• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

IEEE 1394 (firewire) Help

gamer210

New Member
Joined
Dec 26, 2005
Messages
136 (0.03/day)
Likes
1
Location
University of Texas San Antonio
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 @ 2.66 GHz
Motherboard ASUS P5Q Pro
Cooling Zalman CNPS 9700
Memory Mushkin XP 4GB DDR2 1066
Video Card(s) 2x Radeon HD 4850
Storage Seagate 750 GB w/ 32MB Cache
Display(s) Dell 2007WFP Rev A04 S-IPS
Case Tuniq 3
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DX
Power Supply PC Power & Cooling 610
Software Microsoft Windows Vista Business 64-bit
#1
I just bought a new digital camcorder with a DV link on it. My case has a firewire plug (6 pin), but my motherboard doesn't have a 1394 header. I don't have any spare PCI slots, so buying a card is out of the question. Does anybody have any suggestions? I would really appreciate your help.
 
Joined
Dec 28, 2005
Messages
1,531 (0.35/day)
Likes
0
Location
San Luis Obispo, CA
Processor AMD Athlon64 X2 3800+ @ 2.4Ghz
Motherboard ECS NForce4 A-939
Cooling CPU: Zalman CNPS7000B-AlCu GFX: Zalman VF-700AlCu, 2x120mm+5x80mm w/ Ultra 7ch Fan Controller
Memory Kingston 2x512MB DDR PC3200 Dual Channel 3-3-3-8
Video Card(s) EVGA Nvidia 7900GT KO Superclocked
Storage 2xSeagate Barracuda 7200.8/9 160GB SATAII NCQ in RAID0: 300GB total capacity
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster 941BW (19" widescreen, 1440x900)
Case Antec P180B
Audio Device(s) Built in. 5.1Ch Logitech Z-5500 500w soundsystem, digital Coax connection
Power Supply Spire 500W
Software Windows Vista Ultimate
#2
hmmm....

the only way i know to get it is to buy a pci card. theres no such thing as a usb->firewire thingy that i know of. hmm.
 
Joined
Feb 7, 2006
Messages
1,838 (0.42/day)
Likes
7
Location
Boston
Processor AMD X2 AM2+
Memory 2GB DDR2
Video Card(s) 7900gto
Storage 80GB+120GB 7200RPM IDE + 250GB SATA2 + 500GB SATA2
Display(s) 26" 1920x1200
Case Antec Nine Hundred
Audio Device(s) OnBoard
Power Supply Ultra 600W with X-Connect
Software Vista Ultimate
#3
yea, unfortunately i don't think usb to firewire available. if you have a sound card, you could replace that with a diferent sound card that has firewire (a lot of them do)

otherwise.... idk
 
Joined
Jul 1, 2005
Messages
5,196 (1.14/day)
Likes
296
Location
Kansas City, KS
System Name Dell XPS 15 9560
Processor I7-7700HQ
Memory 32GB DDR4
Video Card(s) GTX 1050/1080 Ti
Storage 1TB SSD
Display(s) 2x Dell P2715Q/4k Internal
Case Razer Core
Audio Device(s) Creative E5/Objective 2 Amp/Senn HD650
Mouse Logitech Proteus Core
Keyboard Logitech G910
#4
i_am_mustang_man said:
yea, unfortunately i don't think usb to firewire available. if you have a sound card, you could replace that with a diferent sound card that has firewire (a lot of them do)

otherwise.... idk

Sound card, or pci card.

USB->firewire is not possible directly.
 

W2hCYK

New Member
Joined
Dec 2, 2005
Messages
907 (0.21/day)
Likes
96
Processor Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 @ 3.3GHz
Motherboard P5WDG2-WS Pro, need new chipset cooler.
Cooling Dangerden TDX-775
Memory OCZ 2gb PC2-6400 DDR2 RAM 4-5-4-15
Video Card(s) X850XTPE 256mb @ 585/640
Storage 2x 250gb Perpendicular SATA3.0, 2x Maxtor DiamondMax10 160gb SATA-150 drives
Display(s) Sceptre 19" 8ms LCD
Case Lian-Li PC-65
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply OCZ GameXStream 700w 18a 12v, Quad Rail
Software Windows XP SP2
#5
do you have a USB card? replace it with a USB/FW card for a 2 in 1 deal..
 

gamer210

New Member
Joined
Dec 26, 2005
Messages
136 (0.03/day)
Likes
1
Location
University of Texas San Antonio
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 @ 2.66 GHz
Motherboard ASUS P5Q Pro
Cooling Zalman CNPS 9700
Memory Mushkin XP 4GB DDR2 1066
Video Card(s) 2x Radeon HD 4850
Storage Seagate 750 GB w/ 32MB Cache
Display(s) Dell 2007WFP Rev A04 S-IPS
Case Tuniq 3
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DX
Power Supply PC Power & Cooling 610
Software Microsoft Windows Vista Business 64-bit
#6
My board only has 2 PCI slots. I have my X800 w/ Silencer that takes up the pci slot beneath PCI-E. Under that Is my SB Audigy 4. I have an open PCI-E 1x, but I've only found a few of them, and they are relatively expensive.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 7, 2006
Messages
1,838 (0.42/day)
Likes
7
Location
Boston
Processor AMD X2 AM2+
Memory 2GB DDR2
Video Card(s) 7900gto
Storage 80GB+120GB 7200RPM IDE + 250GB SATA2 + 500GB SATA2
Display(s) 26" 1920x1200
Case Antec Nine Hundred
Audio Device(s) OnBoard
Power Supply Ultra 600W with X-Connect
Software Vista Ultimate
#7
the only option i see for you is a different mobo that has 1394, or replace your sb with one that has 1394
 

b1lk1

New Member
Joined
May 4, 2005
Messages
688 (0.15/day)
Likes
17
Location
Ontario, Canada
System Name Money pit
Processor Q2Q Q8300
Motherboard ASUS P5E3 deluxe WIFI AP@N
Cooling 120.2/Swiftech655/Apogee GT/DD Fillport & res
Memory OCZ PC3-1333MHZ 2X1GB/Kingston HYPERX PC3-1325MHz
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD4830
Storage Seagate 7200.11 1TB
Display(s) Dell 2209WA
Case some crap 5 year old generic modded case
Audio Device(s) X-FI fagtality
Power Supply PC P&C 510W
Software Vista Premium 64
#8
Dump the Audigy 4 and get the Audigy 2ZS as it has a firewire port and an internal header I believe.
 

cdawall

where the hell are my stars
Joined
Jul 23, 2006
Messages
26,540 (6.38/day)
Likes
7,452
Location
Houston
System Name Team Blue
Processor 5960X@4.8 1.42v
Motherboard Asus X99M-WS
Cooling EK Supremecy EVO, MCR220-Stack+MCR220+MCR320, D5-PWM+EK X-RES 140
Memory 4x8GB G.Skill Trident Z 3200 CL16
Video Card(s) (2) EVGA SC BLACK 1080Ti's+ EVGA reference 1080Ti soon to be under water
Storage Samsung SM951 512GB, Samsung PM961 512GB
Display(s) Dell UP2414Q 3840X2160@60hz
Case Caselabs Mercury S5
Audio Device(s) Fischer HA-02->Fischer FA-002W High edition/FA-003/Jubilate/FA-011 depending on my mood
Power Supply Seasonic Prime 1200w
Mouse Thermaltake Theron
Keyboard Thermaltake Poseidon ZX
Software W10P
Benchmark Scores Zoom zoom mofo
#9
you cuold get a usb soundcard and then as if by magic a pci slot opens up or you could just use the intigrated stuff it is not really all that bad anymore
 

slickman

New Member
Joined
Aug 16, 2006
Messages
2 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#10
confused motherboard?

I got a firewire port built into my PC and whenever i plug in my camera via firewire, my PC dont detect anything. i go to device manager and it reports that the thing is enabled and there are no problems, but if that were the case i wont have any problem. i get the bios for my computer and the driver for the firewire port updated from the technical support page for my PC still it doesnt work. i go to my friends house to check if it my camera and cable work. i plug it into his and it detects instantly. there was no difference appart from computers.

any1 got advice 4 dis problem?
 

cdawall

where the hell are my stars
Joined
Jul 23, 2006
Messages
26,540 (6.38/day)
Likes
7,452
Location
Houston
System Name Team Blue
Processor 5960X@4.8 1.42v
Motherboard Asus X99M-WS
Cooling EK Supremecy EVO, MCR220-Stack+MCR220+MCR320, D5-PWM+EK X-RES 140
Memory 4x8GB G.Skill Trident Z 3200 CL16
Video Card(s) (2) EVGA SC BLACK 1080Ti's+ EVGA reference 1080Ti soon to be under water
Storage Samsung SM951 512GB, Samsung PM961 512GB
Display(s) Dell UP2414Q 3840X2160@60hz
Case Caselabs Mercury S5
Audio Device(s) Fischer HA-02->Fischer FA-002W High edition/FA-003/Jubilate/FA-011 depending on my mood
Power Supply Seasonic Prime 1200w
Mouse Thermaltake Theron
Keyboard Thermaltake Poseidon ZX
Software W10P
Benchmark Scores Zoom zoom mofo
#11
is firewire enabled in bios and in the jumpers (read your manual)
 

slickman

New Member
Joined
Aug 16, 2006
Messages
2 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#12
yh da firewire is enabled in da bios setup page dats y it shows up in da network connections
but i dont know wot ur on about wen u talk bout da jumpers, tell me bout dem plz

maybe dat might b da solution