• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Intel Haswell Overclocking Clubhouse.

Joined
Apr 10, 2012
Messages
1,319 (0.64/day)
Likes
686
Location
78°55' N, 11°56' E
System Name -aLiEn beaTs-
Processor Intel i7 4770k OC 4.7GHz @ 1.28v | Cache 4.2GHz
Motherboard Asus Z87-Deluxe
Cooling Corsair H90 custom p|p fans
Memory G.skill TridentX 2x8GB DDR3 2400MHz CL10|1T
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 980TI AMP!Omega Factory OC 1420MHz
Storage Intel SSD
Display(s) EIZO FS2333
Case CoolerMaster HAF 932 USB3.0
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium HD @ 2.1 Bose acoustimass 5
Power Supply Chieftec Ntro88+ 650W [52A]
Mouse oldschool Razer Copperhead blu
Keyboard Logitech G19s
Software Windows 10 Pro RS2
Benchmark Scores ► ♪♫♪♩♬♫♪♭
Idk why but that looked very painful :D


I think I won't risk it, 300€ is not small cash ^^
 

MxPhenom 216

Corsair Fanboy
Joined
Aug 31, 2010
Messages
12,129 (4.56/day)
Likes
3,697
Location
Seattle, WA
System Name The Battlestation
Processor Intel Core i7 4770k @ 4.2GHZ 1.275v
Motherboard MSi Z97 Gaming 5
Cooling EK Supremacy w/ EK Coolstream PE360
Memory G. Skill Trident X 16Gb (4x4GB) 2400mhz @ 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSi GTX1070 Gaming X 8GB @ 2GHz
Storage Samsung 830 128GB SSD, Crucial MX200 500GB, Seagate Barracuda 2TB (2x 1TB Partitions)
Display(s) Qnix QX2710 27" 2560 x 1440 PLS @ 100hz
Case Phantek Enthoo Evolv ATX TG
Audio Device(s) MSi Gaming AudioBoost ALC1150 w/ Sennheiser Game Ones
Power Supply Seasonic Flagship Prime Platinum 850
Mouse Steelseries Rival 310 w/ QCK Mass mat
Keyboard Corsair K70 w/ MX Browns and Red Backlit
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
Benchmark Scores Firestrike: 15439
I wish I had a good chip, otherwise I would delid, but if I delid I'm alreadying needing 1.34v+ for 4.5. So I dont really think I'm temp limited. But I could be wrong, idk. :p
 

fullinfusion

Vanguard Beta Tester
Joined
Jan 11, 2008
Messages
9,603 (2.65/day)
Likes
3,358
Processor I7-7700K
Motherboard Asus Z270 Maximus IX Code
Cooling Custom water plus another cooler
Memory Corsair Vengeance LED Red 4x8GB 32GB 3200MHz kit
Video Card(s) 2 x MSI RX Vega 56 and a single MSI RX Vega 64 in test rig
Storage 960 EVO/960 Pro M.2 nvme 250/1TB, Samsumg 850 evo 256/ WD 1TB blue
Display(s) Nexius 32" freesync 2 HDR
Case Corsair Obsidion 650D/ cardboard box
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply EVGA Supernova G2 1300W
Mouse Mionix Naos 7000
Keyboard G15
Software Windows 10 Home
I must say I love this Benchmark for testing the cpu stability.

X-264 ver 5.0.1
And also dont forget to install AviSynth 2.5.8

I sure have breathing room in the temperature department :p
I've decided to play more as all I have is stock, 4.5 and the mighty 4.9 24/7 but I want more then the 4.5 so here I am...

 
Joined
Mar 8, 2009
Messages
1,077 (0.34/day)
Likes
305
System Name Primary Rig
Processor e8500 Q822A549 4.5ghz AIR
Motherboard Foxconn Mars P35
Cooling TRUE
Memory 2 x2GB Patriot Viper 1066 5-5-5-12 @ 1.8v
Video Card(s) Sapphire 5870 Unlocked
Storage 300gb Velociraptor
Display(s) Dell 24" Ultrasharp
Case Coolermaster CM690
Power Supply PC Power & Cooling 750w Quad Silencer
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x86
Yeah I like it too, as for most ppl x264 encoding or BF4 is the most stressful their CPU will get.
Try the other looped one too - I passed x264 v.5.0.1 x64 BUT had to up my voltage up just a little to pass 5 loops of the looped version x64 16 threads chosen.
 

fullinfusion

Vanguard Beta Tester
Joined
Jan 11, 2008
Messages
9,603 (2.65/day)
Likes
3,358
Processor I7-7700K
Motherboard Asus Z270 Maximus IX Code
Cooling Custom water plus another cooler
Memory Corsair Vengeance LED Red 4x8GB 32GB 3200MHz kit
Video Card(s) 2 x MSI RX Vega 56 and a single MSI RX Vega 64 in test rig
Storage 960 EVO/960 Pro M.2 nvme 250/1TB, Samsumg 850 evo 256/ WD 1TB blue
Display(s) Nexius 32" freesync 2 HDR
Case Corsair Obsidion 650D/ cardboard box
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply EVGA Supernova G2 1300W
Mouse Mionix Naos 7000
Keyboard G15
Software Windows 10 Home
Yeah I like it too, as for most ppl x264 encoding or BF4 is the most stressful their CPU will get.
Try the other looped one too - I passed x264 v.5.0.1 x64 BUT had to up my voltage up just a little to pass 5 loops of the looped version x64 16 threads chosen.
I have and yes, Your not going to stress any higher then using those 2 programs for sure :respect:
 

fullinfusion

Vanguard Beta Tester
Joined
Jan 11, 2008
Messages
9,603 (2.65/day)
Likes
3,358
Processor I7-7700K
Motherboard Asus Z270 Maximus IX Code
Cooling Custom water plus another cooler
Memory Corsair Vengeance LED Red 4x8GB 32GB 3200MHz kit
Video Card(s) 2 x MSI RX Vega 56 and a single MSI RX Vega 64 in test rig
Storage 960 EVO/960 Pro M.2 nvme 250/1TB, Samsumg 850 evo 256/ WD 1TB blue
Display(s) Nexius 32" freesync 2 HDR
Case Corsair Obsidion 650D/ cardboard box
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply EVGA Supernova G2 1300W
Mouse Mionix Naos 7000
Keyboard G15
Software Windows 10 Home
What the fuck is wrong with ASUS and there shotty bioses?

Ive been having issues with my clocks and am trying to narrow down a bad cpu or board.

under LLC i was running 1.350v to the core and a llc of 7

Ive been testing and at a level of LLC @ 1 i notice no change in voltage.
@ level 2,3,4,5,6,7 the cpu core voltage goes upto 1.376v it dont change from that value.

any input with wth is going on?
 
Joined
Apr 10, 2012
Messages
1,319 (0.64/day)
Likes
686
Location
78°55' N, 11°56' E
System Name -aLiEn beaTs-
Processor Intel i7 4770k OC 4.7GHz @ 1.28v | Cache 4.2GHz
Motherboard Asus Z87-Deluxe
Cooling Corsair H90 custom p|p fans
Memory G.skill TridentX 2x8GB DDR3 2400MHz CL10|1T
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 980TI AMP!Omega Factory OC 1420MHz
Storage Intel SSD
Display(s) EIZO FS2333
Case CoolerMaster HAF 932 USB3.0
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium HD @ 2.1 Bose acoustimass 5
Power Supply Chieftec Ntro88+ 650W [52A]
Mouse oldschool Razer Copperhead blu
Keyboard Logitech G19s
Software Windows 10 Pro RS2
Benchmark Scores ► ♪♫♪♩♬♫♪♭
What the fuck is wrong with ASUS and there shotty bioses?

Ive been having issues with my clocks and am trying to narrow down a bad cpu or board.

under LLC i was running 1.350v to the core and a llc of 7

Ive been testing and at a level of LLC @ 1 i notice no change in voltage.
@ level 2,3,4,5,6,7 the cpu core voltage goes upto 1.376v it dont change from that value.

any input with wth is going on?
LLC affects only SVID - VCCIN - input voltage.

LLC7 - LLC8 will be pinned at ie 1.80v, sometimes overvolt for 0.01v.
LLC6- LLC-5 will make that 1.80v drop to 1.77 or 1.75v and this can cause that typical wmea or watchdog timeout. << Too much input voltage fluctuations/jitter

Im just keeping all that digi+ stuff at auto, it seems to work the best now with newer bios.. Actually on my mobo since last 4 versions.

I've set mine like so
1.75v @ LLC auto >> 1.76v for 4.7ghz @ cpuvid 1.284v (corev 1.296v)
1.72v @ LLC auto >> 1.73v for 4.6ghz @ cpuvid 1.234v (corev 1.249v)

^
If at 1.30v+ territory then you will need ~1.82v for 1.35v or 1.85v for 1.38v, but only if you keep LLC- auto.


Speaking of that vDIO & ram OC,
For 4.6ghz I had to raise vDIO back to 0.100v+
For 4,7ghz vDIO 0.120+ or I would get random hard freeze in more demanding ram scenarios.
Ram current is still @ 110%, cpu current 120% by both., so its kinda cooler by default vs old cpu 130%, ram 120%, @ 4.7ghz :)
 
Last edited:

fullinfusion

Vanguard Beta Tester
Joined
Jan 11, 2008
Messages
9,603 (2.65/day)
Likes
3,358
Processor I7-7700K
Motherboard Asus Z270 Maximus IX Code
Cooling Custom water plus another cooler
Memory Corsair Vengeance LED Red 4x8GB 32GB 3200MHz kit
Video Card(s) 2 x MSI RX Vega 56 and a single MSI RX Vega 64 in test rig
Storage 960 EVO/960 Pro M.2 nvme 250/1TB, Samsumg 850 evo 256/ WD 1TB blue
Display(s) Nexius 32" freesync 2 HDR
Case Corsair Obsidion 650D/ cardboard box
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply EVGA Supernova G2 1300W
Mouse Mionix Naos 7000
Keyboard G15
Software Windows 10 Home
Thanks hunter I can't hit the thanks button as I'm roaming and have my browser not loading images.

And your talking Chinese in some parts to me lol.. I just found out anything over 1.34v to these DC cores degrade them.. I needed more dio and aio.. 1.25v to be exact to be stable at 4.9.. I had the core at 1.40v because of the degrade but sense I lowered it to 1.325 and have lowered the llc and other digital settings I'm stable again.. I just settled at 4.8 for benching and 4.6 for 24/7 ... Only till I get a z97,board to make use of the new power features that is.
 
Joined
Mar 24, 2010
Messages
4,570 (1.62/day)
Likes
917
Location
Independent in Imperialistic
System Name Oh the name!
Processor i7 7700K
Motherboard MSI Z270 Xpower
Cooling EK 360 Extreme
Memory 16Gb G.Skill TridentZ 3866
Video Card(s) nVidia 1080 Ti Flanders Edition
Storage 1 Intel PCIE SSD750, 2 Sam 840Evo 1TB SSD, WD Black 2TB, Toshiba 3TB
Display(s) Acer Predator X1 (32")
Case Rajintek Paean
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Corsair AX860
Mouse Mad Catz Pro X
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software W10Pro
For now, suscribed :toast: Thanks to all contributors!!!
 
Joined
Apr 10, 2012
Messages
1,319 (0.64/day)
Likes
686
Location
78°55' N, 11°56' E
System Name -aLiEn beaTs-
Processor Intel i7 4770k OC 4.7GHz @ 1.28v | Cache 4.2GHz
Motherboard Asus Z87-Deluxe
Cooling Corsair H90 custom p|p fans
Memory G.skill TridentX 2x8GB DDR3 2400MHz CL10|1T
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 980TI AMP!Omega Factory OC 1420MHz
Storage Intel SSD
Display(s) EIZO FS2333
Case CoolerMaster HAF 932 USB3.0
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium HD @ 2.1 Bose acoustimass 5
Power Supply Chieftec Ntro88+ 650W [52A]
Mouse oldschool Razer Copperhead blu
Keyboard Logitech G19s
Software Windows 10 Pro RS2
Benchmark Scores ► ♪♫♪♩♬♫♪♭
Thanks hunter I can't hit the thanks button as I'm roaming and have my browser not loading images.

And your talking Chinese in some parts to me lol.. I just found out anything over 1.34v to these DC cores degrade them.. I needed more dio and aio.. 1.25v to be exact to be stable at 4.9.. I had the core at 1.40v because of the degrade but sense I lowered it to 1.325 and have lowered the llc and other digital settings I'm stable again.. I just settled at 4.8 for benching and 4.6 for 24/7 ... Only till I get a z97,board to make use of the new power features that is.
:)


Maybe you checked cpu coreV voltage instead of cpuVID? cpu coreV is usually a little higher then CoreVID.


btw LoadLineCalibration affects only input voltage (SVID) - this is @ auto 1.79v.
 

fullinfusion

Vanguard Beta Tester
Joined
Jan 11, 2008
Messages
9,603 (2.65/day)
Likes
3,358
Processor I7-7700K
Motherboard Asus Z270 Maximus IX Code
Cooling Custom water plus another cooler
Memory Corsair Vengeance LED Red 4x8GB 32GB 3200MHz kit
Video Card(s) 2 x MSI RX Vega 56 and a single MSI RX Vega 64 in test rig
Storage 960 EVO/960 Pro M.2 nvme 250/1TB, Samsumg 850 evo 256/ WD 1TB blue
Display(s) Nexius 32" freesync 2 HDR
Case Corsair Obsidion 650D/ cardboard box
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply EVGA Supernova G2 1300W
Mouse Mionix Naos 7000
Keyboard G15
Software Windows 10 Home
Hunter I should note that I have no turbo mode lol. Its running full turbo 24/7.. Asus board I have won't let the user set the low states to throttle down core clocks or voltage. I've tried and nada works... I used to set my 3770k to offset voltage of -15 and at idle it run under a GHz and under a volt with the states in the bios enabled.. This maximus formula vi has all the tweaks but they don't work.. If I go into the windows power management I can get the clocks to drop a few hundred MHz but that's useless compared to how I really want it to work.
 
Joined
Apr 10, 2012
Messages
1,319 (0.64/day)
Likes
686
Location
78°55' N, 11°56' E
System Name -aLiEn beaTs-
Processor Intel i7 4770k OC 4.7GHz @ 1.28v | Cache 4.2GHz
Motherboard Asus Z87-Deluxe
Cooling Corsair H90 custom p|p fans
Memory G.skill TridentX 2x8GB DDR3 2400MHz CL10|1T
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 980TI AMP!Omega Factory OC 1420MHz
Storage Intel SSD
Display(s) EIZO FS2333
Case CoolerMaster HAF 932 USB3.0
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium HD @ 2.1 Bose acoustimass 5
Power Supply Chieftec Ntro88+ 650W [52A]
Mouse oldschool Razer Copperhead blu
Keyboard Logitech G19s
Software Windows 10 Pro RS2
Benchmark Scores ► ♪♫♪♩♬♫♪♭
Hm well im using basic turbo OC. And balanced power plan then drops to low 800mhz, @ high perf its at fixed multi while in idle but only if I disable C1E.


This fixed turbo is fixed, i think its how it is no? Imo not really efficient..
Just use EIST and turbo OC, it won't fluctuate @ full load if that's what you worry about, once in full load it will stay there if @ high performance power plan.


EDIT:
I'll post my current cache and cpu adpative voltages, brb. Im sure ROG mobos have the same + a bunch extra.

 
Last edited:

fullinfusion

Vanguard Beta Tester
Joined
Jan 11, 2008
Messages
9,603 (2.65/day)
Likes
3,358
Processor I7-7700K
Motherboard Asus Z270 Maximus IX Code
Cooling Custom water plus another cooler
Memory Corsair Vengeance LED Red 4x8GB 32GB 3200MHz kit
Video Card(s) 2 x MSI RX Vega 56 and a single MSI RX Vega 64 in test rig
Storage 960 EVO/960 Pro M.2 nvme 250/1TB, Samsumg 850 evo 256/ WD 1TB blue
Display(s) Nexius 32" freesync 2 HDR
Case Corsair Obsidion 650D/ cardboard box
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply EVGA Supernova G2 1300W
Mouse Mionix Naos 7000
Keyboard G15
Software Windows 10 Home
Sure sounds good but I won't be able to see the pix till tomorrow morning when I hit a WiFi hotspot.. American roaming for data blows but an american roaming in Canada get great data rates so go figure lol.. Plus when I get home tomorrow night I'll send you all my bios screens to do with my power options and maybe you can steer me into the right direction so my rig isn't buzzing at 4.8 24/7 lol
 
Joined
Mar 24, 2010
Messages
4,570 (1.62/day)
Likes
917
Location
Independent in Imperialistic
System Name Oh the name!
Processor i7 7700K
Motherboard MSI Z270 Xpower
Cooling EK 360 Extreme
Memory 16Gb G.Skill TridentZ 3866
Video Card(s) nVidia 1080 Ti Flanders Edition
Storage 1 Intel PCIE SSD750, 2 Sam 840Evo 1TB SSD, WD Black 2TB, Toshiba 3TB
Display(s) Acer Predator X1 (32")
Case Rajintek Paean
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Corsair AX860
Mouse Mad Catz Pro X
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software W10Pro
Motivated by your crazy Mhz whores fun, i updated to the latest bios, which i did NOT want to do....lol.... I just told the uefi 'Gimme a goddamm 4800 mhz" and watch me drippong doing a full 3D Mark 2014 suite withoit error. Previusly I could not even boot this 4790k at 4700.... Looks like a promising base for more transgressions... :).
 
Joined
Mar 24, 2010
Messages
4,570 (1.62/day)
Likes
917
Location
Independent in Imperialistic
System Name Oh the name!
Processor i7 7700K
Motherboard MSI Z270 Xpower
Cooling EK 360 Extreme
Memory 16Gb G.Skill TridentZ 3866
Video Card(s) nVidia 1080 Ti Flanders Edition
Storage 1 Intel PCIE SSD750, 2 Sam 840Evo 1TB SSD, WD Black 2TB, Toshiba 3TB
Display(s) Acer Predator X1 (32")
Case Rajintek Paean
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Corsair AX860
Mouse Mad Catz Pro X
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software W10Pro
Cool, isn't it, as the first weeks the 4970K was nearly declared unoverclockable or hard to do so...... And it indeed... WAS.
First I got a restart at the very end of the full 3DMark suite, I lost track of the exact episode.
Any way, I just maxed all my fans speeds, and set Nvidia control panel to use its profiles for 3D Mark. Exited Aida and AI Suite. Ran it. Finished it.
My results are significantly better runnning the 4790K processor at 4800 Mhz over standard 4000/4400 Turbo mode (by using LevelUp, nothing manual). With previous UEFI this was impossible on my Maximus 7 Gene.
So I will keep it and see if all my software runs errorfree.
Ah, the voltage is now 1.3 v.
My Fire Strike went from 6200 to 6500. GPÛ not overclocked! :O)
 

fullinfusion

Vanguard Beta Tester
Joined
Jan 11, 2008
Messages
9,603 (2.65/day)
Likes
3,358
Processor I7-7700K
Motherboard Asus Z270 Maximus IX Code
Cooling Custom water plus another cooler
Memory Corsair Vengeance LED Red 4x8GB 32GB 3200MHz kit
Video Card(s) 2 x MSI RX Vega 56 and a single MSI RX Vega 64 in test rig
Storage 960 EVO/960 Pro M.2 nvme 250/1TB, Samsumg 850 evo 256/ WD 1TB blue
Display(s) Nexius 32" freesync 2 HDR
Case Corsair Obsidion 650D/ cardboard box
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply EVGA Supernova G2 1300W
Mouse Mionix Naos 7000
Keyboard G15
Software Windows 10 Home
Well experience has it don't go over 1.32v period in windows.. Keep a close eye on that and key in a value to keep it just under that 1.32 v.. And 3dmark isn't shit. Run h-264 encode bench version 5.01 I believe is the version.. I can run 3dmark all day long at 1.32v at 4.9ghz but soon as I run the encoder bench it fails in seconds until I up the volltage.. If it makes it then you can jump for joy and if not keep poking away ;) also use Intel's XTU and run the stress test for 2 hrs or so.. Its a good one to use.. It don't hammer the shit outa the rig like prime will but then again what program ever runs the cpu like prime would? Non I know of and look at it this way, if it passes you won't need to worrie is it stable!?

One more thing install bionic manager and crunch a few days at full load.. That's a terrific program for stability ;)
 
Joined
Mar 24, 2010
Messages
4,570 (1.62/day)
Likes
917
Location
Independent in Imperialistic
System Name Oh the name!
Processor i7 7700K
Motherboard MSI Z270 Xpower
Cooling EK 360 Extreme
Memory 16Gb G.Skill TridentZ 3866
Video Card(s) nVidia 1080 Ti Flanders Edition
Storage 1 Intel PCIE SSD750, 2 Sam 840Evo 1TB SSD, WD Black 2TB, Toshiba 3TB
Display(s) Acer Predator X1 (32")
Case Rajintek Paean
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Corsair AX860
Mouse Mad Catz Pro X
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software W10Pro
Thanks a lot! Is there a way to have Intel XTU installed but not running at all when I decide, because it conflicts with Asus AI Suite "5-Way Optimization". I had a messy time uninstalling it last week because Watchdog would never stop and uninstall, unless you use machingeguns, lol.
 

fullinfusion

Vanguard Beta Tester
Joined
Jan 11, 2008
Messages
9,603 (2.65/day)
Likes
3,358
Processor I7-7700K
Motherboard Asus Z270 Maximus IX Code
Cooling Custom water plus another cooler
Memory Corsair Vengeance LED Red 4x8GB 32GB 3200MHz kit
Video Card(s) 2 x MSI RX Vega 56 and a single MSI RX Vega 64 in test rig
Storage 960 EVO/960 Pro M.2 nvme 250/1TB, Samsumg 850 evo 256/ WD 1TB blue
Display(s) Nexius 32" freesync 2 HDR
Case Corsair Obsidion 650D/ cardboard box
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply EVGA Supernova G2 1300W
Mouse Mionix Naos 7000
Keyboard G15
Software Windows 10 Home
Yeah just run it once then right click on the small icon beside the clock and click end.. Reboot and it won't start up.
 

fullinfusion

Vanguard Beta Tester
Joined
Jan 11, 2008
Messages
9,603 (2.65/day)
Likes
3,358
Processor I7-7700K
Motherboard Asus Z270 Maximus IX Code
Cooling Custom water plus another cooler
Memory Corsair Vengeance LED Red 4x8GB 32GB 3200MHz kit
Video Card(s) 2 x MSI RX Vega 56 and a single MSI RX Vega 64 in test rig
Storage 960 EVO/960 Pro M.2 nvme 250/1TB, Samsumg 850 evo 256/ WD 1TB blue
Display(s) Nexius 32" freesync 2 HDR
Case Corsair Obsidion 650D/ cardboard box
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply EVGA Supernova G2 1300W
Mouse Mionix Naos 7000
Keyboard G15
Software Windows 10 Home
Hm well im using basic turbo OC. And balanced power plan then drops to low 800mhz, @ high perf its at fixed multi while in idle but only if I disable C1E.


This fixed turbo is fixed, i think its how it is no? Imo not really efficient..
Just use EIST and turbo OC, it won't fluctuate @ full load if that's what you worry about, once in full load it will stay there if @ high performance power plan.


EDIT:
I'll post my current cache and cpu adpative voltages, brb. Im sure ROG mobos have the same + a bunch extra.

I dont have that source clock tuner
 

fullinfusion

Vanguard Beta Tester
Joined
Jan 11, 2008
Messages
9,603 (2.65/day)
Likes
3,358
Processor I7-7700K
Motherboard Asus Z270 Maximus IX Code
Cooling Custom water plus another cooler
Memory Corsair Vengeance LED Red 4x8GB 32GB 3200MHz kit
Video Card(s) 2 x MSI RX Vega 56 and a single MSI RX Vega 64 in test rig
Storage 960 EVO/960 Pro M.2 nvme 250/1TB, Samsumg 850 evo 256/ WD 1TB blue
Display(s) Nexius 32" freesync 2 HDR
Case Corsair Obsidion 650D/ cardboard box
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply EVGA Supernova G2 1300W
Mouse Mionix Naos 7000
Keyboard G15
Software Windows 10 Home
Is it ok *safe* without degration to run the CPU Boot strap this high?

 
Joined
Mar 24, 2010
Messages
4,570 (1.62/day)
Likes
917
Location
Independent in Imperialistic
System Name Oh the name!
Processor i7 7700K
Motherboard MSI Z270 Xpower
Cooling EK 360 Extreme
Memory 16Gb G.Skill TridentZ 3866
Video Card(s) nVidia 1080 Ti Flanders Edition
Storage 1 Intel PCIE SSD750, 2 Sam 840Evo 1TB SSD, WD Black 2TB, Toshiba 3TB
Display(s) Acer Predator X1 (32")
Case Rajintek Paean
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Corsair AX860
Mouse Mad Catz Pro X
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software W10Pro
With Asus M7G Uefi bios 1104 I am able to run a lot of things with 4790K@4800 Mhz (voltages tested at auto, 1,25, 1,29 and 1,30), but not to finish many tests. h-264 encode bench version 5.0.1 resets my pc just before finishing.
I have been playing around with adaptive voltage, but no change so far.

Apart, what do you guys think of the build in "Gamers Profile", that is, different speeds per core: 47, 46, 45, 44 Mhz.... ? Personally I am looking for a 24/7 solid overclock, that runs stable, cool enough, and makes sense in terms of real world performance.
 

fullinfusion

Vanguard Beta Tester
Joined
Jan 11, 2008
Messages
9,603 (2.65/day)
Likes
3,358
Processor I7-7700K
Motherboard Asus Z270 Maximus IX Code
Cooling Custom water plus another cooler
Memory Corsair Vengeance LED Red 4x8GB 32GB 3200MHz kit
Video Card(s) 2 x MSI RX Vega 56 and a single MSI RX Vega 64 in test rig
Storage 960 EVO/960 Pro M.2 nvme 250/1TB, Samsumg 850 evo 256/ WD 1TB blue
Display(s) Nexius 32" freesync 2 HDR
Case Corsair Obsidion 650D/ cardboard box
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply EVGA Supernova G2 1300W
Mouse Mionix Naos 7000
Keyboard G15
Software Windows 10 Home
With Asus M7G Uefi bios 1104 I am able to run a lot of things with 4790K@4800 Mhz (voltages tested at auto, 1,25, 1,29 and 1,30), but not to finish many tests. h-264 encode bench version 5.0.1 resets my pc just before finishing.
I have been playing around with adaptive voltage, but no change so far.

Apart, what do you guys think of the build in "Gamers Profile", that is, different speeds per core: 47, 46, 45, 44 Mhz.... ? Personally I am looking for a 24/7 solid overclock, that runs stable, cool enough, and makes sense in terms of real world performance.
Whats your vDIO and vAIO voltage at?
Change it to 1.250v on both and run the encoder again... I bet it passes ;)

And no don't use those silly profiles, you can get much better with the help from @TheHunter, @cadaveca and a few others :lovetpu:
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 24, 2010
Messages
4,570 (1.62/day)
Likes
917
Location
Independent in Imperialistic
System Name Oh the name!
Processor i7 7700K
Motherboard MSI Z270 Xpower
Cooling EK 360 Extreme
Memory 16Gb G.Skill TridentZ 3866
Video Card(s) nVidia 1080 Ti Flanders Edition
Storage 1 Intel PCIE SSD750, 2 Sam 840Evo 1TB SSD, WD Black 2TB, Toshiba 3TB
Display(s) Acer Predator X1 (32")
Case Rajintek Paean
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Corsair AX860
Mouse Mad Catz Pro X
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software W10Pro
testing that now, If I don't come back, better book a flight to a 3rd world country! LOL
 
Joined
Mar 24, 2010
Messages
4,570 (1.62/day)
Likes
917
Location
Independent in Imperialistic
System Name Oh the name!
Processor i7 7700K
Motherboard MSI Z270 Xpower
Cooling EK 360 Extreme
Memory 16Gb G.Skill TridentZ 3866
Video Card(s) nVidia 1080 Ti Flanders Edition
Storage 1 Intel PCIE SSD750, 2 Sam 840Evo 1TB SSD, WD Black 2TB, Toshiba 3TB
Display(s) Acer Predator X1 (32")
Case Rajintek Paean
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Corsair AX860
Mouse Mad Catz Pro X
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software W10Pro
ok, well. Setting both analogue I/O voltage and Digital I/O voltage to 1,25v did not work with the video benchmark..

Sidenote: if I set Adaptive voltages vor Core and Alternative voltages, I have no option to set the above values. I have to go to full manual mode. Will try to leave some on auto, but set vDIO, AIO to 1,25v....
 

MxPhenom 216

Corsair Fanboy
Joined
Aug 31, 2010
Messages
12,129 (4.56/day)
Likes
3,697
Location
Seattle, WA
System Name The Battlestation
Processor Intel Core i7 4770k @ 4.2GHZ 1.275v
Motherboard MSi Z97 Gaming 5
Cooling EK Supremacy w/ EK Coolstream PE360
Memory G. Skill Trident X 16Gb (4x4GB) 2400mhz @ 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSi GTX1070 Gaming X 8GB @ 2GHz
Storage Samsung 830 128GB SSD, Crucial MX200 500GB, Seagate Barracuda 2TB (2x 1TB Partitions)
Display(s) Qnix QX2710 27" 2560 x 1440 PLS @ 100hz
Case Phantek Enthoo Evolv ATX TG
Audio Device(s) MSi Gaming AudioBoost ALC1150 w/ Sennheiser Game Ones
Power Supply Seasonic Flagship Prime Platinum 850
Mouse Steelseries Rival 310 w/ QCK Mass mat
Keyboard Corsair K70 w/ MX Browns and Red Backlit
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
Benchmark Scores Firestrike: 15439
Got a blue screen for the first time in like 4+ weeks today. Haven't changed anything. Haven't done much to investigate it yet, but thought id post it here.

0x00000019 (0x0000000000000003, 0xfffff901406c4010, 0xfffff903406c4010, 0xfffff901406c4010) Bad_Pool_Header
 
Last edited: