• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

IDE HDD's not being detected.

Joined
Apr 8, 2008
Messages
1,034 (0.29/day)
Likes
167
Location
Scotland
Processor Phenom II X4 B50 @ 3.4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA MA790XT-UD4P
Cooling Vendetta 2, several case fans
Memory 8GB Geil Ripjaws 1666Mhz
Video Card(s) Powercolor 5850 1GB
Storage 1TB Samsung F1
Display(s) LG 23" W2361V TFT Widescreen
Case Antec 300
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Xtreme Music
Power Supply Antec HCG 750W
Software Windows 7 Pro 64bit
#1
Ok this is my problem. I've given my friend an old IDE HDD and it's not showing up in 'my computer'. I've checked in the device manager and it shows up there and states that the device is working properly but it doesn't show up in my computer. I've tried uninstalling the drive from the device manager and hoping that it would install drivers when it had booted up but no luck. Any advice?
 
Joined
Aug 24, 2007
Messages
443 (0.12/day)
Likes
128
Location
BY-S36
System Name Bitch / Dogma
Processor 955 BE @ 3.8Gig / 9850 @stock
Video Card(s) 8800 GTX 512 / 4890
Storage 8 x Samsung F2 1.5TB, 8 x Seagate 500s
Display(s) Acer 24 / Dell 24
Case Lian li / Akasa
Software Win server 2008 / Win 7
#2
Right click My Computer > Manage > Storage > Disk Management > Is the Drive listed there?

If so you need to right click on it > Initialise, then Create a partition, then format (if existing partition is not recognised*)
 

JrRacinFan

Served 5k and counting ...
Joined
Mar 17, 2007
Messages
19,666 (4.97/day)
Likes
4,754
Location
Youngstown, OH
System Name Gamer :Server and Android BuildBox
Processor i7 3930k: Xeon e5-2660
Motherboard MSI X79A-GD45 Plus : Generic
Cooling Liqid cooled: CM 212+
Memory Klevv Neo 2x4Gb 1866 @ 1600 CL9 : 2x8Gb Vengeance 1600 cl9
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 950 SC : XFX R5 220
Storage HGST 2TB + 480GB OCZ Trion 150 : Seagate 1TB SSHD + WD 3TB + 2x HGST 2TB
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2457-MHD 23.6" : headless
Case DIYPC D480-W White Window : Bitfenix Comrade
Audio Device(s) nVidia HDMI : Onboard
Power Supply EVGA 500b : Tt 775W Modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate+Manjaro 16.06: Ubuntu Server 16.10
#3
OK go here via a right click on "My Computer"....


Then go to "Storage"->"Disk Management" ..

Does it show there and if so what file system?
 
Joined
Apr 8, 2008
Messages
1,034 (0.29/day)
Likes
167
Location
Scotland
Processor Phenom II X4 B50 @ 3.4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA MA790XT-UD4P
Cooling Vendetta 2, several case fans
Memory 8GB Geil Ripjaws 1666Mhz
Video Card(s) Powercolor 5850 1GB
Storage 1TB Samsung F1
Display(s) LG 23" W2361V TFT Widescreen
Case Antec 300
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Xtreme Music
Power Supply Antec HCG 750W
Software Windows 7 Pro 64bit
#4
I'm going over to his house again tonight so i'll try that when I get there. Keep the ideas coming. Could it be a driver problem? He has XP SP3.
 
Joined
Sep 22, 2007
Messages
3,490 (0.93/day)
Likes
571
Location
UK
System Name Dream Weaver
Processor 3770K @ 4.3GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77 UD5H
Cooling NH-D14
Memory 8GB DDR3 @ 2000MHz 10-10-10-28 1T
Video Card(s) MSI RX 480 8GB Gaming
Storage Crucial M4 128 Gb + 4TB
Display(s) ASUS 27" 1440p 144hz FreeSync
Case Fractal Design Define R3
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DS
Power Supply Corsair HX 620W
Software Windows 10 x64
#5
You just need to go to disk manager and format it from there.
 
Joined
May 27, 2008
Messages
3,577 (1.02/day)
Likes
533
Location
Huddersfield, uk
Processor E8200
Motherboard Asus P5KC
Cooling cooler master hyper tx3, 2x 120mm, 1x 80mm
Memory 4 GB DDR3 OCZ Black Edition
Video Card(s) Gigabyte HD 2600xt silent pipe II
Storage 500GB WD Sata / 60 GB Samsung IDE
Display(s) 20" samusng LCD, gaming at 1680 x 1050
Case some old amd thing
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply 650W
Software Windows 8.1, with 'start is back' obviously
Benchmark Scores It boots whilst im still young so im pleased with that.
#6
i had the same problem except it was my primary hdd so my computer wouldnt go past POST it turnd out it was the ide cable i was using as id just bought a new mobo and when i used the cable that came with it all was fine,

also have u check'd ur slave/master config is right?
 
Joined
Aug 24, 2007
Messages
443 (0.12/day)
Likes
128
Location
BY-S36
System Name Bitch / Dogma
Processor 955 BE @ 3.8Gig / 9850 @stock
Video Card(s) 8800 GTX 512 / 4890
Storage 8 x Samsung F2 1.5TB, 8 x Seagate 500s
Display(s) Acer 24 / Dell 24
Case Lian li / Akasa
Software Win server 2008 / Win 7
#7
IDE drives "generally" do not need a driver to be manually installed (unless they are on a Raid controller).

If its visible in device manager (not a yellow ?) then Windows sees it just fine and you just need to follow the steps posted above.
 

JrRacinFan

Served 5k and counting ...
Joined
Mar 17, 2007
Messages
19,666 (4.97/day)
Likes
4,754
Location
Youngstown, OH
System Name Gamer :Server and Android BuildBox
Processor i7 3930k: Xeon e5-2660
Motherboard MSI X79A-GD45 Plus : Generic
Cooling Liqid cooled: CM 212+
Memory Klevv Neo 2x4Gb 1866 @ 1600 CL9 : 2x8Gb Vengeance 1600 cl9
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 950 SC : XFX R5 220
Storage HGST 2TB + 480GB OCZ Trion 150 : Seagate 1TB SSHD + WD 3TB + 2x HGST 2TB
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2457-MHD 23.6" : headless
Case DIYPC D480-W White Window : Bitfenix Comrade
Audio Device(s) nVidia HDMI : Onboard
Power Supply EVGA 500b : Tt 775W Modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate+Manjaro 16.06: Ubuntu Server 16.10
#8
Could it be a driver problem? He has XP SP3.
If it was a driver conflict odds are it wouldnt be loading into Windows.
 
Joined
Apr 8, 2008
Messages
1,034 (0.29/day)
Likes
167
Location
Scotland
Processor Phenom II X4 B50 @ 3.4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA MA790XT-UD4P
Cooling Vendetta 2, several case fans
Memory 8GB Geil Ripjaws 1666Mhz
Video Card(s) Powercolor 5850 1GB
Storage 1TB Samsung F1
Display(s) LG 23" W2361V TFT Widescreen
Case Antec 300
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Xtreme Music
Power Supply Antec HCG 750W
Software Windows 7 Pro 64bit
#9
IDE drives "generally" do not need a driver to be manually installed (unless they are on a Raid controller).

If its visible in device manager (not a yellow ?) then Windows sees it just fine and you just need to follow the steps posted above.
As I said it showed up as 'This device is working properly' in the device manager. No alert sign or anything. Thanks for the help guys :)
 

CDdude55

Crazy 4 TPU!!!
Joined
Jul 12, 2007
Messages
8,178 (2.13/day)
Likes
1,269
Location
Virginia
System Name CDdude's Rig!
Processor AMD Athlon II X4 620
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3
Cooling Corsair H70
Memory 8GB Corsair Vengence @1600mhz
Video Card(s) XFX HD 6970 2GB
Storage OCZ Agility 3 60GB SSD/WD Velociraptor 300GB
Display(s) ASUS VH232H 23" 1920x1080
Case Cooler Master CM690 (w/ side window)
Audio Device(s) Onboard (It sounds fine)
Power Supply Corsair 850TX
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit SP1
#10
Make sure the connections are in good and format in Windows.
 
Joined
Apr 8, 2008
Messages
1,034 (0.29/day)
Likes
167
Location
Scotland
Processor Phenom II X4 B50 @ 3.4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA MA790XT-UD4P
Cooling Vendetta 2, several case fans
Memory 8GB Geil Ripjaws 1666Mhz
Video Card(s) Powercolor 5850 1GB
Storage 1TB Samsung F1
Display(s) LG 23" W2361V TFT Widescreen
Case Antec 300
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Xtreme Music
Power Supply Antec HCG 750W
Software Windows 7 Pro 64bit
#11
Did that any it worked :)

Thanks everybody :)
 

crtecha

New Member
Joined
Dec 8, 2008
Messages
2,407 (0.72/day)
Likes
204
Location
ipsay meechigan
System Name Coolin Runnings
Processor AMD X4 Phenom 9950 B.E. @ 3.3ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-MA790x-DS4 BIOS Ver. F6
Cooling CM Vortex 752
Memory apacer PC6400 800mhz x 2
Video Card(s) Two ATI Radeon 4850's in xfire
Storage Seagate 7200.9 320gig+250gigx2
Display(s) Acer P191w 19' wide
Case Antec 900
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Antec Power trio 550watts
Software Windows 7 x64 Build 7100
#12
Did you check the jumper settings? Also can you detect it in the bios? You can also format with a windows disk.