1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

ICH10R SSD question !

Discussion in 'Storage' started by Whitey, May 17, 2011.

  1. Whitey New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    Messages:
    35 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Surrey, UK
    Hi guys, just wanted to run something by you.

    Currently have two Corsair F40 running in RAID 0.

    Just had an idea which I would like you to comment on please.

    I was thinking of zero filling the drives again to regain speed, then having the drives seperate rather than in raid.

    One drive for Windows 7 the other just for Steam.

    I only use the computer as a gaming machine - nothing else really.

    Thanks !

    Whitey

    :toast:
     
  2. Flak

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Messages:
    403 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    70
    Location:
    US
    So whats the question?
     
  3. Whitey New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    Messages:
    35 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Surrey, UK
    aha !

    I think I have answered my own question.

    Yes - it would be faster transfering big files around in Raid 0, but day to day I probably won't notice a difference.

    In fact it will probably boot faster as I don't have to wait for the Raid to start.
     
  4. 2DividedbyZero New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2008
    Messages:
    780 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    202
    Location:
    in retarded hell
    why would you be losing speed with the F40's thus wanting you to zero them??????????
     
  5. Whitey New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    Messages:
    35 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Surrey, UK
    Scrub the zero fill as well - I was thinking about older SSDs such as the Kingston one in my laptop.

    It's nice to bounce ideas off people though :)
     
  6. Anusha

    Anusha

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2005
    Messages:
    754 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    67
    well, you will be wasting space if you have them separate.
    for example, if you install os and apps in one (say 30GB used, 10GB remaining), and games in the other, you will have only 40GB for games. if you had them in one volume, you would have 50GB for games. just saying, it would be same as partitioning a large hard drive.

    F40 is sandforce right? sandforce is fine for RAID. just leave it idle for couple of hours a week so that garbage collection does its thing, so that the drives would work as new all the time.

    that said, yes, you wouldn't see the difference between RAID and not, unless you copy or work with large files.
     
    Whitey says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  7. Whitey New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    Messages:
    35 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Surrey, UK
    Thanks for your input, it is welcome.

    I have noticed that it seems to boot faster - but this may be down to clean install.
     
  8. Anusha

    Anusha

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2005
    Messages:
    754 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    67
    you don't have controller latency when there is no RAID. slow to detect drives when in RAID mode. and it has to show the status of RAID arrays. I have two in mine.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  9. Whitey New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    Messages:
    35 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Surrey, UK
    I mean after that stage - when the Windows 7 logo 'come together' in the animation, I will be at the desktop just before the animation completes (same as my laptop with Kingston drive).

    In RAID you can definetaly see the animation complete and 'glow'.

    I am happy - just my windows score has dropped to 7.3 overall where it was 7.9.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)