• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

i7 4790 Overclock Even Further

Joined
Jul 4, 2016
Messages
110 (0.13/day)
Likes
45
#1
I have managed to overclock my non K CPU from 100 to 106.5 bclk. My current CPU speed is 4.22 GHz and the system is completly stable under this overclock. But if I set the bclk to 107 or up, it becomes unstable. Is it possible to overclock CPU even further by changing voltage or RAM timings or anything else?
 
Joined
May 31, 2016
Messages
691 (0.76/day)
Likes
128
System Name Bro2 / Bro
Processor Ryzen 2700X / Intel I7 3770K @4Ghz
Motherboard MSI X470 Gaming Carbon / ASrock Extreme 4 Z77
Cooling BOX
Memory G.Skill Flare X 3200 CL14 / Kingston 16 GB Hyper Beast XMP @ 1866Mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 780Ti Windforce 1150/7000
Storage M.2 Samsung Evo 970 250MB, Samsung 860 Evo 1TB / 2x SSD OCZ vertex 3 120GB / Sasmsung Black 1TB
Display(s) LG 27UD69 UHD
Case Fractal Design G / Cooler Master Silverlight
Audio Device(s) realtec 5.1
Power Supply Corsair AXi 760W
Mouse Logitech G402
Keyboard Logitech slim
Software Win 7 ultimate 64bit/windows 10 64 bit
#2
Well I think You might have hit the roof with your CPU. Without "K" version the OC is limited a lot. still that's not a bad result but compare to "K" it's like nothing. you can try Voltage change and maybe there's some other stuff that block your OC. MOBO, RAM etc. Good luck.
 
Joined
Jul 4, 2016
Messages
110 (0.13/day)
Likes
45
#3
Well, that's a shame. I would have bought a K CPU but it was much more expensive back when I bought the parts and assembled my PC.

But to be completely honest, I don't see any difference in performance when gaming. If I overclock a GPU with afterburner, that's a whole different story.
 
Joined
Jun 29, 2009
Messages
897 (0.26/day)
Likes
470
Location
austria
Processor 2500k
Motherboard ud4
Cooling water
Memory 4gb
Video Card(s) 560ti
Power Supply 300sfx
#4
at your monitor resolution gtx 1080 is overkill and i dont see the need for overclocking your graphic card.
and 200mhz on your cpu will not make much diff while boosting to 4.0ghz standard
 

Tatty_One

Senior Moderator & Combat Squirrel
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2006
Messages
20,587 (4.39/day)
Likes
7,178
Location
Worcestershire, UK
System Name The Grey
Processor Skylake i7 6700k @ 4.6gig - 1.35V
Motherboard MSI Z170A Tomahawk
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 240V AIO/Viper140's
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3200mhz CL15
Video Card(s) Palit 8GB GTX 1070 GameRock Edition
Storage SkHynix SL308 120GB/CrucialM4/1TB WD Black
Display(s) LG 29inch 2560x1080 Curved Ultrawide IPS
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Windowed - Gunmetal
Audio Device(s) Xifi Elite Pro 7.1/VideoLogic ZXR550's
Power Supply XFX Pro Black Edition 750W Gold modular
Keyboard CM Storm Octane Combo
Software Win 10 Home x64
#5
When you increase the Bclk does it also increase the PCI-E speed? If so can you lock the PCI-e independently as that would/could cause instabilities. Additionally, is it playing with your ram speeds also?
 
Joined
Jul 4, 2016
Messages
110 (0.13/day)
Likes
45
#6
at your monitor resolution gtx 1080 is overkill and i dont see the need for overclocking your graphic card.
and 200mhz on your cpu will not make much diff while boosting to 4.0ghz standard
Overkill? Tell that to GTA V grass quality or AC Syndicate PCSS shadows :D I mostly play demanding games on max settings (of course I want 60 FPS), but a lot of them are struggling to maintain 60 fps especially when I turn on anti-aliasing or similar resource hog settings. This is also a reason why I want to overclock my non-K CPU as highly as possible --> to get the most of my system.
When you increase the Bclk does it also increase the PCI-E speed? If so can you lock the PCI-e independently as that would/could cause instabilities. Additionally, is it playing with your ram speeds also?
I actually don't know. All my BIOS settings are at their default values except BCLK. Haven't really played with other things.
 
Joined
Jun 29, 2009
Messages
897 (0.26/day)
Likes
470
Location
austria
Processor 2500k
Motherboard ud4
Cooling water
Memory 4gb
Video Card(s) 560ti
Power Supply 300sfx
#7
106,5 is really high but it should be the end.
there is no hidden setting to push these cpu´s higher-if there is you would see it all over inet.
and some settings in game are not worth the lower frames but with nearly null visual effect-my2c.
 
Joined
Sep 15, 2007
Messages
3,283 (0.80/day)
Likes
1,180
Location
Police/Nanny State of America
System Name More hardware than I use :|
Processor 4.7 8350 - 4.2 4560K - 4.4 4690K
Motherboard Sabertooth R2.0 - Gigabyte Z87X-UD4H-CF - AsRock Z97M KIller
Cooling Mugen 2 rev B push/pull - Hyper 212+ push/pull - Hyper 212+
Memory 16GB Gskill - 8GB Gskill - 16GB Ballistix 1.35v
Video Card(s) Xfire OCed 7950s - Powercolor 290x - Oced Zotac 980Ti AMP! (also have two 7870s)
Storage Crucial 250GB SSD, Kingston 3K 120GB, Sammy 1TB, various WDs, 13TB (actual capactity) NAS with WDs
Display(s) X-star 27" 1440 - Auria 27" 1440 - BenQ 24" 1080 - Acer 23" 1080
Case Lian Li open bench - Fractal Design ARC - Thermaltake Cube (still have HAF 932 and more ARCs)
Audio Device(s) Titanium HD - Onkyo HT-RC360 Receiver - BIC America custom 5.1 set up (and extra Klipsch sub)
Power Supply Corsair 850W V2 - EVGA 1000 G2 - Seasonic 500 and 600W units (dead 750W needs RMA lol)
Mouse Logitech G5 - Sentey Revolution Pro - Sentey Lumenata Pro - multiple wireless logitechs
Keyboard Logitech G11s - Thermaltake Challenger
Software I wish I could kill myself instead of using windows (OSX can suck it too).
#8
Don't worry, haswell OCs like shit. Look at the worthless clocks I have. Screw intel.
These aren't the only pieces of shit I've encountered that maxed out this low.
 
Joined
Jul 4, 2016
Messages
110 (0.13/day)
Likes
45
#9
Oh well, I will live with this OC. Maybe if I'll have the time I'll play with some other options in BIOS.
 
Joined
Jun 29, 2009
Messages
897 (0.26/day)
Likes
470
Location
austria
Processor 2500k
Motherboard ud4
Cooling water
Memory 4gb
Video Card(s) 560ti
Power Supply 300sfx
#10
the only thing i can think of is cache frenzy or how is this handled on non-k chips.
can ya up the multi on cache?
will not bring much but you are after every fps.
 
Joined
Sep 17, 2014
Messages
6,663 (4.37/day)
Likes
5,548
Location
Duiven, Netherlands
Processor i7 8700k 4.8Ghz @ 1.31v
Motherboard AsRock Fatal1ty K6 Z370
Cooling beQuiet! Dark Rock Pro 3
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3200/C16
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X @ 2100/5500
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 1TB + Samsung 830 256GB + Crucial BX100 250GB + Toshiba 1TB HDD
Display(s) Eizo Foris FG2421
Case Fractal Design Define C TG
Power Supply EVGA G2 750w
Mouse Logitech G502 Protheus Spectrum
Keyboard Sharkoon MK80 (Brown)
Software W10 x64
#11
Don't worry, haswell OCs like shit. Look at the worthless clocks I have. Screw intel.
These aren't the only pieces of shit I've encountered that maxed out this low.
The age of Monster OC"s is over anyway buddy. Intel and AMD already do it for us since Sandy Bridge and the margin for error gets tighter every new gen, and much tighter with every new process node.

Enter 16/14nm where you can see GPU's that auto-OC to within 5% of their maximum stable clocks...
 
Joined
Sep 15, 2007
Messages
3,283 (0.80/day)
Likes
1,180
Location
Police/Nanny State of America
System Name More hardware than I use :|
Processor 4.7 8350 - 4.2 4560K - 4.4 4690K
Motherboard Sabertooth R2.0 - Gigabyte Z87X-UD4H-CF - AsRock Z97M KIller
Cooling Mugen 2 rev B push/pull - Hyper 212+ push/pull - Hyper 212+
Memory 16GB Gskill - 8GB Gskill - 16GB Ballistix 1.35v
Video Card(s) Xfire OCed 7950s - Powercolor 290x - Oced Zotac 980Ti AMP! (also have two 7870s)
Storage Crucial 250GB SSD, Kingston 3K 120GB, Sammy 1TB, various WDs, 13TB (actual capactity) NAS with WDs
Display(s) X-star 27" 1440 - Auria 27" 1440 - BenQ 24" 1080 - Acer 23" 1080
Case Lian Li open bench - Fractal Design ARC - Thermaltake Cube (still have HAF 932 and more ARCs)
Audio Device(s) Titanium HD - Onkyo HT-RC360 Receiver - BIC America custom 5.1 set up (and extra Klipsch sub)
Power Supply Corsair 850W V2 - EVGA 1000 G2 - Seasonic 500 and 600W units (dead 750W needs RMA lol)
Mouse Logitech G5 - Sentey Revolution Pro - Sentey Lumenata Pro - multiple wireless logitechs
Keyboard Logitech G11s - Thermaltake Challenger
Software I wish I could kill myself instead of using windows (OSX can suck it too).
#12
The age of Monster OC"s is over anyway buddy. Intel and AMD already do it for us since Sandy Bridge and the margin for error gets tighter every new gen, and much tighter with every new process node.

Enter 16/14nm where you can see GPU's that auto-OC to within 5% of their maximum stable clocks...
I know, but it's rather pathetic for haswell. You have to win the lottery if you want a good OC.
 

Tatty_One

Senior Moderator & Combat Squirrel
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2006
Messages
20,587 (4.39/day)
Likes
7,178
Location
Worcestershire, UK
System Name The Grey
Processor Skylake i7 6700k @ 4.6gig - 1.35V
Motherboard MSI Z170A Tomahawk
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 240V AIO/Viper140's
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3200mhz CL15
Video Card(s) Palit 8GB GTX 1070 GameRock Edition
Storage SkHynix SL308 120GB/CrucialM4/1TB WD Black
Display(s) LG 29inch 2560x1080 Curved Ultrawide IPS
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Windowed - Gunmetal
Audio Device(s) Xifi Elite Pro 7.1/VideoLogic ZXR550's
Power Supply XFX Pro Black Edition 750W Gold modular
Keyboard CM Storm Octane Combo
Software Win 10 Home x64
#13
Your 106.5 Bclk is the limit you can go simply because you are probably also overclocking the PCI-e and it's that causing the instability.
 
Joined
Sep 25, 2012
Messages
2,075 (0.92/day)
Likes
871
Location
Jacksonhole Florida
System Name DEVIL'S ABYSS
Processor i7-4790K@4.6 GHz
Motherboard Asus Z97-Deluxe
Cooling Corsair H110 (2 x 140mm)(3 x 140mm case fans)
Memory 16GB Adata XPG V2 2400MHz
Video Card(s) EVGA 780 Ti Classified
Storage Intel 750 Series 400GB (AIC), Plextor M6e 256GB (M.2), 13 TB storage
Display(s) Crossover 27QW (27"@ 2560x1440)
Case Corsair Obsidian 750D Airflow
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150
Power Supply Cooler Master V1000
Mouse Ttsports Talon Blu
Keyboard Logitech G510
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 version 1803
Benchmark Scores Passmark CPU score = 13080
#14
I have managed to overclock my non K CPU from 100 to 106.5 bclk. My current CPU speed is 4.22 GHz and the system is completly stable under this overclock. But if I set the bclk to 107 or up, it becomes unstable. Is it possible to overclock CPU even further by changing voltage or RAM timings or anything else?
That's not bad, and as you said, it's only a couple FPS in games when OCing. If you want a little bit more, higher memory clocks may help you get the most out of your CPU overclock. RAM prices are at an all-time low, 16GB of 2400MHz as low as $60 (same kit in 1600MHz is $55). This can also help reduce load times for games and levels. I recently was bored and decided to overclock my Adata 2400 kit, and got it up to 2666, completely stable. Every little bit helps... Maybe not very noticeable in games, but it certainly helps with all the other tasks (editing, rendering, compressing, converting video & audio, etc).
 
Joined
Jun 21, 2016
Messages
2,010 (2.28/day)
Likes
1,798
System Name X58
Processor Xeon E5640
Motherboard ASUS P6x58D-E
Cooling Coolermaster Seidon 240V
Memory 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) Sapphire R9 Fury Nitro OC+
Storage 1TB Samsung Spinpoint F3 / 500GB Hitachi Deskstar
Display(s) VX2268M
Case NZXT S340
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster FX
Power Supply Silverstone ST1000-P
Mouse Steelseries Rival
Keyboard TTesports Poseidon ZX
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores 1 Billion
#15
You are incredibly lucky to have even got it that far.
 

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
10,896 (4.38/day)
Likes
6,042
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.5Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Corsair H100i V2
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 390 GAMING 8GB @ PCI-E 3.0
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 SSD Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB, 1x512GB Samsung 960 Pro NVMe
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 18.04
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
#16
Bumping the bclk on the 4790 will increase the clock speed of the DMI between the PCH and the CPU as well as the PCI-E root complex on the CPU. Most PCI-E devices don't take too kindly to the bus frequency changing however, the PCH is a different story. You would probably get a different result if you removed or disabled every PCI-E device however, DMI is very similar to how PCI-E works.

IF the PCH is the limiting factor and not the PCI-E devices, increasing the PCH voltage might get you a little more out of it. However I say this with extreme warning as the PCH is passively cooled and pumping more voltage through it could prove to be unwise. Either way, @Tatty_One is correct, the PCI-E bus is usually the main reason why you can't get more out of the bclk on this generation of CPUs unless you have a CPU like Skylake with the independent clock gens or, with skt2011(or -3) with bclk straps (an internal multiplier if you will,) but even those are limited to around 5Mhz overclock over the strap (+/- 3Mhz.)

The PCH is a little odd because it usually has more than one voltage and it's uncertain to me which ones drive which components. Either way, I urge caution should you decide to muck around with PCH voltages.
 

Tatty_One

Senior Moderator & Combat Squirrel
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2006
Messages
20,587 (4.39/day)
Likes
7,178
Location
Worcestershire, UK
System Name The Grey
Processor Skylake i7 6700k @ 4.6gig - 1.35V
Motherboard MSI Z170A Tomahawk
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 240V AIO/Viper140's
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3200mhz CL15
Video Card(s) Palit 8GB GTX 1070 GameRock Edition
Storage SkHynix SL308 120GB/CrucialM4/1TB WD Black
Display(s) LG 29inch 2560x1080 Curved Ultrawide IPS
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Windowed - Gunmetal
Audio Device(s) Xifi Elite Pro 7.1/VideoLogic ZXR550's
Power Supply XFX Pro Black Edition 750W Gold modular
Keyboard CM Storm Octane Combo
Software Win 10 Home x64
#17
Bumping the bclk on the 4790 will increase the clock speed of the DMI between the PCH and the CPU as well as the PCI-E root complex on the CPU. Most PCI-E devices don't take too kindly to the bus frequency changing however, the PCH is a different story. You would probably get a different result if you removed or disabled every PCI-E device however, DMI is very similar to how PCI-E works.

IF the PCH is the limiting factor and not the PCI-E devices, increasing the PCH voltage might get you a little more out of it. However I say this with extreme warning as the PCH is passively cooled and pumping more voltage through it could prove to be unwise. Either way, @Tatty_One is correct, the PCI-E bus is usually the main reason why you can't get more out of the bclk on this generation of CPUs unless you have a CPU like Skylake with the independent clock gens or, with skt2011(or -3) with bclk straps (an internal multiplier if you will,) but even those are limited to around 5Mhz overclock over the strap (+/- 3Mhz.)

The PCH is a little odd because it usually has more than one voltage and it's uncertain to me which ones drive which components. Either way, I urge caution should you decide to muck around with PCH voltages.
Indeed, I am just about to pull the trigger on a Skylake 6400 (obviously non K) and try some Bckl overclocking, I have seen results of 4.7gig +.
 

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
10,896 (4.38/day)
Likes
6,042
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.5Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Corsair H100i V2
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 390 GAMING 8GB @ PCI-E 3.0
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 SSD Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB, 1x512GB Samsung 960 Pro NVMe
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 18.04
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
#18
Indeed, I am just about to pull the trigger on a Skylake 6400 (obviously non K) and try some Bckl overclocking, I have seen results of 4.7gig +.
I'm waiting for this awesomeness to find its way into the next HEDT socket. My 3820 is still plenty fine for the time being and always has that 125Mhz BCLK strap should I require more than 4.3Ghz. Maybe then we'll get to have some fun with Xeons again. :p
 
Joined
Jul 4, 2016
Messages
110 (0.13/day)
Likes
45
#19
Well to be completely honest, when I said I only changed BCLK the ram speeds also increased from 1600 MHz to about 1700 MHz even though my CPU can't support speeds above 1600 MHz.

That said, my PCI speed probably increased to but I haven't found where to check that or how to block this option from changing.
 
Joined
Sep 25, 2012
Messages
2,075 (0.92/day)
Likes
871
Location
Jacksonhole Florida
System Name DEVIL'S ABYSS
Processor i7-4790K@4.6 GHz
Motherboard Asus Z97-Deluxe
Cooling Corsair H110 (2 x 140mm)(3 x 140mm case fans)
Memory 16GB Adata XPG V2 2400MHz
Video Card(s) EVGA 780 Ti Classified
Storage Intel 750 Series 400GB (AIC), Plextor M6e 256GB (M.2), 13 TB storage
Display(s) Crossover 27QW (27"@ 2560x1440)
Case Corsair Obsidian 750D Airflow
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150
Power Supply Cooler Master V1000
Mouse Ttsports Talon Blu
Keyboard Logitech G510
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 version 1803
Benchmark Scores Passmark CPU score = 13080
#20
Well to be completely honest, when I said I only changed BCLK the ram speeds also increased from 1600 MHz to about 1700 MHz even though my CPU can't support speeds above 1600 MHz.

Your CPU can support any RAM speed, 1600 is just the starting point for minimum MHz. Your Asus Z97 P supports at least 3200MHz (per Asus specs). It doesn't matter if it's a K or non-K CPU, i7, i5, or i3. (I have run RAM@2400MHz on an Asus Z87 K with an i3-4130) - as long as your motherboard is Z87 or Z97 it has all settings for RAM speed and timings. The limiting factor is the chipset, and and since you splurged on a Z97 board, you're good to go. 1600MHz is the nominal (minimum) RAM speed, such as you'd run on a H87 or H97 board, which has no RAM dividers.
 
Joined
Jul 4, 2016
Messages
110 (0.13/day)
Likes
45
#21
Well, to be honest I didn't know that. Thanks for sharing this info :)

Do you by any chance know where can I disable PCI-E speeds so they won't change when I overclock?
 

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
10,896 (4.38/day)
Likes
6,042
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.5Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Corsair H100i V2
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 390 GAMING 8GB @ PCI-E 3.0
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 SSD Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB, 1x512GB Samsung 960 Pro NVMe
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 18.04
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
#22
Do you by any chance know where can I disable PCI-E speeds so they won't change when I overclock?
The clockgen for the bclk and PCI-E is the same. You can't decouple them. The best you could do would be to remove any PCI-E devices you have, which includes your GPU so, I would say it's probably not worth doing anything to it. If you can get more by over-volting your PCH, that's great, if you can't then this is the end of the line.
 

hat

Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 20, 2006
Messages
19,908 (4.54/day)
Likes
4,075
Location
Ohio
System Name Starlifter :: Dragonfly
Processor i7 2600k :: Athlon II x4 630
Motherboard ASUS P8P67 Pro :: GIgabyte GA-770T-USB3
Cooling Corsair H70 :: Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 2x4GB DDR3 1866 :: 2x1GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) 2x PNY GTX1070 :: none
Storage Plextor M5s 128GB, WDC Black 500GB :: Mushkin Enhanced 60GB SSD, WD RE3 1TB
Display(s) Acer P216HL HDMI :: None
Case Antec SOHO 1030B :: Old White Full Tower
Audio Device(s) Onboard - iLive IT153B Soundbar (optical) :: None
Power Supply EVGA 500w 80 Plus :: Wounded Corsair CX600
Software Windows 10 Pro - Plex Server on Dragonfly
Benchmark Scores >9000
#23
Indeed, I am just about to pull the trigger on a Skylake 6400 (obviously non K) and try some Bckl overclocking, I have seen results of 4.7gig +.
I'm waiting for this awesomeness to find its way into the next HEDT socket. My 3820 is still plenty fine for the time being and always has that 125Mhz BCLK strap should I require more than 4.3Ghz. Maybe then we'll get to have some fun with Xeons again. :p
Until intel pulls the plug on you because you didn't spend $7000,0000 for the K edition. :banghead:
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
17,062 (3.70/day)
Likes
11,473
#24
Well, to be honest I didn't know that. Thanks for sharing this info :)

Do you by any chance know where can I disable PCI-E speeds so they won't change when I overclock?
In a way, yes. Try like 125 BCLK, 166 BCLK, and dropping multiplier down

The clockgen for the bclk and PCI-E is the same. You can't decouple them. The best you could do would be to remove any PCI-E devices you have, which includes your GPU so, I would say it's probably not worth doing anything to it. If you can get more by over-volting your PCH, that's great, if you can't then this is the end of the line.
That actually depends on the board. Some boards feature external clockgen capable of doing much higher than other boards.
 

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
10,896 (4.38/day)
Likes
6,042
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.5Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Corsair H100i V2
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 390 GAMING 8GB @ PCI-E 3.0
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 SSD Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB, 1x512GB Samsung 960 Pro NVMe
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 18.04
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
#25
That actually depends on the board. Some boards feature external clockgen capable of doing much higher than other boards.
On a non-skylake board? I thought that wasn't done until the DC ship had sailed.
In a way, yes. Try like 125 BCLK, 166 BCLK, and dropping multiplier down
Doesn't he need to have BCLK straps for that to work? That's different than just adjusting the BCLK because it actually adjusts DMI and PCI-E clock multipliers. Just changing the BCLK as you suggest probably won't work unless you know something that I don't.
 
Top