• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Incapable to play HD 720p video files at max fps?

Joined
Oct 16, 2007
Messages
85 (0.02/day)
Likes
0
Location
South Australia
System Name Dell Dimension 5150
Processor Pentium 4 3.2GHz Hyperthreading
Cooling Stock cooling
Memory 2GB DDRII RAM
Video Card(s) AMD/ATi Radeon HD 4670 512MB
Storage 2 x 250GB SATA, 3 x 500GB external HDD
Display(s) LG Flatron M198WA-BT 19" LCD Widescreen monitorTV
Case Stock Dell Dimension 5150 case
Audio Device(s) Stock Dell Dimension 5150 audio
Power Supply Stock
Software WindowsXP
Benchmark Scores I'll get some benchmarking tool sometime.
#1
Righty, well, many people may know that I've been complaining about several annoying software problems with my computer... but I figured it wouldn't hurt to throw another one out onto the road.


So, simply, this one occurs with only HD 480 and/or 720 p/i video files. Like the HD 720p Team Fortress 2 meet the's and the trailers.

The computer either plays the video files but skips several frames, or plays the video and audio at a constant continual framerate (occasionally skipping one or two frames) and the audio nicely, but doesn't manage to stop/pause/close very instantaneously. I could press pause (or in vlc, press spacebar) to try to pause it. And a couple seconds later, the audio stops, but the video continues/plays double speed until it catches up to where the audio was at before it paused.

Is this a hardware incapability to play these high resolution videos? Or does ti have something to do with a software problem/setting?

Before you answer, check my system specs. Could help a little.

(Also, I've seen slower PC's manage DVD's. Mine cant always play DVD's without pausing the video for a fraction before continuing to play it. Would it be because I got a 4x DVD burner?)
 
Joined
Jun 17, 2007
Messages
7,325 (1.91/day)
Likes
995
Location
C:\Program Files (x86)\Aphexdreamer\
System Name Unknown
Processor AMD Bulldozer FX8320 @ 4.4Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair V
Cooling XSPC Raystorm 750 EX240 for CPU
Memory 8 GB CORSAIR Vengeance Red DDR3 RAM 1922mhz (10-11-9-27)
Video Card(s) XFX R9 290
Storage Samsung SSD 254GB and Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s
Display(s) AOC 23" @ 1920x1080 + Asus 27" 1440p
Case HAF X
Audio Device(s) X Fi Titanium 5.1 Surround Sound
Power Supply 750 Watt PP&C Silencer Black
Software Windows 8.1 Pro 64-bit
#2
Righty, well, many people may know that I've been complaining about several annoying software problems with my computer... but I figured it wouldn't hurt to throw another one out onto the road.


So, simply, this one occurs with only HD 480 and/or 720 p/i video files. Like the HD 720p Team Fortress 2 meet the's and the trailers.

The computer either plays the video files but skips several frames, or plays the video and audio at a constant continual framerate (occasionally skipping one or two frames) and the audio nicely, but doesn't manage to stop/pause/close very instantaneously. I could press pause (or in vlc, press spacebar) to try to pause it. And a couple seconds later, the audio stops, but the video continues/plays double speed until it catches up to where the audio was at before it paused.

Is this a hardware incapability to play these high resolution videos? Or does ti have something to do with a software problem/setting?

Before you answer, check my system specs. Could help a little.

(Also, I've seen slower PC's manage DVD's. Mine cant always play DVD's without pausing the video for a fraction before continuing to play it. Would it be because I got a 4x DVD burner?)
Well I'm no expert, but it seems likely that your GPU being as old as it is(no offense) with 128MB of Ram would not be capable of playing an HD video at 480/720 P or I.
 
Joined
Oct 2, 2005
Messages
2,909 (0.65/day)
Likes
659
Location
Baltimore MD
Processor FX-8320@ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte 970A-UD3
Cooling Xigmatek S1283
Memory 2x4Gb Corsair 1600 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) Sapphire RX-480 Nitro
Storage OCZ Vertex 3 120G, 1TB WD Black
Display(s) Dell S2330MX
Case Corsair Carbide Air 540
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Fatal1ty / 5.1 Logitech Z-5500
Power Supply Silverstone DA750
Software Win10 pro 64bit
#3
i think hes right ^ definitely time to upgrade
 
Joined
Oct 16, 2007
Messages
85 (0.02/day)
Likes
0
Location
South Australia
System Name Dell Dimension 5150
Processor Pentium 4 3.2GHz Hyperthreading
Cooling Stock cooling
Memory 2GB DDRII RAM
Video Card(s) AMD/ATi Radeon HD 4670 512MB
Storage 2 x 250GB SATA, 3 x 500GB external HDD
Display(s) LG Flatron M198WA-BT 19" LCD Widescreen monitorTV
Case Stock Dell Dimension 5150 case
Audio Device(s) Stock Dell Dimension 5150 audio
Power Supply Stock
Software WindowsXP
Benchmark Scores I'll get some benchmarking tool sometime.
#4
Well I'm no expert, but it seems likely that your GPU being as old as it is(no offense) with 128MB of Ram would not be capable of playing an HD video at 480/720 P or I.
No offense taken, I already know it's all well out of date.

Pity it plays oblivion so well... well... if I can say that... ¬_¬

i think hes right ^ definitely time to upgrade
And, yes'm. Thats my next plan. When I get some cash. ¬_¬
 

hat

Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 20, 2006
Messages
18,529 (4.58/day)
Likes
3,162
Location
Ohio
System Name Starlifter :: Dragonfly
Processor i5 2400 :: Athlon II x4 630
Motherboard MSI H67-G43-B3 :: GIgabyte GA-770T-USB3
Cooling Corsair H70 :: Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 4x2GB DDR3 1333 :: 2x1GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) 2x PNY GTX1070 :: GT720
Storage Plextor M5s 128GB, WDC Black 500GB :: Mushkin Enhanced 60GB SSD, WD RE3 1TB
Display(s) Acer P216HL HDMI :: None
Case Antec SOHO 1030B :: Old White Full Tower
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro - iLive IT153B Soundbar (optical) :: None
Power Supply Corsair CX600w :: Unknown
Software Windows 10 Pro - Plex Server on Dragonfly
Benchmark Scores >9000
#5
I don't think the video card should have any trouple playing VIDEO. Although, it can't hurt to invest in a cheap AGP 2400pro, which will blow that 9800pro out of the water:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814129097

You don't seem to be much of an overclocker at all, so your PSU should not prove to be a problem.
 

Wile E

Power User
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Messages
24,318 (5.94/day)
Likes
3,682
System Name The ClusterF**k
Processor 980X @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD5 BIOS F12
Cooling MCR-320, DDC-1 pump w/Bitspower res top (1/2" fittings), Koolance CPU-360
Memory 3x2GB Mushkin Redlines 1600Mhz 6-8-6-24 1T
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 580
Storage Corsair Neutron GTX 240GB, 2xSeagate 320GB RAID0; 2xSeagate 3TB; 2xSamsung 2TB; Samsung 1.5TB
Display(s) HP LP2475w 24" 1920x1200 IPS
Case Technofront Bench Station
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Forte into Onkyo SR606 and Polk TSi200's + RM6750
Power Supply ENERMAX Galaxy EVO EGX1250EWT 1250W
Software Win7 Ultimate N x64, OSX 10.8.4
#6
Nah, this is likely a codec problem. I suggest not using vlc for HD content on your machine, it's cpu usage will be too high. Try the latest version of ffmpeg.

I get my ffmpeg by installing a codec pack. I use the CCCP. http://www.cccp-project.net/wiki/index.php?title=Main_Page

Try that, and see if it helps at all. Your computer is pushing the limits, but should still be able to do HD.


And considering all the problems you are having, I think you need to back-up your important data, and do a clean install.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 19, 2006
Messages
5,609 (1.30/day)
Likes
1,285
Location
New York
System Name http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=73751
Processor i7-920 CO@4.2GHZ / ASUS GL553VW 15.6" Gaming Laptop NVIDIA GTX 960M 4GB Intel Core i56300HQ 8GB DDR4
Motherboard Asus P6T Deluxe Intel X58
Cooling Asetek Liquid CPU Cooling System
Memory CORSAIR DOMINATOR 6GB (3 x 2GB) DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) 2X ATI Radeon HD 4870 X2 2GB DDR5 PCI-Express
Storage (RAID-0) with 4 Identical Hard Drives (1.28TB (320GBx4)
Display(s) LG 50" 50PK550 1080p 600Hz Plasma/37 Inch WestingHouse @1920x1080
Case Thermaltake M9 (I hate it its like trying to live in a 1 inch box)
Power Supply ThermalTake ToughPower 1200 Watt
Software Windows 7 professional 64
#7
I'm with Wile E Cuz I can watch HD on a lesser rig no problem >>>> probably codec related and maybe spyware and adware too... some codecs like the divx codec like divx6 will try to phone home two times when opening the divx player..
 
Joined
Oct 16, 2007
Messages
85 (0.02/day)
Likes
0
Location
South Australia
System Name Dell Dimension 5150
Processor Pentium 4 3.2GHz Hyperthreading
Cooling Stock cooling
Memory 2GB DDRII RAM
Video Card(s) AMD/ATi Radeon HD 4670 512MB
Storage 2 x 250GB SATA, 3 x 500GB external HDD
Display(s) LG Flatron M198WA-BT 19" LCD Widescreen monitorTV
Case Stock Dell Dimension 5150 case
Audio Device(s) Stock Dell Dimension 5150 audio
Power Supply Stock
Software WindowsXP
Benchmark Scores I'll get some benchmarking tool sometime.
#8
everyone who said: said:
It could be a codec problem...
Well, I have several codecs... I think, including the K-light codec pack.

Has there been problems with this particular pack?
 
Joined
Oct 16, 2007
Messages
85 (0.02/day)
Likes
0
Location
South Australia
System Name Dell Dimension 5150
Processor Pentium 4 3.2GHz Hyperthreading
Cooling Stock cooling
Memory 2GB DDRII RAM
Video Card(s) AMD/ATi Radeon HD 4670 512MB
Storage 2 x 250GB SATA, 3 x 500GB external HDD
Display(s) LG Flatron M198WA-BT 19" LCD Widescreen monitorTV
Case Stock Dell Dimension 5150 case
Audio Device(s) Stock Dell Dimension 5150 audio
Power Supply Stock
Software WindowsXP
Benchmark Scores I'll get some benchmarking tool sometime.
#9
I don't think the video card should have any trouple playing VIDEO. Although, it can't hurt to invest in a cheap AGP 2400pro, which will blow that 9800pro out of the water:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814129097

You don't seem to be much of an overclocker at all, so your PSU should not prove to be a problem.
Oh, and in reference to you, my plans with my upgrades include an NVidia 7800 or something... but yeah a PCI-e card, and some lower level dual core processor. And, no I'm not much of an overclocker.
 

Wile E

Power User
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Messages
24,318 (5.94/day)
Likes
3,682
System Name The ClusterF**k
Processor 980X @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD5 BIOS F12
Cooling MCR-320, DDC-1 pump w/Bitspower res top (1/2" fittings), Koolance CPU-360
Memory 3x2GB Mushkin Redlines 1600Mhz 6-8-6-24 1T
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 580
Storage Corsair Neutron GTX 240GB, 2xSeagate 320GB RAID0; 2xSeagate 3TB; 2xSamsung 2TB; Samsung 1.5TB
Display(s) HP LP2475w 24" 1920x1200 IPS
Case Technofront Bench Station
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Forte into Onkyo SR606 and Polk TSi200's + RM6750
Power Supply ENERMAX Galaxy EVO EGX1250EWT 1250W
Software Win7 Ultimate N x64, OSX 10.8.4
#10
Well, I have several codecs... I think, including the K-light codec pack.

Has there been problems with this particular pack?
Sometimes K-Lite has configuration issues. Also, if you install additional codecs on top of it, you can have config issues. Like if you install Divx or Xvid on top of K-Lite. It's best to just use a pack, and only install additional codecs if the pack doesn't have them to begin with. I prefer CCCP, as it's configuration is spot on. It doesn't do Real or Quicktime by default, so you either have to install Quicktime and Real Player, or install Real Alternative Lite and Quicktime Alternative Lite. I prefer the latter option (less bloat).
 
Joined
Oct 16, 2007
Messages
85 (0.02/day)
Likes
0
Location
South Australia
System Name Dell Dimension 5150
Processor Pentium 4 3.2GHz Hyperthreading
Cooling Stock cooling
Memory 2GB DDRII RAM
Video Card(s) AMD/ATi Radeon HD 4670 512MB
Storage 2 x 250GB SATA, 3 x 500GB external HDD
Display(s) LG Flatron M198WA-BT 19" LCD Widescreen monitorTV
Case Stock Dell Dimension 5150 case
Audio Device(s) Stock Dell Dimension 5150 audio
Power Supply Stock
Software WindowsXP
Benchmark Scores I'll get some benchmarking tool sometime.
#11
Sometimes K-Lite has configuration issues. Also, if you install additional codecs on top of it, you can have config issues. Like if you install Divx or Xvid on top of K-Lite. It's best to just use a pack, and only install additional codecs if the pack doesn't have them to begin with. I prefer CCCP, as it's configuration is spot on. It doesn't do Real or Quicktime by default, so you either have to install Quicktime and Real Player, or install Real Alternative Lite and Quicktime Alternative Lite. I prefer the latter option (less bloat).
Well, I guess I could try to uninstall my codecs and grab the CCCP codec.

See if anything helps out.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,130 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,562
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#12
Righty, well, many people may know that I've been complaining about several annoying software problems with my computer... but I figured it wouldn't hurt to throw another one out onto the road.


So, simply, this one occurs with only HD 480 and/or 720 p/i video files. Like the HD 720p Team Fortress 2 meet the's and the trailers.

The computer either plays the video files but skips several frames, or plays the video and audio at a constant continual framerate (occasionally skipping one or two frames) and the audio nicely, but doesn't manage to stop/pause/close very instantaneously. I could press pause (or in vlc, press spacebar) to try to pause it. And a couple seconds later, the audio stops, but the video continues/plays double speed until it catches up to where the audio was at before it paused.

Is this a hardware incapability to play these high resolution videos? Or does ti have something to do with a software problem/setting?

Before you answer, check my system specs. Could help a little.

(Also, I've seen slower PC's manage DVD's. Mine cant always play DVD's without pausing the video for a fraction before continuing to play it. Would it be because I got a 4x DVD burner?)
4x drive has nothing to do with it, 1x can watch a DVD.

Your problem sounds like a lack of CPU power, and as for the weaker systems - a 400MHz pentium II with a MPEG-2 accelerating video card can play them fine.
sounds like teh software you're using doesnt support your video cards acceleration.

On the HD side of things - only the geforce 8 and radeon 2x00 series support hardware accel for those, so your PC is definately too slow for 'smooth' playback.

oh and i too use the CCCP pack for HD files, as it supports hardware acceleration on my video card - CPU usage is quite low.
 
Joined
Oct 16, 2007
Messages
85 (0.02/day)
Likes
0
Location
South Australia
System Name Dell Dimension 5150
Processor Pentium 4 3.2GHz Hyperthreading
Cooling Stock cooling
Memory 2GB DDRII RAM
Video Card(s) AMD/ATi Radeon HD 4670 512MB
Storage 2 x 250GB SATA, 3 x 500GB external HDD
Display(s) LG Flatron M198WA-BT 19" LCD Widescreen monitorTV
Case Stock Dell Dimension 5150 case
Audio Device(s) Stock Dell Dimension 5150 audio
Power Supply Stock
Software WindowsXP
Benchmark Scores I'll get some benchmarking tool sometime.
#13
4x drive has nothing to do with it, 1x can watch a DVD.

Your problem sounds like a lack of CPU power, and as for the weaker systems - a 400MHz pentium II with a MPEG-2 accelerating video card can play them fine.
sounds like teh software you're using doesnt support your video cards acceleration.

On the HD side of things - only the geforce 8 and radeon 2x00 series support hardware accel for those, so your PC is definately too slow for 'smooth' playback.

oh and i too use the CCCP pack for HD files, as it supports hardware acceleration on my video card - CPU usage is quite low.
Ah, cool. Thanks for explaining all this.

I'll make sure to grab the CCCPack when I get some nets with speed.