1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Intel Matrix Storage Manager to Intel Rapid Storage Technology

Discussion in 'Storage' started by 95Viper, Mar 8, 2010.

  1. 95Viper

    95Viper

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    5,568 (1.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,574
    Location:
    στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
    I guess I was asleep on this one. I was wondering why there has been no update to the Intel Matrix Storage Manager.

    Intel has changed the Intel Matrix Storage Manager to Intel Rapid Storage Technology.

    On their site it is not easy to find by just looking. There is buzz about it on their forum.
    They only have (that I can find) ver. 9.5.0.1037 on their site. However, This site, Station-drivers.com has a list of them.

    I have downloaded and am using the Ver. 9.5.7.1002. I have not seen any increase in read/write rates, but the interface is easier to use(IMO).

    Info here at Intel's site.
    Which Intel® chipsets and Intel® I/O controller hubs (ICH) are supported?
    What features are supported on each I/O controller hub (ICH)?
    :)

    EDIT:Product name change info
     
    Last edited: Mar 8, 2010
  2. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    14,942 (4.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,458
    Location:
    US
    Well running 8.9 will have to try these later. Chances are it be bug fixes and updates for newer controllers.

    Never seen a boost since 8.3 although had some fixes and one ( at least ) i actually needed.

    Check your Mobo's manufacture's site out they might have a updated bios for the conntroller like mine did. Although it only went to 8.7 lol.

    Looks like x38 and x48 are supported.
     
    95Viper says thanks.
  3. 95Viper

    95Viper

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    5,568 (1.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,574
    Location:
    στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
    Yep, the last bios update, from Gigabyte, updated my Intel ACHI/Raid rom. They are a little slow over there about bios updates, the F3B (beta) is the last (official) one and it been a beta since Sept., 2009. There is a F3C ( not offically released ), but that caused a problem and removed a couple of options in the bios set-up.
     
  4. TIGR

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2008
    Messages:
    2,184 (0.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,030
    Location:
    Minnesota, USA
    Just noticed this myself a few weeks ago and was quite confused by what this Rapid Storage Technology stuff was for a while. :laugh: Notably however, it seems Intel uses "Matrix RAID" to refer specifically to multiple RAID volumes on one array functionality, while "Rapid Storage Technology" refers more broadly to the entire RAID technology.
     
  5. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    14,942 (4.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,458
    Location:
    US

    Well from my testing over the last 2 years with this mobo 6 HDDs in 2 Arrays is faster than having one Array.

    Last test was with Raid 10 ( still using ) and is much slower than setting up 2 Raid 5's. Best i have got is Raid 5 for OS with another Raid 5 with a Raid 0 with the same HDD's.
     
    TIGR says thanks.
  6. TIGR

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2008
    Messages:
    2,184 (0.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,030
    Location:
    Minnesota, USA
    Curious—what kind of testing do you do on these setups? Are we talking file copying, Windows Experience ratings, HDTune or other synthetic benchmarks, or what? Different configurations will be better for different things. For example, 6-drive RAID 10 is going to smoke two smaller arrays if you're writing data from an external source, or reading data from the array, but the two smaller arrays will beat 6-drive RAID 10 if you're copying files from one array to the other.

    Here's hoping I'm making sense. :toast:
     
  7. Jizzler

    Jizzler

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    3,987 (1.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,020
    Location:
    Geneva, FL, USA
    AsRock, your board supports a 6-drive RAID-10? I haven't seen this ability on any of the ones I've used.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. TIGR

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2008
    Messages:
    2,184 (0.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,030
    Location:
    Minnesota, USA
    6-drive RAID 10 support came with ICH9/10 IIRC.

    Edit: I am looking for a source, don't quote me on this. :laugh:
     
    Last edited: Mar 8, 2010
  9. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    14,942 (4.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,458
    Location:
    US
    Raid 10 has failed big time for me.

    2 raid 5 arrays with the second one with a Raid 0 array is my favorite way.

    HD Tune forget any thing like that i find the best way is to test real apps. File copying to the same array is slower than copying a file from one array to another all so another benefit of using 2 arrays is you can have the pagefile ( with the OS ) on the 1st array and your second array your games and apps.

    Array 1 Raid 5 ( OS's + a back up partition ).
    Array 2 Part Raid 5 ( Games and App partitions ) with building a Raid 0 on the 2nd array for your games which is you have enough space back up on array 1.

    Thats the best way for me as OS loading times i don't care about it's my game loading times i do.

    I partition the 1st array 80GB\80GB ( as i install 2 OS's as i hate down time lol ). The rest is backup. For the second Array Raid 0 enough for my games then make the rest Raid 5 for apps.

    This way the OS gets it's own dedicated Array and so does your games\apps.

    But that's the easy part then by copying the files back and forth or loading a game \ app the Allocation unit Size plays a big part too and that can effect speed a lot if done wrong and no default is not always the best.
     
  10. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    14,942 (4.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,458
    Location:
    US
    Yep it's there for sure :).
     

    Attached Files:

    Jizzler says thanks.
  11. TIGR

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2008
    Messages:
    2,184 (0.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,030
    Location:
    Minnesota, USA
    Well I cannot seem to find the info on 6-drive RAID 10. I recall seeing it in a chart like this but that one doesn't list it ... anyway, yes you can do it.

    Hey, I have 1000 posts. :)
     
  12. Jizzler

    Jizzler

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    3,987 (1.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,020
    Location:
    Geneva, FL, USA
    Well I'll be damned. Wish Intel knew this and had listed this support on their own charts... ;)
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  13. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    14,942 (4.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,458
    Location:
    US
  14. Jizzler

    Jizzler

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    3,987 (1.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,020
    Location:
    Geneva, FL, USA
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    14,942 (4.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,458
    Location:
    US
    Well they say yes to all to ICH9R and ICH10R. They just don't say higher than 4 although 4 is minimum.
     
  16. TIGR

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2008
    Messages:
    2,184 (0.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,030
    Location:
    Minnesota, USA
    Sad thing is, I was just talking to an Asus motherboard tech who assured me you can't run more than four drives in a RAID array run off Intel's ICH9/10/R/PCH chipsets.

    :banghead:
     
  17. TIGR

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2008
    Messages:
    2,184 (0.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,030
    Location:
    Minnesota, USA
    AsRock, I am once again curious. The screenshot you posted was from your Asus Maximus Formula x38? What does it mean in your system specs where it says modified Matrix Storage Manager driver?
     
  18. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    14,942 (4.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,458
    Location:
    US
    Makes ya wounder some times.

    Yes it's x38 and i use modified Raid drivers for XP x64 so you can build a image with raid drivers that way you can see your raid setup when you installing the OS.
     
  19. TIGR

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2008
    Messages:
    2,184 (0.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,030
    Location:
    Minnesota, USA
    Ah okay—as in, you slipstreamed the RAID drivers into your XP install disk? That always made more sense to me than digging around for a floppy drive whenever it came time to reinstall Windows. :laugh: I thought maybe the drivers themselves were in some way modified.
     
  20. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    14,942 (4.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,458
    Location:
    US
    No they have to be modified to be able to slipstream them. It's just how the drivers are made if i remember right it's due to not having a .inf file.
     
  21. TIGR

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2008
    Messages:
    2,184 (0.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,030
    Location:
    Minnesota, USA
    I slipstreamed unmodified ICH9R and 10R drivers into XP installation disks without difficulty. Maybe just different slipstreaming methods? It's been a while and I don't forget the name of the program I had used for it.
     
  22. TIGR

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2008
    Messages:
    2,184 (0.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,030
    Location:
    Minnesota, USA
    Hmm, just discovered my P7P55 WS SuperComputer will not run a 6-drive RAID 10 array. 4-drive no prob, 6-drive no go.
     
  23. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    14,942 (4.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,458
    Location:
    US
    Maybe, and i used nLite

    WOW and this is with a ASUS mobo ?. Maybe it's only with x38\48\58 mobos although i am guessing.
     
  24. TIGR

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2008
    Messages:
    2,184 (0.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,030
    Location:
    Minnesota, USA
    There ya go—nLite was my method as well. And yeah this is an Asus P55 board ... I am downright confused and think I have some more motherboards to test out for this functionality.
     
  25. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    14,942 (4.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,458
    Location:
    US

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)