• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Intel Haswell Overclocking Clubhouse.

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Staff member
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,576 (3.85/day)
Likes
10,942
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
#51
Prime95 pushes the load voltage up to 1.44v. But here's Spi32m, and again, it bounced around on the voltage and frequency just like at stock. It's not hitting throttling by a long shot, am I missing something?

http://img829.imageshack.us/img829/4359/48ddr2133.png
Nope, but you're using an offset voltage instead of a consistent one. For initial testing, it's better to test with a set voltage, find stability, and then take that knowledge to apply the offset.


When the multi changes, the voltage changes, as each multi has it's own VID associated with it. As well, there are other conditions that can adjust that VID, so rather than dealing with that for testing, simply avoiding that is best.

That's why I didn't include your OC voltage in the chart. It really could be anything, and as you can see, as load changes, so does the voltage, so who's to say what you are really running?
 
Joined
May 21, 2008
Messages
4,090 (1.16/day)
Likes
766
Location
Iowa, USA
System Name FUTURE CUBE!
Processor intel Core i5 6600k
Motherboard Gigabyte Z170X-Gaming 7
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC14PE BK
Memory G.Skill TridentZ 3000 Mhz C15 32GB 2x16GB
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Aorus 1080 Ti
Storage 2x M.2 Samsung Evo 250GB/500GB / WD Blue 500GB / 2x RAID1 Toshiba P300 3TB
Display(s) Samsung C24FG70 1080p 144hz Quantum Dot/ASUS VH226H 1080p 21.5"
Case "THE CUBE" Custom built, pure Red Alder wood
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Core3D/ Logitech Z-2300 200 watts/ Beyerdynamic DT 880
Power Supply Seasonic X Gold 650W
Mouse Logitech G700
Keyboard Logitech G910
Software Windows 10 Pro
#52
Dude, yeah, you'd think it would be one of the larger factors, for sure, but since I don't really have any inside line with Intel to ask these questions and wasn't part of the launch media, I couldn't tell you what's really the story. As you can see by the diagram I posted way up above, there's apparently only VCCIN and DRAM-in for power supplied to the CPU, but looking at these ROG boards, there's a whole huge whack of things to set, and a lot of other boards don't have these options.

That's why I made this thread in the first place. I need to know more, and if I do, so does everyone else. So let's see what we can find out.;)

I think I got the CPU multi binning part down. Roughly going as I expected(I've talked to a couple of PC builders and what they got for chips, too). But we still have iGPU, VCCSA/AIO/DIO, VCCIN, and others to figure out yet. None of those videos talk about any of THAT, really. What I did hear was a bunch of "We'll do that for you". :p As if that's good enough for me. :roll:

plus this whole "set 1.2V, try 4.6 GHz" seems..well...like something I told W1zz to do before the launch with his chip, before any of this "info" was out. Really. That's exactly what I told W1zz to do. I had tested three chips. ASUS et al apparantly tested hundreds of chip, and they cannot contribute more than I did with just three chips? WTF....

Those overclock guides contain ZERO info, IMHO. Anyone here could have figured that out. I did...:roll:
That's what I don't understand they should know everything about how haswell works. Which either they do, but won't tell or they wasted a lot of time... If I had a 4770K and a board I would help you out, but that won't be for a long time unless you can tell me when the Maximus VI Gene will be out and for how much :D
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Staff member
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,576 (3.85/day)
Likes
10,942
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
#53
That's what I don't understand they should know everything about how haswell works. Which either they do, but won't tell or they wasted a lot of time... If I had a 4770K and a board I would help you out, but that won't be for a long time unless you can tell me when the Maximus VI Gene will be out and for how much :D
..Or simply..it's just too early.

I prefer to think it's just to early, so we have just as much a chance of compiling enough info to figure it out as they do. Maybe they need to crowd-source like we do. :p :roll:
 
Joined
May 21, 2008
Messages
4,090 (1.16/day)
Likes
766
Location
Iowa, USA
System Name FUTURE CUBE!
Processor intel Core i5 6600k
Motherboard Gigabyte Z170X-Gaming 7
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC14PE BK
Memory G.Skill TridentZ 3000 Mhz C15 32GB 2x16GB
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Aorus 1080 Ti
Storage 2x M.2 Samsung Evo 250GB/500GB / WD Blue 500GB / 2x RAID1 Toshiba P300 3TB
Display(s) Samsung C24FG70 1080p 144hz Quantum Dot/ASUS VH226H 1080p 21.5"
Case "THE CUBE" Custom built, pure Red Alder wood
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Core3D/ Logitech Z-2300 200 watts/ Beyerdynamic DT 880
Power Supply Seasonic X Gold 650W
Mouse Logitech G700
Keyboard Logitech G910
Software Windows 10 Pro
#54
It's never to early :p I want to know everything now :D

But yes you are probably very much correct, I'm just impatient.
 
Joined
May 30, 2006
Messages
7,626 (1.79/day)
Likes
855
Location
TX, USA
Processor Intel i7 4770K
Motherboard Asrock
Cooling Water
Memory Team Xtreem LV 16GB (2x8GB)
Video Card(s) EK Full WB HD7970
Display(s) CROSSOVER 27Q LED-P 27"
Case Danger Den Torture Rack
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply CORSAIR Professional Series Gold AX1200
Software W 10 Pro
#55
idk whats wrong but now im getting vcore 1.048v ring 0.976v not its just changed to 1.056v 0.984v when the ss put it under 0c :laugh:

any clue where I can get a beta bios seen 1.2B7 but cant find to dl it anywhere :(
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Staff member
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,576 (3.85/day)
Likes
10,942
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
#56
idk whats wrong but now im getting vcore 1.048v ring 0.976v not its just changed to 1.056v 0.984v when the ss put it under 0c :laugh:

any clue where I can get a beta bios seen 1.2B7 but cant find to dl it anywhere :(
I think the iVR changes it's behavior according to temps with some sort of throttling mechanism. I wonder then if how it changes might indicate how good a chip is for sub-zero.

I found Shamino's guide for M6E late last night. He's still working on it too, it seems.


CL3P0 on overclock.net says he gets the best results matching iVR to double the vCore. There is a mode for LN2 that can force vCore as high as iVR, and keep that and cache in sync, so it'd then kind of act like IVB I think. Balancing the load on the iVR seems pretty important, hadn't considered that really until reading Shamino's guide.
 
Joined
May 30, 2006
Messages
7,626 (1.79/day)
Likes
855
Location
TX, USA
Processor Intel i7 4770K
Motherboard Asrock
Cooling Water
Memory Team Xtreem LV 16GB (2x8GB)
Video Card(s) EK Full WB HD7970
Display(s) CROSSOVER 27Q LED-P 27"
Case Danger Den Torture Rack
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply CORSAIR Professional Series Gold AX1200
Software W 10 Pro
#57
What's iVR haha ring volt ?

Most I tryed was around 1.380v and was able to bench nb at 5GHz

Not sure how high on the ring volt is safe so haven't pushed it more don't wanna kill it yet and leaving out of town today and won't be back till Fri Sat death in the family :(
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jun 10, 2013
Messages
95 (0.06/day)
Likes
45
System Name Molten Haswell Silicon
Processor 4770k @ 4.7GHz 1.265v - 1.39v
Motherboard Asus Z87-Plus
Cooling Swiftech H220
Memory 8GB Corsair Dominator 2133MHz CL9 1.5v
Video Card(s) GTX 680
Storage Intel SSD 510 250GB
Case HAF 922
Power Supply Corsair Modular 850W
#58
Nope, but you're using an offset voltage instead of a consistent one. For initial testing, it's better to test with a set voltage, find stability, and then take that knowledge to apply the offset.


When the multi changes, the voltage changes, as each multi has it's own VID associated with it. As well, there are other conditions that can adjust that VID, so rather than dealing with that for testing, simply avoiding that is best.

That's why I didn't include your OC voltage in the chart. It really could be anything, and as you can see, as load changes, so does the voltage, so who's to say what you are really running?
I initially used manual settings, but since it still uses a higher voltage than what I set, it was just the same to use offsets.

Anyways, for what it's worth, here's 1.325v manual (BIOS and CPU-Z measure 1.344v). I could probably push that voltage lower, but it'll bluescreen under heavier loads even at 1.325v (which is why I'm questioning the utility of SuperPI results here). At the other end of the spectrum, there's P95, but that's not helpful either since no real program I know of can kick power up that high. Is Aida64 a better all-around choice? Load voltage is the most interesting to me, otherwise you have to say a) what your manual voltage settings was, b) what the BIOS measures the manual voltage as, and c) what your load voltage is. I'm not sure what a) and b) tell you that c) doesn't.

Also, I'll start manually setting my ring voltage to find out where it's at for 4.5GHz. Good thing I found the clubhouse here so I'm not shooting in the dark like before.

 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Staff member
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,576 (3.85/day)
Likes
10,942
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
#59
What's iVR haha ring volt ?

Most I tryed was around 1.380v and was able to bench nb at 5GHz

Not sure how high on the ring volt is safe so haven't pushed it more don't wanna kill it yet and leaving out of town today and won't be back till Fri Sat death in the family :(
iVR is the onboard voltage regulator, that splits the VCCin from board VRM into the different parts of the chip. It's right in the chip itself. I haven't investigated playing with that too much, but I've noticed a couple of times that when increasing volts on some boards VCCin automatically jumped up to 2.0 V from 1.8 V. Has to be useful to tweak that.

I initially used manual settings, but since it still uses a higher voltage than what I set, it was just the same to use offsets.

Anyways, for what it's worth, here's 1.325v manual (BIOS and CPU-Z measure 1.344v). I could probably push that voltage lower, but it'll bluescreen under heavier loads even at 1.325v (which is why I'm questioning the utility of SuperPI results here). At the other end of the spectrum, there's P95, but that's not helpful either since no real program I know of can kick power up that high. Is Aida64 a better all-around choice? Load voltage is the most interesting to me, otherwise you have to say a) what your manual voltage settings was, b) what the BIOS measures the manual voltage as, and c) what your load voltage is. I'm not sure what a) and b) tell you that c) doesn't.

Also, I'll start manually setting my ring voltage to find out where it's at for 4.5GHz. Good thing I found the clubhouse here so I'm not shooting in the dark like before.

http://img839.imageshack.us/img839/3606/48ddr21331344v.png
I'll update your entry on the chart.

I know, Spi32m is hardly a worthy stability test. Reading provided clocking guides and watching videos form the guys that do them, it seems that p95 is a special case and other stress tests may not get that higher VID to enable. Using Spi32m ensures that this vid doesn't enable, from my testing. I'll be investigating that too as I work through testing these boards. I noticed the jump on P95 myself with the first few days of testing, and had already been using wPrime for testing performance a bit already, so swapping over to wPrime's more consistent workload made a lot of sense, and I actually shelved P95 from my testing routine. I had been testing boards before, with at least 24-hour runs of P95...and if it failed, then I'd start over. In the past 8 months or so, I've had about 30 new tests into my testing routine that overall allow me to get a better idea of true stability, faster, than what P95 offers me. If that's just because my PC usage changed or apps are different, or these new instruction sets playing a role...lol... overclocking can be pretty easy...or pretty hard. :p


What cooling you got, and where'd you pick your chip up from? ;)

As to AIDA64 being a better choice, ASUS is promoting it a fair bit, so they obviously find good value in it. AIDA64 is one app I trust implicitly, the guys/gals over there are very good at keeping things up to date the best they can, and are really good at giving support to paid subscribers. I have used/trusted AIDA64 and other software Fiery has worked on for many many years now.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jun 10, 2013
Messages
95 (0.06/day)
Likes
45
System Name Molten Haswell Silicon
Processor 4770k @ 4.7GHz 1.265v - 1.39v
Motherboard Asus Z87-Plus
Cooling Swiftech H220
Memory 8GB Corsair Dominator 2133MHz CL9 1.5v
Video Card(s) GTX 680
Storage Intel SSD 510 250GB
Case HAF 922
Power Supply Corsair Modular 850W
#60
I'll update your entry on the chart.

I know, Spi32m is hardly a worthy stability test. Reading provided clocking guides and watching videos form the guys that do them, it seems that p95 is a special case and other stress tests may not get that higher VID to enable. Using Spi32m ensures that this vid doesn't enable, from my testing. I'll be investigating that too as I work through testing these boards. I noticed the jump on P95 myself with the first few days of testing, and had already been using wPrime for testing performance a bit already, so swapping over to wPrime's more consistent workload made a lot of sense, and I actually shelved P95 from my testing routine. I had been testing boards before, with at least 24-hour runs of P95...and if it failed, then I'd start over. In the past 8 months or so, I've had about 30 new tests into my testing routine that overall allow me to get a better idea of true stability, faster, than what P95 offers me. If that's just because my PC usage changed or apps are different, or these new instruction sets playing a role...lol... overclocking can be pretty easy...or pretty hard. :p


What cooling you got, and where'd you pick your chip up from? ;)

As to AIDA64 being a better choice, ASUS is promoting it a fair bit, so they obviously find good value in it. AIDA64 is one app I trust implicitly, the guys/gals over there are very good at keeping things up to date the best they can, and are really good at giving support to paid subscribers. I have used/trusted AIDA64 and other software Fiery has worked on for many many years now.
I have a Zalman CNPS10x Quiet cooler, and I bought the chip through Intel's employee purchase program 8^)

Maybe I'll give Aida64 a shot. P95 isn't helpful for stability testing at the clock speeds I want to use due to the heat. Gaming at 4.8GHz is easy, with temps hitting only 64C. But it would be nice to run into bluescreens sooner than 1 hr.
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Staff member
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,576 (3.85/day)
Likes
10,942
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
#61
I have a Zalman CNPS10x Quiet cooler, and I bought the chip through Intel's employee purchase program 8^)

Maybe I'll give Aida64 a shot. P95 isn't helpful for stability testing at the clock speeds I want to use due to the heat. Gaming at 4.8GHz is easy, with temps hitting only 64C. But it would be nice to run into bluescreens sooner than 1 hr.
Really? :p that's kind of a poopy cooler, so you getting those clock is pretty nice, I think.

As to P95, I guess the problem in the end is that if it is making VID go higher than everything else, and everything else is actually getting a lower voltage, then truly P95 is useless.

So you test P95 @ 1.3V, but other apps are only getting 1.225V, and aren't stable, but P95 is. So, you set 1.3V, other apps are now stable, but P95 now gets 1.375V. So these guides recommend 1.25V max to make sure that you'll only give 1.325 V max...so maybe that should be the cap we aim for.


I think that other apps aren't fully using the chip like P95 does, or one of the new extensions changes how the iVR gives voltage. I think that's what I heard JJ say, I've gone over way too much info the last little bit. :p

I'm working through my apps and clocking and playing with stuff to see what I get. Then I try the other chip. I could probably go through this faster if I had more chips.
 
Joined
Aug 29, 2004
Messages
967 (0.20/day)
Likes
111
Location
Danville IL
Processor I7 4770k
Motherboard ASUS z87 pro
Cooling Corsair a50
Memory 4x4 gig Gskil aries ddr3 1866
Video Card(s) Gigabyte r280x windforce
Storage intel 520 120 gig ssd
Display(s) 24 inch Asus IPS
Case Cool Master
Audio Device(s) realtek onboard
Power Supply hiper 880
Software win 7 ult
#62
 

Attachments

Joined
Jun 10, 2013
Messages
95 (0.06/day)
Likes
45
System Name Molten Haswell Silicon
Processor 4770k @ 4.7GHz 1.265v - 1.39v
Motherboard Asus Z87-Plus
Cooling Swiftech H220
Memory 8GB Corsair Dominator 2133MHz CL9 1.5v
Video Card(s) GTX 680
Storage Intel SSD 510 250GB
Case HAF 922
Power Supply Corsair Modular 850W
#63
Really? :p that's kind of a poopy cooler, so you getting those clock is pretty nice, I think.

As to P95, I guess the problem in the end is that if it is making VID go higher than everything else, and everything else is actually getting a lower voltage, then truly P95 is useless.

So you test P95 @ 1.3V, but other apps are only getting 1.225V, and aren't stable, but P95 is. So, you set 1.3V, other apps are now stable, but P95 now gets 1.375V. So these guides recommend 1.25V max to make sure that you'll only give 1.325 V max...so maybe that should be the cap we aim for.


I think that other apps aren't fully using the chip like P95 does, or one of the new extensions changes how the iVR gives voltage. I think that's what I heard JJ say, I've gone over way too much info the last little bit. :p

I'm working through my apps and clocking and playing with stuff to see what I get. Then I try the other chip. I could probably go through this faster if I had more chips.
You disrespectin' my cooler?! But seriously, I'll need to see temps in the 90's on a meaningful workload before I consider an h100i or something. For 4.8GHz, I've been using adaptive Vcore with 0.200 offset and 0.050v additional turbo, which allows plenty of voltage headroom for those P95'ish cases (which will ultimately throttle). A game load only requires 1.3v, so that works.

P95 loads up all CPU execution lanes using those AVX instructions, so you really hit peak instruction throughput. I think it's safe to say that most real programs do something besides fast fourier transforms.
 
Joined
Dec 18, 2008
Messages
1,837 (0.55/day)
Likes
528
System Name Computer
Processor 1700X
Motherboard CH6
Cooling Custom Loop
Memory G.Skill 32GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1070
Storage 500GB Samsung 850 Evo Msata
Display(s) LG 23" IPS
Power Supply Seasonic 760 Platinum
Software Windows 8.1 64-Bit
#64
I just realized that my BIOS is from april now I am eager to update

WOOT! Able to achieve 4.5Ghz now

4.5Ghz @ 1.285V | OC Cache x39 @ 1.15V | 75c load on Noctua NH-D14

 
Last edited:
Joined
Jun 10, 2013
Messages
95 (0.06/day)
Likes
45
System Name Molten Haswell Silicon
Processor 4770k @ 4.7GHz 1.265v - 1.39v
Motherboard Asus Z87-Plus
Cooling Swiftech H220
Memory 8GB Corsair Dominator 2133MHz CL9 1.5v
Video Card(s) GTX 680
Storage Intel SSD 510 250GB
Case HAF 922
Power Supply Corsair Modular 850W
#65
For 45x cache, 1.25v is the ticket.

The Intel tool shows "Default" when I'm at default voltages rather than a value. So I don't know what my default cache voltage is yet.

 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Staff member
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,576 (3.85/day)
Likes
10,942
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
#66
Joined
Jun 10, 2013
Messages
95 (0.06/day)
Likes
45
System Name Molten Haswell Silicon
Processor 4770k @ 4.7GHz 1.265v - 1.39v
Motherboard Asus Z87-Plus
Cooling Swiftech H220
Memory 8GB Corsair Dominator 2133MHz CL9 1.5v
Video Card(s) GTX 680
Storage Intel SSD 510 250GB
Case HAF 922
Power Supply Corsair Modular 850W
#67
Temps are getting up there a bit. Did you track the increase?

What about the performance difference?
Maybe I'll run P95 large FFT with 45x cache @ 1.25v and default cache ratio/voltage and compare temps.

More data:
45x cache @ 1.23v will reboot under load.
46x cache @ 1.30v will reboot under load.
46x cache @ 1.325v seems stable. I ran P95 blend with a single core at 46x, the other cores at 43x for a while without issues (didn't throttle). All cores at 46x works, but throttling occurs.
47x cache @ 1.350v and 1.375v both reboot under load. I'm giving up on 47x, that's just too much voltage.

Also, for fun I used the Intel tool to test 45x cores at 1.25v, 1.24v, 1.23v, 1.22v, and 1.21v core voltages. I ran P95 large-fft for 6 passes on each, and only 1.21v caused a reboot. I ran P95 blend on 1.23v, and it ran for 30 minutes or so but crashed as soon as I tried to come back from screen saver. I saw 98C as my max core temp just before it shut down. I still need 1.25v to 1.26v on the core to safely boot into windows, but it was still interesting.

Here's a a picture that includes the Intel tool. The Intel tool is just reporting the BIOS voltage settings.

 
Joined
Apr 10, 2012
Messages
1,319 (0.63/day)
Likes
687
Location
78°55' N, 11°56' E
System Name -aLiEn beaTs-
Processor Intel i7 4770k OC 4.7GHz @ 1.28v | Cache 4.2GHz
Motherboard Asus Z87-Deluxe
Cooling Corsair H90 custom p|p fans
Memory G.skill TridentX 2x8GB DDR3 2400MHz CL10|1T
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 980TI AMP!Omega Factory OC 1420MHz
Storage Intel SSD
Display(s) EIZO FS2333
Case CoolerMaster HAF 932 USB3.0
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium HD @ 2.1 Bose acoustimass 5
Power Supply Chieftec Ntro88+ 650W [52A]
Mouse oldschool Razer Copperhead blu
Keyboard Logitech G19s
Software Windows 10 Pro RS2
Benchmark Scores ► ♪♫♪♩♬♫♪♭
#68
Just received mobo+cpu today., finally :D


Hmm my cpu is a black sheep lol

i haven't seen this batch before >>> L308B202<<<,


hopefully it will OC ok without to much volts, I will see tomorrow when i'll put it together :pimp:
 
Joined
Aug 30, 2009
Messages
4,001 (1.31/day)
Likes
1,652
Location
Sarasota, Florida, USA
System Name Awesomesauce 4.3 | Laptop (MSI GE72VR 6RF Apache Pro-023)
Processor Intel Core i7-5820K 4.16GHz 1.28v/3GHz 1.05v uncore | Intel Core i7-6700HQ @ 3.1GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X99-UD5 WiFi LGA2011-v3| Stock
Cooling Corsair H100i v2 w/ 2x EK Vardar F4-120ER + various 120/140mm case fans | Stock
Memory G.Skill RJ-4 16GB DDR4-2666 CL15 quad channel | 12GB DDR4-2133
Video Card(s) ASUS ROG Strix A8G Gaming GTX 1080 @ 2075/1368 boost | NVIDIA GTX 1060 6GB +200/+500 + Intel 530
Storage Samsung 840 EVO 500GB + Seagate 3TB 7200RPM + others | Kingston 256GB M.2 SATA + 1TB 7200RPM
Display(s) Acer G257HU 1440p 60Hz AH-IPS 4ms | 17.3" 1920*1080 60Hz wide angle TN notebook panel
Case Fractal Design Define XL R2 | MSI
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Z | Realtek with quad stereo speakers and subwoofer
Power Supply Corsair HX850i Platinum | 19.5v 180w Delta brick
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 | Windows 10 Home x64
Benchmark Scores GTX 1080 please?
#69
24 hours until my 4770K gets here and is installed. :)
 
Joined
Jun 10, 2013
Messages
95 (0.06/day)
Likes
45
System Name Molten Haswell Silicon
Processor 4770k @ 4.7GHz 1.265v - 1.39v
Motherboard Asus Z87-Plus
Cooling Swiftech H220
Memory 8GB Corsair Dominator 2133MHz CL9 1.5v
Video Card(s) GTX 680
Storage Intel SSD 510 250GB
Case HAF 922
Power Supply Corsair Modular 850W
#70
Maybe I'll run P95 large FFT with 45x cache @ 1.25v and default cache ratio/voltage and compare temps.
http://img13.imageshack.us/img13/4884/48ddr21331344c125u.png
Temps showed no difference in P95 large FFT. Planetside 2 at 46x cache @ 1.325v was perfectly stable and stayed under 64C just like 45x cache @ 1.25v.

Meanwhile, simply dropping DDR from 2133 to 1600 will reduce max temps by a good 7-10C, and dropping core voltage sees immediate gains as well. Looks like the cache is either not a big heat producer, or tough to really stress.

Anyone have a good test that should benefit from cache speed?
 

HammerON

The Watchful Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Mar 2, 2009
Messages
7,458 (2.30/day)
Likes
4,776
Location
Up North
System Name Cruncher / Cruncher 2
Processor i7 6900K / E5 2683 v3
Motherboard X99A Gaming Pro Carbon / ASRock X99 Extreme 4/3.1
Cooling EK Supremacy EVO Elite 2011-3 / EK Supremacy
Memory G.Skill Trident Z 32GB 3200 / G.SKILL Trident Z 16GB 3200
Video Card(s) EVGA 980 Ti Classified / ATI 3650
Storage Samsung 960 Pro 512 GB + Mushkin Reactor 1 TB / OCZ Vertex 4 256 GB
Display(s) Dell UltraSharp U3011 30"
Case Corsair Obsidian 800D / TT Core V51
Audio Device(s) On-board
Power Supply Corsair AX1200 / EVGA 500W
Software Win 10 Pro/ Win 10
Benchmark Scores Always changing~
#71


This is at stock. Temps are a bit high for me:(
However I do like the low voltage:)
 
Joined
Dec 27, 2012
Messages
220 (0.12/day)
Likes
229
Location
Athens,Greece
#72
Just got my new chip:
Batch # L312B508
Stock Voltage: 1.02V
Stock VRing/Cache Voltage: 1V
Stock V Input: 1.754V
4.5 GHz -> 1.22v
4.6 GHz -> 1.28v
4.7 GHz -> 1.30v boot need 1.35 for most benchmark. Didnt try more
5.0 GHz -> 1.45v under bad SS
5.1 GHz -> 1.50v under bad SS

Uncore -> I tried x41 without problems. Didnt need for more.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Apr 26, 2008
Messages
1,106 (0.31/day)
Likes
178
Location
london
System Name Staggered
Processor Intel i5 6600k (XSPC Rasa)
Motherboard Gigabyte Z170 Gaming K3
Cooling RX360 (3*Scythe GT1850) + RX240 (2*Scythe GT1850) + Laing D5 Vario (with EK X-Top V2)
Memory 2*8gb Team Group Dark @3000Mhz 16-16-16-36 1.25v
Video Card(s) Inno3D GTX 1070 HerculeZ
Storage 256gb Samsung 830 + 2*1tB Samsung F3 + 2*2tB Samsung F4EG
Display(s) Flatron W3000H 2560*1600
Case Cooler Master ATCS 840 + 1*120 GT1850 (exhaust) + 1*230 Spectre Pro + Lamptron FC2 (fan controller)
Power Supply Enermax Revolution 85+ 1250W
Software Windows 10 Pro 64bit
#73
Replacing the stock el cheapo die TIM with Coollaboratory Liquid Pro seems to drop temps by 20C, sometimes more.
Unfortunately, chips that struggle with 4.5GHz with the stock TIM probably won't benefit much from the better temps, from what I've seen.
 
Joined
Oct 26, 2011
Messages
3,121 (1.37/day)
Likes
892
Processor Ci7 5960X
Motherboard RVE
Cooling Triple Aquacomputer AMS 840 with D5
Memory Some random DDR4
Video Card(s) GTX 1080 Ti
Storage 960 EVO
Display(s) Dell U3011 2560x1600 + Dell 2408WFP 1200x1920 (Portrait)
Case Dimastech Bench EasyXL
Audio Device(s) Essence STX
Power Supply AX 1500i
Software Win10
#74
Just got my new chip:
Batch # L312B508
Stock Voltage: 1.02V
Stock VRing/Cache Voltage: 1V
Stock V Input: 1.754V
4.5 GHz -> 1.22v
4.6 GHz -> 1.28v
4.7 GHz -> 1.30v boot need 1.35 for most benchmark. Didnt try more
5.0 GHz -> 1.45v under bad SS
5.1 GHz -> 1.50v under bad SS

Uncore -> I tried x41 without problems. Didnt need for more.
for bad SS you mean 200w load capable unit?