• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Intel Haswell Overclocking Clubhouse.

Kursah

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 15, 2006
Messages
10,956 (2.68/day)
Likes
5,076
Location
Missoula, MT, USA
System Name Kursah's Gaming Rig - Haswell Edition | Spartan Home Server 2015
Processor i7 4790k 4.0/4.8 @ 1.26v | i7 4790k 4.0/4.4 @ 1.18v - Both delidded w/CLU
Motherboard Asus Z87-Pro - BIOS 2103 | Asus Z87-Pro - BIOS 2103
Cooling Noctua NH-U14S Push-Pull | Cooler Master 212 EVO Stock - Using NT-H1 and AC MX-4
Memory 16GB (2x8) Corsair Dominator DDR3 2400 CL11 | 32GB (4x8) G.Skill DDR3-1600 CL9
Video Card(s) MSI GTX980 Ti Gaming 6G LE @ Stock | Onboard Intel HD 4600
Storage 850EVO 250GB SSD, 960GB SSD, 1x2TB | 840 120GB SSD, RAID10 6x2TB (6TB) + 8TB Backup
Display(s) Samsung 32" TV IPS 1080p, Dell 23" U2312HM IPS 1080p | 19" 4:3 Dell LCD..mostly RDP.
Case Corsair 600C - Stock Fans on Low | Lian Li Lancool PC-K7 - Cougar fans
Audio Device(s) Aune T1 mk1 > AKG K553 Pro + HiFiMAN HE-350 (Equalizer APO + PeaceUI) | Realtek ALC1150
Power Supply EVGA 750G2 Modular + APC 1500VA UPS | EVGA KR500 80+ Bronze + CyberPowerPC 1000VA UPS
Mouse Logitech G502 | Dell USB Laser Mouse
Keyboard Logitech G15 rv2 | Dell USB Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 | Windows Server 2012 R2 (GUI Core,Hyper-V + VMs)
Great read Dave!

I do have a question where I wonder if you could elaborate a bit more on disabling the i-GPU BEFORE installing the OS. I was wondering what difference it may or may not make? I haven't disabled my i-GPU...let alone see any settings (though I haven't really looked either) to disable it offhand yet I have not installed drivers nor see it detected in device manager. You say a temp reduction of up to 30C...that' s HUGE! I may have to play with this aspect...I'm assuming with my dedicated GPU maybe the i-GPU is automatically disabled? Which is what I'm kind of hoping for in all honesty. I suppose I need to do my part and dig into it on my end. I will note that my Windows 8 experience has been great so far! Not really missing 7 all that bad. Sure I have my habits, but the more I get used to Win8 the more I like it, how fast and smooth it runs...I haven't ran into any bugs...nor do I mess with the Windows Apps or App Store yet.

But back to why I wanted to post here...I am still fine tuning my OC...got some time last night to play Wargame AA for about an hour. After hours and hours of stability testing through the weeks prior to actually playing lol.

I found that I am currently stable at 4.5Ghz @ 1.241v. To be gaming stable I had to increase VRIN to 1.80v from 1.75v. Maximum temps while gaming? 70C. I can live with that! And with fall coming and cool weather, seeing 70c is going to become a less frequent occurence.

I also have the cpu cache at 8x-40x, using Auto (reading 1.16v) will manually set. Not sure I care to push past 40x.

Memory manually set, not using XMP. 2133 @ 11-11-11-28 cl1 @ 1.58v (reads 1.60v)

This system is running great! I am sooo happy I RMA'd my cpu! :toast:
 

HammerON

The Watchful Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Mar 2, 2009
Messages
7,435 (2.31/day)
Likes
4,740
Location
Up North
System Name Cruncher / Cruncher 2
Processor i7 6900K / E5 2683 v3
Motherboard X99A Gaming Pro Carbon / ASRock X99 Extreme 4/3.1
Cooling EK Supremacy EVO Elite 2011-3 / EK Supremacy
Memory G.Skill Trident Z 32GB 3200 / G.SKILL Trident Z 16GB 3200
Video Card(s) EVGA 980 Ti Classified / ATI 3650
Storage Samsung 960 Pro 512 GB + Mushkin Reactor 1 TB / OCZ Vertex 4 256 GB
Display(s) Dell UltraSharp U3011 30"
Case Corsair Obsidian 800D / TT Core V51
Audio Device(s) On-board
Power Supply Corsair AX1200 / EVGA 500W
Software Win 10 Pro/ Win 10
Benchmark Scores Always changing~
Yeah - RMAing your first CPU was a good call:toast:
 

HammerON

The Watchful Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Mar 2, 2009
Messages
7,435 (2.31/day)
Likes
4,740
Location
Up North
System Name Cruncher / Cruncher 2
Processor i7 6900K / E5 2683 v3
Motherboard X99A Gaming Pro Carbon / ASRock X99 Extreme 4/3.1
Cooling EK Supremacy EVO Elite 2011-3 / EK Supremacy
Memory G.Skill Trident Z 32GB 3200 / G.SKILL Trident Z 16GB 3200
Video Card(s) EVGA 980 Ti Classified / ATI 3650
Storage Samsung 960 Pro 512 GB + Mushkin Reactor 1 TB / OCZ Vertex 4 256 GB
Display(s) Dell UltraSharp U3011 30"
Case Corsair Obsidian 800D / TT Core V51
Audio Device(s) On-board
Power Supply Corsair AX1200 / EVGA 500W
Software Win 10 Pro/ Win 10
Benchmark Scores Always changing~
LN?
Nice clock:toast:
 
Joined
Dec 29, 2006
Messages
693 (0.17/day)
Likes
166
Location
Atlanta, GA, USA
Processor Intel 6700K
Motherboard Asus Maximus VIII Impact
Cooling Noctua NH-L9x65
Memory 2 x 16 GB G.Skill TridentZ @ 3200 MHz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 1070 Mini
Case Thermaltake Suppressor F1
Power Supply SilverStone 600w SFX
Joined
Apr 10, 2012
Messages
1,319 (0.63/day)
Likes
686
Location
78°55' N, 11°56' E
System Name -aLiEn beaTs-
Processor Intel i7 4770k OC 4.7GHz @ 1.28v | Cache 4.2GHz
Motherboard Asus Z87-Deluxe
Cooling Corsair H90 custom p|p fans
Memory G.skill TridentX 2x8GB DDR3 2400MHz CL10|1T
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 980TI AMP!Omega Factory OC 1420MHz
Storage Intel SSD
Display(s) EIZO FS2333
Case CoolerMaster HAF 932 USB3.0
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium HD @ 2.1 Bose acoustimass 5
Power Supply Chieftec Ntro88+ 650W [52A]
Mouse oldschool Razer Copperhead blu
Keyboard Logitech G19s
Software Windows 10 Pro RS2
Benchmark Scores ► ♪♫♪♩♬♫♪♭
Ok I found the cause for low ram bandwidth on my mobo :pimp:

Its DRAM Clk Period that makes a big difference; Im at 9 atm and at 9 it looks like its default 2133mhz (few major adv. timings), 1-2 even tighter

2133mhz speed & timings



2400mhz CL10-12-11-32-2T


I think i will need to fine tune some more, 2 times it auto shut down (used 7), 1 time it froze in x264 benchmark (at 8and little looser timing).


old 2400mhz score at auto Dram clk period

&
timings
http://abload.de/image.php?img=2133mhzcl9xts1k.png


EDIT: 9 wasnt stable, pc shutdown again.. I will try even looser main timings, well its DRAM period @ 10 that makes this slow read/copy speed -_-
 
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
11,519 (3.96/day)
Likes
6,277
Location
Ohio
System Name Daily Driver
Processor 7900X 4.5GHz 10c/10t 1.15V.
Motherboard ASUS Prime X299 Deluxe
Cooling MCR320 + Kuplos Kryos NEXT CPU block
Memory GSkill Trident Z 4x8 GB DDR4 3600 MHz CL16
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1080 FTW3
Storage 512GB Patriot Hellfire, 512GB OCZ RD400, 640GB Caviar Black, 2TB Caviar Green
Display(s) Yamakasi 27" 2560x1440 IPS
Case Thermaltake P5
Power Supply EVGA 750W Supernova G2
Benchmark Scores Faster than most of you! Bet on it! :)
I assume CL? Did you raise the voltage any when trying lower(tighter) timings?
 
Joined
Apr 10, 2012
Messages
1,319 (0.63/day)
Likes
686
Location
78°55' N, 11°56' E
System Name -aLiEn beaTs-
Processor Intel i7 4770k OC 4.7GHz @ 1.28v | Cache 4.2GHz
Motherboard Asus Z87-Deluxe
Cooling Corsair H90 custom p|p fans
Memory G.skill TridentX 2x8GB DDR3 2400MHz CL10|1T
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 980TI AMP!Omega Factory OC 1420MHz
Storage Intel SSD
Display(s) EIZO FS2333
Case CoolerMaster HAF 932 USB3.0
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium HD @ 2.1 Bose acoustimass 5
Power Supply Chieftec Ntro88+ 650W [52A]
Mouse oldschool Razer Copperhead blu
Keyboard Logitech G19s
Software Windows 10 Pro RS2
Benchmark Scores ► ♪♫♪♩♬♫♪♭
DRAM clk period at 9, last time I left all timings at auto except main and this DRAM clk period.


Im at 2200mhz (~ 33.5gb/s read) atm same timings like by 2133 and DRAM clk 9..No random shutdowns yet..


I will try 2400mhz @ CL10 -12-12-31 or CL11-11-11-31 if i have any luck.. I've been ok at 2666mhz CL11-13-13-31 (same 1.65v) but yeah @ DRAM clk period - auto (which is probably 10 or 11) and slow speeds.
 
Joined
Oct 5, 2009
Messages
245 (0.08/day)
Likes
141
Processor Haswell/IB/SB
Case on a Dimastech Bench Table
Ok I found the cause for low ram bandwidth on my mobo :pimp:

Its DRAM Clk Period that makes a big difference; Im at 9 atm and at 9 it looks like its default 2133mhz (few major adv. timings), 1-2 even tighter

2133mhz speed & timings


2400mhz CL10-12-11-32-2T


I think i will need to fine tune some more, 2 times it auto shut down (used 7), 1 time it froze in x264 benchmark (at 8and little looser timing).


old 2400mhz score at auto Dram clk period

&
timings


EDIT: 9 wasnt stable, pc shutdown again.. I will try even looser main timings, well its DRAM period @ 10 that makes this slow read/copy speed -_-

I've always wondered what was causing poor bandwidth on the Z-87 Deluxe at higher dram speeds... Which is why I settled on 2133C8 for my daily overclock. Hopefully I can test again and get some better results with 2400/2666 etc. :)
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,546 (3.88/day)
Likes
10,908
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
System Name Gamer
Processor Intel i7-6700K (ES)
Motherboard MSI Aegis TI
Cooling Custom Dragon Cooler
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX 2133 MHz C13
Video Card(s) 2x MSI GAMING GTX 980
Storage 2x Intel 600P
Display(s) Dell 3008WFP
Case MSI Aegis Ti
Mouse MSI Interceptor DS B1
Keyboard MSI DS4200 GAMING Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Home
Ok I found the cause for low ram bandwidth on my mobo :pimp:

Its DRAM Clk Period that makes a big difference; Im at 9 atm and at 9 it looks like its default 2133mhz (few major adv. timings), 1-2 even tighter

2133mhz speed & timings
http://abload.de/img/2133dcs8v.png
http://abload.de/thumb/2133mhzcl9xts1k.png

2400mhz CL10-12-11-32-2T
http://i.imgur.com/neok2z7.png

I think i will need to fine tune some more, 2 times it auto shut down (used 7), 1 time it froze in x264 benchmark (at 8and little looser timing).


old 2400mhz score at auto Dram clk period
http://abload.de/img/cachemem2400mhzq1skb.png
&
timings
http://abload.de/image.php?img=2133mhzcl9xts1k.png


EDIT: 9 wasnt stable, pc shutdown again.. I will try even looser main timings, well its DRAM period @ 10 that makes this slow read/copy speed -_-
I have a sneaking suspicion that there are other timings changing as well. You should try using MemTweakIt when doing memory tweaking, as it'll hold far more timing information than what AIDA64 offers, and I recommend paying attention to the changes on the right column of timings in MemTweakIt as you make other changes.

Great read Dave!

I do have a question where I wonder if you could elaborate a bit more on disabling the i-GPU BEFORE installing the OS. I was wondering what difference it may or may not make? I haven't disabled my i-GPU...let alone see any settings (though I haven't really looked either) to disable it offhand yet I have not installed drivers nor see it detected in device manager. You say a temp reduction of up to 30C...that' s HUGE! I may have to play with this aspect...I'm assuming with my dedicated GPU maybe the i-GPU is automatically disabled? Which is what I'm kind of hoping for in all honesty. I suppose I need to do my part and dig into it on my end. I will note that my Windows 8 experience has been great so far! Not really missing 7 all that bad. Sure I have my habits, but the more I get used to Win8 the more I like it, how fast and smooth it runs...I haven't ran into any bugs...nor do I mess with the Windows Apps or App Store yet.
If the iGPU is enabled when you install the OS, the driver gets installed as well. This will have the GPU active, although not used. Then should you install some software that supports using the iGPU for encoding or such, it can get used by that software. Both Windows7 and Windows8 seem to install drivers for the iGPU automatically. Once the drivers are there, it can be hard to get them removed, and still have a booting OS. Not all boards are going to result in the iGPU being enabled/active, and I noticed a few boards behave a bit differently here with the iGPU once a few BIOS updates came out, too. Crazyeyesreaper was using the GPU itself, and no add-in card, and was expecting the same sort of clocks, so that needed to be addressed as well. I was more covering all of the basics I could think of in the "guide".

Quite a few "enthusiast"-grade boards automatically turn off the iGPU, but not all do. I think ti's very worthwhile to make sure that things are working "as expected" when it comes to the iGPU, for sure.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Apr 10, 2012
Messages
1,319 (0.63/day)
Likes
686
Location
78°55' N, 11°56' E
System Name -aLiEn beaTs-
Processor Intel i7 4770k OC 4.7GHz @ 1.28v | Cache 4.2GHz
Motherboard Asus Z87-Deluxe
Cooling Corsair H90 custom p|p fans
Memory G.skill TridentX 2x8GB DDR3 2400MHz CL10|1T
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 980TI AMP!Omega Factory OC 1420MHz
Storage Intel SSD
Display(s) EIZO FS2333
Case CoolerMaster HAF 932 USB3.0
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium HD @ 2.1 Bose acoustimass 5
Power Supply Chieftec Ntro88+ 650W [52A]
Mouse oldschool Razer Copperhead blu
Keyboard Logitech G19s
Software Windows 10 Pro RS2
Benchmark Scores ► ♪♫♪♩♬♫♪♭
@PolRoger

Yes its definitely DRAM clk period, @ 10 it kills the performance by read/copy. DRAM clk @ 9 looks ideal for 2400/2600/2666

but yeah its giving me some hard time, maybe i need to adjust cpu offset IO voltages etc that what Asus "recommends" if OC'ing ram?



I settled @ 2200mhz for now, DRAM clk period - 8 and same timings like by 2133mhz CL9-10-10-27-1T



@Cadaveca

I noticed
tWR is now 16; in one older screen it was at 27 @ 2133mhz

tRFC @ DRAM 8 its 160, @ DRAM 9 171, @ DRAM clk 10 its 177

tFAW @ DRAM 8 30 or @ DRAM 9 32; default @ 2133mhz is 32

tREF period @ DRAM 9 its the same like by default 2133mhz


other stuff stayed around the same, like tIOL and tRTL


I will try Memtweak one time to see what's up, thanks :)
 
Last edited:

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,546 (3.88/day)
Likes
10,908
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
System Name Gamer
Processor Intel i7-6700K (ES)
Motherboard MSI Aegis TI
Cooling Custom Dragon Cooler
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX 2133 MHz C13
Video Card(s) 2x MSI GAMING GTX 980
Storage 2x Intel 600P
Display(s) Dell 3008WFP
Case MSI Aegis Ti
Mouse MSI Interceptor DS B1
Keyboard MSI DS4200 GAMING Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Home
s its definitely DRAM clk period, @ 10 it kills the perf. 9 seems ideal for 2400/2600/2666

but yeah its giving me some hard time, maybe i need to adjust cpu offset IO voltages etc that what Asus "recommends" if OC'ing ram?

DRAM CLK Period = DRAM WRITE CAS LATENCY

WRITE CAS LATENCY (tWCL) support is all about the memory, combined with the clock used, 99% of the time. Try higher vDIMM. Back with Z77 or Z68 I wrote about twcl in the Samsung LP/LV memory review.

That's what Earthdog was on about, anyway, it's tWCL, and yeah, try higher voltage on memory.
 
Joined
Apr 10, 2012
Messages
1,319 (0.63/day)
Likes
686
Location
78°55' N, 11°56' E
System Name -aLiEn beaTs-
Processor Intel i7 4770k OC 4.7GHz @ 1.28v | Cache 4.2GHz
Motherboard Asus Z87-Deluxe
Cooling Corsair H90 custom p|p fans
Memory G.skill TridentX 2x8GB DDR3 2400MHz CL10|1T
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 980TI AMP!Omega Factory OC 1420MHz
Storage Intel SSD
Display(s) EIZO FS2333
Case CoolerMaster HAF 932 USB3.0
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium HD @ 2.1 Bose acoustimass 5
Power Supply Chieftec Ntro88+ 650W [52A]
Mouse oldschool Razer Copperhead blu
Keyboard Logitech G19s
Software Windows 10 Pro RS2
Benchmark Scores ► ♪♫♪♩♬♫♪♭
DRAM CLK Period = DRAM WRITE CAS LATENCY

WRITE CAS LATENCY (tWCL) support is all about the memory, combined with the clock used, 99% of the time. Try higher vDIMM. Back with Z77 or Z68 I wrote about twcl in the Samsung LP/LV memory review.

That's what Earthdog was on about, anyway, it's tWCL, and yeah, try higher voltage on memory.
Ah right and thanks I didnt know whats the proper name for it, yeah that makes a lot of sense, reminds me of my old x48 memory perf. level, 450mhz fsb and perf.lvl 7 was a tough one :D


Now I see default 2133mhz uses tWLC 8 and yet it has higher tRFC and tREF, hmm I guess its Crucial own thing.. The funny thing is ram is fine at default 1.65v and 2666mhz CL11-13-13-33-2T and auto tWLC, but yeah low speeds..
Digi+ ram 110% and phase - optimized.


What if I used higher main settings and stayed at 1.65v? For example CL11-13-13-32-2T and maybe raise 2-3 timings like tRFC , tFAW and tWR? Because I didint try those yet, only main timings CL10-12-12-32 or CL11-11-11-31.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 5, 2009
Messages
245 (0.08/day)
Likes
141
Processor Haswell/IB/SB
Case on a Dimastech Bench Table
I always thought that there was room for improvement with the Z-87 Deluxe's default auto settings for 2400 and higher memory speeds. It seems that this board's 2133 speed settings with DRAM Clock Period left on "Auto" always offered the best performance of the three AIDA bandwidth numbers.

Here are two examples at 2400 9-11-11-28-2T... Everything else on auto except DRAM Clock Period which is set at either 9 or 10. This setting will affect (change/tighten) other secondary/tertiary settings and improve the AIDA bandwidth benchmark.
 

Attachments

Joined
Jul 12, 2013
Messages
168 (0.10/day)
Likes
118
System Name Main rig
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1700 @ 3.9GHz
Motherboard ASRock X370 Taichi
Cooling Custom water
Memory G.Skill 16GB (2x16GB) 3200 C14
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 1080 Ti Gaming OC 11G
Storage 256GB SM951, Micron M600 1TB
Display(s) Dell U3415W
Case Thermaltake Core X9 (White)
Power Supply EVGA 750 GQ
Keyboard Aukey KM-G3
I'm having the hardest time getting my Samsung Green LV to 2400MHz. I can boot with single-channel but cannot get both of them to work at the same time. I tried increasing vDIMM to 1.70v, changing the command rate to 2T, increasing System Agent voltage to 0.250v offset.

 
Joined
Apr 10, 2012
Messages
1,319 (0.63/day)
Likes
686
Location
78°55' N, 11°56' E
System Name -aLiEn beaTs-
Processor Intel i7 4770k OC 4.7GHz @ 1.28v | Cache 4.2GHz
Motherboard Asus Z87-Deluxe
Cooling Corsair H90 custom p|p fans
Memory G.skill TridentX 2x8GB DDR3 2400MHz CL10|1T
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 980TI AMP!Omega Factory OC 1420MHz
Storage Intel SSD
Display(s) EIZO FS2333
Case CoolerMaster HAF 932 USB3.0
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium HD @ 2.1 Bose acoustimass 5
Power Supply Chieftec Ntro88+ 650W [52A]
Mouse oldschool Razer Copperhead blu
Keyboard Logitech G19s
Software Windows 10 Pro RS2
Benchmark Scores ► ♪♫♪♩♬♫♪♭
^
I see you have this tWLC at 8, try 9 and raise main timings to lets say CL11-12-12-31-2T if it makes any difference.
 
Joined
Jul 12, 2013
Messages
168 (0.10/day)
Likes
118
System Name Main rig
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1700 @ 3.9GHz
Motherboard ASRock X370 Taichi
Cooling Custom water
Memory G.Skill 16GB (2x16GB) 3200 C14
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 1080 Ti Gaming OC 11G
Storage 256GB SM951, Micron M600 1TB
Display(s) Dell U3415W
Case Thermaltake Core X9 (White)
Power Supply EVGA 750 GQ
Keyboard Aukey KM-G3
^
I see you have this tWLC at 8, try 9 and raise main timings to lets say CL11-12-12-31-2T if it makes any difference.
Nope, no difference. :(

I really want to get my hands on an ASUS board. I remember being able to hit 2400MHz with my old Z77 Deluxe. But atlas, I sold it. :shadedshu
 
Joined
Apr 10, 2012
Messages
1,319 (0.63/day)
Likes
686
Location
78°55' N, 11°56' E
System Name -aLiEn beaTs-
Processor Intel i7 4770k OC 4.7GHz @ 1.28v | Cache 4.2GHz
Motherboard Asus Z87-Deluxe
Cooling Corsair H90 custom p|p fans
Memory G.skill TridentX 2x8GB DDR3 2400MHz CL10|1T
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 980TI AMP!Omega Factory OC 1420MHz
Storage Intel SSD
Display(s) EIZO FS2333
Case CoolerMaster HAF 932 USB3.0
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium HD @ 2.1 Bose acoustimass 5
Power Supply Chieftec Ntro88+ 650W [52A]
Mouse oldschool Razer Copperhead blu
Keyboard Logitech G19s
Software Windows 10 Pro RS2
Benchmark Scores ► ♪♫♪♩♬♫♪♭
Then maybe you need to fine tune ram/cpu offset IO specific voltages..


Well I didnt have much luck with 2400mhz either, its not stable even at CL11-13-13-32-2T.. Im scarred to go over 1.65v because mobo sometimes overvolts to 1.668v.


But I played with cpu OC some more,

4.8ghz boots @1.28v, fails to boot in windows until 1.31v

I tried 5ghz and it boots @1.30v until halfway in windows8, I guess ~ 1.35v should do the trick, but I wasnt comfortable to run at that voltage


4.7Ghz atm @1.285v in bios, I think this is the max voltage for 24/7


Cinebench11.5 scored 10.37, best so far was 10.34, maybe 2200mhz ram helped :)
 
Joined
Jul 12, 2013
Messages
168 (0.10/day)
Likes
118
System Name Main rig
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1700 @ 3.9GHz
Motherboard ASRock X370 Taichi
Cooling Custom water
Memory G.Skill 16GB (2x16GB) 3200 C14
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 1080 Ti Gaming OC 11G
Storage 256GB SM951, Micron M600 1TB
Display(s) Dell U3415W
Case Thermaltake Core X9 (White)
Power Supply EVGA 750 GQ
Keyboard Aukey KM-G3
Turns out it was the boards. Got a Maximus VI Hero and can do 2400MHz with these sticks. Granted I'm using a different CPU but my other one should do the same.



EDIT:

Was able to do 2666MHz! :cool:

 
Last edited:
Joined
Apr 10, 2012
Messages
1,319 (0.63/day)
Likes
686
Location
78°55' N, 11°56' E
System Name -aLiEn beaTs-
Processor Intel i7 4770k OC 4.7GHz @ 1.28v | Cache 4.2GHz
Motherboard Asus Z87-Deluxe
Cooling Corsair H90 custom p|p fans
Memory G.skill TridentX 2x8GB DDR3 2400MHz CL10|1T
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 980TI AMP!Omega Factory OC 1420MHz
Storage Intel SSD
Display(s) EIZO FS2333
Case CoolerMaster HAF 932 USB3.0
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium HD @ 2.1 Bose acoustimass 5
Power Supply Chieftec Ntro88+ 650W [52A]
Mouse oldschool Razer Copperhead blu
Keyboard Logitech G19s
Software Windows 10 Pro RS2
Benchmark Scores ► ♪♫♪♩♬♫♪♭
^
Now try again 2400 or 2666mhz but this time use DRAM clk Period at 9, i see you used Auto (tWLC 10) which makes those slow read/copy speeds..

At 9 it will tighten few advanced timings and it could get unstable. My 2133mhz acted the same as yours, but yeah at 9 it needs some extra fine tuning.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Apr 10, 2012
Messages
1,319 (0.63/day)
Likes
686
Location
78°55' N, 11°56' E
System Name -aLiEn beaTs-
Processor Intel i7 4770k OC 4.7GHz @ 1.28v | Cache 4.2GHz
Motherboard Asus Z87-Deluxe
Cooling Corsair H90 custom p|p fans
Memory G.skill TridentX 2x8GB DDR3 2400MHz CL10|1T
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 980TI AMP!Omega Factory OC 1420MHz
Storage Intel SSD
Display(s) EIZO FS2333
Case CoolerMaster HAF 932 USB3.0
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium HD @ 2.1 Bose acoustimass 5
Power Supply Chieftec Ntro88+ 650W [52A]
Mouse oldschool Razer Copperhead blu
Keyboard Logitech G19s
Software Windows 10 Pro RS2
Benchmark Scores ► ♪♫♪♩♬♫♪♭
I tried higher cache multi again and I noticed I need min 1.16v for x44.

I had at 1.158v but it hard reset in BF3, when I raised to 1.163v it was stable again, end result was higher L3 cache speeds, gained ~ 4gb/s vs cache at x42.

In max max load it goes as high as 1.187v @ adaptive.
cache 44x.jpg


Idk about other benchmarks though, tested only Aida64 memory benchmark..
 
Last edited:
Joined
Apr 10, 2012
Messages
1,319 (0.63/day)
Likes
686
Location
78°55' N, 11°56' E
System Name -aLiEn beaTs-
Processor Intel i7 4770k OC 4.7GHz @ 1.28v | Cache 4.2GHz
Motherboard Asus Z87-Deluxe
Cooling Corsair H90 custom p|p fans
Memory G.skill TridentX 2x8GB DDR3 2400MHz CL10|1T
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 980TI AMP!Omega Factory OC 1420MHz
Storage Intel SSD
Display(s) EIZO FS2333
Case CoolerMaster HAF 932 USB3.0
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium HD @ 2.1 Bose acoustimass 5
Power Supply Chieftec Ntro88+ 650W [52A]
Mouse oldschool Razer Copperhead blu
Keyboard Logitech G19s
Software Windows 10 Pro RS2
Benchmark Scores ► ♪♫♪♩♬♫♪♭
I had a much better experience with per-core mode either because of the BIOS updates, or because I'm using adaptive mode. Although, it has one interesting behavior- it seems to stay .025v under the target turbo voltage. For example, I set:
Core total adaptive mode voltage: 1.3v
1 core: 48x
2 cores: 48x
3 cores: 47x
4 cores: 47x

If I use the IET stress test, it will choose 47x and 1.275v. Occasionally, especially when I stop the test, there will be a spike to 1.3v as the cores drop to idle ratios. Similarly, if I set Prime95 to blend with 2 workers, the CPU will choose 48x with the same 1.275v (and surprisingly not BSOD, at least in the short-term).

Then, if I set 1 and 2 cores to 47x also, the 1.3v turbo voltage is used the whole time. I'm not sure why it drops load voltage just because you change the turbo for a certain number of cores active.

Also, it's worth mentioning that Windows is still in charge of which CPU cores to use. The power plan in use, such as Balanced or Performance, will affect how CPUs and hyper-thread slots (or whatever) are used. With the above 48x/48x/47x/47x setup, I ran Prime95 with 3 workers and a Balanced power plan. Win7 sees 8 CPUs, and it will bounce those worker threads from CPU to CPU. The effect is that sometimes only 2 cores will be used, allowing for 48x operation, and other times 3 cores will be used at 47x. So...
1. You will constantly fluctuate between 47x and 48x as the OS shifts the workers around.
2. You cannot control which particular cores run at the faster ratio. The Asus BIOS, for one, might seem to present the Per-Core mode as a way to set a particular ratio on a particular core. In reality, the settings represent "ratio for 1 core active," "ratio for 2 cores active," and so on. So there's no way to bump up the ratio on just that cooler-running core #4.


Yes I've been testing this atm and it looks very good.

I have like so in bios 1.28v
core1 48x
core2 48x
core3 47x (uses ~ 1.26v)
core4 46x (uses ~ 1.235v, like at fixed 4.6ghz OC)

If i want 4.7Ghz I need min 1.283v



But it was a bit unstable, I had to lower cache multi 42x in the end, had at 44x at first. Im might go lower with cpu v a bit but I think it needs min 1.275v, not sure maybe it was just cache causing all the problems, because few times it booted in windows normally, few times it would bsod by logon or just randomly reset.
 

emash

New Member
Joined
Sep 30, 2013
Messages
1 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Hello!

Please read my post, a fresh voice from new a new soul in realm of overclocking.

First of all i'd like to greet people of this forum, hello people. On september sixteenth i got my new setup, basically a ga-z87m-d3h motherboard with K-i5, with 1600mhz ram. After some time playing with it i was pretty impressed with perfomance and silence of my new system in a gorgeous n200 case. Since i bought a kinda bigger cooler with an oem cpu for saving and overall completenes of the system, i am now able to overclock the cpu a bit. BTW i have a top-down cooler master pwm 92mm fan, with kinda bigger heat spreaders than the ones on the stock one, with a fan which can go up to 4200rpm. I was not disappointed with it's perfomance though, temperatures remain well below 50c on 4,2 Ghz.

This is my first ever overclock expirience in which i was able to achieve a 4,2 mark through modifying TB multipliers, and leaving vcore at auto setting. I read a lot about hardware i am now having time with so i decided to leave voltages alone (i mean new voltage managment introduced on haswell platform). Testing using different software from cpu-z to aida64 to prime95 shows that system is very stable and perfoming good, giving me up to 15k on geekbench. Voltage never goes higher than 1,15-16 mark on most exhausting tests, which i consider totally safe. One detail, i do not use prime95 for general testing since it does override whatever vcore numer you set.

Now to the purpose of this post. I was not able to go past 4,2Ghz, can't get my system to boot. Why? i could put vcore up, but it does not provide the desirable effect, it gets higher in the os even if was manually set to below average setting i expirience with auto.
Since my cpu is capable of running at 4,2 with voltages not much higher than stock ones, and below the golden 1.2 (or 1.212) marks i do think my system is capable of running at 4,4Ghz. What do i do wrong, and why i experience such a wall, mentioned by someone on some page before, which i saw when first got here from google about 20 minutes ago.

Thank you. and i'm planning for a hackintosh, but it is a different story)
 
Joined
Jul 18, 2007
Messages
2,425 (0.64/day)
Likes
645
System Name panda
Processor 6700k
Motherboard sabretooth s
Cooling raystorm block<black ice stealth 240 rad<ek dcc 18w 140 xres
Memory 32gb ripjaw v
Video Card(s) 290x gamer<ntzx g10<antec 920
Storage 950 pro 250gb boot 850 evo pr0n
Display(s) QX2710LED@110hz lg 27ud68p
Case 540 Air
Audio Device(s) nope
Power Supply 750w superflower
Mouse g502
Keyboard shine 3 with grey, black and red caps
Software win 10
Benchmark Scores http://hwbot.org/user/marsey99/
Joined
Feb 17, 2007
Messages
979 (0.25/day)
Likes
26
System Name beastybuild
Processor 4670k
Motherboard GigabyteZ87X-UD4H
Cooling SR-1 360 and GTX 360 custom, Koolance 380Iblock, swiftech355 &xspc"restop"
Memory 2X4gig G Skill Ripjaw 2400
Video Card(s) Gigabyte gtx660ti(OC) windforce
Storage western Digi sata
Display(s) Acer 24 LCD
Case modmantasticca
Audio Device(s) basic onboard
Power Supply Sea Sonic G550m
Software Win 7 Enterprise 64
Benchmark Scores 4.9 stable with mem at 1333 4.8 stable with mem at 2133
Anyone know CPU z well?
I sometimes start up after a normal shutdown and get weirdness in bios... Sets speed to 4400 but CPU fluctuates like a bad day on Wall Street, even going over 10000 momentarily, is it actually reading CPU speed ?