• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

im a little new to over clocking

leprakorn

New Member
Joined
May 19, 2005
Messages
4
Likes
0
#1
ok ive had a 9800pro for about 2 years.
ive had to get a new cooler because the old one burnt out.
i got the zalman ZM80C-HP + fan that comes with it, also i cleaned the whole thing, even the thermal grease and applied some thermal take arctic silver.

so cooling aside i think itll be fine there.
i got the atitool just a few mins ago and i got no idea what to overclock it to, i guess im affraid of melting it.

any recomendations?

oh and how do i view the temp on my card?
 
Joined
May 5, 2005
Messages
40
Likes
0
Location
South Africa
Processor Amd +3500
Motherboard Asus A8R32-MVP Deluxe
Cooling Custom Water cooling
Memory 4xKingston 512Mb
Video Card(s) 2x Asus X1600Xt
Storage 2xSeagate 200Gb Sata
Display(s) 19 Wide Lcd
Case Antec plusview 1000amg
Audio Device(s) Sound blaster Audigy 2zs
Power Supply 550 Watt Antec
#2
Ello there.

Well interms of cooling you should be fine, like you say no problems there. And for the ati tool just hit find max core and then find max mem and ati tool will do the rest automatically searching for signs of overheating and atifacting so it will find the best core and mem clocks that work. and the temperature should be dispalyed by ati tool in the top right if im not mistaken
 

leprakorn

New Member
Joined
May 19, 2005
Messages
4
Likes
0
#3
ok......its been going for 5mins already and its upto 408.86 core and riseing...
is that a little high?
and theres no temp monitor

nvm it stoped at 432 core..doing mem now
 
Joined
May 5, 2005
Messages
40
Likes
0
Location
South Africa
Processor Amd +3500
Motherboard Asus A8R32-MVP Deluxe
Cooling Custom Water cooling
Memory 4xKingston 512Mb
Video Card(s) 2x Asus X1600Xt
Storage 2xSeagate 200Gb Sata
Display(s) 19 Wide Lcd
Case Antec plusview 1000amg
Audio Device(s) Sound blaster Audigy 2zs
Power Supply 550 Watt Antec
#4
ah i wouldnt worry bout it being too high ati tool knows when to stop and as for the temp monitor mmm... dunno must ask around ive got a radeon 9600se which doesnt even have temp monitoring at all
 
Joined
May 5, 2005
Messages
40
Likes
0
Location
South Africa
Processor Amd +3500
Motherboard Asus A8R32-MVP Deluxe
Cooling Custom Water cooling
Memory 4xKingston 512Mb
Video Card(s) 2x Asus X1600Xt
Storage 2xSeagate 200Gb Sata
Display(s) 19 Wide Lcd
Case Antec plusview 1000amg
Audio Device(s) Sound blaster Audigy 2zs
Power Supply 550 Watt Antec
#5
oh the one thing you may want to do is increase the time ati tool takes for heat up between increasing core and mem just incase and to preven it from being overclocked to fast.
 

leprakorn

New Member
Joined
May 19, 2005
Messages
4
Likes
0
#6
lol too late.
ive overclocked to
core:432
mem:348.30

that sounds about right doesnt it?

and about the temp monitor, i read in one of the posts that i need some bios update, ill take a look at that.

and ty for the help.
 

wtf8269

New Member
Joined
Apr 12, 2005
Messages
2,489
Likes
19
Location
Ohio
System Name Onus
Processor E8500 @ 3.95ghz ~1.25v
Motherboard ASUS P5E Deluxe
Cooling Scythe Orochi cpu, 5x 120mm Zalman red LED case fans, stock GPU coolers
Memory 8gb (4x2gb) G.Skill PC8000 5-5-5-15
Video Card(s) 2x ASUS 3870x2s
Storage 4x160gb RAID 0 Main, 2x 500gb RAID 0 media storage.
Display(s) LG W2600H
Case Lian Li PC-A70B, painted black and other modded aspects :)
Audio Device(s) HT Omega Striker. Klipsch RF-3II fronts, Yamaha NS-A222 rears, Klipsch RC-3II center, Klipsch SUB12
Power Supply Corsair CMPSU-750TX
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64, lots of games, photoshop n stuff.
#7
TeufelHund said:
Ello there.

Well interms of cooling you should be fine, like you say no problems there. And for the ati tool just hit find max core and then find max mem and ati tool will do the rest automatically searching for signs of overheating and atifacting so it will find the best core and mem clocks that work. and the temperature should be dispalyed by ati tool in the top right if im not mistaken
He's not going to have temperature monitoring unless he has an R360 core.
 

leprakorn

New Member
Joined
May 19, 2005
Messages
4
Likes
0
#8
when i was realding some of the other threads and some of the 9800pro's have a r360 core, how do i cheak if i have one?
 
Joined
May 5, 2005
Messages
40
Likes
0
Location
South Africa
Processor Amd +3500
Motherboard Asus A8R32-MVP Deluxe
Cooling Custom Water cooling
Memory 4xKingston 512Mb
Video Card(s) 2x Asus X1600Xt
Storage 2xSeagate 200Gb Sata
Display(s) 19 Wide Lcd
Case Antec plusview 1000amg
Audio Device(s) Sound blaster Audigy 2zs
Power Supply 550 Watt Antec
#9
well the easiest way to check is using ati tool just go to settings and under overclocking there should be chip type between device ID and Memory size
 

Polaris573

Senior Moderator
Joined
Feb 26, 2005
Messages
4,268
Likes
672
Location
Little Rock, USA
Processor LGA 775 Intel Q9550 2.8 Ghz
Motherboard MSI P7N Diamond - 780i Chipset
Cooling Arctic Freezer
Memory 6GB G.Skill DDRII 800 4-4-3-5
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD 7850 2 GB PCI-E
Storage 1 TB Seagate 32MB Cache, 250 GB Seagate 16MB Cache
Display(s) Acer X203w
Case Coolermaster Centurion 5
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Xtreme Music
Power Supply OCZ StealthXStream 600 Watt
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
#10
No, that won't work. ATI tool will report it as an R350 just because you have 9800pro bios. You can dump the bios using ati tool and then use RaBit to view it. If you have an R360 rabit should have this line in the description "R360 Hynix DDR 113-A07537-103 BIOS" (without the quotes and the key part being the R360). If the description has R360 in it, there is a good chance you have the R360 core. Of course to be absolutly sure, take the heatsink off your GPU and use your own eyes to see if has R360 written on it.