• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Impermanent Screen Resolution

Joined
Nov 2, 2012
Messages
19 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#1
Acer Aspire 2000 (Cl32) runs WinXP/Pro/Sp3 and can be set to display in its native resolution of 1280 x 800 from its ATI Mobility Radeon 9200 video card. However, when it reboots, it reverts to 640 x 480, and often blames an absent or corrupt video driver. My remedy is to UNinstall the video driver from Device Manager and reboot, but I'd like to have native resolution without going through this 'readjustment' at every reboot. On the rare occasions that I can access the ATI Control Panel, Schemes in the Display tab, is empty. If I select 'Default Single Display' from the offered options, the SAVE button is greyed out. Any suggestions as to how I can get the native resolution to 'stick' ?
 

qubit

Overclocked quantum bit
Joined
Dec 6, 2007
Messages
14,659 (3.97/day)
Likes
8,230
Location
Quantum Well UK
System Name Quantumville™
Processor Intel Core i7-2700K at stock (hits 5 gees+ easily)
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB (4 x 4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 PC3-12800 C9 1600MHz)
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080 AMP! Extreme Edition
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB | WD Green 4TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2720Z | Asus VG278HE (both 27", 144Hz, 3D Vision 2, 1080p)
Case Cooler Master HAF 922
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX 850W v1
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
#2
This looks like possible registry corruption, as a driver shouldn't die on a reboot.

Try using a driver cleaner and reinstalling the latest version of the driver. Also make sure that XP is fully patched, not just SP3 and see how it goes.
 
Joined
Nov 2, 2012
Messages
19 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#3
This looks like possible registry corruption, as a driver shouldn't die on a reboot.

Try using a driver cleaner and reinstalling the latest version of the driver. Also make sure that XP is fully patched, not just SP3 and see how it goes.
I have downloaded 'Driver-Sweeper' and will see what it can do. All XP updates have been installed.
 
Joined
Nov 25, 2013
Messages
745 (0.49/day)
Likes
899
Location
N.S. Can.
System Name Not an AAR Cuda/#2 Hellcat
Processor 3770k @4.5 delid/#2 7700k @4.8
Motherboard Gigabyte z77x-D3H rev1.1/#2 Rog Maximus IX Code
Cooling Coolermaster Hyper 212 evo/#2 Corsair H100i V2
Memory 16 GB HyperX fury Black 1866 Mhz/#2 32 GB Gskill Trident Z RGB 3200 xmp
Video Card(s) MSI RX 480 Gaming x 8G @1380/2100 /#2 <- Crossfire stock clocks
Storage Samsung960evo250GB os (Thanks Brother;) Samsung 840 evo 250GB (Games)Samsung 840 120 (Storage)
Display(s) Viewsonic XG 2701 Freesync
Case Haf 922m/#2 Corsair Crystal 570x
Audio Device(s) Xonar DG/#2 On board Supreme FX
Power Supply Evga 750 G2/#2Evga 850 G3
Mouse Logitech G602/ #2Logitech G900
Keyboard Azio KB505U
Software Win 10 Pro 64/ Win 10 Home
Benchmark Scores I can play 2 games at the same time.
#4
Would also try cleaning your registry after uninstalling your driver with sweeper. Both in safe mode and delete any left over files before the fresh install.
 
Joined
Nov 2, 2012
Messages
19 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#5
Would also try cleaning your registry after uninstalling your driver with sweeper. Both in safe mode and delete any left over files before the fresh install.
Bad news - 'running' the DriverSweeper results in 'a device attached to the system is not functioning'.
Since you mentioned the Registry, I must tell you that I have done some very extensive search-and-deletes in the Registry to eradicate all traces of the original 'owner' of the system as well as of unwanted programs, so a registry error is quite possible. There are numerous Registry cleaners, and I have avoided using them, (on advice from techies). So what Registry Cleaner would you recommend ? Incidentally, after originally uninstalling the video driver, I also tried to clean 'manually' the Registry of all keys (?) that mentioned ATI, Mobility and Radeon before re-installing the driver.
 
Joined
Nov 25, 2013
Messages
745 (0.49/day)
Likes
899
Location
N.S. Can.
System Name Not an AAR Cuda/#2 Hellcat
Processor 3770k @4.5 delid/#2 7700k @4.8
Motherboard Gigabyte z77x-D3H rev1.1/#2 Rog Maximus IX Code
Cooling Coolermaster Hyper 212 evo/#2 Corsair H100i V2
Memory 16 GB HyperX fury Black 1866 Mhz/#2 32 GB Gskill Trident Z RGB 3200 xmp
Video Card(s) MSI RX 480 Gaming x 8G @1380/2100 /#2 <- Crossfire stock clocks
Storage Samsung960evo250GB os (Thanks Brother;) Samsung 840 evo 250GB (Games)Samsung 840 120 (Storage)
Display(s) Viewsonic XG 2701 Freesync
Case Haf 922m/#2 Corsair Crystal 570x
Audio Device(s) Xonar DG/#2 On board Supreme FX
Power Supply Evga 750 G2/#2Evga 850 G3
Mouse Logitech G602/ #2Logitech G900
Keyboard Azio KB505U
Software Win 10 Pro 64/ Win 10 Home
Benchmark Scores I can play 2 games at the same time.
#6
That may be the issue as you may have removed an entry that the os depended on for recognition. I have had similar issues in the past when doing this prior to using display driver uninstallers. Issues with stability and program hangs abundant. Just from deleting on board video entries by mistake. The method I mentioned works for me with my dedicated card as prior to cleaning the registry with (Pc tools) Registry mechanic I would get random install errors.
I personally have not had issues with this one and to be honest I have been using it for quite some time. Thought maybe your pc had a reg entry telling the os or on board vid to display at that resolution. So if you are not sure by all means don't try it as it is not free anyways.
Have you tried installing your latest monitor drivers? What about latest motherboard drivers from oem? And worst case backup and clean os install (ugh last resort).
 
Joined
Nov 2, 2012
Messages
19 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#7
As one of the many suggestion I've followed, I uninstalled the driver by means of its own uninstaller software, instead of from Device Manager. On reboot, I was able to set it to 1204 x 786, 32bit colour, and it kept returning to that resolution after multiple reboots. The PROBLEM seems to be solved, even though Device Manager shows the Video controller with a '?' Thanks for your interest.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,202 (9.52/day)
Likes
13,686
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + Corsair Void RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#8
i've dealt with this one before, and all i can suggest is using alternate video drivers and possibly a fresh install of windows. sounds like some kind of corruption.\


edit: with the post above mine, you have no graphics driver installed - performance will be very poor, and things like youtube may not work at all. try and find an updated driver from the AMD website and install that.
 
Joined
Nov 2, 2012
Messages
19 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#9
i've dealt with this one before, and all i can suggest is using alternate video drivers and possibly a fresh install of windows. sounds like some kind of corruption.\


edit: with the post above mine, you have no graphics driver installed - performance will be very poor, and things like youtube may not work at all. try and find an updated driver from the AMD website and install that.
I'm very confused about that as I have tested Youtube and the display is perfect.