• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

intel 330 120gb ssd

Joined
Mar 19, 2012
Messages
377 (0.18/day)
Likes
35
Location
Rizal, Philippines
System Name Poor Man's Build
Processor Intel i7 3960X 4.9Ghz Sandy Bridge E
Motherboard MSi X79A-GD65 8D
Cooling XSPC 240mm and 360MM (External) Rad
Memory 64Gb Corsair Dominator Platinum
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX770 SC ACX SLI (non water cooled yet)
Storage Intel 520 240GB SSD x2 /x2 WD Caviar Black 3TB 7200RPM 64MB Cache
Display(s) ASUS 27" 2560X1440 x3
Case Corsair 900D (upgraded from my lvl 10 gt and 600T)
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar Essence STX
Power Supply Corsair AX1200i 80PLUS Platinum
Software Windows 7 Ultimate (FPP)
#1
hey guys, setting up a new system for my wife, and I'm planning on using my old 120gb intel 330 ssd. but whenever I try to do a fresh install of windows it says 111gb instead of 120. and yes it's formatted. not sure what I did in the past, can anyone help me out??? and my current ssd which I'm using now a 520 240gb ssd x2 and it gives me exactly the same storage size except some space which had my windows and other stuff. compared to this one which has 9gb missing at the start.
 

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
10,401 (4.84/day)
Likes
5,481
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Zalman CPNS9900MAX 130mm
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 390 GAMING 8GB @ PCI-E 3.0
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 Corsair Force GT Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 17.10
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
#2
Hard drive manufacturers tell you that 1000 bytes = 1 kilobyte and does not use binary to count. Therefore your 120Gb SSD has 120,000,000,000 bytes available to be used rather than the 128,849,018,880 that would be on a true 120GB SSD (SSDs do have this much, it's typically first level over provisioning though so you can't use it).

So if you do the math 128,849,018,880 bytes - 120,000,000,000 bytes = 8641620 Bytes / 1024byte/KB = 8439.08 KB / 1024KB/MB = 8.24GB

How much space are you missing again? ;)

I would double check the 520s though, I suspect that it isn't giving you a full 240GB like you're claiming it does since a lot of SSDs (not all) work this way.
 
Joined
May 21, 2009
Messages
4,966 (1.59/day)
Likes
1,511
System Name i7-PC / HTPC / iMac
Processor i7 3820 / Phenom II 940
Motherboard GIGABYTE G1.ASSASSIN2 / M3A79-T Deluxe
Cooling Corsair Hydro H100i / Scythe II (HS only)
Memory G.SKILL Trident X Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3 1600mhz / 4GB DDR2 1066 (@800) Corsair Dominator
Video Card(s) GB Radeon HD 7950s 3GB / GB Radeon HD 7950s 3GB
Storage 2x 80GB Intel X-25, 2x600gb SATA, 1x1tb 5400RPM storage /1x600GB, 3x500GB,1x160,1x120 SATA
Display(s) 1x 27" Yamakasi / Vizio 42" HDTV
Case Lian Li Lancool PC-K58 / Antec 900
Audio Device(s) HT Omega Striker 7.1 / Onboard and HDMI from ATi Card
Power Supply PC Power & Cooling 750W / 610W
Software Ubuntu / Windows 8.1 Pro / OS X / PHPStorm / Gaming
#3
it's normal for space to be "missing" because of what aquinus specified. My bet is you are just including that missing space when you say "windows and other stuff" it's likely part of that other stuff and you just don't know ii.
 
Joined
Jan 18, 2012
Messages
751 (0.35/day)
Likes
218
System Name My PC
Processor i7 4790k @4.4ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte z97m-d3h
Cooling Corsair H105
Memory 4x4GB Corsair Dominator Platinum 2133-9-11-11-31-1T
Video Card(s) GTX970 Stric oc
Storage Samsung 840Pro 512GB
Display(s) Asus ROG SWIFT
Case Lian Li 359
Audio Device(s) Denon DA-300USB / Denon AH-D5000
Power Supply Corsair AX860
Mouse Roccat Kone Pure Optical
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software Win10 64-bit home
#4
111GB

That's exactly what I get on my 120GB Kingston HyperX SSD for the reason Aquinus described plus the extra stuff that windows needs to reserve when creating a partition (a small space is marked as "system reserved").
 
Joined
Mar 19, 2012
Messages
377 (0.18/day)
Likes
35
Location
Rizal, Philippines
System Name Poor Man's Build
Processor Intel i7 3960X 4.9Ghz Sandy Bridge E
Motherboard MSi X79A-GD65 8D
Cooling XSPC 240mm and 360MM (External) Rad
Memory 64Gb Corsair Dominator Platinum
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX770 SC ACX SLI (non water cooled yet)
Storage Intel 520 240GB SSD x2 /x2 WD Caviar Black 3TB 7200RPM 64MB Cache
Display(s) ASUS 27" 2560X1440 x3
Case Corsair 900D (upgraded from my lvl 10 gt and 600T)
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar Essence STX
Power Supply Corsair AX1200i 80PLUS Platinum
Software Windows 7 Ultimate (FPP)
#5
well I'm missing 9gb worth of file so its 111gb/120gb well I don't understand much but my old external hard drive has 99xgb size out of 1tb I'll check tomorrow since I left it at work. so I was thinking something is wrong but well hdd are different from ssd's so XD..... but I was erxpecting to lose like 3-4gb instead of 9gb flat.
 
Joined
Nov 10, 2006
Messages
4,527 (1.12/day)
Likes
6,075
Location
Washington, US
System Name Lappy
Processor i7 6700k
Motherboard Sager NP9870
Cooling A lot smaller than I'd like
Memory Samsung 4x8GB DDR4-2133 SO-DIMM
Video Card(s) GTX 980 (MXM)
Storage 2xSamsung 950 Pro 256GB | 2xHGST 1TB 7.2K
Display(s) 17.3" IPS 1080p G-SYNC
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster X-FI MB 5, Foster 2.1 channel integrated
Mouse Razer Deathadder
Keyboard 3-zone RGB integrated
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores Not slow
#6
Like others have said, when a drive says 120GB, they actually mean 120,000,000,000 bytes. Since it's 1024 bytes to a KB (and so on) instead of 1000, you can divide by 1024 three times to get an actual storage size of 111.7587089538574 GB.

Edit: Just detailing it more.

120,000,000,000 bytes divided by 1024 = 117,187,500 Kilobytes
117,187,500 KB divided by 1024 = ~114,441 Megabytes
114,441 MB divided by 1024 = ~111.76 Gigabtes
 
Joined
Sep 20, 2009
Messages
716 (0.24/day)
Likes
143
Location
C:\Kitteh
Processor i7 2600K | Phenom II 840
Motherboard ASUS P8Z68 Deluxe | ASUS M4A88T-M
Cooling Corsair H60 | Scythe Samurai ZZ
Memory 4x4GB Samsung Green 1600 @ 1866 | 2x2GB Corsair XMS3 1333
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 670 FTW | On Board AMD
Storage 2 x 64GB Samsung 830, Velociraptor 300GB,1TB Black,1.5TB Black |10TB server
Display(s) HP 2509m 25" 1080p
Case Lian Li PC-V1020A | Lian Li PC-V354A
Audio Device(s) Azuntech Bravuria 7.1 | On-Board (Disabled)
Power Supply Seasonic X-series 760 , Seasonic X-series 760
Software Windows 7 Ultimate X64 | UnRaid (CentOS)
#7
Like others have said, when a drive says 120GB, they actually mean 120,000,000,000 bytes. Since it's 1024 bytes to a KB (and so on) instead of 1000, you can divide by 1024 three times to get an actual storage size of 111.7587089538574 GB.

Edit: Just detailing it more.

120,000,000,000 bytes divided by 1024 = 117,187,500 Kilobytes
117,187,500 KB divided by 1024 = ~114,441 Megabytes
114,441 MB divided by 1024 = ~111.76 Gigabtes
Correct

And 117,187,500 Kilobytes equals 111.75871 GB
 
Joined
Mar 19, 2012
Messages
377 (0.18/day)
Likes
35
Location
Rizal, Philippines
System Name Poor Man's Build
Processor Intel i7 3960X 4.9Ghz Sandy Bridge E
Motherboard MSi X79A-GD65 8D
Cooling XSPC 240mm and 360MM (External) Rad
Memory 64Gb Corsair Dominator Platinum
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX770 SC ACX SLI (non water cooled yet)
Storage Intel 520 240GB SSD x2 /x2 WD Caviar Black 3TB 7200RPM 64MB Cache
Display(s) ASUS 27" 2560X1440 x3
Case Corsair 900D (upgraded from my lvl 10 gt and 600T)
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar Essence STX
Power Supply Corsair AX1200i 80PLUS Platinum
Software Windows 7 Ultimate (FPP)
#8
=))))) but still ssd's I look forward the future where there will be 1tb-4tb ssd at affordable price like todays hdd