1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Inno3D iChill GeForce GTX 280 Extreme Edition Pictured

Discussion in 'News' started by malware, Dec 26, 2008.

  1. malware New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    Messages:
    5,422 (1.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    954
    Location:
    Bulgaria
    Our colleagues over at Expreview published today information on a new Inno3D video card, part of the company's premium iChiLL series. The Inno3D iChill GeForce GTX 280 Extreme Edition pictured below comes with the massive Arctic Cooling Accelero Xtreme VGA cooler that features five copper heatpipes and three ultra quiet 80mm PWM fans with low noise impeller. Although the huge cooler suggests that the card should be factory overclocked, it's not. It comes with stock clock speeds - 602MHz core, 1296Mhz shader and 2214MHz for the 1024MB of GDDR3 memory - but no one can stop you from overclocking it yourself. Remaining specs include DirectX 10 support, PhysX support with the latest GeForce drivers, CUDA support and triple-SLI support, plus the standard dual-DVI ports. The release date and pricing information for this product are yet to be determined.

    [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]

    Source: Expreview
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 30, 2008
    10 Year Member at TPU
  2. DaJMasta

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2005
    Messages:
    479 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    38
    Location:
    Silver Spring, MD
    Holy lord.... that cooler is enormous!
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. wolf2009 Guest

    finally, a non-reference GTX card
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. magibeg

    magibeg

    Joined:
    May 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,072 (0.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    254
    Wonder if the cooler will actually allow for higher overclocks. You'd think an extreme edition would already be at least partly overclocked. Makes me think these are low binned chips that need the extra cooling.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. TheGuruStud

    TheGuruStud

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2007
    Messages:
    2,473 (0.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    655
    Location:
    Police/Nanny State of America
    I'd only use it on a volt modded 55nm 280. My eyes would explode.
     
  6. Bjorn_Of_Iceland

    Bjorn_Of_Iceland

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,233 (0.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    397
    hmm.. so an Arctic accellero would fit a GTX200 board huh.. didnt know that. Anyways, that was good to know :)
     
  7. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    33,135 (9.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16,881
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    That heatsink over the VRM area looks inadequate. Remember when Thermalright HR03 GTX was first pictured, it came with a VRM heatsink that had more fins that the one this cards has, the one that looked like a cheese-grater? Later tests showed that VRM heatsink to fail when the card was put through Furmark, and Thermalright had to halt production, send out a PCN, come up with a better heatsink and then release the product (causing an almost 2 month delay in release).
     
  8. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,808 (2.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    547
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    I like it though. Could probably make your own VRM heatsink or something of the sorts.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  9. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    17,016 (4.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,414
    Looks Like A Tripple Slot, who whould try to run 3 of these in Tri Sli when there is not enough room on anyboard for those slots, and i hate when boards are deved where you cant utilize all slots on it, sorry for me a Sound Card is a must.
     
  10. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    17,016 (4.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,414
    maybe an old Intel Pentium HS or something of that would work when combined with ASE/AS5
     
  11. leonard_222003 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Messages:
    241 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    25
    My god this is the biggest cooler i've seen for a graphic card , should cool the card enough but can it go higher in clocks than referance ? if it doesn't it's worthlles.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  12. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    17,016 (4.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,414
    since its a 280, its probably as high as its gonna get.
     
  13. SteelSix

    SteelSix

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    231 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    50
    Location:
    Atlanta, USA
    uh
     
  14. Binge

    Binge Overclocking Surrealism

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,979 (2.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,754
    Location:
    PA, USA
    Are you daft? My 280 reaches 730MHz if I overclock and I have stock cooling. They aren't giving you a factory clock. What's the big deal? Overclock it yourself w/EVGA Precision or RivaTuner.

    This is good news to the single card solution. After speeds of 700MHz I've personally seen GTX280s really fly.
     
  15. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    17,016 (4.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,414
    Ya im daft, Daft Punk that is, btw your card is not a guarantee all will overclock, and when a card is already overclocked it usually wont go much further.


    On another Point, usually best to get a stock board and put after market cooling on it yourself so you dont pay out the ass for a clocked board that you can do yourself.

    My 9800 256M Clocked from 350/300 to 459/417, that was with a TIM Replacement and Ramsinks placed on the chips.
     
  16. Salsoolo

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    219 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    who else thinks watercooling gpus will be a waste of money these days? !
     
  17. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    17,016 (4.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,414
    for one to come from maker that way, yes.
     
  18. Binge

    Binge Overclocking Surrealism

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,979 (2.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,754
    Location:
    PA, USA
    Come on... stay on topic? Eidairaman what you said about factory OCed cards not going any higher is complete bunk! I've just overclocked a GTX280 Super Clocked Edition up past my vanilla model. Please... the card in this topic has no overclock at all. It is stock 602/xxxx/xxxx which means it should at least be able to hit 680/15xx/1166 or so without breaking a sweat.
     
  19. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    17,016 (4.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,414
    Feeling a littel Tension are we???

    Usually 1s that come with Extravagant Cooling are Overclocked, Last company that didnt overclock with special cooling was Hercules, that ive seen.

    and Overclocking is very unpredictable, even that quote about 680/15xx/1166 isnt guaranteed, its the way of the beast. Listen i have no grudge against you but you seem to be building 1 against me which i have not given you any reason to unless if this subject we are talking about has you very touchy or something.
     
  20. qwerty_lesh

    qwerty_lesh

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2007
    Messages:
    535 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    41
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    they couldve prettied up the backplate :(
     
  21. Binge

    Binge Overclocking Surrealism

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,979 (2.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,754
    Location:
    PA, USA
    I think it's impolite to the company to warn people of issues that have not been reported or simply do not exist to the consumer base. There's no reason a reference card with non-reference cooling of this degree should not clock well. I'd RMA the damn thing if it didn't at least hit 680/15xx/1166, and anyone else should too. If they're just peddling crap cards with fancy coolers then you can call them on it and raise a stink, but until then I wouldn't go out of my way to shame them.

    For sure :laugh:
     
  22. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    17,016 (4.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,414
    well, they are not required or is it their responsibility to tell you how high or guarantee how high a card will clock beyond their specs because 1, they need to capitalize on OC edition cards- which are cherry picked ex. the Intel Extreme CPUs, 2 they dont condone overclocking unless if they are the ones that Preoverclock the parts, aka EVGA/Sapphire, which then those OC Speeds they put in are "Stock" thus previous clock rules apply.

    1 thing i was thinking, since they are placing an Aft-mark cooler on it, i wonder how much it would be for a stock card and then buy the Aft-mark cooler separately, after shipping even since you should be able to get both parts from same site in a single pack.
    __________________
     
    Last edited: Dec 27, 2008
  23. LittleLizard

    LittleLizard

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Messages:
    3,779 (1.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    575
    Location:
    Latin America, Uruguay
    That monster wont fit even on the biggest case :shadedshu
     
  24. Binge

    Binge Overclocking Surrealism

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,979 (2.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,754
    Location:
    PA, USA
    :wtf::wtf::wtf: It's smaller than the triple slot HD4870x2s. Come on!
     
  25. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    17,016 (4.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,414

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)