• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Installed Vista 64, need helpful tips and advice

RadeonX2

New Member
Joined
Oct 12, 2008
Messages
1,197 (0.35/day)
Likes
179
Location
Asia, PH
Processor Q6600 @ 3.6GHz | P4 @ 2.1GHz
Motherboard Asus Commando ROG (Vdroop mod) | Asus P4V8X-MX
Cooling MegaShadow w/ 2x Scythe Slipstream MX-2 Paste + Kama Bay + 4x120mm case fan | stock Intel
Memory Kingston 4x1GB DDR2 @ 800MHz w/ OCZ XTC cooler | 1GB DDR @ 400MHz
Video Card(s) Palit GTX 260 1792mb 448bit @ 713/1458/1116x2 | GeForce 4 MX 440 AGP8X 64mb 64bit
Storage 640GB WD AACS 250GB Excelstor 160GB Seagate | 40GB WD
Display(s) Samsung T220, Samsung 32" 1080P | LG L1752S
Case Gigabyte 3D Aurora 570 | Trendsonic mid tower
Audio Device(s) Asus Supreme FX (Creative Inspire 5.1 speaker), Samsung HT-Z220 | Onboard audio (2.1 Speaker)
Power Supply Gigabyte Odin Pro 800W | 550W generic
Software Vista Ultimate 64 SP2 | XP Pro 32 SP3
Benchmark Scores 3Dmark06 - 17,348 Vantage - P13,510 Super PI 1M - 12.765s @ 4.1GHz GenericCPUbench - 6,864 ms 38,
#1
Finally! Vista 64 is here... I just finished installing Vista 64 couple of hours ago including the drivers and programs that I often use. I noticed my HDD is always reading is this normal? also do I really need to disable aero? and UAC? is UAC necessary? I really like the looks of Vista + its much faster in loading apps compared to XP
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,465 (10.10/day)
Likes
18,135
Processor i7 8700K
Motherboard Asus Maximus Hero X WiFi
Cooling Water
Memory 16GB G.Skill 3200Mhz CL14
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Storage SSD's
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake Core X5
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Zx
Power Supply Corsair H1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
#2

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,419 (5.50/day)
Likes
10,555
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 8700K@4.8GHz(Quick and dirty)
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) PNY XLR8 GTX1060 6GB
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#3
I leave Aero on, it doesn't really hurt anything as long as you have a decently powerful machine, and you certainly do.

As for UAC, I leave it enabled, however I also enable the true administrator account and use that only, so it never bugs me with the exception of one program that requires it be off to install(Tversity).

For a Windows n00b, I would say UAC is necessary. For anyone that has used XP, and never gotten into any security trouble, I would say it isn't necessary.
 

RadeonX2

New Member
Joined
Oct 12, 2008
Messages
1,197 (0.35/day)
Likes
179
Location
Asia, PH
Processor Q6600 @ 3.6GHz | P4 @ 2.1GHz
Motherboard Asus Commando ROG (Vdroop mod) | Asus P4V8X-MX
Cooling MegaShadow w/ 2x Scythe Slipstream MX-2 Paste + Kama Bay + 4x120mm case fan | stock Intel
Memory Kingston 4x1GB DDR2 @ 800MHz w/ OCZ XTC cooler | 1GB DDR @ 400MHz
Video Card(s) Palit GTX 260 1792mb 448bit @ 713/1458/1116x2 | GeForce 4 MX 440 AGP8X 64mb 64bit
Storage 640GB WD AACS 250GB Excelstor 160GB Seagate | 40GB WD
Display(s) Samsung T220, Samsung 32" 1080P | LG L1752S
Case Gigabyte 3D Aurora 570 | Trendsonic mid tower
Audio Device(s) Asus Supreme FX (Creative Inspire 5.1 speaker), Samsung HT-Z220 | Onboard audio (2.1 Speaker)
Power Supply Gigabyte Odin Pro 800W | 550W generic
Software Vista Ultimate 64 SP2 | XP Pro 32 SP3
Benchmark Scores 3Dmark06 - 17,348 Vantage - P13,510 Super PI 1M - 12.765s @ 4.1GHz GenericCPUbench - 6,864 ms 38,
#4
fast replies!

oh there's this problem when installing Nvidia 181.22 driver it doesn't finish the installation? then I hit the task manager and it says its running I click the end task the installer quits properly after that restart the PC and the driver + physx were installed? :confused: I did the installation of Nvidia driver twice it still freezes but it says under task manager it's running
 
Joined
Dec 23, 2007
Messages
16,919 (4.60/day)
Likes
1,622
Location
Omaha, NE
System Name The ShadowFold Draconis (Ordering soon)
Processor AMD Phenom II X6 1055T 2.8ghz
Motherboard ASUS M4A87TD EVO AM3 AMD 870
Cooling Stock
Memory Kingston ValueRAM 4GB DDR3-1333
Video Card(s) XFX ATi Radeon HD 5850 1gb
Storage Western Digital 640gb
Display(s) Acer 21.5" 5ms Full HD 1920x1080P
Case Antec Nine-Hundred
Audio Device(s) Onboard + Creative "Fatal1ty" Headset
Power Supply Antec Earthwatts 650w
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
Benchmark Scores -❶-❸-❸-❼-
#5
Just turn UAC off. It's pretty pointless if you know your way around Windows. I keep Aero off because I like the look of it with it off but it's up to you. You have a pretty beastly rig so it's fine with it on or off.
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,465 (10.10/day)
Likes
18,135
Processor i7 8700K
Motherboard Asus Maximus Hero X WiFi
Cooling Water
Memory 16GB G.Skill 3200Mhz CL14
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Storage SSD's
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake Core X5
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Zx
Power Supply Corsair H1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
#6
Try installing your chipset drivers first, then re-download the vid. drivers and try again.
 

RadeonX2

New Member
Joined
Oct 12, 2008
Messages
1,197 (0.35/day)
Likes
179
Location
Asia, PH
Processor Q6600 @ 3.6GHz | P4 @ 2.1GHz
Motherboard Asus Commando ROG (Vdroop mod) | Asus P4V8X-MX
Cooling MegaShadow w/ 2x Scythe Slipstream MX-2 Paste + Kama Bay + 4x120mm case fan | stock Intel
Memory Kingston 4x1GB DDR2 @ 800MHz w/ OCZ XTC cooler | 1GB DDR @ 400MHz
Video Card(s) Palit GTX 260 1792mb 448bit @ 713/1458/1116x2 | GeForce 4 MX 440 AGP8X 64mb 64bit
Storage 640GB WD AACS 250GB Excelstor 160GB Seagate | 40GB WD
Display(s) Samsung T220, Samsung 32" 1080P | LG L1752S
Case Gigabyte 3D Aurora 570 | Trendsonic mid tower
Audio Device(s) Asus Supreme FX (Creative Inspire 5.1 speaker), Samsung HT-Z220 | Onboard audio (2.1 Speaker)
Power Supply Gigabyte Odin Pro 800W | 550W generic
Software Vista Ultimate 64 SP2 | XP Pro 32 SP3
Benchmark Scores 3Dmark06 - 17,348 Vantage - P13,510 Super PI 1M - 12.765s @ 4.1GHz GenericCPUbench - 6,864 ms 38,
#7
Try installing your chipset drivers first, then re-download the vid. drivers and try again.
that's what I did the first software I install is either the service pack or the chipset driver next thing would be the Nvidia driver and sound driver. I guess UAC should be turned off before installing any drivers?

I just noticed hibernation is enabled on default and it takes up 4gb of space.The partition on my Drive is 30gb on C: which is the Windows I was shock the free space left was only 9gb also I did move my page file to another drive I set it to 2048MB will it be better interms of performance? Drive C: page file is set 200MB. Now my C: space is up by 14.1gb :toast:
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,419 (5.50/day)
Likes
10,555
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 8700K@4.8GHz(Quick and dirty)
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) PNY XLR8 GTX1060 6GB
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#8
I hear the PhysX part can hang up the installer sometimes in Vista, especially on a clean install. Try extracting the driver exe into a folder, and removing the PhysX system software exe from it, then run the setup from the folder and install just the graphics drivers. Then install the PhysX software after the reboot.

I had my page file on a completely seperate hard drive from my Vista install, it didn't seem to help performance at all, so I just moved it back to the C drive.
 
Joined
Aug 22, 2008
Messages
199 (0.06/day)
Likes
8
Location
New zealand
System Name Home built or is that bank built :P
Processor I7 4960X
Motherboard rampage IV Black edition
Cooling stock standard with one xtra 120mm server case fan cooler master GTS V8
Memory 32gig ddr3 1866
Video Card(s) GTX 780TI
Storage 1Tb sata
Display(s) acer 42" lcd tv running thru hdmi monster cable
Case coolmaster csx falcon CX-632 ATX full tower case.
Audio Device(s) onboard sound
Power Supply Enermax Galaxy 1000W
Software Windows 7 64bit
#9
sorry to bring up an old post but was browsing, why install PhysX? what good does it do?
 
Joined
Dec 23, 2007
Messages
16,919 (4.60/day)
Likes
1,622
Location
Omaha, NE
System Name The ShadowFold Draconis (Ordering soon)
Processor AMD Phenom II X6 1055T 2.8ghz
Motherboard ASUS M4A87TD EVO AM3 AMD 870
Cooling Stock
Memory Kingston ValueRAM 4GB DDR3-1333
Video Card(s) XFX ATi Radeon HD 5850 1gb
Storage Western Digital 640gb
Display(s) Acer 21.5" 5ms Full HD 1920x1080P
Case Antec Nine-Hundred
Audio Device(s) Onboard + Creative "Fatal1ty" Headset
Power Supply Antec Earthwatts 650w
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
Benchmark Scores -❶-❸-❸-❼-
#10
sorry to bring up an old post but was browsing, why install PhysX? what good does it do?
It's good for the few games that use it. And by few I mean Mirror's Edge, Unreal T3, Warmonger and.. I think that's it.