• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Idle BSODs on 3700x

Joined
Aug 29, 2005
Messages
5,608 (1.00/day)
Location
Whatever my internet protocol shows I guess O.o
System Name Lynni The HaYaBuZa Dragon :x
Processor AMD Ryzen 9 3900X "ZEN2"
Motherboard Asus ROG Strix B550-A Gaming
Cooling Fractal Design Celsius S24
Memory Geil Dragon 4x8GB@3000mhz 15-17-17-35 (GWW416GB3000C15DC)
Video Card(s) PowerColor Radeon RX 6800 (Ref) / Sapphire Radeon RX 590 Nitro+ Special Edition 8GB
Storage OS/Games:Samsung 970 EVO 1TB |Sabrent Rocket 2TB |Data: 850EVO 1TB, 2xWD 4TB, 1xWD 10TB & WD 1TB
Display(s) Asus ROG Strix XG27UQ 4K@144hz | LG 55UK6100PLB IPS 4K HDR
Case Cougar Conquer "HaYaBuZa style"
Audio Device(s) Steelseries Arctis Pro Wireless
Power Supply Seasonic Prime 1200 watt 80Plus Platinum
Mouse Logitech G305 Lightspeedy Wireless
Keyboard Razer Blackwidow Chroma X UK
Software Win10 Pro UK x64 (20H2)
Benchmark Scores Time Spy: https://www.3dmark.com/3dm/33868867?
Update:
So, I'm on a new 3600x and I have yet to encounter any problems here. If there is anyone with a similar problem with a decently old gen3 ryzen you should really look into changing it as apparently earlier chips have this problem.

If you experience the same behavior test in another motherboard for starters because if it works in another board then it's your board that gives you problems.

Buildzoid in his videos about motherboard of X470 straight up says "DO NOT BUY THIS"


Argh forum doesn't like time stamp o_O skip forward to 11mins and 57sec
 
Joined
Mar 30, 2020
Messages
37 (0.13/day)
@puma99dk|
My problem had nothing to do with the motherboard though. Mobos don't randomly cut away a core from your cpu and I don't overclock at all and while I do trust Buildzoid's opinion he didn't really said much except "lol 4+2 phase" and I got it really cheap in the first place so I'm not really complaining here.
 
Joined
Aug 29, 2019
Messages
32 (0.06/day)
Raise VSOC LLC. Solved the exact same issue for me on 3 different boards. Highest or second highest is safe for VSOC. don't touch VCORE LLC. Also look for options as dummy load and current idle etc. and turn off power saving options in bios.
 
Joined
Mar 30, 2020
Messages
37 (0.13/day)
Raise VSOC LLC. Solved the exact same issue for me on 3 different boards. Highest or second highest is safe for VSOC. don't touch VCORE LLC. Also look for options as dummy load and current idle etc. and turn off power saving options in bios.
Well it's a little bit too late to try, but I have tried A LOT of different power settings in bios, VSOC manipulations included. Nothing really helped me with this.
 
Joined
Feb 14, 2012
Messages
1,176 (0.36/day)
Location
Romania
System Name "No name"
Processor Ryzen 2700X 50Th Anniversary Edition
Motherboard X570 AORUS Elite
Cooling Noctua U12P
Memory 16GB 3200Mhz
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1070 Ti
Storage Adata 512GB SSD, WD30PURX
Display(s) AOC CQ32G1
Case SilentiumPC Signum SG1V EVO TG ARGB
Audio Device(s) ALC Codec + Maudio AV32 and Fiio E10k + Audiotehnica TAD 400
Power Supply Seasonic G650 650W
Mouse Logitech G203
Keyboard Asus Strix MX Brown
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Has this been posted ?
Turned it to be the mobo for this guy.
 
Joined
Mar 30, 2020
Messages
37 (0.13/day)
Turned it to be the mobo for this guy.
I have seen this video before. It's not necessarily a mobo problem, though different mobo CAN help in this situation with different power settings. Still doesn't mean that it's a properly working cpu in the first place.
 

Mike006

New Member
Joined
Apr 28, 2020
Messages
1 (0.00/day)
Hello Guys
I changed my CPU Ryzen 5 3600.No problems anymore.
I lost many days to find this problem. Same configuration=I changed the CPU with another 3600=No problems, that's for sure.
Bad advertising for AMD.

Before always BSOD randomly ,but most on idle.What a stress......
 
Joined
Mar 30, 2020
Messages
37 (0.13/day)
Hello Guys
I changed my CPU Ryzen 5 3600.No problems anymore.
I lost many days to find this problem. Same configuration=I changed the CPU with another 3600=No problems, that's for sure.
Bad advertising for AMD.

Before always BSOD randomly ,but most on idle.What a stress......
Apparently it's pretty common for the very first ryzens
 

thuliomoura

New Member
Joined
Sep 13, 2020
Messages
2 (0.02/day)
Hi. My name is thulio and i have the same history....

2017 bought a ryzen 1600 with a A320hd2 and a random ddr4 module of 4 gb and paired it with a 1080TI FE Zotac.

came home to install windows and i was alread getting bsod on windows instalation.

changed the mobo and the memory stick. something was very wrong because yet the system speaker was working, it never did bip on boot.


months later, i was getting all kinds of BSOD ramdonly. Kernel security, irql more or less, apc... a hell and then sudently stopped. it did hapenned when playing games or just in idle. The funny part is that when i openned chrome, the "ah, snap" error ocurred. could not navigate on the internet. I got pissed on 2019 and changed all my setup: Mother board for a B450 gaming , puarchased a qvl mem 2666, bought a ryzen 3600 CPU, bought a smart 600W power supply and a new ssd.

Worked like a charm. months later, same thing. the system just got unstable and started bsod. used my old system just moving the VGA and the old system (ryzen 1600) was given me bsod's too. I thought it were the video Card. But when lower the number of cores on the setup on the bios, the system became stable.

This error is drives me nuts! i cant have a stable system and i dont know what the fuck i have to do or swtich. the funny part is, when the problem goes away it takes months to return. but when return is bsods after bsods.... tested video card with software, it is ok. i will try to swap the video card, but the problems is not the video card, since messing with the cpu core count the system get more stable. now i have just disabled smt and seems everything is fine until now.

someone found a solution for this?
 
Joined
Jan 8, 2017
Messages
6,334 (4.31/day)
System Name Good enough
Processor AMD Ryzen R7 1700X - 4.0 Ghz / 1.350V
Motherboard ASRock B450M Pro4
Cooling Deepcool Gammaxx L240 V2
Memory 16GB - Corsair Vengeance LPX - 3333 Mhz CL16
Video Card(s) OEM Dell GTX 1080 with Kraken G12 + Water 3.0 Performer C
Storage 1x Samsung 850 EVO 250GB , 1x Samsung 860 EVO 500GB
Display(s) 4K Samsung TV
Case Deepcool Matrexx 70
Power Supply GPS-750C
The funny part is that when i openned chrome, the "ah, snap" error ocurred.

100% memory related. The exact same thing happens to me when I mess with the memory clocks and timings and it's unstable. The system crashes in all sort of weird ways including getting this exact "ah, snap error" in browsers. I suppose it could have something to do with CPU's IMC as well but it's definitely something in relation with memory.
 

thuliomoura

New Member
Joined
Sep 13, 2020
Messages
2 (0.02/day)
100% memory related. The exact same thing happens to me when I mess with the memory clocks and timings and it's unstable. The system crashes in all sort of weird ways including getting this exact "ah, snap error" in browsers. I suppose it could have something to do with CPU's IMC as well but it's definitely something in relation with memory.


i lowered the speeds to 2133, it did not solve the problem. i do not do overclock. Disabled all kinds off boost.


Funny part is, i disabled the Virtualization and it worked like a charm again.... i cant bealieve i got unlucky to pick two ryzen processors faulty...jesus
 
Top