• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Install RAM: Four sticks RAM at Dual Channel and frequency low or high

insomniagr10

New Member
Joined
Nov 22, 2020
Messages
3 (0.60/day)
Hello.
I beginner and I want too much to learn and knowledge.

I will buy motherboard, cpu and RAM.
I saw in ASUS website, the motherboard ASUS ROG MAXIMUS XII FORMULA is Dual Channel. Also, the website Intel, it mentions about Memory Specificatios at Intel i7-10700K:
Max Memory Size (dependent on memory type): 128 GB
Memory Types: DDR4-2933
Max # of Memory Channels: 2
Max Memory Bandwidth: 45.8 GB/s
ECC Memory Supported: No


I have got someone queries.
The motherboard is Dual Channel. If I install four sticks RAM on a motherboard, will I have someone problem? In addition, if I install DDR4 RAM with frequency speed 2400MHz, will I have got someone problem my system? Namely, will system wok on it or low?

Thank you
 
Joined
Aug 29, 2005
Messages
5,558 (1.00/day)
Location
Whatever my internet protocol shows I guess O.o
System Name Lynni The HaYaBuZa Dragon :x
Processor AMD Ryzen 9 3900X "ZEN2"
Motherboard MSI B450 Gaming Pro Carbono AC
Cooling Fractal Design Celsius S24
Memory Geil Dragon 4x8GB@3000mhz 15-17-17-35 (GWW416GB3000C15DC)
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon RX 5700 XT Pulse 8GB OC / Sapphire Radeon RX 590 Nitro+ Special Edition 8GB
Storage OS/Games:Samsung 970 EVO 500GB NVME|Samsung EVO 850 1TB SSD|Data:2xWD 4TB, 1xWD 10TB & WD 1TB
Display(s) Asus ROG Strix XG27UQ 4K@144hz | LG 55UK6100PLB IPS 4K HDR
Case Cougar Conquer "HaYaBuZa style"
Audio Device(s) Steelseries Arctis Pro Wireless
Power Supply Seasonic Prime 1200 watt 80Plus Platinum
Mouse Logitech G305 Lightspeedy Wireless
Keyboard Razer Blackwidow Chroma X UK
Software Win10 Pro UK x64 (20H2)
Benchmark Scores Time Spy: https://www.3dmark.com/3dm/33868867?
How much ram are we talking about?

16GB (4x4)?
32GB (4x8)?
64GB (4x16GB)?

Because the higher memory size the harder it can get to be stable even at X.M.P. clocks and keep in mind that X.M.P. is still a overclock not garantied to be 110% stabile.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
48,342 (8.20/day)
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Big Fella
Processor Ryzen R7 5800X
Motherboard Asus x570 Gaming-F
Cooling GPU: Corsair H110 W/ 4x140 Corsair ML RGB fans CPU: EK 240mm RGB AIO
Memory 64GB DDR4 3600 Corsair Vengeance RGB
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS mod to Gaming Z) (45C max load, H110 AIO)
Storage 1TB Sasmsung 970 Pro NVME + 500GB 850 Evo
Display(s) Phillips 328m6fjrmb (32" 1440p 144hz curved)
Case Fractal Design R6
Audio Device(s) Razer Leviathan + Corsair Void pro RGB, Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G Pro wireless + Steelseries Prisma XL
Keyboard Razer Huntsman TE
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Lots of RGB, so you know it's fast.
Just to make this simpler for you, when talking about ram you have totally seperate categories that sound the same

1. Ram slots
2. Ram channels
3. Ram "Ranks" (also called banks)

Ram slots is how many physical sticks can be installed
Ram channels is how many the CPU can use paired up for max performance (so a dual channel board works best with 2 or matching sticks)
Ram banks is basically that ram can come with one or two banks per stick, with 4 banks seeming optimum on modern DDR4 platforms for performance - so four single rank sticks or two double. This is not often a huge deal, and is not always advertised.

thats a very high end board, so you'll likely have no issues running ram at their rated XMP speeds (XMP must be enabled in the BIOS, to get them to that speed)
 

insomniagr10

New Member
Joined
Nov 22, 2020
Messages
3 (0.60/day)
How much ram are we talking about?

16GB (4x4)?
32GB (4x8)?
64GB (4x16GB)?

Because the higher memory size the harder it can get to be stable even at X.M.P. clocks and keep in mind that X.M.P. is still a overclock not garantied to be 110% stabile.
You are right. Sorry. I will put (4x8GB) 32GB or (4x16GB) 64GB.
The computer that I will build, it's for video editing and 3d and vfx
 
Last edited:

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
48,342 (8.20/day)
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Big Fella
Processor Ryzen R7 5800X
Motherboard Asus x570 Gaming-F
Cooling GPU: Corsair H110 W/ 4x140 Corsair ML RGB fans CPU: EK 240mm RGB AIO
Memory 64GB DDR4 3600 Corsair Vengeance RGB
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS mod to Gaming Z) (45C max load, H110 AIO)
Storage 1TB Sasmsung 970 Pro NVME + 500GB 850 Evo
Display(s) Phillips 328m6fjrmb (32" 1440p 144hz curved)
Case Fractal Design R6
Audio Device(s) Razer Leviathan + Corsair Void pro RGB, Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G Pro wireless + Steelseries Prisma XL
Keyboard Razer Huntsman TE
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Lots of RGB, so you know it's fast.
video editing will totally benefit from the ram

I got 64GB because i wanted to, personally - but i definitely dont see it all being used.

I'm quite confident both AMD and intel platforms can handle two 16GB or 32GB sticks at high speeds (such as my 3600MHz kit) but i wouldnt get on 4 sticks going above 3200Mhz
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
48,342 (8.20/day)
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Big Fella
Processor Ryzen R7 5800X
Motherboard Asus x570 Gaming-F
Cooling GPU: Corsair H110 W/ 4x140 Corsair ML RGB fans CPU: EK 240mm RGB AIO
Memory 64GB DDR4 3600 Corsair Vengeance RGB
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS mod to Gaming Z) (45C max load, H110 AIO)
Storage 1TB Sasmsung 970 Pro NVME + 500GB 850 Evo
Display(s) Phillips 328m6fjrmb (32" 1440p 144hz curved)
Case Fractal Design R6
Audio Device(s) Razer Leviathan + Corsair Void pro RGB, Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G Pro wireless + Steelseries Prisma XL
Keyboard Razer Huntsman TE
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Lots of RGB, so you know it's fast.
Why would you get 4 sticks going above 3200Mhz ?
Insanity? Bragging rights? Opening 3 chrome tabs at once?
I could have got 4 sticks of my ram kit for 128GB of 3600, but i highly doubt i could have got it stable without tweaking.
 
Joined
Jul 25, 2006
Messages
7,685 (1.47/day)
Location
Nebraska, USA
System Name Brightworks Systems BWS-6 E-IV
Processor Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.9GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3 Rev 1.0
Cooling Quality case, 2 x Fractal Design 140mm fans, stock CPU HSF
Memory 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3000 Corsair Vengeance
Video Card(s) EVGA GEForce GTX 1050Ti 4Gb GDDR5
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB SSD, Samsung 860 Evo 500GB SSD
Display(s) Samsung S24E650BW LED x 2
Case Fractal Design Define R4
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 550W G2 Gold
Mouse Microsoft Wireless 5000
Keyboard Microsoft Wireless Comfort 5050
Software W10 Pro 64-bit
Opening 3 chrome tabs at once?
:roll:

I think the first bit of advice for the OP is to RTFM. If you don't have your motherboard yet, go out to it's webpage, download and read the manual. It will tell you how and where (which slots) to install your RAM.

While on the webpage, look at the Memory QVL (qualified vendors list). This is a list of RAM the board maker has tested and verified works with that board. Understand there are too many RAM makers and models for board makers to test them all. So you don't have to buy listed RAM but you should buy RAM with the same specs as listed RAM to ensure compatibility.

As far as the speed of the RAM, typically more RAM trumps faster RAM. That is, I would much rather have 2 x 8GB of 2400MHz RAM than 2 x 4GB of 3200MHz RAM.

And get SSDs for storage. 'Nuff said on that.
 

rtwjunkie

PC Gaming Enthusiast
Supporter
Joined
Jul 25, 2008
Messages
13,499 (2.99/day)
Location
Louisiana -Laissez les bons temps rouler!
System Name Bayou Phantom
Processor Core i7-8700k 4.4Ghz @ 1.18v
Motherboard ASRock Z390 Phantom Gaming 6
Cooling All air: 2x140mm Fractal exhaust; 3x 140mm Cougar Intake; Enermax T40F Black CPU cooler
Memory 2x 16GB Mushkin Redline DDR-4 3200
Video Card(s) EVGA RTX 2080 Ti Xc
Storage 1x 500 MX500 SSD; 1x 6TB WD Black; 2x 4TB WD Black; 1x400GB VelRptr; 1x 3TB WD Blue storage (eSATA)
Display(s) HP 27q 27" IPS @ 2560 x 1440
Case Fractal Design Define R4 Black w/Titanium front -windowed
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Z
Power Supply Seasonic X-850
Mouse Coolermaster Sentinel III (large palm grip!)
Keyboard Logitech G610 Orion mechanical (Cherry Brown switches)
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit (Start10 & Fences 3.0 installed)
The other piece of advice I have for the OP is just because you have 4 RAM slots doesn’t mean you have to use them. In fact, with dual channel, I advise sticking to 2 RAM (you can do 2x16 and have more than you will need for the life of that board and CPU) and have less trouble.

More sticks of RAM puts a strain on the memory controller, which is in the CPU. This requires then more tweaking to get it stable, and it may not even reach stated XMP speeds.
 
Top