• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

i915PM not socket 479 compatible with Yonah and Merom?

Joined
Jun 15, 2006
Messages
129 (0.02/day)
i got a ASUS A6VM with i915PM mod
i open the CPU socket up and it said "mPGA479M socket" with pentium M 735 Dothan in it
i Wondered if Core 1/2 duo mobile will work on that motherboard or not
my openion is that it might work with core 1 but not very sure with 64 bit core 2
The fact that im using ddr2 533mhz which is a 64bit bandwidth, so would it able to run core 2 ?


Image of the socket 479 CPU pentium m 735, still running while taken the pic.
 
Last edited:

cdawall

where the hell are my stars
Joined
Jul 23, 2006
Messages
27,670 (5.14/day)
Location
Houston
System Name All the cores || Into the Blue
Processor 2990WX || 5960X
Motherboard Asrock X399M || Asus X99M WS
Cooling CPU-XSPC RayStorm Neo, 2x240mm+360mm, D5PWM+140mL, GPU-2x360mm, 2xbyski, D4+D5+100mL || TBD
Memory 4x8GB G.Skill Trident Z 3200 CL16 || EVGA 3200 2x8GB
Video Card(s) (2) EVGA SC BLACK 1080Ti's || EVGA 1080Ti FE
Storage 2x Samsung SM951 512GB, Samsung PM961 512GB || OCZ Vector 180 480GB
Display(s) Dell UP2414Q 3840X2160@60hz || TBD
Case Caselabs Mercury S5+pedestal || Supermicro S5 (GS5A-753K)
Audio Device(s) Fischer HA-02->Fischer FA-002W High edition/FA-003/Jubilate/FA-011 depending on my mood
Power Supply Seasonic Prime 1200w || Seasonic Snow Silent 750w
Mouse Thermaltake Theron, Steam controller || TBD
Keyboard Thermaltake Poseidon ZX, Steam controller || Corsair K70
Software W10P || W10P
c2d is s775
 

Azn Tr14dZ

New Member
Joined
Mar 2, 2006
Messages
5,289 (0.96/day)
Processor AMD Athlon 64 3200+
Motherboard DFI LanParty nf4 Ultra-D
Cooling Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 2x512MB GeIL
Video Card(s) ATI Radeon X800XL
Storage 2x80GB Western Digital
Display(s) HP vs17
Case SuperTalent
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster
Power Supply Ultra X-Finity 500 Watt
Core 2 Duo is for Laptops too, but I'm not sure at all if it will work on that board.
 
Joined
Jun 15, 2006
Messages
129 (0.02/day)
Last edited:
Joined
May 6, 2005
Messages
2,792 (0.48/day)
Location
Tre, Suomi Finland
Processor i7 4770K Haswell, watercooled
Motherboard Asus Z87-C2 Maximus VI Formula
Cooling Fuzion V1, MCW60/R2, DDC1/DDCT-01s top, PA120.3, EK200, 3× D12SL-12, liquid metal TIM
Memory 2× 8GB Crucial Ballistix Tactical LP DDR3-1600
Video Card(s) heaps of dead GPUs in the garage
Storage Samsung 840Pro 256@178GB + 4× WD Red 2TB in RAID10 + LaCie Blade Runner 4TB
Display(s) HP ZR30w 30" 2560×1600 (WQXGA) H2-IPS
Case Lian Li PC-A16B
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair AX860i
Mouse Logitech MX Master 2S / Contour RollerMouse Red+
Keyboard Logitech Elite Keyboard from 2006 / Contour Balance Keyboard / Logitech diNovo Edge
Software W10 x64
Benchmark Scores It does boot up? I think.
915 series chipsets do not support Core 2 Duo.
Only 945'ers accept Merom.
 
Joined
Jun 15, 2006
Messages
129 (0.02/day)
915 series chipsets do not support Core 2 Duo.
Only 945'ers accept Merom.

i know u mailed me
this is my socket

seems to be insertable, but the motherboard wont support it then
lets see one day some 1 release a bios update for support core 1 duo
this could be a Asus CT-479 in here, so at least i can use 2ghz+ pentium-M

i got some questions
1.For the first quotes; "is this i915PM ????????"
2.If core 1 is inserted, will it even run?
3.will the battery of my note will go faster, suz it more than 21W (but its says more power consumption 20%)
 
Joined
May 6, 2005
Messages
2,792 (0.48/day)
Location
Tre, Suomi Finland
Processor i7 4770K Haswell, watercooled
Motherboard Asus Z87-C2 Maximus VI Formula
Cooling Fuzion V1, MCW60/R2, DDC1/DDCT-01s top, PA120.3, EK200, 3× D12SL-12, liquid metal TIM
Memory 2× 8GB Crucial Ballistix Tactical LP DDR3-1600
Video Card(s) heaps of dead GPUs in the garage
Storage Samsung 840Pro 256@178GB + 4× WD Red 2TB in RAID10 + LaCie Blade Runner 4TB
Display(s) HP ZR30w 30" 2560×1600 (WQXGA) H2-IPS
Case Lian Li PC-A16B
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair AX860i
Mouse Logitech MX Master 2S / Contour RollerMouse Red+
Keyboard Logitech Elite Keyboard from 2006 / Contour Balance Keyboard / Logitech diNovo Edge
Software W10 x64
Benchmark Scores It does boot up? I think.
It's not likely that the lack of Core 1 / 2 Duo support for i915 serie chipsets would be fixable via a bios update. For example desktop Core 2 Duo won't work with most of the older LGA775 chipsets and boards because of hardware incompatiblity (voltage regulators, etc.).

i915 is a Pentium-M chipset. Core 1 / 2 Duo requires a i945.

1. ASUS A6VM does have i915PM chipset
2. Core 1/2 processors would most likely refuse to POST (or even cause damage) if plugged into that board
3. Yes
 
Joined
Jun 15, 2006
Messages
129 (0.02/day)
It's not likely that the lack of Core 1 / 2 Duo support for i915 serie chipsets would be fixable via a bios update. For example desktop Core 2 Duo won't work with most of the older LGA775 chipsets and boards because of hardware incompatiblity (voltage regulators, etc.).

i915 is a Pentium-M chipset. Core 1 / 2 Duo requires a i945.

1. ASUS A6VM does have i915PM chipset
2. Core 1/2 processors would most likely refuse to POST (or even cause damage) if plugged into that board
3. Yes


the motherboard should have maximum voltage limitation or at a range and the processer can also be downclock/voltage too ryte? - same with bus speed
Watt of the CPU only effect the battery, am i correct?
Core 1 has 0.1 less voltage neede than my pentium-m, so would it be heating up a little
i would try core 1 until i have my 2nd laptop first lol

erm any merchant sell 945pm motherboards? XD
 

cdawall

where the hell are my stars
Joined
Jul 23, 2006
Messages
27,670 (5.14/day)
Location
Houston
System Name All the cores || Into the Blue
Processor 2990WX || 5960X
Motherboard Asrock X399M || Asus X99M WS
Cooling CPU-XSPC RayStorm Neo, 2x240mm+360mm, D5PWM+140mL, GPU-2x360mm, 2xbyski, D4+D5+100mL || TBD
Memory 4x8GB G.Skill Trident Z 3200 CL16 || EVGA 3200 2x8GB
Video Card(s) (2) EVGA SC BLACK 1080Ti's || EVGA 1080Ti FE
Storage 2x Samsung SM951 512GB, Samsung PM961 512GB || OCZ Vector 180 480GB
Display(s) Dell UP2414Q 3840X2160@60hz || TBD
Case Caselabs Mercury S5+pedestal || Supermicro S5 (GS5A-753K)
Audio Device(s) Fischer HA-02->Fischer FA-002W High edition/FA-003/Jubilate/FA-011 depending on my mood
Power Supply Seasonic Prime 1200w || Seasonic Snow Silent 750w
Mouse Thermaltake Theron, Steam controller || TBD
Keyboard Thermaltake Poseidon ZX, Steam controller || Corsair K70
Software W10P || W10P
try ebay someone will have a broken dell w/ the mobo you need
 
Joined
Sep 26, 2006
Messages
6,957 (1.31/day)
Location
Australia, Sydney
No, the chipset simply will not work with the CPU. Thats all. (Yeah I know it sucks)

I want a pentium M for my eeepc :(
 
Top