• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

iMac AMD Radeon 5750 (5850m) flash error

Joined
Feb 12, 2006
Messages
2,296 (0.52/day)
Likes
419
System Name MONEY PIT
Processor i7-3770K @ 4800 1.20v batch #3231B415 Delided
Motherboard ASrock Z77 OC Formula w onboard waterblocks
Cooling Apogee HD, MCP655,rad MCR320-XP,Micro Rev2 res
Memory G,skill Trident X F3-2400C10D-16GTX
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 980 Ti Classified with EK nickel/acetal waterblock installed
Storage 2x120gig Wildfire raid0 2x120gig VERTEX3 raid0
Display(s) 3/ Samsung2343bwx + 65in LG 4K
Case NZXT Phantom White w/red
Audio Device(s) ReCon3d fatal1ty pro, Logitech z906 THX
Power Supply corsair AX860i
Mouse Rat7
Software 64bit ++++ win 10
#76
I will be fixing it later today or tomorrow
you can prob re-use the thermal pads But don't be cheep on the TIM. Would suggest GELID EXTREME because of the cramped location & heat produced by the card
 
Joined
Oct 13, 2007
Messages
7,693 (2.00/day)
Likes
1,772
Location
Chicago
System Name DarkStar
Processor i5 3570K 4.4Ghz
Motherboard Asrock Z77 Extreme 3
Cooling Apogee HD White/XSPC Razer blocks
Memory 8GB Samsung Green 1600
Video Card(s) 2 x GTX 670 4GB
Storage 2 x 120GB Samsung 830
Display(s) 27" QNIX
Case Enthoo Pro
Power Supply Seasonic Platinum 760
Mouse Steelseries Sensei
Keyboard Ducky Pro MX Black
Software Windows 8.1 x64
#77
There is a windows partition reading software for the OSX, so thought that there might be something similar for Windows? If I could enable SSH on the iMac harddisc, which I have extracted - that would be golden! :)
Yes it is called Mac Drive, as mentioned earlier. A commercial product. As for SSH, again, the OS X system has to be booted or "active" for the ssh binary to be running and accept connections with your user account credentials. So, actually, you may be able to get to it just booting the Mac to black screen and then trying to connect via PuTTY or KiTTY from your Windows box.
 

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
10,617 (4.67/day)
Likes
5,737
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.5Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Corsair H100i V2
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 390 GAMING 8GB @ PCI-E 3.0
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 Corsair Force GT Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 17.10
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
#78
Yes it is called Mac Drive, as mentioned earlier. A commercial product. As for SSH, again, the OS X system has to be booted or "active" for the ssh binary to be running and accept connections with your user account credentials. So, actually, you may be able to get to it just booting the Mac to black screen and then trying to connect via PuTTY or KiTTY from your Windows box.
Wrong, you can chroot into the system but you really should be running the same OS that you're chrooting into, so unless he has another Mac handy that won't work. It also won't help get the old BIOS back on the GPU, so I don't quite see what help that this will be anyways. SSH also has to be enabled to expect to get into it with PUTTY as its configured now. If SSH was never turned on you'll be SoL.
 
Joined
Oct 13, 2007
Messages
7,693 (2.00/day)
Likes
1,772
Location
Chicago
System Name DarkStar
Processor i5 3570K 4.4Ghz
Motherboard Asrock Z77 Extreme 3
Cooling Apogee HD White/XSPC Razer blocks
Memory 8GB Samsung Green 1600
Video Card(s) 2 x GTX 670 4GB
Storage 2 x 120GB Samsung 830
Display(s) 27" QNIX
Case Enthoo Pro
Power Supply Seasonic Platinum 760
Mouse Steelseries Sensei
Keyboard Ducky Pro MX Black
Software Windows 8.1 x64
#79
Isn't that just "single user mode"? I thought that he was trying to get at his data...
 

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
10,617 (4.67/day)
Likes
5,737
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.5Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Corsair H100i V2
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 390 GAMING 8GB @ PCI-E 3.0
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 Corsair Force GT Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 17.10
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
#80
Isn't that just "single user mode"? I thought that he was trying to get at his data...
You don't need to chroot if all you need to do is get data. You need to chroot if you want to make changes to the OS/Filesystem without booting it by making the machine think that you're root directory is actually somewhere else.

It's more like "recovery mode" without booting into the OS.
 
Joined
Oct 13, 2007
Messages
7,693 (2.00/day)
Likes
1,772
Location
Chicago
System Name DarkStar
Processor i5 3570K 4.4Ghz
Motherboard Asrock Z77 Extreme 3
Cooling Apogee HD White/XSPC Razer blocks
Memory 8GB Samsung Green 1600
Video Card(s) 2 x GTX 670 4GB
Storage 2 x 120GB Samsung 830
Display(s) 27" QNIX
Case Enthoo Pro
Power Supply Seasonic Platinum 760
Mouse Steelseries Sensei
Keyboard Ducky Pro MX Black
Software Windows 8.1 x64
#81
Yeah I am not exactly sure why he seeks "SSH access"; didn't ask. Really shouldn't make any assumptions with the likes of this guy and this situation either...
 
Joined
Mar 12, 2009
Messages
1,042 (0.31/day)
Likes
153
Location
SCOTLAND!
System Name Machine XII
Processor Phenom II 1155T
Motherboard Asus M4A88TD-M EVO/USB3
Cooling Custom Water Cooling
Memory 8Gb ddr3 1600mhz XMS 3
Video Card(s) HD5970 2Gb
Storage 128Gb Sandisk SATAIII 6G/s
Display(s) 19" + 23" + 17"
Case micro atx case
Audio Device(s) XFi xtreme OEM
Power Supply 750W
Software Windows 7 x64 Ultimate
#82
i would get another mac and use it to access your hard drive and get the backup bios you saved so when you take it to get the chip flashed your 100% sure its the right bios.
 
Joined
Oct 13, 2007
Messages
7,693 (2.00/day)
Likes
1,772
Location
Chicago
System Name DarkStar
Processor i5 3570K 4.4Ghz
Motherboard Asrock Z77 Extreme 3
Cooling Apogee HD White/XSPC Razer blocks
Memory 8GB Samsung Green 1600
Video Card(s) 2 x GTX 670 4GB
Storage 2 x 120GB Samsung 830
Display(s) 27" QNIX
Case Enthoo Pro
Power Supply Seasonic Platinum 760
Mouse Steelseries Sensei
Keyboard Ducky Pro MX Black
Software Windows 8.1 x64
#83
Oh yeah, maybe that's what he is after data-wise at this point.
 
Joined
Mar 16, 2013
Messages
46 (0.02/day)
Likes
3
#84
you can prob re-use the thermal pads But don't be cheep on the TIM. Would suggest GELID EXTREME because of the cramped location & heat produced by the card
I was actually planning on using thermal paste arctic mx-4 :)

Yes it is called Mac Drive, as mentioned earlier. A commercial product. As for SSH, again, the OS X system has to be booted or "active" for the ssh binary to be running and accept connections with your user account credentials. So, actually, you may be able to get to it just booting the Mac to black screen and then trying to connect via PuTTY or KiTTY from your Windows box.
Isn't that just "single user mode"? I thought that he was trying to get at his data...
Yeah I am not exactly sure why he seeks "SSH access"; didn't ask. Really shouldn't make any assumptions with the likes of this guy and this situation either...
I already retrieved my data and extracted the BIOS. The reason why I wanted to have SSH access was so that I could flash within the OSX system and use my backup VGA rom file. :)

i would get another mac and use it to access your hard drive and get the backup bios you saved so when you take it to get the chip flashed your 100% sure its the right bios.
I already did extract the backup BIOS from my iMac harddisc. And I also have other Mac computers e.g. I have a MacBook Air also :) And I handed it over today to be flashed with the original BIOS backup on a USB flash drive (128 kb) :)
 
Joined
Oct 13, 2007
Messages
7,693 (2.00/day)
Likes
1,772
Location
Chicago
System Name DarkStar
Processor i5 3570K 4.4Ghz
Motherboard Asrock Z77 Extreme 3
Cooling Apogee HD White/XSPC Razer blocks
Memory 8GB Samsung Green 1600
Video Card(s) 2 x GTX 670 4GB
Storage 2 x 120GB Samsung 830
Display(s) 27" QNIX
Case Enthoo Pro
Power Supply Seasonic Platinum 760
Mouse Steelseries Sensei
Keyboard Ducky Pro MX Black
Software Windows 8.1 x64
#85
All right, good luck. What a saga...
 
Joined
Mar 12, 2009
Messages
1,042 (0.31/day)
Likes
153
Location
SCOTLAND!
System Name Machine XII
Processor Phenom II 1155T
Motherboard Asus M4A88TD-M EVO/USB3
Cooling Custom Water Cooling
Memory 8Gb ddr3 1600mhz XMS 3
Video Card(s) HD5970 2Gb
Storage 128Gb Sandisk SATAIII 6G/s
Display(s) 19" + 23" + 17"
Case micro atx case
Audio Device(s) XFi xtreme OEM
Power Supply 750W
Software Windows 7 x64 Ultimate
#86
I hope it goes well for you.

This should be a lesson to you and everyone else who thinks about flashing any bios before finding the recovery procedure.

I had to break out an old pci ati rage to get my HD5850 working after a bad attempt at a modded bios.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 16, 2013
Messages
46 (0.02/day)
Likes
3
#87
I hope it goes well for you.

This should be a lesson to you and everyone else who thinks about flashing any bios before finding the recovery procedure.

I had to break out an old pci ati rage to get my HD5850 working after a bad attempt at a modded bios.
It was a bad ATIFlash. Sh!t happens and I have actually flashed 4 BIOS'es since that. I have been modding things, flashing, soldering and such for over 20 years now... And I think that it has gone bad 2-3 times in the period. But I would strongly recommend people not to do so without being able to recover or bear the loss. It was an unwise decision on my part and could I redo it, then I would never have done it same goes for future similar situations :)

All right, good luck. What a saga...
Yeah it has been an unnecessary ride for my part! But lessons learned and experience gained! And I hope that it recovers :) But that's how it is sometimes - you take some risks, when you experiment in order to learn new things :)
 
Last edited:

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
10,617 (4.67/day)
Likes
5,737
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.5Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Corsair H100i V2
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 390 GAMING 8GB @ PCI-E 3.0
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 Corsair Force GT Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 17.10
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
#88
Yeah it has been an unnecessary ride for my part! But lessons learned and experience gained! And I hope that it recovers But that's how it is sometimes - you take some risks, when you experiment in order to learn new things
Yup, sometimes lessons are learned the hard way. I've been super careful ever since I flashed the wrong BIOS to a motherboard several years ago. You can easily brick hardware even if you manage to flash it back.

It didn't stop me though, it just made me more careful and more picky about what and when I flash a BIOS of any kind... unless its for a micro-controller and I'm developing on it, in that case I will flash EEPROM all day long. :p
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
20,906 (5.30/day)
Likes
5,888
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#89
sorry to hear but hard lesson learned. If youre able to find another MXM for that unit that is designed for the MAC go for it.

Card makers need to adopt PLCC.
 
Joined
Mar 16, 2013
Messages
46 (0.02/day)
Likes
3
#90
I went to the place and they could not fix so.... So I just bought a new card.... And just replaced it with a AMD Radeon HD 7970M... It didnt fit, so I had to modify my spacing within my cabinet and the VGA card (MXM)... But when I turn the computer on all the fans are running at high speed like crazy! Could it be that I need to apply the CPU with some new thermal paste? I think so... I now I have to dissamble it again to do that! I still have the old card and I will just reflash it or replace the BIOS chip with a new reprogrammed one :) The old card is not dead it just needs the BIOS replaced so that is good too :)
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
20,906 (5.30/day)
Likes
5,888
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#91
I went to the place and they could not fix so.... So I just bought a new card.... And just replaced it with a AMD Radeon HD 7970M... It didnt fit, so I had to modify my spacing within my cabinet and the VGA card (MXM)... But when I turn the computer on all the fans are running at high speed like crazy! Could it be that I need to apply the CPU with some new thermal paste? I think so... I now I have to dissamble it again to do that! I still have the old card and I will just reflash it or replace the BIOS chip with a new reprogrammed one :) The old card is not dead it just needs the BIOS replaced so that is good too :)
that newer card might be causing thermal readings to go haywire or its drawing too much juice.

Id say try the heatsink. did that new card come with a heatsink designed for your laptop?
 

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
10,617 (4.67/day)
Likes
5,737
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.5Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Corsair H100i V2
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 390 GAMING 8GB @ PCI-E 3.0
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 Corsair Force GT Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 17.10
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
#93
Joined
Feb 12, 2006
Messages
2,296 (0.52/day)
Likes
419
System Name MONEY PIT
Processor i7-3770K @ 4800 1.20v batch #3231B415 Delided
Motherboard ASrock Z77 OC Formula w onboard waterblocks
Cooling Apogee HD, MCP655,rad MCR320-XP,Micro Rev2 res
Memory G,skill Trident X F3-2400C10D-16GTX
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 980 Ti Classified with EK nickel/acetal waterblock installed
Storage 2x120gig Wildfire raid0 2x120gig VERTEX3 raid0
Display(s) 3/ Samsung2343bwx + 65in LG 4K
Case NZXT Phantom White w/red
Audio Device(s) ReCon3d fatal1ty pro, Logitech z906 THX
Power Supply corsair AX860i
Mouse Rat7
Software 64bit ++++ win 10
#95
just replaced it with a AMD Radeon HD 7970M
Nice card;) Shame you had to spend $$$:eek: on the new card. Hope you can find some 1 to buy the old 1 when you get it repaired
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
20,906 (5.30/day)
Likes
5,888
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#96
when i think of imacs i think of the laptops anymore

Read the thread?


:banghead:

How about actually getting a video card that has Apple as a vendor ID? You can't throw any GPU into it and just expect it to work.
 

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
10,617 (4.67/day)
Likes
5,737
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.5Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Corsair H100i V2
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 390 GAMING 8GB @ PCI-E 3.0
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 Corsair Force GT Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 17.10
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
#97

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
20,906 (5.30/day)
Likes
5,888
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#98
How big is your iMac though? I don't think all iMacs have the same output on the power supply.
his sounds like its older if it came with a 5750, circa 2010/2011?
 
Joined
Mar 16, 2013
Messages
46 (0.02/day)
Likes
3
#99
Nice card;) Shame you had to spend $$$:eek: on the new card. Hope you can find some 1 to buy the old 1 when you get it repaired
Damn now its only showing half the RAM in my machine. I have 4 slots, and only 2 of the slots are working. Could it be because I maybe tightened the cooler screws too hard? Too much paste? Im so tired of all these problems... I think I dis- and re-assembled it like 7 times now! And these iMacs are not like PCs! I would rather re- and disassemble 100s PC than 3 iMacs!
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 12, 2009
Messages
1,042 (0.31/day)
Likes
153
Location
SCOTLAND!
System Name Machine XII
Processor Phenom II 1155T
Motherboard Asus M4A88TD-M EVO/USB3
Cooling Custom Water Cooling
Memory 8Gb ddr3 1600mhz XMS 3
Video Card(s) HD5970 2Gb
Storage 128Gb Sandisk SATAIII 6G/s
Display(s) 19" + 23" + 17"
Case micro atx case
Audio Device(s) XFi xtreme OEM
Power Supply 750W
Software Windows 7 x64 Ultimate
re-seat the processor it could just be not making contact properly with the pins.