1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Install a driver for your network adapter

Discussion in 'Networking & Security' started by GSquadron, May 26, 2012.

  1. GSquadron

    GSquadron

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,264 (1.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    316
    Hi all!
    I am having trouble with the internet connection.
    It is not a modem fault, as i can use my laptop with wireless.
    It is a driver or maybe smth else problem i don't know.
    I installed latest driver and nothing changed, still having a red X in the connection.
    Tried installing the driver with nvidia chipset but nothing changed.
    Any help would be apprechiated! :toast:
     
  2. GSquadron

    GSquadron

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,264 (1.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    316
    Any help pls i am stuck
     
  3. micropage7

    micropage7

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    7,276 (2.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,851
    Location:
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    what brand and type, maybe you could put some screenshot to make it clear
     
  4. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    9,718 (5.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,795
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    Is the LINK LED on your network card lit? Does it actually think a cable is connected? Maybe test the cable with the laptop? Make sure to disable wireless when you connect ethernet to the laptop.
     
  5. GSquadron

    GSquadron

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,264 (1.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    316
    The link led on the network card is lit. The cable is connected.
    This problem happened to me when it was a blackout at home :S
    I need to make the connection again using all numbers and so,
    to put it in the laptop.
    Tried it anyway, didn't work
     
  6. GSquadron

    GSquadron

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,264 (1.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    316
    when i try putting in the run command ncpa.cpl doesn't find any local area connections at all
     
  7. Peter1986C

    Peter1986C

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    3,458 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,689
    Location:
    NL, Europe
    Go to the list of network adapters in the control panel, turn of the lan and turn it on again. See if that helps.
     
  8. puma99dk|

    puma99dk|

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    4,392 (1.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,189
    Location:
    Hide and Seek
    look for a Hotkey button for Wifi/Wireless like FN+ maybe F-key or see if u got a dedicated botton for Wifi on/off on the case of the lappy many ppl miss both when they got problems with the wifi/wireless but if that's all turned to On than give the name of the ethernet and i will see if i can find or make a Ethernet driver that should work.

    but for either of them i need to know what Windows u r running.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  9. GSquadron

    GSquadron

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,264 (1.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    316
    I pressed the reset button and now i don't have internet even on my laptop.
    It is part of the configuration problem.
     
  10. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    9,718 (5.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,795
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    Are you connect but you're not getting an IP from your router? Have you restarted your router instead?
     
  11. GSquadron

    GSquadron

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,264 (1.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    316
    ok, i am not the network guy but i will explain what happened till this day:
    1. I bought a wireless usb and it does function on the laptop.
    2. It does not function on the desktop!
    The desktop always says could not connect.
    After problem diagnostics it says no driver found.
    I downloaded the drivers of the nvidias chipset, but nothing changed.
    I have restarted, resetted the wireless modem, still nothing on the pc.
    What is the problem?
     
  12. GSquadron

    GSquadron

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,264 (1.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    316
    Also, how can i add items in the network connections in control panel?
    There is none in there!
    Edit: It is like windows has blocked all internet connections
     
    Last edited: May 27, 2012
  13. MT Alex

    MT Alex

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    4,016 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,832
  14. GSquadron

    GSquadron

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,264 (1.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    316
    ^Tryed it didnt work
     
  15. remixedcat

    remixedcat

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    4,145 (1.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,318
    download the latest drivers for lan/wlan>uninstall all network drivers>reinstall all drivers>dhcp release and renew>ipconfig /flushdns>see if this helps

    also see if everything's ok on the router's end.
     
  16. francis511

    francis511

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2,561 (0.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    273
    Location:
    N.Ireland
    Did you get a driver cd with the adapter you bought ?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  17. lyndonguitar

    lyndonguitar I play games

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Messages:
    1,669 (0.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    374
    Location:
    Philippines
    where did you get the drivers? cd? official site or some other site?
     
  18. GSquadron

    GSquadron

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,264 (1.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    316
    Did all you said didnt work
    Also, i already have the cd. It is not its drivers people. It is something else
    If it was the drivers the wireless usb key would have worked.
     
  19. GSquadron

    GSquadron

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,264 (1.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    316
    Did all you said, didnt work
    Also, i already have the cd. It is not its drivers people. It is something else
    If it was the drivers the wireless usb key would have worked.
    All kind of drivers suggested, official and other things didn't work.
    It must be something blocking my pc network
     
  20. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    9,718 (5.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,795
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    I think we may be misunderstanding what is going on. Let me try to clarify the situation. The wireless USB device is plugged in, installed, and otherwise working. You can see access points, but you cannot connect to them. Am I understanding this correctly, because misunderstanding will just send us the wrong direction.
     
    GSquadron says thanks.
  21. remixedcat

    remixedcat

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    4,145 (1.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,318
    why can't you connect to a network?
     
  22. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    9,718 (5.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,795
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    I think we're trying to figure that out. :wtf:
     
  23. remixedcat

    remixedcat

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    4,145 (1.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,318
    I think you still need to reinstall the drivers and if that don't work and you've redone your ENTIRE networking stack on windows then a reformat is needed or hardware needs replaced.
     
  24. GSquadron

    GSquadron

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,264 (1.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    316
    @aquinus
    U are perfectly right!
    Also, the lan cable, when is plugged in, it does not recognize any connections.

    I wanted to format the pc, but i have some informations inside that i cannot format it till the end of this week. Anyway, I think is more important to understand how to fix this kind of problem, rather than formatting.
     
  25. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    9,718 (5.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,795
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    I've had this issue between various wireless network adapters before. Some adapters like some channels more than others. Have you tried different wireless channels on your router? This is from my Cisco Linksys E4200 with stock firmware. If you have a Linksys router, it should look about the same.

    linksys.png

    I leave my channel on auto, it works well since my network with rather congested with 2.4ghz traffic, so it does a pretty good job at using unused or low noise channels, 5Ghz however 161 seems to be the sweet spot for 5ghz.

    On a side note, I dig the 5ghz a lot. Everyone who lives around me is too cheap to get a nice router, so everyone has 2.4ghz (there are a lot of apartments around me, I see about 16 APs,) but not a single one is 5ghz, so on 40mhz it flies.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)