1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Intel Core i5 & i7 Sandy Bridge Overclocking and Feedback

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by mudkip, Jan 4, 2011.

  1. LAN_deRf_HA

    LAN_deRf_HA

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Messages:
    4,641 (1.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,001
    Vista and 7 have always had issues detecting cpu speed on the system page. Sometimes it'll get it right, and then if you change the clock speed later it just won't update. I doubt it'll get fixed until they do another massive overhaul like xp to vista. Microsoft doesn't have a good track record of addressing the little annoyances. They still haven't fixed the bug where aero peek can get disabled if you update your graphics driver.
     
  2. random

    random

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    3,046 (0.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    688
    Would you guys think 0.30+ vcore is worth it from 4.4ghz to 4.5ghz?
     
  3. OneMoar

    OneMoar There is Always Moar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    6,895 (2.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,704
    Location:
    Rochester area
    no
     
    random says thanks.
  4. random

    random

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    3,046 (0.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    688
    lol I wouldn't have thought so either, there seems to be a big difference in stability when going from 4.4ghz to 4.5ghz on my chip
     
  5. OneMoar

    OneMoar There is Always Moar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    6,895 (2.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,704
    Location:
    Rochester area
    other then just for fun anything over 3.8-4.0 is pretty useless
     
  6. WhiteNoise

    WhiteNoise

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    2,060 (0.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,043
    Location:
    Riverside, California


    Says you.
     
  7. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,353 (3.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,099
    Location:
    Home
    Obviously you never used your rig to model a 3d surface, or try to crack a relatively strong RSA encryption.
     
  8. heky

    heky

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009
    Messages:
    968 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    173
    Location:
    Slovenia, Europe
    Hy guys. Finally completed my sandy bridge build. My 2600K is IntelBurn 2.51 stable @4.6Ghz @1.3v in Bios, 1.36v full load. The ram runs at 1866 at the moment with 8-9-8-24-1T @ 1.5v.
    Cant go any higher with cpu clocks due to temps, they get over 70 with IBT.
     
    LifeOnMars says thanks.
  9. Finners

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    381 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    154
    Has anybody else find that Intelburn doesn't prove Stability with Sandybridge? i had my 2500k stable with IBt, but would fail Prime and BSOD

    I've found Prime blend test best for me
     
    BababooeyHTJ says thanks.
  10. heky

    heky

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009
    Messages:
    968 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    173
    Location:
    Slovenia, Europe
    Try 2.51, report back. I pass prime with ease, Ibt gives me way higher temps.
     
  11. OneMoar

    OneMoar There is Always Moar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    6,895 (2.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,704
    Location:
    Rochester area
    prime does a better job of testing for stability
    ibt just runs a in-place fft test and doesn't really test true-stability
     
  12. WhiteNoise

    WhiteNoise

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    2,060 (0.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,043
    Location:
    Riverside, California
    None of those progies prove stability with sanyBridge IMO. I can run those all day long @ 5GHz and pass all along...then bsod while sitting at a desktop doing nothing.

    CPU volts fix these problems but this cpu just requires too many for me to want to clock that high.

    4.7Ghz is 100% stable for me and has been for some time now. Anything over 4.7GHz though requires voltages that I don't feel good about using.
     
    random says thanks.
  13. KieX

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    2,406 (0.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,461
    Location:
    London, UK
    I have found that almost nothing does for 24/7 clocks on Sandybridge. What is fine for months of full load, still crashes randomly sometimes in another applications. I found a guide with some explanations to BSOD, you might find useful:

     
    WhiteNoise says thanks.
  14. WhiteNoise

    WhiteNoise

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    2,060 (0.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,043
    Location:
    Riverside, California
    Thats some good info there dude thanks!
     
  15. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    16,196 (3.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,353
    Location:
    Beaumont, Alberta
    IBT doesn't use AVX extensions, as far as I know. Prime 95 uses varied instructions, so if run for long enough, does test multiple loading scenarios within a single session, so does provide much differnt testing than IBT does.

    Those having issues with idle...there are three specific causes for that, that no real test out there is programmed for.


    #1 cause is PLL Overvoltage.
     
    WhiteNoise says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  16. heky

    heky

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009
    Messages:
    968 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    173
    Location:
    Slovenia, Europe
    I think the new 2.51 version of IBT uses AVX.
     
  17. random

    random

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    3,046 (0.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    688
    I found that Prime95 Blend test to show the best results for instability on a system that crashes while idle.

    While I could pass 25 linx run and 20 IBT runs, I could not pass an hour of Prime Blend.
     
  18. LAN_deRf_HA

    LAN_deRf_HA

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Messages:
    4,641 (1.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,001
    What I've found to be a good test for 24/7 is watching dvds in windows media player and playing a bunch of flash games in the browser. For the initial hardcore testing I've found IBT with AVX instructions set on normal with 100 runs to be more effective than doing slow maximum runs. I'm guessing because IBT is most likely to fail at the end of a run. Other than that I do OCCT large data sets. The flash and dvd tests really seem to do the trick for me.
     
  19. heky

    heky

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009
    Messages:
    968 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    173
    Location:
    Slovenia, Europe
    Hey guys, turns out you were right. I was not stable in prime blend. Had to set 1.34v in bios, and get 1.4v full load. Thats stable for now.
     
  20. random

    random

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    3,046 (0.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    688
    Yeah I suggest anyone who is testing 24/7 settings to use Prime Blend, it finds the error pretty quickly as opposed to having to wait til it eventually crashes on idle.
     
  21. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    16,617 (4.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,870
    Location:
    London,UK
    I think this is a very positive start for a P8Z68 board

    [​IMG]

    I had to rar some files up in the background otherwise the CPU would trip down to 1.6Ghz lol but ive played BC2 like this for hours and this is all good. this screenshot is a little old but ive OC'd my ram to balance the whole lot out which gave me an exta 1k in vantage
     
    LifeOnMars says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  22. Chosen Juan New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2011
    Messages:
    82 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    When you overclock (let's say, to 4.4Ghz), is it supposed to be at 4.4Ghz the whole time, or is it supposed to be downclocked and only go to 4.4Ghz when a full load is applied?

    I'm wondering because I've been reading about overclocking my 2500K recently (still waiting for second fan for push-pull), and many articles talk about overclocking the Turbo Boost so the idle is low.
     
  23. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    16,617 (4.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,870
    Location:
    London,UK
    you can turn it off if you want, Its only speed step
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  24. Chosen Juan New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2011
    Messages:
    82 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    See for some reason it's not working for me. I was checking under CPU-Z earlier, and when everything was completely stock, my 2500K would be at 1.6Ghz on idle, then it would go up to 3.4Ghz under full load.

    Now I'm just doing a simple overclock to 4.0Ghz on 1.2v (just testing it out), and it is always at 4.0Ghz, even when there is no load. I go into the UEFI, and Intel Speed Step is Enabled. Am I doing something wrong, or is this how overclocking is on ASRock motherboards? I have no problem with it, it would just be nice to save some power on idle you know?
     
  25. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    16,617 (4.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,870
    Location:
    London,UK
    try disabling the C1E or C3 states in the bios.

    or setting the power options within windows for full power usage. instead of balanced by default.

    if its not either of those then i dont know. I havent really played around with the bios since i only put this rig together thursday just gone
     
    10 Year Member at TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)