• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

intel p55 & xeon overclocking

Joined
Sep 13, 2017
Messages
64 (0.25/day)
Likes
10
System Name kinda crap
Processor Intel Pentium g4400
Motherboard msi h110 pro VD plus
Cooling cryorig h7
Memory Balistix sport ddr4 4gb & Balistix sport lt ddr4 4gb
Video Card(s) Nvidia Gtx 1050 ti
Storage 256gb wd black nvme & tb wd enterprise drive & 1tb wd Green
Display(s) some crap asus monitor
Case Thermaltake core G21 TG
Audio Device(s) hyperx cloud II
Power Supply corsair cx450
Mouse Corsair Harpoon rgb
Keyboard Coolermaster Masterkeys pro l rgb
#1
I'm trying to overclock my xeon x3430 on an intel p55wg motherboard. I've increased the base clock to its max but it wont let me edit the cpu multiplier. how do I change this?
 

Knoxx29

Xeon Owners Club
Joined
Feb 19, 2014
Messages
5,283 (3.39/day)
Likes
3,771
Location
Behind a VPN
System Name Black Widow/Red Queen X3
Processor i7 8700K 5.0GHz 1.296V/ Xeon X5690 4.5 GHz 1.377
Motherboard Asus Rog Maximus X Hero / Evga X58 Classified 3
Cooling WaterChiller - both Machines looped
Memory G.SKILL Ripjaws V 3000MHz 32GB/ G.SKILL RIPJAWSX 2133Hz 12GB
Video Card(s) EVGA GEFORCE GTX 1080 CLASSIFIED/ Zotac 210
Storage Samsung 960 EVO - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - WD Blue 1TB - WD Black 1TB/ Samsung EVO 250GB
Display(s) Asus PG278Q ROG/ Samsung
Case Cougar Panzer Max/ Lian Li
Audio Device(s) On Board
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 1000W 80plus platinum Super Overclock Edition ATX2
Mouse Logitech G502 spectrum
Keyboard Virtuis Advanced Gaming Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Pro.
#2
Joined
Sep 13, 2017
Messages
64 (0.25/day)
Likes
10
System Name kinda crap
Processor Intel Pentium g4400
Motherboard msi h110 pro VD plus
Cooling cryorig h7
Memory Balistix sport ddr4 4gb & Balistix sport lt ddr4 4gb
Video Card(s) Nvidia Gtx 1050 ti
Storage 256gb wd black nvme & tb wd enterprise drive & 1tb wd Green
Display(s) some crap asus monitor
Case Thermaltake core G21 TG
Audio Device(s) hyperx cloud II
Power Supply corsair cx450
Mouse Corsair Harpoon rgb
Keyboard Coolermaster Masterkeys pro l rgb
#4

dorsetknob

"YOUR RMA REQUEST IS CON-REFUSED"
Joined
Mar 17, 2005
Messages
6,995 (1.45/day)
Likes
8,907
Location
Dorset where else eh? >>> Thats ENGLAND<<<
#5
Clock multipliers on many modern processors are fixed - it is usually not possible to change them. "Extreme" versions of processors have clock multipliers unlocked, that is they can be "overclocked" by increasing clock multiplier in motherboard BIOS. Some CPU engineering samples may also have clock multiplier unlocked. Many Intel qualification samples have maximum clock multiplier locked - these CPUs may be underclocked (run at lower frequency), but they cannot be overclocked by increasing clock multiplier higher than intended by CPU design. While these qualification samples and majority of production microprocessors cannot be overclocked by increasing their clock multiplier, they still can be overcloked by using different technique - by increasing FSB frequency.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
21,495 (5.40/day)
Likes
6,206
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Joined
Sep 13, 2017
Messages
64 (0.25/day)
Likes
10
System Name kinda crap
Processor Intel Pentium g4400
Motherboard msi h110 pro VD plus
Cooling cryorig h7
Memory Balistix sport ddr4 4gb & Balistix sport lt ddr4 4gb
Video Card(s) Nvidia Gtx 1050 ti
Storage 256gb wd black nvme & tb wd enterprise drive & 1tb wd Green
Display(s) some crap asus monitor
Case Thermaltake core G21 TG
Audio Device(s) hyperx cloud II
Power Supply corsair cx450
Mouse Corsair Harpoon rgb
Keyboard Coolermaster Masterkeys pro l rgb
#7

dorsetknob

"YOUR RMA REQUEST IS CON-REFUSED"
Joined
Mar 17, 2005
Messages
6,995 (1.45/day)
Likes
8,907
Location
Dorset where else eh? >>> Thats ENGLAND<<<
#8
there are two basic ways of overclocking
1. Oldest method is to change the CPU clock Multiplier ( Used to be by setting Jumpers or dip switches on motherboard and later from Bios).
This ONLY WORKS WITH AN UNLOCKED MULTIPLIER
2. Changing the FSB Speed, ( Used to be by setting Jumpers or dip switches on motherboard and later from Bios).
This will also overclock your Ram So your have to be carefull so you end up with a Stable system
Best Combination is with an Unlocked Multiplier and changing the FSB.

With any Overclock you will probably need to improve your Cooling
 
Last edited:
Joined
Sep 13, 2017
Messages
64 (0.25/day)
Likes
10
System Name kinda crap
Processor Intel Pentium g4400
Motherboard msi h110 pro VD plus
Cooling cryorig h7
Memory Balistix sport ddr4 4gb & Balistix sport lt ddr4 4gb
Video Card(s) Nvidia Gtx 1050 ti
Storage 256gb wd black nvme & tb wd enterprise drive & 1tb wd Green
Display(s) some crap asus monitor
Case Thermaltake core G21 TG
Audio Device(s) hyperx cloud II
Power Supply corsair cx450
Mouse Corsair Harpoon rgb
Keyboard Coolermaster Masterkeys pro l rgb
#9
there are two basic ways of overclocking
1. Oldest method is to change the CPU clock Multiplier ( Used to be by setting Jumpers or dip switches on motherboard and later from Bios).
This ONLY WORKS WITH AN UNLOCKED MULTIPLIER
2. Changing the FSB Speed, ( Used to be by setting Jumpers or dip switches on motherboard and later from Bios).
This will also overclock your Ram So your have to be carefull so you end up with a Stable system
Best Combination is with an Unlocked Multiplier and changing the FSB.

With any Overclock you will probably need to improve your Cooling
I can't seem to get above 3.5ghz. I've seen a video of the chip going higher.
 
Joined
Feb 21, 2008
Messages
6,370 (1.70/day)
Likes
3,504
Location
S.E. Virginia
System Name Barb's Domain/Barb's Cruncher#2
Processor i7 3930k@3.8ghz/i7 860 @ 3.3ghz
Motherboard ASUS Rampage IV Black Edition/Gigabyte P55-UD3R
Cooling Deep Cool Assassin/Corsair A50
Memory 16gig DDR3 1600/4gig DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) GTX 1070 /MSI HD7770
Storage 500GB WD Blue SSD, 2TB Seagate Hybrid SSHD/ WD Caviar Blue 160gb
Display(s) HP ZR30W 30" 2560*1600/SOYO Topaz S 24" 1920*1200
Case SilverStone Fortress FT04/NZXT Source 210 Black
Audio Device(s) Logitech Z533
Power Supply XFX 750W XXX edition/PC Power Cooling Turbo Cool 860
Mouse Logitect G5
Software Windows 10 Pro 64 bit /Windows 7 Ult 64 bit
Benchmark Scores https://www.3dmark.com/fs/14508101
#10

brandonwh64

Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!
Joined
Sep 6, 2009
Messages
19,537 (6.14/day)
Likes
6,959
Location
Chatsworth, GA
System Name The StarCrunch Defender!
Processor I7 7700K @ STOCK
Motherboard AsRock Z270 Extreme 4 mATX
Cooling Corsair A70 Push/Pull
Memory Crucial Ballistix DDR4 2400 MHz OC'd to 3200Mhz
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1080TI SC2
Storage 2x Kingston 256GB M.2 PCIe SSD's in Raid 0 | 4TB Western Digital SATA drive
Display(s) LG 29Inch Ultra wide 2K
Case NZXT Vulcan
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 750TX
Mouse Zowie EC1A
Keyboard Logitech G910 Gaming
Software Windows 10 Pro on both
#11
Well considering the 11th highest OC'ed 3430 registed with HWBOT is owned by an active member of TPU, why don't we just tag him. @brandonwh64

https://hwbot.org/benchmark/cpu_fre...Id=processor_2023&cores=4#start=0#interval=20

Oh man that was a long time ago.... Took some fiddling but got it stable at that clock. Took more voltage than I wanted but with lowered mem multiplier and some bus speed bumps I got it a little over 4Ghz. Ran this as a cruncher for a while at those clocks then sold the combo off. The board I used was a P55 extreme and it did very well with every CPU I installed in it so that helped.
 
Top