1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Intel Planning Six-Core Processor, Will Call it 'Dunnington'

Discussion in 'News' started by zekrahminator, Feb 24, 2008.

  1. zekrahminator

    zekrahminator McLovin

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Messages:
    9,066 (2.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    321
    Location:
    My house.
    Intel is planning on serving a heaping pile of pain to AMD's revenue/stock figures again in a few months, by developing a six-core juggernaut. While AMD is still tweaking on a way to merely get four cores to work in tandem, Intel is hard at work shoving two more cores on one die. This six-core monstrosity will be succeeded by the even beefier Nehalem micro-architecture, which could have up to eight cores on one die. Most of the Dunnington project is still top-secret, but some say that Intel already has most of the hard work done.
    .

    Source: Gizmodo
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  2. beyond_amusia

    beyond_amusia New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2007
    Messages:
    1,140 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    64
    Location:
    Baltimore, Maryland
    :( I want it, lol.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,919 (4.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,642
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Anyone know if this is 1066 fsb or 1333 fsb?
     
  4. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,508 (4.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,120
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    prolly a 1600mhz fsb chip. it's gonna be a B*tch to cool that's for sure. i must have one!
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. Triprift

    Triprift

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2007
    Messages:
    7,185 (2.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    898
    Location:
    Adelaide Australia
    This and then the nehalem amd's in for another bad year baring a miricle.
     
  6. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,508 (4.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,120
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    yeah, but i think they have nvidia cornered this yea in the graphics department.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  7. hat

    hat Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    18,451 (4.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,122
    Location:
    Ohio
    So... is this gonna be a native chip I.E. one six core die?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  8. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,508 (4.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,120
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    HAT...

    :)
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  9. Sh00t1st

    Sh00t1st New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    371 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    25
    Location:
    Austin,Texas
    you all forget amd has already got a 3 core chip, so assuming they have the bugs worked out they could pull an intell and just slap two 3 core chips together. could but i don't think they will.
     
    Last edited: Feb 24, 2008
    10 Year Member at TPU
  10. Sh00t1st

    Sh00t1st New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    371 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    25
    Location:
    Austin,Texas
    i think your pretty much dead on right there. barring some good concepts ideas from nvidia. and lowering of price somewhat. after all they do almost have market control for now which usualy means they make the most profits so they can afford to reduce price to the consumers but have they ?
     
    Fitseries3 says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  11. hat

    hat Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    18,451 (4.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,122
    Location:
    Ohio
    WTF, 3 dies?! So what, Nehalem will be 4 dies? Intel needs to get off thier fat lazy gold-lined asses and actually develop something new.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  12. Ravenas

    Ravenas

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    4,714 (1.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    356
    Location:
    Tennessee
    No one here will need this for a personal PC, this is server type stuff. Your PC will have no idea with what to do with 6 cores, 4 cores are still only functional in a small amount of apps.

    This processor will be used for servers.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  13. Laurijan

    Laurijan

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2007
    Messages:
    2,385 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    439
    Location:
    Oulu, Finland
    Really fast Intels development - a little bit too fast imo..
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  14. Sh00t1st

    Sh00t1st New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    371 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    25
    Location:
    Austin,Texas
    if the game industry would just jump aboard whole heartidly to the multi core concept/the cpu makers have already done it, i think it would be beneficial to us to have that extra power.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  15. hat

    hat Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    18,451 (4.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,122
    Location:
    Ohio
    They didn't DEVELOP anything, they just threw more dies on a single wafer, it seems to be thier favorite thing to do.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  16. Sh00t1st

    Sh00t1st New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    371 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    25
    Location:
    Austin,Texas
    they did progress the technology and manufacturing and core efficiancy, they also upped the number of transistors too. amd was competing but they seem to have just given up
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  17. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,919 (4.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,642
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    1600FSB! You need a 210$ board for these new things.. uggh I hope they release cheap 1600 fsb boards soon
     
  18. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,508 (4.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,120
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    $210 if your lucky. most are upwards of $300 or more.
    they guy who regulates prices should be shot in the face. and that goes for gas prices too. WTF?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  19. Scrizz

    Scrizz

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    Messages:
    3,168 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    529
    Location:
    Florida, US
    sweet benching with that thing
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  20. hat

    hat Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    18,451 (4.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,122
    Location:
    Ohio
    :rolleyes:
    most benchmarks are only single threaded
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  21. Laurijan

    Laurijan

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2007
    Messages:
    2,385 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    439
    Location:
    Oulu, Finland
    Ahh.. Now i know why prime95 doesnt untilize 100% of my Q6600 but only 25% of each core..
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  22. imperialreign

    imperialreign New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,043 (1.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    900
    Location:
    Sector ZZ₉ Plural Z Alpha
    As I stated in the other thread:

     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  23. JacKz5o New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2007
    Messages:
    477 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    99
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Id rather have a very fast 4-core chip than a semi-fast 6-core... maybe thats just me :\
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  24. hat

    hat Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    18,451 (4.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,122
    Location:
    Ohio
    Are you using the multithreaded version?
    If you are, you should see 4 different Prime95 exe's in the task manager, and the all say 25% because they are all utilizing 100% of one specific core, or 25% of the total CPU power.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  25. DonInKansas

    DonInKansas

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    5,105 (1.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,292
    Location:
    Kansas
    But what about those needing e-penis extensions? You forgot about that....:)

    Heh, bring it on...........
     
    10 Year Member at TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)