1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Intel Pentium D @ 3.7 GHz

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by Glitched System, May 13, 2007.

  1. Glitched System New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2007
    Messages:
    212 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    So im still new to the overclocking area.

    Basically I get distorted graphic on programs such as Xfire, CS:S, etc.

    Any way I can fix this. Its running at like 1064 Mhz fsb with its reg voltage.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  2. hat

    hat Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    18,451 (4.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,122
    Location:
    Ohio
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. Glitched System New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2007
    Messages:
    212 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Well, last time i tried to up voltage I fried my amd. Any suggestions?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. pbmaster

    pbmaster New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    Messages:
    2,588 (0.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    292
    Location:
    Savannah, GA
    Go up in small increments, I mean really small. What's it at now?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. Glitched System New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2007
    Messages:
    212 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    1.360 v
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  6. pbmaster

    pbmaster New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    Messages:
    2,588 (0.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    292
    Location:
    Savannah, GA
    See, this is my final result. I'm gonna mess around with some more later and see if I can get it lower.

    [​IMG]
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  7. Glitched System New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2007
    Messages:
    212 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Where do you get smart guardian from?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  8. pbmaster

    pbmaster New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    Messages:
    2,588 (0.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    292
    Location:
    Savannah, GA
    You might try going up to 1.38 or something like that. I don't know much about Intel's chips, but from what I do know they run on lower voltages so I can't really tell you what exactly to put it to.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  9. pbmaster

    pbmaster New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    Messages:
    2,588 (0.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    292
    Location:
    Savannah, GA
    Oh, it came on my motherboard cd. I'm not really sure where you can dl it from though.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  10. Glitched System New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2007
    Messages:
    212 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    mmm, guess I'll give it a try. Hope I don't fry =:)cry:
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  11. pbmaster

    pbmaster New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    Messages:
    2,588 (0.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    292
    Location:
    Savannah, GA
    Good luck m8, I too hope you don't fry anything!
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  12. pbmaster

    pbmaster New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    Messages:
    2,588 (0.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    292
    Location:
    Savannah, GA
    Oh, one last thing. If that doesn't work and you don't want to push the voltages any higher, lowering the FSB is probably the only other option. Better cooling wouldn't hurt either.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  13. Glitched System New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2007
    Messages:
    212 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    mmmm, bumped it to around 1.380 and the program I was running doesn't have the distorted effect.
     

    Attached Files:

    10 Year Member at TPU
  14. hat

    hat Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    18,451 (4.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,122
    Location:
    Ohio
    Yeah it just needed more power to push that 3.7GHz along, it's quite heavy :rockout:
    Now watch temps to see how it does. You also want to get a program that watches 2 core seperately, most programs from my understanding take an average from the 2 cores. One could be idling around 30C and the next core might be doing all the work at 65C, which is bad, so in that case get better cooling
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  15. pbmaster

    pbmaster New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    Messages:
    2,588 (0.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    292
    Location:
    Savannah, GA
    Oh nice, good to see you got it going.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  16. Richieb0y

    Richieb0y New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2007
    Messages:
    471 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Location:
    The Netherlands Almere
    lol i i hit 3,8 whit my pen D i get the same as u only in game like ArmA i think i going 2 try voltage the same as u
     
    10 Year Member at TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)