• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

IE7 - Firefox Url Handling Bug Caused By Windows

Joined
Jan 19, 2007
Messages
3,376 (0.85/day)
Likes
161
Location
Athens , GREECE
System Name SECONDARY RIG / PRIMARY RIG / THIRD RIG
Processor i920@3.6GHz / i920@4GHz / AMD Phenom II 955
Motherboard Gigabyte EX58-UD4P / Gigabyte EX58-UD7 / ASRock 890GX3
Cooling CoolIT Domino ALC / Thermalright Silver Arrow / Thermalright VenomousX
Memory 12GB DDR3 @ 1800MHZ / 6GB DDR3 @ 2250MHZ / 4GB DDR3 @ 1600MHZ
Video Card(s) XFX ATI RADEON 5970 / GAINWARD NVIDIA GTX 580 / 2xGEFORCE GTX295
Storage 1550GB / 6TB SAS - SSD / 160GB SSD
Display(s) NEC 26WUXi2 / NEC 3090WQXi / SONY 55A2000 (1080P 55inch)
Case COOLER MASTER HAF 932 / COOLER MASTER ATCS 840 / ANTEC DARKFLEET DF85
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster X-Fi Xtreme Music / SoundBlaster X-Fi Fatal1ty Pro / Realtek Onboard
Power Supply CWT 1200W / Enermax Revolution 85+ 1250W / Ikonik Vulcan 1200W
Software Windows 7 x64 / Windows 7 x64 / Windows 7 x64
#1
An exploitable bug in Mozilla Firefox discovered earlier this month was first believed to have been caused by Internet Explorer 7 but soon after that Mozilla was forced to admit that it was Firefox that could trigger the bug as well. Today however that bug has apparently been traced back to a Windows API function. However Mozilla seems to have fixed the bug in their latest Firefox 2.0.0.6 version.

Show full news post
 
Last edited by a moderator:
Joined
May 12, 2006
Messages
491 (0.12/day)
Likes
8
Location
A small crate floating in the Pacific..
Processor Athlon64 X2 3800+ @ 2.6Ghz
Motherboard BioStar TForce4 SLI (939)
Cooling Stock Opteron Heatpipe Cooler
Memory 4x512 Crucial BalistiX, @ DDR520, 2.5-3-3-8
Video Card(s) ATI, x1900 AIW (600/620)
Storage 80GB SATA2, 320GB eSATA2
Display(s) AGM 19" Widescreen LCD, 4ms
Case Aspire X-Dreamer (Black)
Audio Device(s) Auzentech: X-Meridan (Best Soundcard Ever)
Power Supply Rosewill 550W 2x12V
Software XP Professional X64 & Ubuntu 7.10 x86
#2
Well this clears up any disagreements from the initial news post comments about this. People were ready to slam Mozilla for being "quick to judge". Perhaps they were, but this shows it wasn't FF's fault.
 

ex_reven

New Member
Joined
Sep 4, 2006
Messages
5,217 (1.27/day)
Likes
159
#3
I think its just cool how the bug has been in IE all this time, and then within days of the same exploit being found in Mozilla, that it was fixed straight away :p.
 
Joined
Jan 19, 2007
Messages
3,376 (0.85/day)
Likes
161
Location
Athens , GREECE
System Name SECONDARY RIG / PRIMARY RIG / THIRD RIG
Processor i920@3.6GHz / i920@4GHz / AMD Phenom II 955
Motherboard Gigabyte EX58-UD4P / Gigabyte EX58-UD7 / ASRock 890GX3
Cooling CoolIT Domino ALC / Thermalright Silver Arrow / Thermalright VenomousX
Memory 12GB DDR3 @ 1800MHZ / 6GB DDR3 @ 2250MHZ / 4GB DDR3 @ 1600MHZ
Video Card(s) XFX ATI RADEON 5970 / GAINWARD NVIDIA GTX 580 / 2xGEFORCE GTX295
Storage 1550GB / 6TB SAS - SSD / 160GB SSD
Display(s) NEC 26WUXi2 / NEC 3090WQXi / SONY 55A2000 (1080P 55inch)
Case COOLER MASTER HAF 932 / COOLER MASTER ATCS 840 / ANTEC DARKFLEET DF85
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster X-Fi Xtreme Music / SoundBlaster X-Fi Fatal1ty Pro / Realtek Onboard
Power Supply CWT 1200W / Enermax Revolution 85+ 1250W / Ikonik Vulcan 1200W
Software Windows 7 x64 / Windows 7 x64 / Windows 7 x64
#4
I think it is easier to fix something when you have 1 product than when you have 100 so in a way i don't really blame MS. Besides i am sure they will fix it fast now that it is known that it's Windows fault.
 
Joined
May 12, 2006
Messages
491 (0.12/day)
Likes
8
Location
A small crate floating in the Pacific..
Processor Athlon64 X2 3800+ @ 2.6Ghz
Motherboard BioStar TForce4 SLI (939)
Cooling Stock Opteron Heatpipe Cooler
Memory 4x512 Crucial BalistiX, @ DDR520, 2.5-3-3-8
Video Card(s) ATI, x1900 AIW (600/620)
Storage 80GB SATA2, 320GB eSATA2
Display(s) AGM 19" Widescreen LCD, 4ms
Case Aspire X-Dreamer (Black)
Audio Device(s) Auzentech: X-Meridan (Best Soundcard Ever)
Power Supply Rosewill 550W 2x12V
Software XP Professional X64 & Ubuntu 7.10 x86
#5
I think it is easier to fix something when you have 1 product than when you have 100 so in a way i don't really blame MS. Besides i am sure they will fix it fast now that it is known that it's Windows fault.
Well M$ does have dedicated teams per project, so IE has never had an excuse for bugs.
 
Joined
Jan 19, 2007
Messages
3,376 (0.85/day)
Likes
161
Location
Athens , GREECE
System Name SECONDARY RIG / PRIMARY RIG / THIRD RIG
Processor i920@3.6GHz / i920@4GHz / AMD Phenom II 955
Motherboard Gigabyte EX58-UD4P / Gigabyte EX58-UD7 / ASRock 890GX3
Cooling CoolIT Domino ALC / Thermalright Silver Arrow / Thermalright VenomousX
Memory 12GB DDR3 @ 1800MHZ / 6GB DDR3 @ 2250MHZ / 4GB DDR3 @ 1600MHZ
Video Card(s) XFX ATI RADEON 5970 / GAINWARD NVIDIA GTX 580 / 2xGEFORCE GTX295
Storage 1550GB / 6TB SAS - SSD / 160GB SSD
Display(s) NEC 26WUXi2 / NEC 3090WQXi / SONY 55A2000 (1080P 55inch)
Case COOLER MASTER HAF 932 / COOLER MASTER ATCS 840 / ANTEC DARKFLEET DF85
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster X-Fi Xtreme Music / SoundBlaster X-Fi Fatal1ty Pro / Realtek Onboard
Power Supply CWT 1200W / Enermax Revolution 85+ 1250W / Ikonik Vulcan 1200W
Software Windows 7 x64 / Windows 7 x64 / Windows 7 x64
#6
Actually most teams in Microsoft shift projects from time to time according to what project needs more help. However some people stay in every project.
 

Ketxxx

Heedless Psychic
Joined
Mar 4, 2006
Messages
11,507 (2.68/day)
Likes
562
Location
Kingdom of gods
System Name Prowler. V9.
Processor Intel i5 3570k @ 4.6GHz 1.2v
Motherboard Asrock Z77 Extreme6
Cooling Modded CoolIT ECO ALC, 3x 120mm Coolermaster Sickleflow fans
Memory 2x4GB G.Skill Ripjaws @ 2133MHz 10-10-10-25 1N (T)
Video Card(s) HD7950 Vapor-X @ 1.25GHz 1.05v, 6GHz 1.5v
Storage WD Caviar Black 640GB, 32MB cache, SATA
Display(s) 22" LG Flatron W2242S
Case NZXT Apollo
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DX 7.1 PCI-E
Power Supply Corsair HX850w modular
Software Windows 7 x64
#7
Caused by a windows API function.. reeks of M$ discreetly trying to stop mozilla from working on at least their "new baby" Vista. Talking of Vista, I saw a laptop roundup in a mag, think it was PC Pro, only 2 laptops were still using XP, but they absolutely slammed and decimated the Vista based machines in all areas.
 

WarEagleAU

Bird of Prey
Joined
Jul 9, 2006
Messages
10,809 (2.59/day)
Likes
529
Location
Gurley, AL
System Name Boddha Getta Boddha Getta Bah!
Processor AMD FX 6100 @ 4.432Ghz @1.382
Motherboard ASUS M5A99X EVO AMD 990X AMD SB950
Cooling Custom Water. EK 240MM Kit, Supreme HSF - Runs 35C
Memory 2 x 4GB Corsair Vengeance White LP @ 1.35V
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon HD 6870 980/1100
Storage WD Caviar Black 1.0TB, WD Caviar Green 1.0TB, WD 160GB
Display(s) Asus VH222/S 22: (21.5" Viewable) 1920x1080p HDMI LCD Monitor
Case NZXT White Switch 810
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek 5.1
Power Supply NZXT Hale 90 Gold Cert 750W Modular PSU
Software Windows 8.1 Profession 64 Bit
#8
::grin Ketxxx::


good to know it wasnt FFs fault, but I still stand behind the comment that within 2 or so days, the problem was fixed with a WINDOWS API error for Firefox (perhaps ms is trying to keep FF off vista?)

And the thing with MS, they have dedicated teams, this should have been fixed with IE soon after it was discovered.