• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Installing AMD Radeon™ HD 8970M

Joined
Jan 1, 2021
Messages
7 (0.11/day)
System Name Windows 10
Processor AMD A4-5000 APU with Radeon(TM) HD Graphics
I am trying to install the AMD Radeon HD 8970M driver on my laptop but I keep getting an Error 1603. This is what I've tried so far:

1. Installing the latest full version of Radeon™ Software package.
2. Running AMD Cleanup Utility.
3. Uninstalling my current driver, AMD Radeon HD 8330, before installing the new one.
4. Checking to see if I was using the newest version of Windows. (I was)
5. Turning off my security systems before installing the new driver.

Regardless of what I do, I keep ending old with my old driver, AMD Radeon HD 8330, reinstalled when I restart my laptop.
 
Joined
Mar 28, 2018
Messages
970 (0.91/day)
Location
Arizona
System Name Space Heater MKIII.5
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 2600X
Motherboard ASUS TUF Gaming X570-PLUS WiFi
Cooling Cryorig R1 Ultimate, 5x Cryorig XF140 fans
Memory 2x16GB Team T-Force Dark Z DDR4-3600 C18 1.35V (running 3200MHz C16)
Video Card(s) GeForce GTX 1070 Gigabyte G1 Gaming
Storage 500GB Samsung 970 EVO, 2x1TB Crucial MX500 (striped array), 4TB Seagate Barracuda
Display(s) Monoprice 35" 3440x1440p 100Hz
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M
Audio Device(s) Klipsch ProMedia 2.1
Power Supply EVGA 750 B3, CyberPower CST135XLU
Mouse Logitech MX Master
Keyboard Logitech G610 Orion Brown
Software Windows 10 Pro
The HD 8330 is an iGPU built into your CPU. The driver is probably recognizing that and not your dGPU.

What laptop do you have? What CPU does it have, and is the 8970M a supported upgrade?
 
Joined
Oct 22, 2014
Messages
11,189 (4.81/day)
Location
Sunshine Coast
System Name Black Box
Processor Intel i5-9600KF
Motherboard NZXT N7 Z370 Black
Cooling Cooler Master 240 RGB AIO / Stock
Memory Thermaltake Toughram 16GB 4400MHz DDR4 or Gigabyte 16GB 3600MHz DDR4 or Adata 8GB 2133Mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) Asus Dual 1060 6GB
Storage Kingston A2000 512Gb NVME
Display(s) AOC 24" Freesync 1m.s. 75Hz
Case Corsair 450D High Air Flow.
Audio Device(s) No need.
Power Supply FSP Aurum 650W
Mouse Yes
Keyboard Of course
Software W10 Pro 64 bit
What model Laptop?
Have you tried installing chipset drivers from the manufacturer allowing dual graphics?
Try an old version of Radeon software also as driver support may have been dropped.
 
Joined
Jan 1, 2021
Messages
7 (0.11/day)
System Name Windows 10
Processor AMD A4-5000 APU with Radeon(TM) HD Graphics
The HD 8330 is an iGPU built into your CPU. The driver is probably recognizing that and not your dGPU.

What laptop do you have? What CPU does it have, and is the 8970M a supported upgrade?
I have an HP Notebook with a device name of DESKTOP-NSDO9G5. My CPU is a AMD A4-5000 APU with Radeon(TM) HD Graphics. I cannot find if 8970M is a supported upgrade.

What model Laptop?
Have you tried installing chipset drivers from the manufacturer allowing dual graphics?
Try an old version of Radeon software also as driver support may have been dropped.
I have an HP Notebook with a device name of DESKTOP-NSDO9G5. I have not tried installing chipset drivers. How would I do that? Does trying an old version of Radeon software involve updating the HD 8330 I already have? Because I've tried that.
 
Joined
Jan 1, 2021
Messages
7 (0.11/day)
System Name Windows 10
Processor AMD A4-5000 APU with Radeon(TM) HD Graphics
Have I filled in any details wrong? It's been several weeks since someone responded, and I've been wondering if it's something I've said.
 

Frick

Fishfaced Nincompoop
Joined
Feb 27, 2006
Messages
16,842 (3.07/day)
Location
Piteå
System Name Black MC in Tokyo
Processor Ryzen 5 2600x
Motherboard Asrock B450M-HDV
Cooling AMD Wraith Spire I think
Memory 2 x 8GB G-skill Aegis 3000 or somesuch
Video Card(s) Gigabyte RTX 2060 Gaming OC Pro
Storage Kingston A400 240GB | WD Blue 1TB x 2 | Toshiba P300 2TB
Display(s) BenQ GL2450HT
Case Antec dumpster find
Audio Device(s) Line6 UX1 + some headphones
Power Supply Fractal Design Effekt 400W
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Dell Sk3205
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores I once had +100 dorfs in DF, so yeah pretty great
I have an HP Notebook with a device name of DESKTOP-NSDO9G5. My CPU is a AMD A4-5000 APU with Radeon(TM) HD Graphics. I cannot find if 8970M is a supported upgrade.


I have an HP Notebook with a device name of DESKTOP-NSDO9G5. I have not tried installing chipset drivers. How would I do that? Does trying an old version of Radeon software involve updating the HD 8330 I already have? Because I've tried that.

That's not the model, that's just the device name.

Are you sure the computer even have the 8970M?
 

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
12,029 (3.62/day)
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Apollo
Processor Intel Core i9 9880H
Memory 64GB DDR4-2667
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon Pro 5600M, 8GB HBM2
Storage 1TB Apple NVMe, 4TB External
Display(s) Laptop @ 3072x1920 + 2x LG 5k Ultrafine TB3 displays
Case MacBook Pro (16", 2020)
Audio Device(s) AirPods Pro, Sennheiser HD 380s w/ FIIO Alpen 2, or Logitech 2.1 Speakers
Power Supply 96w Power Adapter
Mouse Logitech MX Master 3
Keyboard Full Size Wireless Apple Magic Keyboard
Software MacOS 10.15.7
Are you sure the computer even have the 8970M?
This. I seriously doubt that a laptop with an A4 chip will have an MXM slot for a GPU. I think the OP is trying to "download a new GPU". :kookoo:
 
Joined
Jan 1, 2021
Messages
7 (0.11/day)
System Name Windows 10
Processor AMD A4-5000 APU with Radeon(TM) HD Graphics
That's not the model, that's just the device name.

Are you sure the computer even have the 8970M?
Are you saying that "HP Notebook" is the device name?

Currently, I have the AMD Radeon HD 8330 driver, but I have downloaded the 8970M and I am trying to install it. So far I keep getting an Error 1603.
 
Joined
Feb 18, 2012
Messages
2,210 (0.67/day)
System Name MSI GE75 Raider
Processor i9 9880h
Cooling 2 laptop fans
Memory 32gb of 3000mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) Nvidia 2080
Storage x2 2tb Intel 660p SSD nvme, WD Red SA500 2.5in 4TB
Display(s) 17.3" IPS 1920x1080 144Hz
Power Supply 280w laptop power supply
Mouse Logitech m705
Keyboard laptop keyboard
Software lots of movies and Windows 10 with win 7 shell
Benchmark Scores Good enough for me
Are you saying that "HP Notebook" is the device name?

Currently, I have the AMD Radeon HD 8330 driver, but I have downloaded the 8970M and I am trying to install it. So far I keep getting an Error 1603.
Maybe you downloaded the wrong graphics card drivers. Look at the bottom of the laptop, there might be a sticker that says the laptop model, maybe the sticker is not completely rubbed off.
Or go into the bios, press delete when you start the laptop. I think most laptops its the delete button, others might be the F2 or F8, F9.

In the bios there might be the laptop model if the sticker is rubbed off, then find the correct software drivers for the graphics card.
 

Frick

Fishfaced Nincompoop
Joined
Feb 27, 2006
Messages
16,842 (3.07/day)
Location
Piteå
System Name Black MC in Tokyo
Processor Ryzen 5 2600x
Motherboard Asrock B450M-HDV
Cooling AMD Wraith Spire I think
Memory 2 x 8GB G-skill Aegis 3000 or somesuch
Video Card(s) Gigabyte RTX 2060 Gaming OC Pro
Storage Kingston A400 240GB | WD Blue 1TB x 2 | Toshiba P300 2TB
Display(s) BenQ GL2450HT
Case Antec dumpster find
Audio Device(s) Line6 UX1 + some headphones
Power Supply Fractal Design Effekt 400W
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Dell Sk3205
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores I once had +100 dorfs in DF, so yeah pretty great
Are you saying that "HP Notebook" is the device name?

Currently, I have the AMD Radeon HD 8330 driver, but I have downloaded the 8970M and I am trying to install it. So far I keep getting an Error 1603.

What I mean is: What exact model do you have? It should be on a sticker on the bottom of the laptop. Something like HP-g022ng#uaa or something. I don't think there is a HP laptop with the a4-5000 and a 8970M GPU.
 

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
12,029 (3.62/day)
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Apollo
Processor Intel Core i9 9880H
Memory 64GB DDR4-2667
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon Pro 5600M, 8GB HBM2
Storage 1TB Apple NVMe, 4TB External
Display(s) Laptop @ 3072x1920 + 2x LG 5k Ultrafine TB3 displays
Case MacBook Pro (16", 2020)
Audio Device(s) AirPods Pro, Sennheiser HD 380s w/ FIIO Alpen 2, or Logitech 2.1 Speakers
Power Supply 96w Power Adapter
Mouse Logitech MX Master 3
Keyboard Full Size Wireless Apple Magic Keyboard
Software MacOS 10.15.7
Currently, I have the AMD Radeon HD 8330 driver, but I have downloaded the 8970M and I am trying to install it. So far I keep getting an Error 1603.
Installing a new driver doesn't magically make your laptop have an 8970M if it has an 8330 in it. The thing is that both of these GPUs are likely going to use the same driver, so if you only see a 8330, that's what you have and no amount of installing different drivers is going to change that.
 
Joined
Jan 1, 2021
Messages
7 (0.11/day)
System Name Windows 10
Processor AMD A4-5000 APU with Radeon(TM) HD Graphics
What I mean is: What exact model do you have? It should be on a sticker on the bottom of the laptop. Something like HP-g022ng#uaa or something. I don't think there is a HP laptop with the a4-5000 and a 8970M GPU.
I'm afraid I lost the sticker some years ago.

Maybe you downloaded the wrong graphics card drivers. Look at the bottom of the laptop, there might be a sticker that says the laptop model, maybe the sticker is not completely rubbed off.
Or go into the bios, press delete when you start the laptop. I think most laptops its the delete button, others might be the F2 or F8, F9.

In the bios there might be the laptop model if the sticker is rubbed off, then find the correct software drivers for the graphics card.
I tried doing that. It isn't working but l'll try gain.

Installing a new driver doesn't magically make your laptop have an 8970M if it has an 8330 in it. The thing is that both of these GPUs are likely going to use the same driver, so if you only see a 8330, that's what you have and no amount of installing different drivers is going to change that.
Ah. So there's no chance of changing drivers?
 
Joined
Aug 15, 2016
Messages
177 (0.11/day)
Processor Intel i7 4770k @ 4.5 GHz 1.294V
Motherboard ASUS Sabertooth Z87
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory Patriot Viper 3 RedD 16 GB @ 1866 MHz
Video Card(s) XFX RX 480 GTR 8GB
Storage 1x SSD Samsung EVO 250 GB 1x HDD Seagate Barracuda 3 TB 1x HDD Seagate Barracuda 4 TB
Display(s) Dell S2415H
Case Cooler Master HAF XM
Audio Device(s) Magnat LZR 980, Razer BlackShark V2, Altec Lansing 251
Power Supply Corsair AX860
Mouse Razer DeathAdder V2
Keyboard Razer Huntsman Tournament Edition
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
BIOS might hold some info on the model, if I'm not mistaken. Was doing something in BIOS on a older HP desktop and I could swear I saw the model number there.

PS: I don't think there's anything worse that HP's custom BIOS, there are 3 options, and I didn't have high hopes for being able to change the boot order either.
 

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
12,029 (3.62/day)
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Apollo
Processor Intel Core i9 9880H
Memory 64GB DDR4-2667
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon Pro 5600M, 8GB HBM2
Storage 1TB Apple NVMe, 4TB External
Display(s) Laptop @ 3072x1920 + 2x LG 5k Ultrafine TB3 displays
Case MacBook Pro (16", 2020)
Audio Device(s) AirPods Pro, Sennheiser HD 380s w/ FIIO Alpen 2, or Logitech 2.1 Speakers
Power Supply 96w Power Adapter
Mouse Logitech MX Master 3
Keyboard Full Size Wireless Apple Magic Keyboard
Software MacOS 10.15.7
Joined
Feb 18, 2012
Messages
2,210 (0.67/day)
System Name MSI GE75 Raider
Processor i9 9880h
Cooling 2 laptop fans
Memory 32gb of 3000mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) Nvidia 2080
Storage x2 2tb Intel 660p SSD nvme, WD Red SA500 2.5in 4TB
Display(s) 17.3" IPS 1920x1080 144Hz
Power Supply 280w laptop power supply
Mouse Logitech m705
Keyboard laptop keyboard
Software lots of movies and Windows 10 with win 7 shell
Benchmark Scores Good enough for me
Maybe download gpuz and take a screen shot of that, than post it here.
 
Joined
Jan 1, 2021
Messages
7 (0.11/day)
System Name Windows 10
Processor AMD A4-5000 APU with Radeon(TM) HD Graphics
Maybe download gpuz and take a screen shot of that, than post it here.
Here is the screenshot:
TechPowerUp Screenshot.gif


The problem isn't the drivers. You don't have a 8970M. That is your problem.
If I download the 8970M driver, could I install it? (I've downloaded it already, and my problems installing it are what led to this thread. Now I want to know if it's possible.)
 
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
43,101 (8.07/day)
Processor i7 8700K
Motherboard Asus Maximus Hero X WiFi
Cooling Deepcool 360 AIO, ID Cooling Frostflow 240
Memory 32GB G.Skill 3200Mhz CL14
Video Card(s) Zotac RTX 3070
Storage SSD's
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Lian Li PC 011 Dynamic
Audio Device(s) Yamaha AG03, Beyerdynamic DT990 Pro, ModMic
Power Supply Corsair H1000i
Mouse PCMR Model O
Keyboard GMMK
Software Windows 10 Enterprise
No, your card will remain a HD 8330, there's no changing that. Where are you finding a separate driver for the 8970M? They should be the same through AMD.
 
Joined
Jan 2, 2009
Messages
9,831 (2.21/day)
Location
Suffolk/Essex, England
System Name Joseph's Laptop
Processor And 3900 3.1 base / 3.6 boost multi /4.3 boost single
Motherboard *shrugs*
Cooling Heatpipes, lots of them.
Memory 2x 16gb
Video Card(s) Rtx 2070 8gb
Storage 2tb intel nvme and 2tb generic ssd
Display(s) 1080p 144hz
Power Supply 300w power brick
Mouse Steam controller
Software Windows ten
Benchmark Scores Cinebench r20 6222 multi / 473 single
Here is the screenshot:
View attachment 185234


If I download the 8970M driver, could I install it? (I've downloaded it already, and my problems installing it are what led to this thread. Now I want to know if it's possible.)
Do you actually have an 8970m ( hardware wise)

At the bottom of your screen shot where it says hd 8330 can you click that and does it show other hardware?

If no, you don't have an 8970m which is why the driver does nothing.

Drivers interact with the hardware.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 21, 2008
Messages
6,672 (1.40/day)
Location
S.E. Virginia
System Name Barb's Domain
Processor i9 10850k
Motherboard MSI MPG Z490 GAMING EDGE WIFI
Cooling MSI MAG CORELIQUID 240R
Memory 16gig Corsair LPX DDR4 3200
Video Card(s) RTX 2070 FE
Storage 500gb Samsung 980 Pro M2 SSD, 500GB WD Blue SATA SSD, 2TB Seagate Hybrid SSHD
Display(s) ASUS VP28UQG 28" 4K
Case SilverStone Fortress FT04
Audio Device(s) Logitech Z533
Power Supply XFX 750W XXX edition
Mouse Logitect G5
Software Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
Benchmark Scores https://www.3dmark.com/3dm/55157790?fbclid=IwAR15vnx_G6DccT0VpH4l6Qws3reUlxR6NsESECNEazvR-NdWYJpf3Va
If no, you don't have an 8970m which is why the driver does nothing.

The drivers should still install. AMD drivers are AMD drivers, whether they are for a 8970m, a 8330m or a RX 6900XT, but as has been said, it won't change the OP's 8330 to a 8970.
 

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
12,029 (3.62/day)
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Apollo
Processor Intel Core i9 9880H
Memory 64GB DDR4-2667
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon Pro 5600M, 8GB HBM2
Storage 1TB Apple NVMe, 4TB External
Display(s) Laptop @ 3072x1920 + 2x LG 5k Ultrafine TB3 displays
Case MacBook Pro (16", 2020)
Audio Device(s) AirPods Pro, Sennheiser HD 380s w/ FIIO Alpen 2, or Logitech 2.1 Speakers
Power Supply 96w Power Adapter
Mouse Logitech MX Master 3
Keyboard Full Size Wireless Apple Magic Keyboard
Software MacOS 10.15.7
Joined
Feb 18, 2012
Messages
2,210 (0.67/day)
System Name MSI GE75 Raider
Processor i9 9880h
Cooling 2 laptop fans
Memory 32gb of 3000mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) Nvidia 2080
Storage x2 2tb Intel 660p SSD nvme, WD Red SA500 2.5in 4TB
Display(s) 17.3" IPS 1920x1080 144Hz
Power Supply 280w laptop power supply
Mouse Logitech m705
Keyboard laptop keyboard
Software lots of movies and Windows 10 with win 7 shell
Benchmark Scores Good enough for me
Joined
Jan 1, 2021
Messages
7 (0.11/day)
System Name Windows 10
Processor AMD A4-5000 APU with Radeon(TM) HD Graphics
Do you actually have an 8970m ( hardware wise)

At the bottom of your screen shot where it says hd 8330 can you click that and does it show other hardware?

If no, you don't have an 8970m which is why the driver does nothing.

Drivers interact with the hardware.
No, it doesn't show any other hardware. Ah well, I'll have to find some other way of updating my video display driver. Thanks for trying to help me out.
 
Joined
Jan 5, 2006
Messages
11,228 (2.03/day)
System Name Desktop / Laptop
Processor Intel i7 6700K @ 4.5GHz (1.270 V) / Intel i3 7100U
Motherboard Asus Z170 Pro Gaming / HP 83A3 (U3E1)
Cooling Noctua NH-U12A 2 fans + Thermal Grizzly Kryonaut + 5 case fans / Fan
Memory 16GB DDR4 Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000MHz CL15 / 8GB DDR4 HyperX CL13
Video Card(s) MSI RTX 2070 Super Gaming X Trio / Intel HD620
Storage Samsung 970 Evo 500GB + Samsung 850 Pro 512GB + Samsung 860 Evo 1TB x2 / Samsung 256GB M.2 SSD
Display(s) 23.8" Dell S2417DG 165Hz G-Sync 1440p + 21.5" LG 22MP67VQ IPS 60Hz 1080p / 14" 1080p IPS Glossy
Case Be quiet! Silent Base 600 - Window / HP Pavilion
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX Onboard / Realtek onboard + B&O speaker system
Power Supply Seasonic Focus Plus Gold 750W / Powerbrick
Mouse Logitech MX Anywhere 2 Laser wireless / Logitech M330 wireless
Keyboard RAPOO E9270P Black 5GHz wireless / HP backlit
Software Windows 10 / Windows 10

Frick

Fishfaced Nincompoop
Joined
Feb 27, 2006
Messages
16,842 (3.07/day)
Location
Piteå
System Name Black MC in Tokyo
Processor Ryzen 5 2600x
Motherboard Asrock B450M-HDV
Cooling AMD Wraith Spire I think
Memory 2 x 8GB G-skill Aegis 3000 or somesuch
Video Card(s) Gigabyte RTX 2060 Gaming OC Pro
Storage Kingston A400 240GB | WD Blue 1TB x 2 | Toshiba P300 2TB
Display(s) BenQ GL2450HT
Case Antec dumpster find
Audio Device(s) Line6 UX1 + some headphones
Power Supply Fractal Design Effekt 400W
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Dell Sk3205
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores I once had +100 dorfs in DF, so yeah pretty great
No, it doesn't show any other hardware. Ah well, I'll have to find some other way of updating my video display driver. Thanks for trying to help me out.

You probably already have an updated driver.
 

dorsetknob

"YOUR RMA REQUEST IS CON-REFUSED"
Joined
Mar 17, 2005
Messages
8,819 (1.51/day)
Location
Dorset where else eh? >>> Thats ENGLAND<<<
Ah well, I'll have to find some other way of updating my video display
Back up your data then buy a better laptop with better Graphics that is the ONLY way your get better Graphics

"Its been a popcorn munching thread "
Thank you
 
Top