• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Impossible Ground Loop?? Tried for months.

kennytroy

New Member
Joined
Jun 12, 2018
Messages
11 (0.85/day)
Likes
1
#1
EDIT: Probable Solution

From the information I've gathered the cause seems to be my unbalanced dual 1/4" to 3.5mm aux cable.

Solution: Return my internal soundcard that I just purchased. Buy a USB interface, and buy two individual XLR cables to run from the L/R speaker independently into the two balanced L/R XLR ports on the USB adapter.
Hello, first I want to thank you for reading this and offering any advice possible.

I have been struggling with what I assume is a 120Hz ground loop issue for months now since building my PC, and I have read nearly everything and tried 85% of solutions suggested on the internet - nothing seems to work.

I will give all relevant information as neatly as possible, followed by solutions I have tried. Located in U.S.A.

My PC Build

Motherboard: TUF Z270 Mark II
Graphics Card: GTX 1050 Ti
Power Supply: EVGA 550 G3
Cooling: Corsair H60
Memory: 16GB TridentZ RGB (8gb x 2)
Processor: i7 7700k
Internal Soundcard: Audigy Rx
Monitor: Samsung CF591 27" Curved
Speakers: Yamaha HS7's

** Please note that I purchased my internal Audigy Rx soundcard as a "solution" after already having experienced this buzzing for several months via my graphic card's audio card.

How I'm Connected

I have a lot of wires running between my computer, monitor, and my TV which is wall-mounted directly above my desktop build. I assumed this was a problem, so for simplicity I disconnected everything and only connected what is necessary to solving this problem.

Wall Outlet -> Power strip with three connections: (1) computer power supply, (2,3) power cords for both Yamaha HS7 speakers

I am connected from the speakers to my desktop via dual 1/4" to 3.5mm aux.

What I've Tried, What Doesn't Work

- Disconnected all other wires that are not my computer's power supply, and my two Yamaha HS7 speaker power cords, does not work
- Purchased an internal Audigy Rx soundcard, does not work
- I have tired three different outlets in my room, and even tried outlets in other rooms, does not work
- My computer is placed on a cardboard box so that it is not touching carpet, does not work
- Tried external USB adapter, does not work
- Tried a second pair of 1/4" to 3.5mm cables, does not work

Other Connections That Work
- Plugging the dual 1/4" to 3.5mm aux into my phone
- Plugging the dual 1/4" to 3.5mm aux into my laptop, with the laptop power cord plugged into the same [or different] outlet as the speakers

What the flying fuck is happening?

I am at a total loss. I was going to buy one of those Hum X ground loop adapters, but I am SO HESITANT to continue spending money on solutions that seem to not be working.

Is there a hardware problem?
Is it a problem with my 1/4" cables?
Is there incompatibility somewhere in the electricity field?
Am I totally fucked?

Thank you guys so much.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Messages
10,604 (3.44/day)
Likes
7,399
Location
Oregon
System Name Delta // Alpha-HTPC
Processor Intel i7 6700K // Intel i5 4570
Motherboard GIGABYTE Z270X-Gaming K7 // Gigabyte H97M -D3H
Cooling Corsair H80i V2 // Silverstone NT-06 Pro
Memory Corsair DDR4 3000 32gb //G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX980ti// EVGA GTX 1050ti
Storage Samsung 950 Pro 512, 2 Tb FireCuda// Samsung 850 Pro, Synology NAS with 2X Toshiba 6Tb
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" 1440X 2560 // 50" Samsung Plasma 720p
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 550D // Silverstone Granada GD05
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DGX // HDMI to Yamaha RX V571
Power Supply Corsair TX850M // SeaSonic G Series 550w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software Windows 10 64bit // Windows 7 64bit with Kodi
#2
So whats the problem ? sound, video and what country
Adapter?
What USB interface, how you going to 1/4 in?
Are you using TRS balanced cables on your monitors (three prongs) not two

Balanced Cables and Signals

A balanced cable, by contrast, has three conductors in the connector and three wires in the cable: two signals wires plus a separate ground wire. As in the unbalanced cable, the ground wire still surrounds the signal wires and is used as a shield against interference. But what makes a balanced cable special is the way the gear utilizes that extra signal wire.
A final note: a monaural, balanced signal requires a TRS plug - tip is audio plus, ring is audio minus, sleeve is shield ground and carries no audio!
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 14, 2009
Messages
3,658 (1.08/day)
Likes
1,566
Location
Ohio
System Name Fractured puke.
Processor Intel I7-8700k
Motherboard MSI z370 Gaming M5
Cooling Corsair H110i
Memory 16GB G.Skill TridentZ 3200MHZ
Video Card(s) Nvidia 1070ti
Storage 960 EVO 500gb/256gb WD Black 2280 M2/Patriot Ignite 480gb SSD/ Inland Pro 256gb SSD
Display(s) Acer 32" 2560x1440
Case Fractal Design Meshify-C
Audio Device(s) Onboard/ TBD
Power Supply Seasonic
Mouse Epicgear
Keyboard Razer Deatstalker
Software Windows 10Pro x64
#3
Have you tried other speakers to rule out the HS7's....
Issue sounds like an amp grounding issue.
 
Joined
May 22, 2015
Messages
3,579 (3.17/day)
Likes
1,314
Processor Intel i5-6600k
Motherboard ASRock Z170 Extreme7+
Cooling Arctic Cooling Freezer i11
Memory 2x8GB DDR4 2400 G.Skill
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1060 SC
Storage 128 and 256GB OCZ Vertex4, 500GB Samsung 850 EVO, 1TB Crucial MX300 and 3TB Seagate
Display(s) HP ZR24w
Case Chieftec BX01
Power Supply Seasonic 620W M12
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Core
Keyboard G.Skill KM780R
#4
For all the details you have provided, you haven't stated your problem.
If your problem is audio buzzing, the solution is simple: use a digital out.
 
Joined
Oct 22, 2014
Messages
5,779 (4.31/day)
Likes
3,447
Location
Sunshine Coast
System Name Black Box
Processor Intel Xeon E5-2680 10c/20t 2.8GHz @ 3.0GHz
Motherboard Asrock X79 Extreme 11
Cooling Coolermaster 240 RGB A.I.O.
Memory G. Skill 16Gb (4x4Gb) 2133Mhz
Video Card(s) Nvidia GTX 710
Storage Sandisk X 400 256Gb
Display(s) AOC 22" Freesync 1m.s. 75Hz
Case Corsair 450D High Air Flow.
Audio Device(s) No need.
Power Supply FSP Aurum 650W
Software W10 Home Premium 64 bit
#5
If you keep your phone on the desk near the speakers, move it away.
 

kennytroy

New Member
Joined
Jun 12, 2018
Messages
11 (0.85/day)
Likes
1
#6
So whats the problem ? sound, video and what country
Adapter?
What USB interface, how you going to 1/4 in?
Are you using TRS balanced cables on your monitors (three prongs) not two

Balanced Cables and Signals

A balanced cable, by contrast, has three conductors in the connector and three wires in the cable: two signals wires plus a separate ground wire. As in the unbalanced cable, the ground wire still surrounds the signal wires and is used as a shield against interference. But what makes a balanced cable special is the way the gear utilizes that extra signal wire.
A final note: a monaural, balanced signal requires a TRS plug - tip is audio plus, ring is audio minus, sleeve is shield ground and carries no audio!
I am experiencing what sounds like a 120hz hum coming from both speakers. Sorry I did not include this at the beginning.

United States.

I am not using a USB interface, I am plugging the dual 1/4" to 3.5mm aux cable from my Yamaha speakers directly into my desktop's graphic card audio port [and now I am instead using an internal Audigy Rx soundcard]. Below is a photo of my actual cable (one of the two, they're near the same though)

cord.png


All my power cords have three prongs.

Appreciate the help!
 

Attachments

Last edited:
Joined
Oct 6, 2007
Messages
5,242 (1.34/day)
Likes
1,289
Location
Nelson B.C. Canada
System Name Blacknet
Processor E5-1650 Xeon @ 4.7Ghz
Motherboard Asus P9X79 Pro
Cooling Noctua NH-D14/7case fans
Memory 32gb Gskill 1866 Cas9
Video Card(s) Asus Strix GTX970 OC
Storage Toshiba 3TB, x300 Toshiba 5TB, 2x EVO 850 250GB
Display(s) 27" Asus VS278Q, 23" VZ239H IPS
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar MKII+ AKG Q701 Studio Monitors
Power Supply XFX XTR 750 Gold
Mouse Corsair Vengeance M95
Keyboard Cheap Azio
Software Kubuntu 17.10.1
Benchmark Scores It's linux baby!
#7
Your images don't seem to be working! Also, I had the same type of issue. Turned out to be my cable for my tv and internet. Had the cable co come out and ground my cable,
hum gone.
 

kennytroy

New Member
Joined
Jun 12, 2018
Messages
11 (0.85/day)
Likes
1
#8
Have you tried other speakers to rule out the HS7's....
Issue sounds like an amp grounding issue.
I have a pair of KRK Rokit 5's, I will try them when I get home from this business meeting ~ one hour. One of the ports is broken due to a rowdy friend of mine at a party, so I have not used them in over a year.

Your images don't seem to be working! Also, I had the same type of issue. Turned out to be my cable for my tv and internet. Had the cable co come out and ground my cable,
hum gone.
You know I did think this was the issue, but I completely removed the DirecTV box from my room! (I don't watch TV so I told my parent's to cancel it).

There is still a [coaxial?] wire running through my wall, though it is not connected to anything and I have since removed the DirecTv connected home adapter/ethernet so there is literally nothing but a coax wire dead by itself laying on the ground. It is running through the wall along with my desktop's Ethernet cable - perhaps this is the issue? Though I have the ground loop problem even when my ethernet cable is unplugged.

* I have also tried moving my entire desktop to other rooms and using different outlets in those rooms, so I am hesitant to say it is my TV/ethernet cables interfering.

If you keep your phone on the desk near the speakers, move it away.
Tried, even turned off my phone and put it in another room :/
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 22, 2015
Messages
3,579 (3.17/day)
Likes
1,314
Processor Intel i5-6600k
Motherboard ASRock Z170 Extreme7+
Cooling Arctic Cooling Freezer i11
Memory 2x8GB DDR4 2400 G.Skill
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1060 SC
Storage 128 and 256GB OCZ Vertex4, 500GB Samsung 850 EVO, 1TB Crucial MX300 and 3TB Seagate
Display(s) HP ZR24w
Case Chieftec BX01
Power Supply Seasonic 620W M12
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Core
Keyboard G.Skill KM780R
#9
Analog outputs more often than not pick up interference from inside the PC case. That's why I said you should be using a digital out. Not sure how that will fit into your setup though.
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Messages
10,604 (3.44/day)
Likes
7,399
Location
Oregon
System Name Delta // Alpha-HTPC
Processor Intel i7 6700K // Intel i5 4570
Motherboard GIGABYTE Z270X-Gaming K7 // Gigabyte H97M -D3H
Cooling Corsair H80i V2 // Silverstone NT-06 Pro
Memory Corsair DDR4 3000 32gb //G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX980ti// EVGA GTX 1050ti
Storage Samsung 950 Pro 512, 2 Tb FireCuda// Samsung 850 Pro, Synology NAS with 2X Toshiba 6Tb
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" 1440X 2560 // 50" Samsung Plasma 720p
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 550D // Silverstone Granada GD05
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DGX // HDMI to Yamaha RX V571
Power Supply Corsair TX850M // SeaSonic G Series 550w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software Windows 10 64bit // Windows 7 64bit with Kodi
#10
Adapters suck. Buy a USB interface that way its digital all the way to the DAC. Just get one off Amazon and if it doesn't fix the problems send it back.
 

kennytroy

New Member
Joined
Jun 12, 2018
Messages
11 (0.85/day)
Likes
1
#11
Have you tried other speakers to rule out the HS7's....
Issue sounds like an amp grounding issue.
Tried to connect my KRK Rokit 5's and that is a no-go. They must be blown or entirely broken because there is the loudest low frequency hum you could possibly imagine (not the same type of 120hz static-buzzing from my HS7's) - this issue occurs when I merely plug in the 1/4" cables to the speakers, even without plugging the 3.5mm aux into my computer. These speakers seem useless to me unfortunately
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Messages
10,604 (3.44/day)
Likes
7,399
Location
Oregon
System Name Delta // Alpha-HTPC
Processor Intel i7 6700K // Intel i5 4570
Motherboard GIGABYTE Z270X-Gaming K7 // Gigabyte H97M -D3H
Cooling Corsair H80i V2 // Silverstone NT-06 Pro
Memory Corsair DDR4 3000 32gb //G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX980ti// EVGA GTX 1050ti
Storage Samsung 950 Pro 512, 2 Tb FireCuda// Samsung 850 Pro, Synology NAS with 2X Toshiba 6Tb
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" 1440X 2560 // 50" Samsung Plasma 720p
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 550D // Silverstone Granada GD05
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DGX // HDMI to Yamaha RX V571
Power Supply Corsair TX850M // SeaSonic G Series 550w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software Windows 10 64bit // Windows 7 64bit with Kodi
#12

kennytroy

New Member
Joined
Jun 12, 2018
Messages
11 (0.85/day)
Likes
1
#13
Adapters suck. Buy a USB interface that way its digital all the way to the DAC. Just get one off Amazon and if it doesn't fix the problems send it back.
If I purchase a USB interface, such as this one, I would need to purchase two 1/4" to 1/4" cables to run each from the L/R speaker to the L/R balanced input correct?

download.png
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2008
Messages
6,637 (1.82/day)
Likes
9,083
Location
Hillsboro, OR
System Name Main/DC
Processor i7-3770K/i7-2600K
Motherboard MSI Z77A-GD55/GA-P67A-UD4-B3
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC14CS/H80
Memory Crucial Ballistix Sport 16GB (2 x 8GB) LP /4GB Kingston DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 660 Ti/MSI HD7770
Storage Crucial MX100 256GB/120GB Samsung 830 & Seagate 2TB(died)
Display(s) Asus 24' LED/Samsung SyncMaster B1940
Case P100/Antec P280 It's huge!
Audio Device(s) on board
Power Supply SeaSonic SS-660XP2/Seasonic SS-760XP2
Software Win 7 Home Premiun 64 Bit
#14
Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Messages
10,604 (3.44/day)
Likes
7,399
Location
Oregon
System Name Delta // Alpha-HTPC
Processor Intel i7 6700K // Intel i5 4570
Motherboard GIGABYTE Z270X-Gaming K7 // Gigabyte H97M -D3H
Cooling Corsair H80i V2 // Silverstone NT-06 Pro
Memory Corsair DDR4 3000 32gb //G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX980ti// EVGA GTX 1050ti
Storage Samsung 950 Pro 512, 2 Tb FireCuda// Samsung 850 Pro, Synology NAS with 2X Toshiba 6Tb
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" 1440X 2560 // 50" Samsung Plasma 720p
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 550D // Silverstone Granada GD05
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DGX // HDMI to Yamaha RX V571
Power Supply Corsair TX850M // SeaSonic G Series 550w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software Windows 10 64bit // Windows 7 64bit with Kodi
#15

kennytroy

New Member
Joined
Jun 12, 2018
Messages
11 (0.85/day)
Likes
1
#16
For the KRK Rokit 5's, as soon as I plug the L/R cable into both speakers the loud hum will begin, regardless of whether I plug the 3.5mm aux into my computer. If I do not plug in the dual 1/4" cables then there is no hum.

My KRK Rokits are undoubtedly broken which prompted me to buy new Yamaha HS7'S - I have not used the KRK's in over two years.

Have you tried not using that?
Sadly yes. I have tried plugging the speakers directly into a wall outlet without the power strip, I have tried using three different power strips, I have tried using five different outlets in various rooms in my house.

It seems to be a problem with my actual desktop build
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Messages
10,604 (3.44/day)
Likes
7,399
Location
Oregon
System Name Delta // Alpha-HTPC
Processor Intel i7 6700K // Intel i5 4570
Motherboard GIGABYTE Z270X-Gaming K7 // Gigabyte H97M -D3H
Cooling Corsair H80i V2 // Silverstone NT-06 Pro
Memory Corsair DDR4 3000 32gb //G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX980ti// EVGA GTX 1050ti
Storage Samsung 950 Pro 512, 2 Tb FireCuda// Samsung 850 Pro, Synology NAS with 2X Toshiba 6Tb
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" 1440X 2560 // 50" Samsung Plasma 720p
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 550D // Silverstone Granada GD05
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DGX // HDMI to Yamaha RX V571
Power Supply Corsair TX850M // SeaSonic G Series 550w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software Windows 10 64bit // Windows 7 64bit with Kodi
#17
I think its your adapter and cable. But I could be wrong. Only way to find out of pull that sound card and get a proper interface

Allot of adapters are made in China and are complete crap. Its a big market
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2008
Messages
6,637 (1.82/day)
Likes
9,083
Location
Hillsboro, OR
System Name Main/DC
Processor i7-3770K/i7-2600K
Motherboard MSI Z77A-GD55/GA-P67A-UD4-B3
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC14CS/H80
Memory Crucial Ballistix Sport 16GB (2 x 8GB) LP /4GB Kingston DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 660 Ti/MSI HD7770
Storage Crucial MX100 256GB/120GB Samsung 830 & Seagate 2TB(died)
Display(s) Asus 24' LED/Samsung SyncMaster B1940
Case P100/Antec P280 It's huge!
Audio Device(s) on board
Power Supply SeaSonic SS-660XP2/Seasonic SS-760XP2
Software Win 7 Home Premiun 64 Bit
#18
Edit: What case do you have? Did you have another computer before this build and did it have the problem?
Have you tested your house's wiring? Just start with one of these that you can get for $5:
 
Last edited:

kennytroy

New Member
Joined
Jun 12, 2018
Messages
11 (0.85/day)
Likes
1
#19
Edit: What case do you have? Did you have another computer before this build and did it have the problem?
Have you tested your house's wiring? Just start with one of these that you can get for $5:
I do not know the case, but here is a picture of my exterior and interior wiring. I did not have another desktop build, this is my first solo build. Previous to this I used a Toshiba laptop, no issues (still no issues, I just plugged it into the speakers on the same setup as it runs to my desktop).

I have not tested my house's wiring. I will check into the thing you linked me, as well as the USB interface, I'm just very hesitant to continue buying things that seem to leave me in the same shitty position as before.

I think its your adapter and cable. But I could be wrong. Only way to find out of pull that sound card and get a proper interface

Allot of adapters are made in China and are complete crap. Its a big market
When you say adapter which part are you referring to? I have tried two different 1/4" cables to 3.5mm cables and neither worked.

I do think it is a problem with my computer build unfortunately.

Jeez these USB interfaces run easily $100+, and I just purchased an internal soundcard for $70 yesterday (which I'm about to return since it did not solve my issue, but Micro Center is 45 minutes away so that's a pain in the ass..)
 

Attachments

Last edited:
Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Messages
10,604 (3.44/day)
Likes
7,399
Location
Oregon
System Name Delta // Alpha-HTPC
Processor Intel i7 6700K // Intel i5 4570
Motherboard GIGABYTE Z270X-Gaming K7 // Gigabyte H97M -D3H
Cooling Corsair H80i V2 // Silverstone NT-06 Pro
Memory Corsair DDR4 3000 32gb //G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX980ti// EVGA GTX 1050ti
Storage Samsung 950 Pro 512, 2 Tb FireCuda// Samsung 850 Pro, Synology NAS with 2X Toshiba 6Tb
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" 1440X 2560 // 50" Samsung Plasma 720p
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 550D // Silverstone Granada GD05
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DGX // HDMI to Yamaha RX V571
Power Supply Corsair TX850M // SeaSonic G Series 550w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software Windows 10 64bit // Windows 7 64bit with Kodi
#20
Yeah I know. Sound is a pain in general. It gets expensive. But adapters is not the way to do things. I've learned that more times then I care to mention
 

kennytroy

New Member
Joined
Jun 12, 2018
Messages
11 (0.85/day)
Likes
1
#21
Thank you all for your help.

From the information I've gathered the cause seems to be my unbalanced dual 1/4" to 3.5mm aux cable.

Solution: Return my internal soundcard that I just purchased. Buy a USB interface, and buy two individual XLR cables to run from the L/R speaker independently into the two balanced L/R XLR ports on the USB adapter.
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2008
Messages
6,637 (1.82/day)
Likes
9,083
Location
Hillsboro, OR
System Name Main/DC
Processor i7-3770K/i7-2600K
Motherboard MSI Z77A-GD55/GA-P67A-UD4-B3
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC14CS/H80
Memory Crucial Ballistix Sport 16GB (2 x 8GB) LP /4GB Kingston DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 660 Ti/MSI HD7770
Storage Crucial MX100 256GB/120GB Samsung 830 & Seagate 2TB(died)
Display(s) Asus 24' LED/Samsung SyncMaster B1940
Case P100/Antec P280 It's huge!
Audio Device(s) on board
Power Supply SeaSonic SS-660XP2/Seasonic SS-760XP2
Software Win 7 Home Premiun 64 Bit
#22
When you built this, did you have problems getting the I/O panel to line up with the motherboard?
 

kennytroy

New Member
Joined
Jun 12, 2018
Messages
11 (0.85/day)
Likes
1
#23
When you built this, did you have problems getting the I/O panel to line up with the motherboard?
Not really at all to my knowledge, I can move it to another slot with ease. The one problem I do have is that I lost one of the super tiny screws that holds it perfectly level in place on the far side of the card, though it is managing well enough without.
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2008
Messages
6,637 (1.82/day)
Likes
9,083
Location
Hillsboro, OR
System Name Main/DC
Processor i7-3770K/i7-2600K
Motherboard MSI Z77A-GD55/GA-P67A-UD4-B3
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC14CS/H80
Memory Crucial Ballistix Sport 16GB (2 x 8GB) LP /4GB Kingston DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 660 Ti/MSI HD7770
Storage Crucial MX100 256GB/120GB Samsung 830 & Seagate 2TB(died)
Display(s) Asus 24' LED/Samsung SyncMaster B1940
Case P100/Antec P280 It's huge!
Audio Device(s) on board
Power Supply SeaSonic SS-660XP2/Seasonic SS-760XP2
Software Win 7 Home Premiun 64 Bit
#24
The one problem I do have is that I lost one of the super tiny screws
Inside the case?
Not really at all to my knowledge, I can move it to another slot with ease.
No, not the audio card. The plate that you installed on the back of the case before you put the motherboard in.
 
Joined
Feb 14, 2012
Messages
1,789 (0.77/day)
Likes
640
System Name msdos
Processor 8086
Motherboard mainboard
Cooling passive
Memory 640KB + 384KB extended
Video Card(s) EGA
Storage 5.25"
Display(s) 80x25
Case plastic
Audio Device(s) modchip
Power Supply 45 watts
Mouse serial
Keyboard yes
Software disk commander
Benchmark Scores still running
#25
I wound up using optical out to external dac to solve hum. Nothing else I tried worked. The DAC output is unbalanced running to balanced inputs, no problem except perhaps lower volume level. Optical in DAC w/balanced outputs are stupid expensive.
 
Top