1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Intel Leaks i7-2700K

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by onethreehill, Sep 12, 2011.

  1. onethreehill

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2011
    Messages:
    187 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    58
    http://www.anandtech.com/show/4757/intel-leaks-i72700k
     
    yogurt_21 says thanks.
  2. wolf

    wolf Performance Enthusiast

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    5,562 (1.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    855
    I expected something like this to combat bulldozer, and a corresponding price drop on the 2600K to match whatever chip it competes against.
     
  3. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    12,674 (3.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,056
    Location:
    Quantum Well (UK)
    Yup, this is why I've been telling anyone that's looking to upgrade their system now to hang on for a bit.

    Good find. :toast:
     
  4. LordJummy

    LordJummy New Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2011
    Messages:
    1,405 (0.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    248
    Location:
    US of A
    Yay a 100MHz clock increase! I'm totally upgrading my main rig to SB now :p </sarcasm>

    Seems a tad bit pointless if it's unlock-able and the same silicon as a 2600K, but it would make sense to me if it were just a plain i7 2700. Hopefully it has some other improvements as well. I would guess it will OC a tad better too?
     
  5. yogurt_21

    yogurt_21

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    Messages:
    4,847 (1.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    881
    Location:
    AZ
    higher clock for the same wattage = more effiency and a probable increase in overclockablity.

    also if it launches at the 2600k price point it means the 2600k becomes cheaper. That alone should be worth it for consumers. Those who want the best get it at the same price point, those who don't care about 100MHZ can get the 2600k cheaper.

    win win imo.
     
    qubit says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  6. EarthDog

    EarthDog

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    6,872 (2.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,842
    THIS is why you have been telling people to hang on...a bin up from a 2600k? :wtf:

    Buy a 2600k and use the multi. Done :toast:. There isnt a darn bit of difference in this chip vs the 2600k outside of a multi bump. I would bet GOOD money says 80% of 2600k's can handle that bump without a TDP increase. I doubt it will overclock any higher either... Since they are multi limited, its not going to matter.

    LUDA I tell ya, LUDA (the CPU)!
     
    qubit says thanks.
  7. yogurt_21

    yogurt_21

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    Messages:
    4,847 (1.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    881
    Location:
    AZ
    and overpay by ~ 40$ most likely

    that's an extra game, a better cooler, or really an extra 4GB of memory.

    great advice there buddy. :rolleyes:
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  8. theoneandonlymrk

    theoneandonlymrk

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    3,782 (1.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    757
    Location:
    Manchester uk
    kinda missing the point possibly, not many give a damn about such a small increase in spec but it may be a higher stepping or revised sku meaning better oc and better overall performance(i might not have got a go stepped Q6600 had i been a bit thick and id be buying new sooner), and Most importantly all lower sku prices should drop ...:)

    buy at the wrong time and your gona waste a few quid
     
    More than 25k PPD
  9. EarthDog

    EarthDog

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    6,872 (2.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,842
    Naa, I got the point.. I just dont think its possible to overclock farther with these chips. Its not like previous gen chips where you are bclk limited. You are hard multi limited and that wont change with a stepping. You may have a rare 58x+ in this stepping or w/e, you can also find some dud 53x's too.

    Why would anyone think this gen would overclock better? Isnt there literally a hard multi wall at 59x on the gems? What am I missing? Thanks in advance for that info.
     
  10. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    11,794 (5.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,533
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    eh just bought a 2500k. should be good enough, i dont need hyperthreading for games
     
  11. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,609 (3.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,432
    Location:
    04578
    a 2600k or 2500k can do there turbo clock for 3.7 on all for cores on a fucking stock cooler and still not hit max temps, so EarthDog is actually right to an extent,

    max TDP on my 2500k at 4.4ghz is 165w via a built in limit on the motherboard the maximum usually is 150w if it hits those limits it down clocks my cpu dosent downclock so obviously my TDP is less then 165 for short burst max and 150 max for daily use,

    HT does give a power increase and slight heat increase but overall, a 2600k is the far better buy and a 2700 makes no sense for the enthusiasts

    a good example is a the Phenom II 955 vs a 965 both will overclock to around the same levels 965 is a bit easier to get there but overall both are essentially the same, just a multi difference and nothing more


    for the 2500k 2600k you can hit 4.6-4.7 24/7 stable with a $25 air cooler so a 100mhz bump unlocked multi same price point fine, but no ones gonna buy a 2700k with the 2600k on the market

    i mean hell my 2500k will do 4.3ghz at stock voltage, and i can leave the TDP limit at STOCK meaning at 4.3ghz my chip is using under 125w TDP

    again its a single multi bump so rather worthless, its not going to mean the chip is awesomely binned for great clocks, every 2600 2600k ever in existance can handle a single multi bump without issue. so overall Intel is pushing a 2700k simply to maintain an edge in the OEM market

    as far as Duds go my 2500k stops at 4.4ghz because my Motherboard dosent have PPL overvoltage so im stuck, dosent matter what chip or batch sometimes you just get a poop chip but in general most users running a 2500k or 2600k will end up at 4.5ghz 24/7 same goes for a 2700k
     
  12. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    14,888 (4.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,335
    its for those who dont overclock
     
  13. LordJummy

    LordJummy New Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2011
    Messages:
    1,405 (0.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    248
    Location:
    US of A
    Why would someone who doesn't overclock by an unlocked overclocking chip? wtf are you talking about? The entire point of the "K" line is for overclockers...

    It's for Intel to pad their market range, and squeeze some more money out of the same silicon. Intel isn't in the lab like "Eureka! let's add 100MHz to help out those non overclockers". The 2600/2600K is WAY more than enough for any normal user who doesn't overclock in the first place man. So what you're saying makes absolutely no sense what so ever.
     
  14. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    14,888 (4.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,335
    ok Jummy, the K series CPUs maybe positioned at Overclockers but they are known as a High End model, the higher the clock the less you have to overclock to get the same effect. plus its marketing.

    the 2700K is known to run at its rated speed where as the lesser models are unknown. N Also kid you dont have to insult others intelligence cuz your showin to be a jerk
     
  15. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,609 (3.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,432
    Location:
    04578
    the 2700k

    3.5 stock 3.9 turbo

    2600k

    3.4 stock 3.8 turbo

    wow yea thats such a massive difference that ppl will care about again its more for OEMs add it to a PC and milk the consumer for whatever they can ;)

    not to mention ALL SB chips have the same multi wall so its kinda moot lol its a small bump along the lines of AMD when they kept pumping out new quadcores with 100mhz bumps,

    trying to grab the dumb consumer with the OMG LOOK ITS FASTER SEE LOOK LOOK when anyone with a brain will release wow thats a whole bunch of fail. lol

    i honestly see how 2600k would fail 100mhz bump to equal 2700k if you find a 2600k that cant do 3.5 - 3.9 let me know ill say your right and recant but at this point theres point in a 2700k being 3.5 3.9

    if the 2700k was 3.6 4.0 i could see its placment, as a 2600k will do this without issue, hell almost any SB chip will hit 4.2ghz on all cores, base clock i havent seen a single K chip that wont, so in retrospect the 2700k makes no impact all it does is drive down the 2600k to make it a more attractive option for Overclockers like ourselves.
     
    Last edited: Sep 12, 2011
  16. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    14,888 (4.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,335
    tell u the truth for stability purposes id grab the fastest money can buy but if im playin around ill grab something on the money n all lol
     
  17. LordJummy

    LordJummy New Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2011
    Messages:
    1,405 (0.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    248
    Location:
    US of A
    I was going to comment on this, but I will let your reply speak for itself.

    Wat?
     
  18. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,609 (3.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,432
    Location:
    04578
    so you would pay $50 more for 100mhz bump?

    interesting
     
  19. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    14,888 (4.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,335
    for a customers machine- stability yes, me with my own machine no
     
  20. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,609 (3.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,432
    Location:
    04578
    lol ive never bothered i overclock all customers machines, and test stability, etc any customer i have buyign from me wants the best there money can buy performance wise $50 for a cooler on a 2600k gives them that a 2700k wont :toast:

    but to each there own,
     
  21. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    14,888 (4.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,335
    depending on the budget is how i build them but if they want the fastest they can get ill get the fastest CPU out there.
     
  22. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,609 (3.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,432
    Location:
    04578
    i dont bother with fastest

    again 2600k + hyper 212+ = 4.5ghz 4core 8 thread cpu

    2700k = same as above but your stuck at 3.5 as a quadcore so in terms of buying them the fastest the fastest you give them in the case of the 2600 vs 2700 your giving them the slower machine then what there money could potentially afford. in this limited senario

    other examples would be for instance 1090T stock vs a 1055T + cooler overclocked

    or i7 920 overclocked vs 980x in most cases the same or better performance can be had for less with overclocking and as long as its tested theres no problem

    Looking back at it most of my customers machines are heavily overclocked and the machines are running fine, even the oldest build i can recall an Athlon X2 5000+ 2.6ghz Brisbane was overclocked to 3ghz, still running stable today nearly 4-5 years later.
     
  23. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    14,888 (4.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,335
    For me I overclock but Customer machines i do not, ive warned people before about them having troubles after they did that n i threatened to drop warranty if they dont leave crap alone in the bios.
     
  24. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,609 (3.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,432
    Location:
    04578
    my customers must be slightly more intelligent after 100+ pcs the last few years on the side none have come back with major issues one had viruses the other just wanted to swap to a higher capcity HDD, otherwise they're intelligent enough to leave things alone. I must be lucky. lol
     
  25. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    14,888 (4.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,335
    gotta realize too many get a lil brave n say their machine is broke, n I go back n find out they messed around in there n fixed it n warn em not to go in there, some have did again n thats when i warn them do not go in there or the warranty will be dropped.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)