• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

i7 870

Joined
Dec 12, 2011
Messages
117 (0.05/day)
Likes
5
#1
Hello

I tried to overclock processor i7 870
I changed FSB from stock 133 to 160, and also decreased the RAM multiplier from 12 to 10
Everything seemed OK, the RAM frequency was 1602 MHz and the processor frequency was 3,51 GHz

But what I didnt expected is, that the Uncore speed raised from 2,40 GHz to 2,81 GHz

In my mobo i only can set up RAM multiplier to 6/8/10/12
Processors max multiplier is 22

1. Is it ok? Should the Uncore Speed increase?

2. What is that Uncore Speed?

3. How much could RAM run over their stock frequency? I think that 1602MHz is still ok, but how much could they tolerate higher clocks?

4. Should I turn off Turbo Boost?

5. Should I turn off Intel SpeedStep technology?

6. Should I set up something else too in BIOS?

7. Should I increase the CPU Voltage?

8. Should I (is it safe) to decrease CL at RAMs?

9. If I want to overclock the processor using smaller frequencies, should I put BCLK to 200, RAM multiplier to 8 and decrease/increase the Processor clock multiplier in order to decrease/increase the frequency by 200?

10. With 8GB RAMs should I turn of virtual memory in Windows?

Thank you very much in advance
and please sorry my english
 

sneekypeet

Unpaid Babysitter
Staff member
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
24,627 (5.77/day)
Likes
9,352
System Name His
Processor Intel i7 5930K
Motherboard Asus Maximus V Extreme
Cooling Thermalright True Spirit 140 BW Rev.A
Memory Corsair Dominator Platinum ROG
Video Card(s) nVidia GTX 1080 SLI with EVGA Hybrid coolers.
Storage Samsung 960 Pro / Crucial MX300 750GB / Seagate 1TB Spinner
Display(s) Sony 43" 4K 60hz
Case SilverStone Temjin TJ11
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply Thermaltake TPSG 1050W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
#2
1. yes
2. double the ram speed;)
3. some 1600mhz kits can go to 2400Mhz and beyond, depends on the kit.
4. No need to.
5. again no need to.
6. possibly, you never said this clock was stable;)
7. Only if it wont function with the current "auto" voltage.
8. Again, depends on the kit if it will even work.
9. I usually ran a 200 BCLK and changed multi's.
10. Don't need to.
 
Joined
Dec 12, 2011
Messages
117 (0.05/day)
Likes
5
#3
thank you very much

sorry, my RAMs are Kingston HyperX Grey Series 2x4GB 1600MHz CL9

so Im going to overclock, if i understood right I shouldnt worry about uncore speed

but dont i hurt processor somehow if i decrease its multiplier? isnt it a too big amount of work for other multipliers? (maybe a stupid question sorry :) )

I only have 4 pin cable for electricity from PSU to processor, could it be a problem? beCause my mobo dont allow 8 pin.

cant I hurt the RAMs if I overclock them to 1700 or 2400 MHz? does it have also same overclocking insurances as the processor has? (it turns off) is it a big performance difference if I overclock the RAMs too?

and please, Im worried about temperatures, At every site I see different numbers, how big temperature should be at the i7 870 in the burn test? and how big at HD6950?

Thank you very much for your reply
 

sneekypeet

Unpaid Babysitter
Staff member
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
24,627 (5.77/day)
Likes
9,352
System Name His
Processor Intel i7 5930K
Motherboard Asus Maximus V Extreme
Cooling Thermalright True Spirit 140 BW Rev.A
Memory Corsair Dominator Platinum ROG
Video Card(s) nVidia GTX 1080 SLI with EVGA Hybrid coolers.
Storage Samsung 960 Pro / Crucial MX300 750GB / Seagate 1TB Spinner
Display(s) Sony 43" 4K 60hz
Case SilverStone Temjin TJ11
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply Thermaltake TPSG 1050W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
#4
thank you very much

sorry, my RAMs are Kingston HyperX Grey Series 2x4GB 1600MHz CL9
Sorry I have no experience with that specific kit.

so Im going to overclock, if i understood right I shouldnt worry about uncore speed
If I remember right top end for uncore was like 7200-7300 mhz before it flakes out.

but dont i hurt processor somehow if i decrease its multiplier? isnt it a too big amount of work for other multipliers? (maybe a stupid question sorry :) )
Running a higher BCLK is tougher on the proc than running a lower multi would be.

I only have 4 pin cable for electricity from PSU to processor, could it be a problem? beCause my mobo dont allow 8 pin.
It could but not likely until you try to push further in the OC.

cant I hurt the RAMs if I overclock them to 1700 or 2400 MHz? does it have also same overclocking insurances as the processor has? (it turns off) is it a big performance difference if I overclock the RAMs too?
If you don't know how to test properly before booting to windows, you run the risk of corrupting data or trashing the OS entirely. Typically, yes, the PC will shut down most times before damage occurs to the ram, unless you are over volting, then its 50/50 as to what may happen.

and please, Im worried about temperatures, At every site I see different numbers, how big temperature should be at the i7 870 in the burn test? and how big at HD6950?
At 3.5ghz i would assume during Intel Burn Test, it could be in the 70's. If you are on the stock cooler it could be much higher, since I don't know what cooler you are using its just a guesstimate. I don't get the reference to the GPU though, what about it?

Thank you very much for your reply
That's why we are here! ;)
 
Joined
Dec 12, 2011
Messages
117 (0.05/day)
Likes
5
#5
thank you very much

but still i think i dont really understand what uncore speed is

ok it is tougher for the processor but it is the only option or isnt it? could i damage it? do I shorter its lifetime?

i dont know ho to test before booting, but i didnt planned overclocking the ram, so if i stay in 1600-1620 MHz toleration i think i dont have reason to worry or do I?

I test the processor via OCCT, my cooler is Noctua NH-D14, in burn I now have 70 degrees, without overclocking, I thoought that safe temp is around 85 degrees

in the reference there is just maximal safe temperature which is around 100 degrees, but what could be the safe 24/7 operational temperature for this card, if I dont want to shorter its lifetime?
 
Joined
Oct 13, 2007
Messages
7,693 (2.07/day)
Likes
1,772
Location
Chicago
System Name DarkStar
Processor i5 3570K 4.4Ghz
Motherboard Asrock Z77 Extreme 3
Cooling Apogee HD White/XSPC Razer blocks
Memory 8GB Samsung Green 1600
Video Card(s) 2 x GTX 670 4GB
Storage 2 x 120GB Samsung 830
Display(s) 27" QNIX
Case Enthoo Pro
Power Supply Seasonic Platinum 760
Mouse Steelseries Sensei
Keyboard Ducky Pro MX Black
Software Windows 8.1 x64
#6
Uncore is "everything else" inside the chip that is not an actual processor core such as the internal memory controller (IMC). I think QPI ratio or "speed" which you may be able to set lower in your BIOS affects the uncore clock speed if I remember correctly. Google "Lynnfield overclocking guide" to find good articles about this with more information. Anandtech had a really good one I think.
 
Joined
Dec 12, 2011
Messages
117 (0.05/day)
Likes
5
#7
so my temperatures on cores in burn are 50 50 48 49 but CPUTIN is 65, what is that CPUTIN and CPUTIN(2)?
 
Joined
Oct 15, 2009
Messages
749 (0.25/day)
Likes
126
Location
Netherlands
System Name gaming system
Processor 2600k @ 4.2 ghz
Motherboard MSI Z77 MPower
Cooling Thermalright ultra extreme 120 rev.C w/noctua NF-S12B push/pull
Memory 16gb corsair vengeance 2400 c11 @1.5 v/
Video Card(s) GB gtx670 WF3x sli @1080/1372/6660(core/boost/mem)
Storage 2x samsung 850evo 250gb raid 0 ,2tb wdblack, 3TB wd purple
Display(s) Samsung Syncmaster P2770FH, asus VH242t/19" lg 1440x900
Case fractal design r4
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Corsair HX1050
Mouse Razer abyssus
Keyboard corsair k70
Software Windows 10 pro x64
#9
Ignore cputin temps, just check your core temps, make sure u have a decent aftermarket cooler
 

BUCK NASTY

F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust
Staff member
Joined
Aug 8, 2007
Messages
4,968 (1.31/day)
Likes
4,624
Location
Port St Lucie, FL. U.S.A.
System Name Main Rig
Processor AMD FX-4130 @ 4.8Ghz
Motherboard ASUS M5A99X Evo
Cooling Coolermaster Hyper 212+
Memory 8GB GSkill DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 970 Strix @ 1503Mhz Core
Storage Corsair Force 90gb SSD/ WD Caviar Blue 750gb
Display(s) ASUS 24" IPS
Case Coolermaster Centurion 590
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Antec TP750 80+
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64
#10
+1 for Sneekypeet. He know this CPU very well. Considering your board is a 4-pin CPU power, it may not be a performance board and may not handle the BCLK of 190-200 that seems to be the "sweet spot" for overclocking this CPU. Make sure your RAM is running at it's rated voltage.
 
Joined
Dec 12, 2011
Messages
117 (0.05/day)
Likes
5
#11
My system specs are: (I dont know how to fill it in my profile sorry, but I was looking for it, I dont see it anywhere)

Coolermaster Elite 335 • Intel DH57DD • Intel i7 870 2,9 GHz • Noctua NH-D14 • Kingston HyperX Grey Series 2x4GB DDR3 1600MHz • Sapphire Radeon HD6950 Flex 2GB 800 MHz / 5200 MHz • Seagate Barracuda XT 2TB 7200 ot. • Cougar CMX 700 • Windows 7 Professional 64bit

I dont know how i figure out if my RAMs are running at their rated voltage
In BIOS they are set to 1,5 V

(note : the BIOS screenshots are from age, when I had 1333MHz 2x2GB RAMs, now I have 2x4GB 1600MHz)















so if I understood right, when I go to overclocking, the only actions which I have to do is
1. changing BCLK to 200
2. Putting down the CPU Multiplier (for example from 22 to 20 if I want to have 4 GHz Processor?)
3. Putting RAM pultiplier to 8

End.

Nothing more nothing else? No other options to change?

Thank you very much for your replies.
 

BUCK NASTY

F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust
Staff member
Joined
Aug 8, 2007
Messages
4,968 (1.31/day)
Likes
4,624
Location
Port St Lucie, FL. U.S.A.
System Name Main Rig
Processor AMD FX-4130 @ 4.8Ghz
Motherboard ASUS M5A99X Evo
Cooling Coolermaster Hyper 212+
Memory 8GB GSkill DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 970 Strix @ 1503Mhz Core
Storage Corsair Force 90gb SSD/ WD Caviar Blue 750gb
Display(s) ASUS 24" IPS
Case Coolermaster Centurion 590
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Antec TP750 80+
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64
#12
  1. You ram voltage should be set to 1.65v and no higher. This is the upper limit of the CPU and P55 chipset.
  2. I always disable Speedstep and CPU C State.
 
Joined
Dec 12, 2011
Messages
117 (0.05/day)
Likes
5
#13
but is it necessary to turn it off? And should I set the RAM voltages to 1.65V now or only if they would be unstable?