4K video on Media Player Classic.
4. The only thing I had to give up, was the side panel fan Corsair AF fan, it touch a bit, not allowing me to close the case, but I can recycle that into the Luxe, which works out nice, since it's a white LED, and I plan to use the white LED color on the case.

Corsair Carbide 500R
1. Max temps @ 3.8GHz: 52C at 24.5C Ambient; Idles at 23C

Also, just a quick note here, after my experience with the Carbide, I screwed the back plate to the heat sink prior to installing it, as the screws don't go in nicely the first time, so screwing/unscrewing a few times made it easy to screw in without any resistance. Also, I taped the wings to hold them in place, as the first time I did on the Carbide, they kept moving around. I didn't realize it was going to be hard removing the tape but they helped exactly as I planned; for the tape removal, I would know how to place it for easier removal, but on the first time, I used a letter opener on one side, then had to take out the first two RAM sticks to remove the tape from the other side.

I've attached some pics here of the build, yes, it's a rats nest ;) the Carbide has better cable management thanks to the nicer and longer cables of the PC & Power Cooling PSU (original PC&PC design, not the updated one by FirePower) and the Enthoo I imagine would be the first showroom build.

Thanks again to everyone!

20170530_151040.jpg

Multiple screwing/unscrewing and then applied tape here to hold the brackets in place.

20170530_151234.jpg

Rear View...
20170530_151420.jpg

Without the Intel Cooler, cleaned with a Bounty towel soaked in 90% Isopropyl alcohol

20170530_154002.jpg

Installed, took about a 30 seconds, screws lined perfectly to the mounts.

20170530_154014.jpg
20170530_154018.jpg
20170530_154034.jpg
20170530_154040.jpg
20170530_154047.jpg
 

Attachments

Joined
Jun 4, 2016
Messages
40 (0.03/day)
Processor i7 2600
Motherboard Gigabyte Z68X-UD3H-B3
Cooling OEM Fan
Memory Corsair 32GB Ram
Video Card(s) EVGA 680 2GB SC
Storage Intel 730 / Samsung 850 EVO
Display(s) Dell 2740L
Case Antec 900
Audio Device(s) MB
Power Supply Seasonic 600
Software Win 7 x64
That's a CPU bottleneck, GTA 5 isn't using all threads of the i7 2600 (or of any SMT based CPU besides dual cores) thus resulting in lower than 100% usage, but it uses all 4 cores at a 100% I would bet. You have a Z board, you can overclock the i7 2600 at least 4 multipliers, you should do it. Of course CPU utilization decreases when you increase GPU usage by using DSR, hence why it decreased after you switched it off. You should consider upgrading your system too, as that's not really a balanced setup. Too bad it's a non-K i7. Essentially the same CPU at 4.5-5 GHz does the job pretty well.
Just a quick update:

I wasn't sure what you meant by "you can overclock the i7 2600 at least 4 multipliers" until I realized that I could (I assumed it was locked to 3.4GHz + Turbo, meaning I thought you meant turbo which I originally had off) On my Z77 motherboard, the multiplier is 34, and when I click it to change it nothing happens. It turns out, it wont open a popup to enter a value, you literally enter a value**, so I did 42, and set all my cores (they have an option for 1-4) and set all four to an additional +4 bins. Now, I get 4.1GHz on nearly all 4 cores, fluctuating between 3.9 and 4.1 on average and don't go above 60C on max CPU usage, with a VCORE max of 1.371 . On my Z68, I get a popup, and I'm getting the same clocks. Ugh, since 2011, I've been using only 3.4GHz, as by default, turbo was off. Kanan, thanks so much!! Also, for GTA V, the avg FPS has improved with a higher average, very happy the result!

**I have the same BIOS for the Z77, and he doesn't talk about how he's doing it and the video is barely readable, but after seeing he did it so it was possible, I finally figured out that you have to enter in a decimal value directly, not click it with your mouse to enter a value with a popup like the Z68.

 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
29,631 (6.41/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Non k model cpus can only oc via Base Clock
 
Joined
Jun 4, 2016
Messages
40 (0.03/day)
Processor i7 2600
Motherboard Gigabyte Z68X-UD3H-B3
Cooling OEM Fan
Memory Corsair 32GB Ram
Video Card(s) EVGA 680 2GB SC
Storage Intel 730 / Samsung 850 EVO
Display(s) Dell 2740L
Case Antec 900
Audio Device(s) MB
Power Supply Seasonic 600
Software Win 7 x64
Non k model cpus can only oc via Base Clock
The Sandy Bridge i7 2600, non-k, can achieve a limited overclock, from what I read and achieved, without the BCLK, close to 4.2 GHz, at 34+4+4 -> 34 base & +4 (multiplier) & +4 (turbo) using the Z68 and Z77 chipset and if the Motherboard manufacturer allows it, which Gigabyte does on the two boards I have. It seems like Intel did this on purpose, if you don't want to pay more for the K or you needed VT-d and only the non-k version has it, you'll pay for a limited overclock by buying the Z68/Z77 chipset. It seems like this chip is very capable of being clocked at 4.2, but Intel could make more money in a few ways, stratifying skus, chipset costs for overclocking (both K and non-K) and of course, including a cheaper cooler by defaulting the clock to 3.4 where you have to buy a more expensive cooler to achieve higher clocks.

Please see below...

sb_overclock.gif
 
Last edited:

rtwjunkie

PC Gaming Enthusiast
Supporter
Joined
Jul 25, 2008
Messages
12,793 (3.02/day)
Location
Louisiana -Laissez les bons temps rouler!
System Name Bayou Phantom
Processor Core i7-8700k 4.4Ghz @ 1.18v
Motherboard ASRock Z390 Phantom Gaming 6
Cooling All air: 2x140mm Fractal exhaust; 3x 140mm Cougar Intake; Enermax T40F Black CPU cooler
Memory 2x 8GB Mushkin Redline DDR-4 3200
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080Ti Gaming X
Storage 1x 500 MX500 SSD; 1x 2TB WD Black; 2x 4TB WD Black; 1x400GB VelRptr; 1x 3TB WD Blue storage (eSATA)
Display(s) HP 27q 27" IPS @ 2560 x 1440
Case Fractal Design Define R4 Black w/Titanium front -windowed
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Z
Power Supply Seasonic X-850
Mouse Coolermaster Sentinel III (large palm grip!)
Keyboard Logitech G610 Orion mechanical (Cherry Brown switches)
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit (Start10 & Fences 3.0 installed)
Top