• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

i7 2600k reading correct in BIOS and CPUz, but not in certain programs?

Joined
Jun 20, 2007
Messages
3,838 (0.99/day)
Likes
596
System Name Medusa
Processor i7 2600k @4.8ghz
Motherboard Asus P8P67 Pro
Cooling CPU : Noctua NH-L12 GPU: EK FC 1080 via Magicool 360 III PRO > Photon 170 (D5)
Memory 8gb Corsair XMS DDR3 @1600mhz
Video Card(s) GTX 1080 FE
Storage Vertex 4 256 /Crucial C300 256/ Hitachi 2TB 2x
Display(s) Tempest X270OC @ 120hz / LG W3000h
Case Fractal Define S [Antec Skeleton hanging in hall of fame]
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar Xense with AKG K612 cans on Monacor SA-100
Power Supply Seasonic X-850
Mouse Razer Naga 2014
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores FFXIV ARR Benchmark 1600p score 12,098[this means nothing any more!]
#1
Whether I do the direct ratio adjustment, or use the turbo mulitpliers, the frequency is 4800 as shown by CPU-Z.

However programs such as :

FFXIV Benchmark
DX Diag
CCleaner
Everest

Show it as 3.4ghz

With other chips in the past, it always stated the standard speed of the processor than the ~ X.XXghz actual speed.

Anyone know why this might be?
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 5, 2009
Messages
123 (0.04/day)
Likes
19
Location
Orlando, FL
System Name Dark Knight
Processor Intel Core i7 2600K @ 4.8GHz 1.37v
Motherboard Asus P8P67 Pro
Cooling Coolermaster Hyper 212+ Push/Pull
Memory DDR3-1600 G.Skill
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 460 HAWK Talon 1G + Asus DirectCU GTX 460 1G
Storage Mushkin Callisto Deluxe 120GB SSD
Power Supply Corsair 750TX
#2
It's just how the DMI reports it.
 
Joined
Jun 20, 2007
Messages
3,838 (0.99/day)
Likes
596
System Name Medusa
Processor i7 2600k @4.8ghz
Motherboard Asus P8P67 Pro
Cooling CPU : Noctua NH-L12 GPU: EK FC 1080 via Magicool 360 III PRO > Photon 170 (D5)
Memory 8gb Corsair XMS DDR3 @1600mhz
Video Card(s) GTX 1080 FE
Storage Vertex 4 256 /Crucial C300 256/ Hitachi 2TB 2x
Display(s) Tempest X270OC @ 120hz / LG W3000h
Case Fractal Define S [Antec Skeleton hanging in hall of fame]
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar Xense with AKG K612 cans on Monacor SA-100
Power Supply Seasonic X-850
Mouse Razer Naga 2014
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores FFXIV ARR Benchmark 1600p score 12,098[this means nothing any more!]
#3
Well I'd like to believe that but then why does this i7 owner get a different result?



Notice how his says ~4.9ghz
 
Joined
Aug 29, 2005
Messages
4,808 (1.06/day)
Likes
1,579
Location
Whatever my internet protocol shows I guess O.o
System Name Lynni and The Great White Dragon in Tempered Glass | Lynni-Stick
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K "Skylake" | Intel Atom X5-Z8300 "Cherry Trail"
Motherboard Gigabyte Aorus GA-Z270X-Gaming 7 "Union Point" | Intel Compute Stick board
Cooling Thermalright True (Old legend still going strong) 1xNoctua NF-F12 PWM | Fan xD
Memory Geil Dragon 2x8GB@3000mhz 15-17-17-35 (GWW416GB3000C15DC) | 2GB DDR3-L @ 1600mhz
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Ti FE "Pascal" | Intel HD Graphics
Storage OS/Games:Samsung 960 EVO 250GB NVME|2xSamsung EVO 850 1TB SSD|Data:3xWD Red/Purple 4TB & WD SE 1TB
Display(s) Dell S2417DG 1440p@165hz G-Sync | Philips 50PFT4009/12
Case Phantek Eclipse P400 Black/White | Intel Compute Case
Audio Device(s) Creative Core3D (Onboard) | Intel HD Audio
Power Supply Corsair SF600 | Generic Intel Power Adapter (3amp)
Mouse Logitech G502 | Logtech MK270 kit @ Lynni-Stick
Keyboard Razer Blackwidow Chroma X UK
Software Win10 Pro CU UK x64 | Win10 Home CU x86
Benchmark Scores 3DMark Skydrive @ 1440p: GS: 25188 / PS: 12238 / CS: 25308: http://www.3dmark.com/3dm/11665249
#4
Joined
Jun 20, 2007
Messages
3,838 (0.99/day)
Likes
596
System Name Medusa
Processor i7 2600k @4.8ghz
Motherboard Asus P8P67 Pro
Cooling CPU : Noctua NH-L12 GPU: EK FC 1080 via Magicool 360 III PRO > Photon 170 (D5)
Memory 8gb Corsair XMS DDR3 @1600mhz
Video Card(s) GTX 1080 FE
Storage Vertex 4 256 /Crucial C300 256/ Hitachi 2TB 2x
Display(s) Tempest X270OC @ 120hz / LG W3000h
Case Fractal Define S [Antec Skeleton hanging in hall of fame]
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar Xense with AKG K612 cans on Monacor SA-100
Power Supply Seasonic X-850
Mouse Razer Naga 2014
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores FFXIV ARR Benchmark 1600p score 12,098[this means nothing any more!]
#5
I support what you're saying; but he has the same model.

Why would it display differently?
 
Joined
Dec 5, 2006
Messages
7,698 (1.89/day)
Likes
747
Processor i7-5820K
Motherboard Gigabyte X99-UD4
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 16GB Crucial DDR4-2400
Video Card(s) Asus Strix GTX 1070
Storage 240GB HyperX 3k, 500GB Samsung 850EVO, 2x WD Black 640gb, WD Black 1TB, Seagate 10TB
Display(s) 2x BenQ 24" 1920x1080
Case BitFenix Ghost
Audio Device(s) Focusrite Saffire PRO 14 -> DBX DriveRack PA+ -> Mackie MR8 and MR10 / Corsair Vengeance 2100
Power Supply Corsair RM1000i
Mouse Logitech G500s
Keyboard Logitech G110
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
#6
I have a dozen programs that read it wrong and a dozen that read it right. Don't worry about it :)
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,211 (9.51/day)
Likes
13,698
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + Corsair Void RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#7
they're reading your multiplier wrong, so they dont know what to display.

if you overclocked via bclock along with a static multi (no EIST, no turbo etc) then it should display correctly.

its just programs coded to only deal with stock CPU's, nothing to worry about.
 

cdawall

where the hell are my stars
Joined
Jul 23, 2006
Messages
26,755 (6.37/day)
Likes
7,661
Location
Houston
System Name Team Blue
Processor 5960X@4.8 1.42v
Motherboard Asus X99M-WS
Cooling EK Supremecy EVO, MCR220-Stack+MCR220+MCR320, D5-PWM+EK X-RES 140
Memory 4x8GB G.Skill Trident Z 3200 CL16
Video Card(s) (2) EVGA SC BLACK 1080Ti's+ EVGA reference 1080Ti soon to be under water
Storage Samsung SM951 512GB, Samsung PM961 512GB
Display(s) Dell UP2414Q 3840X2160@60hz
Case Caselabs Mercury S5
Audio Device(s) Fischer HA-02->Fischer FA-002W High edition/FA-003/Jubilate/FA-011 depending on my mood
Power Supply Seasonic Prime 1200w
Mouse Thermaltake Theron
Keyboard Thermaltake Poseidon ZX
Software W10P
Benchmark Scores Zoom zoom mofo
#8
windows thinks my chip is 5ghz whens its only 4.6 (i3 560) happens all the time if its working at the clocks it should than its working who cares what a badly coded program says if the performance is correct then its clocked.
 

OneMoar

There is Always Moar
Joined
Apr 9, 2010
Messages
7,431 (2.61/day)
Likes
4,035
Location
Rochester area
System Name Kreij Lives On
Processor Intel Core i5 4670K @ 4.4Ghz 1.32V
Motherboard ASUS Maximus VI Gene Z87
Cooling Reeven Okeanos Single 140MM Fan +2 SP120 White's
Memory 16GB kingston hyper x @ 2133 @ 11 11 11 32
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1060 ACX Copper Single fan
Storage 240gb Cruical MX200SSD/WD Blue 1TB
Display(s) Samsung S24D300/HP2071D
Case Custom Full Aluminum By ST.o.CH <3
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply HX 750i
Mouse Roccat KONE
Keyboard Rocatt ISKU with ISKUFX keycaps
Software Windows 10 +startisback
#9
there calculating the "effective" processing power and displaying it as "Ghz" idk why they do this but a lot of developers do its retarded
 

unclewebb

RealTemp Author
Joined
Jun 1, 2008
Messages
1,144 (0.32/day)
Likes
681
#10
These two programs have been updated for Sandy Bridge.

RealTemp 3.67
http://www.mediafire.com/?n99nq4kn95u6i6a

ThrottleStop 2.99.5
http://www.mediafire.com/?k32ercv23r9ysrh

Both programs follow the Intel recommended method as outlined in their November 2008 Turbo White Paper. Using high performance timers within the Intel CPUs, they correctly determine the average multiplier in real time on each thread so you will know exactly what your Core i CPU is doing.

Here's a quote from the competition so you will know what they are up to.

Of course I admit that CPU-Z is not accurate anymore at idle on latest Intel generations, that is why TMonitor was developped.
 
Joined
Jun 20, 2007
Messages
3,838 (0.99/day)
Likes
596
System Name Medusa
Processor i7 2600k @4.8ghz
Motherboard Asus P8P67 Pro
Cooling CPU : Noctua NH-L12 GPU: EK FC 1080 via Magicool 360 III PRO > Photon 170 (D5)
Memory 8gb Corsair XMS DDR3 @1600mhz
Video Card(s) GTX 1080 FE
Storage Vertex 4 256 /Crucial C300 256/ Hitachi 2TB 2x
Display(s) Tempest X270OC @ 120hz / LG W3000h
Case Fractal Define S [Antec Skeleton hanging in hall of fame]
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar Xense with AKG K612 cans on Monacor SA-100
Power Supply Seasonic X-850
Mouse Razer Naga 2014
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores FFXIV ARR Benchmark 1600p score 12,098[this means nothing any more!]
#11
they're reading your multiplier wrong, so they dont know what to display.

if you overclocked via bclock along with a static multi (no EIST, no turbo etc) then it should display correctly.

its just programs coded to only deal with stock CPU's, nothing to worry about.

Yes, I tried to go with a static overclock and it produced the same result? Turbo was disabled but EIST was on, that could have made the difference.


I will take everyone's word that it's a matter of coding rather than hardware. That idea is further supported for example in the FFXIV benchmark, which reports that I only have one AMD Radeon 6900, when clearly two are running.
 

unclewebb

RealTemp Author
Joined
Jun 1, 2008
Messages
1,144 (0.32/day)
Likes
681
#12
One thing that seems to confuse many users are bios options that can be misleading. I always hear things like I Disabled Turbo in the bios. The Core i7-2600K has a default multiplier of 34. If you are using a multiplier higher than 34 then you are using the turbo boost feature of the processor.

With Core 2 Extreme processors you could select whatever multiplier you liked so the bios guys decided to make life simple and give you the allusion that you can do the same thing with a Core i K series CPU but that's not how they work. All of the Core i CPUs have a default multiplier and any multiplier beyond the default is only available by using turbo boost.

The Disable Turbo bios option is misleading because when you Disable it, the bios checks to see if you are using a turbo multiplier and then behind the scenes turns the turbo feature back on for you. It sorts through your bios selections and turns on what needs to be turned on.
 
Joined
Mar 5, 2009
Messages
123 (0.04/day)
Likes
19
Location
Orlando, FL
System Name Dark Knight
Processor Intel Core i7 2600K @ 4.8GHz 1.37v
Motherboard Asus P8P67 Pro
Cooling Coolermaster Hyper 212+ Push/Pull
Memory DDR3-1600 G.Skill
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 460 HAWK Talon 1G + Asus DirectCU GTX 460 1G
Storage Mushkin Callisto Deluxe 120GB SSD
Power Supply Corsair 750TX
#13
My Windows reads 6.15GHz lmao... But CPU-Z, AIDA64, RealTemp 3.67 all read the correct clock. I'm not quite sure why it even matters.