• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Identify old graphics card from images.

4482

New Member
Joined
Aug 7, 2014
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
1
#1
Hi


Could anyone identify this graphics card from it's images I posted down. The gpu is rv350/radeon 9550 (old I know). I found this one in an old stuff sale and I wanted to have it. But when I installed it in the pc I discovered that it's bios was modded, and I'm not sure whether it has 128 or 256 MB ram. It's a nice overclocker though.



Thanks.

P.S. I have posted this question on another forum, I hope no one finds this offensive. The thing is the card is old, and I thought I needed to reach the widest range of contributors possible.
 
Joined
Mar 9, 2006
Messages
1,200 (0.28/day)
Likes
131
Location
FL
System Name Iam-a-computah
Processor 7700k @5 Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte Auros z270x
Cooling Custom water loop, x2 280 radiators
Memory 16gb Corsair Dominator
Video Card(s) MSI 1080 TI FE 11gb WC
Storage SSD: 256gb Samsung 840pro & HHD: WD black 2T
Display(s) Dell 34" UW screen
Case Full tower NZXT
Audio Device(s) Creative x-FI
Power Supply EVGA super NOVA 1300wtt
Keyboard G710
Software W 10
#2
Either its my work PC or the images cant be resized to original size in order for me to investigate. But most likely its the 256mb version due to the number of DRAM chips it has.


-Ps:
Post wherever you can get help buddy, we are here to help too.
 
Joined
May 9, 2011
Messages
1,893 (0.77/day)
Likes
891
Location
Mainland Britain
System Name H2o Box
Processor Intel(R) Xeon e5-2690 v2 Stock 3.3GHz
Motherboard MSI X79A-G43 Plus (MS-7760) v3
Cooling CPU EK Block & Phobya G-Changer 360 V2.0 RAD H2o
Memory Gskill RipjawsZ 16Gb & Gskill TridentX 16Gb 9-10-9-28 2T @ 1866Mhz [locked]
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080ti AMP EXTREME
Storage HyperX Fury 120GB & Savage 480GB SSD, Seagate 250GB,250GB 7200rpm Kingston 64GB SSD
Display(s) Panasonic GT30 46'' 1080p 3D HDTV [Custom Resolution 4096*2304]
Case Corsair O-800D
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
Power Supply Be Quiet! [Dark Power Pro 11] 1200W CM replaced [7-4-2017]
Mouse Asus ROG
Keyboard Microsoft Digital Media 1.0A
Software Win 10 Pro 64Bit v 1703 / OS[build 16299.192]
#3
Hi

Welcome to TPU

Download and install GPU-Z and post a screenshot

Use the SKU & #Hash Numbers printed on the revers of the PCB; input these on the www

dump vbios image at DOS prompt & use vbios editor to inspect the VRAM layout

Note: if really require this vga card to be identified upload HIGH RES pictures - {at the moa it just looks like one of those dumb competitions}

atb

Law-II
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jun 13, 2012
Messages
1,043 (0.51/day)
Likes
242
System Name desktop
Processor i7-4770k @ 4.5Ghz at 1.200v (testing)
Motherboard Asus z87-plus
Cooling Corsair h80
Memory 32gb G.Skill Ares @ 2400mhz
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 SC (ACX 3.0)
Storage 2x Samsung 1tb 850evo SSD, 3x WD drives, 2 seagate
Display(s) Acer Predator XB271HU 27inch IPS G-Sync 165hz
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster x-FI Platium
Power Supply OCZ Z Series 850W
Mouse Razer Deathadder Elite
Keyboard Logitch G710+
#4
Need larger pictures, to hard to tell what they are from that size.

Hi
Download and install GPU-Z and post a screenshot
problem with GPU-z if bios was modified it could been done to give false info on the card.


Hi
Could anyone identify this graphics card from it's images I posted down. The gpu is rv350/radeon 9550 (old I know). I found this one in an old stuff sale and I wanted to have it. But when I installed it in the pc I discovered that it's bios was modded, and I'm not sure whether it has 128 or 256 MB ram. It's a nice overclocker though.
IF RV350 is markings on card/gpu its self then its 9550 or 9600 as for ram hard to say
 
Last edited:

4482

New Member
Joined
Aug 7, 2014
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
1
#5
"
-Ps:
Post wherever you can get help buddy, we are here to help too.
"
Thanks warup89, this is what I expect from the good ppl.

"Either its my work PC or the images cant be resized to original size in order for me to investigate"

You can right click on the picture and click view image, the image will show in the same window by itself without the web page, then you can press ctrl and + at the same time to enlarge, and investigate as much as you like. The resolution isn't promising though.

"most likely its the 256mb version due to the number of DRAM chips it has."

I suspect so also, this is why I posted this question. But when I use rovclock (I'm a linux guy), it reposrts 128MB, and of course both core and mem are OCed.

"
Download and install GPU-Z and post a screenshot

Use the SKU & #Hash Numbers printed on the revers of the PCB; input these on the www

dump vbios image at DOS prompt & use vbios editor to inspect the VRAM layout
"
I used a command in linux, lshw and it showed this data

description: VGA compatible controller
product: RV350 [Radeon 9550]
vendor: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI]
physical id: 0
bus info: pci@0000:01:00.0
version: 00
width: 32 bits
clock: 66MHz
capabilities: agp agp-3.0 pm vga_controller bus_master cap_list rom
configuration: driver=radeon latency=32 mingnt=8
resources: irq:16 memory:d0000000-dfffffff ioport:9800(size=256) memory:ff0f0000-ff0fffff memory:ff0c0000-ff0dffff

I'm not sure what (size=256) really mean.
 
Joined
Jun 13, 2012
Messages
1,043 (0.51/day)
Likes
242
System Name desktop
Processor i7-4770k @ 4.5Ghz at 1.200v (testing)
Motherboard Asus z87-plus
Cooling Corsair h80
Memory 32gb G.Skill Ares @ 2400mhz
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 SC (ACX 3.0)
Storage 2x Samsung 1tb 850evo SSD, 3x WD drives, 2 seagate
Display(s) Acer Predator XB271HU 27inch IPS G-Sync 165hz
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster x-FI Platium
Power Supply OCZ Z Series 850W
Mouse Razer Deathadder Elite
Keyboard Logitch G710+
#6
he said it was "256mb" based on number of ram chips but you can't see the chips cause what looks like heat spreader over them.
 

4482

New Member
Joined
Aug 7, 2014
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
1
#7
I cannot see a quote button in the editor.

Edit: found it, my bad.

"he said it was "256mb" based on number of ram chips but you can't see the chips cause what looks like heat spreader over them."

I'm not trying to argue, the program reported (size=256) it didn't report a unit, we have to make sure. And of course I would be happy if it's 256MB ram in comparison to 128MB ram. What is covering the ram chips are indeed heat spreaders.

But another question rises as it seems the former owner of the card was a hardcore overclocker, why did he/she (although I think it's a he, no offense for the girls) moded the bios to report 128MB ram? moreover, does this affect the real accessible ram space for the system?

Oh, by the way, I removed the core's heat sink, and it is 9550 not 9600.
 
Last edited:

4482

New Member
Joined
Aug 7, 2014
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
1
#8
Since my last post things has been rather quiet, I hope I didn't write something wrong.
 
Joined
May 9, 2011
Messages
1,893 (0.77/day)
Likes
891
Location
Mainland Britain
System Name H2o Box
Processor Intel(R) Xeon e5-2690 v2 Stock 3.3GHz
Motherboard MSI X79A-G43 Plus (MS-7760) v3
Cooling CPU EK Block & Phobya G-Changer 360 V2.0 RAD H2o
Memory Gskill RipjawsZ 16Gb & Gskill TridentX 16Gb 9-10-9-28 2T @ 1866Mhz [locked]
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080ti AMP EXTREME
Storage HyperX Fury 120GB & Savage 480GB SSD, Seagate 250GB,250GB 7200rpm Kingston 64GB SSD
Display(s) Panasonic GT30 46'' 1080p 3D HDTV [Custom Resolution 4096*2304]
Case Corsair O-800D
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
Power Supply Be Quiet! [Dark Power Pro 11] 1200W CM replaced [7-4-2017]
Mouse Asus ROG
Keyboard Microsoft Digital Media 1.0A
Software Win 10 Pro 64Bit v 1703 / OS[build 16299.192]
#9
Hi

Since my last post things has been rather quiet, I hope I didn't write something wrong.
"write something wrong"; not really, (just did not come back with information required by TPU members to identify the vga card in question)

information not supplied; as follows,[*if require more assistance]
-Manufactures Name
-High res pictures
and or
-SKU & #Hash Numbers printed on the -{revers / back}- of the PCB [these numbers will identify the vga card]

Note: looked for the vga card on the www and could not find one that had heat sinks front and revers of the PCB

atb

Law-II
 
Last edited:

4482

New Member
Joined
Aug 7, 2014
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
1
#10
Pardon me for disappearing the last couple of days. I managed to get really really hd pictures of the card front and back, hope these are good enough.






Law-II, if I had the information you're asking for, why on Gods earth would I post a question at all? :rolleyes:
 
Joined
May 9, 2011
Messages
1,893 (0.77/day)
Likes
891
Location
Mainland Britain
System Name H2o Box
Processor Intel(R) Xeon e5-2690 v2 Stock 3.3GHz
Motherboard MSI X79A-G43 Plus (MS-7760) v3
Cooling CPU EK Block & Phobya G-Changer 360 V2.0 RAD H2o
Memory Gskill RipjawsZ 16Gb & Gskill TridentX 16Gb 9-10-9-28 2T @ 1866Mhz [locked]
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080ti AMP EXTREME
Storage HyperX Fury 120GB & Savage 480GB SSD, Seagate 250GB,250GB 7200rpm Kingston 64GB SSD
Display(s) Panasonic GT30 46'' 1080p 3D HDTV [Custom Resolution 4096*2304]
Case Corsair O-800D
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
Power Supply Be Quiet! [Dark Power Pro 11] 1200W CM replaced [7-4-2017]
Mouse Asus ROG
Keyboard Microsoft Digital Media 1.0A
Software Win 10 Pro 64Bit v 1703 / OS[build 16299.192]
#11
Hi

Law-II, if I had the information you're asking for, why on Gods earth would I post a question at all? :rolleyes:
I am wondering the same thing ;)

Question in the OP
I'm not sure whether it has 128 or 256 MB ram
Answer
128MB resized.jpg
Model: ATI 9550 AGP8X 128MB TV-OUT DVI (rebadged OEM for medical centre)
Part Number: AA-95500XTD11
Source here

atb

Law-II
 
Joined
Jun 20, 2007
Messages
3,838 (0.99/day)
Likes
596
System Name Medusa
Processor i7 2600k @4.8ghz
Motherboard Asus P8P67 Pro
Cooling CPU : Noctua NH-L12 GPU: EK FC 1080 via Magicool 360 III PRO > Photon 170 (D5)
Memory 8gb Corsair XMS DDR3 @1600mhz
Video Card(s) GTX 1080 FE
Storage Vertex 4 256 /Crucial C300 256/ Hitachi 2TB 2x
Display(s) Tempest X270OC @ 120hz / LG W3000h
Case Fractal Define S [Antec Skeleton hanging in hall of fame]
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar Xense with AKG K612 cans on Monacor SA-100
Power Supply Seasonic X-850
Mouse Razer Naga 2014
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores FFXIV ARR Benchmark 1600p score 12,098[this means nothing any more!]
#12
Do software probes only read the BIOS information? Are they unable to actually test the RAM specs of the card when it's plugged in?