• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

I'm having trouble with Asus 990FX 2.0 + AMD FX9590 + Windows 10. Can anyone help?

NavyGeo

New Member
Joined
Aug 3, 2020
Messages
8 (0.15/day)
Hi everyone, this is my first post having found your site. I'm looking for some help.

A while back I had a CPU failure and decided to upgrade, but couldn't really afford to upgrade more than my CPU. As the title states I have an older Asus Sabertooth 990FX 2.0 motherboard(used, ebay), a MUCH OLDER Radeon R9 295 liquid-cooled video card(used, ebay), and 16gb stock no-name RAM(local computer store). I have this in a decent CoolerMaster HAF case(local computer store). Well my 8320FX failed so I decided to upgrade to the best CPU I could find. I didn't read enough before going with the 9590 FX though! After installing it(used, ebay) under the existing CoolerMaster liquid-cooling unit(used, ebay), it promptly did nothing. After a few hours of research I came to the conclusion that my 750 watt power-supply just wasn't enough. So I saved up and installed a 1200 watt Thermaltake power-supply(used, ebay). I have a 500gb SATA HDD(used, ebay) and a LG SATA DVD writer(local computer store). I have the DVD plugged into one of the 6 'brown' SATA ports(AMD serial ATA 6gb/s), and the HDD plugged into one of the 'white' SATA ports(JMicron serial ATA 3gb/s).

I powered the rig up and it booted to BIOS. It continued on and recognized all the hardware, and recognized the Windows 10(Home) DVD in the drive. I began Windows installation, but it cannot complete. it keeps stopping near the end with an error message that an installation file is corrupt or missing. I attempted with both of my purchased Windows 10 DVDs(local computer store), but get the same failure. Does anyone have any ideas about why it would do that? Should I get a different HDD?
 
Joined
May 28, 2020
Messages
250 (2.08/day)
System Name Main PC
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 3700X
Motherboard ASUS X570 Crosshair VIII Hero (Wi-Fi)
Cooling EKWB X570 VIII Hero Monoblock, Corsair HYDRO X 2080 Ti block & XD5 pump/res, Heatkiller IV SB block
Memory 2x 2x16GB 3200-14-14-14-34 G.Skill Trident RGB (OC: 3600-14-14-14-28)
Video Card(s) PNY GeForce RTX 2080 Ti OC
Storage Corsair Force LE SSD 500GB, Fusion IoDrive 2 1TB, Huawei HSSD 2TB
Display(s) 1x Dell U2913WM 2560x1080 75Hz, 1x BENQ XL2411Z 1920x1080 100Hz, 1x Acer XB1 xb271hu 2560x1440 144Hz
Case Phanteks P600S
Audio Device(s) Sennheiser HD599, Blue Yeti
Power Supply EVGA SuperNova G2 750W
Mouse Logitech G502 Lightspeed
Keyboard Corsair Strafe RGB MK2
Software Windows 10 Pro 2004
Benchmark Scores Cinebench R20: 5086 MC, 498 SC CPU-Z 17.01.64: 5788.9 MC 521.5 SC
Have you tried using the Windows 10 media creation tool to make a bootable USB? I didn't even know W10 still shipped on CDs.

Also, if you have multiple SATA3 (6bgps) ports, why not put both devices on them instead of limiting the HDD to 3gbps? (not that it will matter either way as neither will be fast enough to be bottlenecked by the interface)
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
18,454 (4.71/day)
Benchmark Scores Faster than yours... I'd bet on it. :)
ave you tried using the Windows 10 media creation tool to make a bootable USB
Try this before a different HDD. Your error as you are telling us says an installation file is corrupt or missing. That wouldn't have anything to do with the HDD in all likelyhood.
 

NavyGeo

New Member
Joined
Aug 3, 2020
Messages
8 (0.15/day)
I'll do the research and try creating an installation tool. By the way, i can install LinUx(SuSe 13) with absolutely no problem from a DVD in the same drive. I just did that this morning because when I went to do more troubleshooting with my Win 10 DVDs, I started getting an error message that media drivers were missing and that Windows could not be installed.
 
Joined
May 28, 2020
Messages
250 (2.08/day)
System Name Main PC
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 3700X
Motherboard ASUS X570 Crosshair VIII Hero (Wi-Fi)
Cooling EKWB X570 VIII Hero Monoblock, Corsair HYDRO X 2080 Ti block & XD5 pump/res, Heatkiller IV SB block
Memory 2x 2x16GB 3200-14-14-14-34 G.Skill Trident RGB (OC: 3600-14-14-14-28)
Video Card(s) PNY GeForce RTX 2080 Ti OC
Storage Corsair Force LE SSD 500GB, Fusion IoDrive 2 1TB, Huawei HSSD 2TB
Display(s) 1x Dell U2913WM 2560x1080 75Hz, 1x BENQ XL2411Z 1920x1080 100Hz, 1x Acer XB1 xb271hu 2560x1440 144Hz
Case Phanteks P600S
Audio Device(s) Sennheiser HD599, Blue Yeti
Power Supply EVGA SuperNova G2 750W
Mouse Logitech G502 Lightspeed
Keyboard Corsair Strafe RGB MK2
Software Windows 10 Pro 2004
Benchmark Scores Cinebench R20: 5086 MC, 498 SC CPU-Z 17.01.64: 5788.9 MC 521.5 SC
I'll do the research and try creating an installation tool. By the way, i can install LinUx(SuSe 13) with absolutely no problem from a DVD in the same drive. I just did that this morning because when I went to do more troubleshooting with my Win 10 DVDs, I started getting an error message that media drivers were missing and that Windows could not be installed.
Seems like a broken installation media to me then, since the destination drives work with another installation media. Any visible scratches on the Win10 CD?

This is why I don't recommend CD/DVD drives for practically any purpose btw, too easy to just destroy data by bumping it or scratching it
 

NavyGeo

New Member
Joined
Aug 3, 2020
Messages
8 (0.15/day)
Seems like a broken installation media to me then, since the destination drives work with another installation media. Any visible scratches on the Win10 CD?

This is why I don't recommend CD/DVD drives for practically any purpose btw, too easy to just destroy data by bumping it or scratching it
I can agree, but I get the same error with two separate Win 10 installation DVDs! I had to purchase two; one for my computer, and one for my grandsons.
 
Joined
May 28, 2020
Messages
250 (2.08/day)
System Name Main PC
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 3700X
Motherboard ASUS X570 Crosshair VIII Hero (Wi-Fi)
Cooling EKWB X570 VIII Hero Monoblock, Corsair HYDRO X 2080 Ti block & XD5 pump/res, Heatkiller IV SB block
Memory 2x 2x16GB 3200-14-14-14-34 G.Skill Trident RGB (OC: 3600-14-14-14-28)
Video Card(s) PNY GeForce RTX 2080 Ti OC
Storage Corsair Force LE SSD 500GB, Fusion IoDrive 2 1TB, Huawei HSSD 2TB
Display(s) 1x Dell U2913WM 2560x1080 75Hz, 1x BENQ XL2411Z 1920x1080 100Hz, 1x Acer XB1 xb271hu 2560x1440 144Hz
Case Phanteks P600S
Audio Device(s) Sennheiser HD599, Blue Yeti
Power Supply EVGA SuperNova G2 750W
Mouse Logitech G502 Lightspeed
Keyboard Corsair Strafe RGB MK2
Software Windows 10 Pro 2004
Benchmark Scores Cinebench R20: 5086 MC, 498 SC CPU-Z 17.01.64: 5788.9 MC 521.5 SC
I can agree, but I get the same error with two separate Win 10 installation DVDs! I had to purchase two; one for my computer, and one for my grandsons.
Very strange to see the same error on two separate disks. Might be a manufacturing defect then, or you were super unlucky and scratched the exact same data on both disks :D.

In any case, see how you get on with making the USB pen, I'm positive that should work. All you need is access to a computer with an internet connection and a 8GB USB stick and it's just as easy as downloading the tool and clicking next a bunch of times.
 

NavyGeo

New Member
Joined
Aug 3, 2020
Messages
8 (0.15/day)
Have you tried using the Windows 10 media creation tool to make a bootable USB? I didn't even know W10 still shipped on CDs.

Also, if you have multiple SATA3 (6bgps) ports, why not put both devices on them instead of limiting the HDD to 3gbps? (not that it will matter either way as neither will be fast enough to be bottlenecked by the interface)
Try this before a different HDD. Your error as you are telling us says an installation file is corrupt or missing. That wouldn't have anything to do with the HDD in all likelyhood.
Thank you both very much. I created a bootable media, and it has gone farther than the DVDs did. I'm hoping to see an actual desktop here soon! I'll keep you posted.

Well my R9 295 just isn't playing anymore, so I had to put in an ancient HD 7800. With the exception of a mismatch between the monitor resolution and the GPU resolution it appears my machine is functional. CPU-Z shows the cores running a 4715mhz, and a bus speed of 200mhz. Speccy shows the CPU temperature between 28C and 38C, the MB temperature at 31C, and the GPU temperature at 39C. now i need to find a decent replacement for my R9 295 GPU! It got about halfway through and starting sprouting blue lines vertically along the left side, then just started 'resetting' the computer randomly. So far the old HD7800 is chugging along fine.
I'd like to thank Kayjay010101 and EarthDog for their suggestions. I wouldn't have this machine running any OS if not for your insight!

Now if I can just find a machine to load my O/S2 on...
 

NavyGeo

New Member
Joined
Aug 3, 2020
Messages
8 (0.15/day)
Just a quick update if Kayjay or EarthDog are interested; I have my FX9590/Sabertooth 990FX r2 running beautifully! I have 32gb of RAM installed, along with a SoundBlaster-Z and a Radeon RX580. The system has been as stable as any I've built previously. It games extremely well for me(World of Tanks, World of Warcraft), and handles full-time BOINC-powered research with no issues. Again, thank you both for all your help!

http://speccy.piriform.com/results/ykY6OFbySsohiD6mFRshBix
 
Top