1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Install Win7 64bit with 4gb later update to 16gb?

Discussion in 'General Software' started by puma99dk|, Aug 1, 2012.

  1. puma99dk|

    puma99dk|

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    4,293 (1.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,161
    Location:
    Hide and Seek,
    i wanna know if it's safe and all that to install Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 64bit on my pc with my 4gb memory and than later update to 16gb memory or should i wait until i get my 16gb (4x4gb)?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  2. DRDNA

    DRDNA

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2006
    Messages:
    4,838 (1.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    595
    Location:
    New York
    Yes Sir you sure can do that with out any issues.
     
    puma99dk| and 95Viper say thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (3.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,632
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    Yes, I have machines at work running W7x64 with 4GB and they work fine.
    Adding more RAM is the same for any OS ... pop it in, and go.
     
    puma99dk| says thanks.
  4. puma99dk|

    puma99dk|

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    4,293 (1.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,161
    Location:
    Hide and Seek,
    thx i just wanna be sure, bcs i hate to reinstall over and over and over again, but installing all my programs is what taking time for me.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. robal

    robal

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2008
    Messages:
    493 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    116
    Location:
    Hampshire, UK
    I second that.
     
  6. puma99dk|

    puma99dk|

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    4,293 (1.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,161
    Location:
    Hide and Seek,
    i just hope all my applications will work, that i got for 32bit x:
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  7. insane 360

    insane 360

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    Messages:
    186 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    56
    win7 64 is so far been the best OS i've had, everything that i had that was 32bit works without issue...you shouldn't have any problem with compat.
     
  8. DRDNA

    DRDNA

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2006
    Messages:
    4,838 (1.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    595
    Location:
    New York
    I agree with the above post as I have had no issues with 32 bits apps running on Win 7 64 at all so far. Some apps can have issues though.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)