• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Intel Preps Sub-$150 Core 2 Quad Q7600

Joined
May 23, 2008
Messages
1,391 (0.40/day)
Likes
216
Processor i5 4670K @ 4.5GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte z87x-UD3H
Cooling Cooler Master Glacier 240l
Memory 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance
Video Card(s) Powercolor 7870xt Tahiti
Storage 2Tb Seagate Barracuda + 30GB OCZ Vertex
Display(s) HP 23" 1080p
Case Rosewill Thor
Audio Device(s) on board w/ JVC HA-RX700 (modded) + harmon/kardon 2.1
Power Supply Enermax Revolution 85+ 1050w
Software Win7
#26
As long as you don't want to over clock it to far. I don't think you will get much farther 3.0 on after market cooling (and I would say that is obtamistic).
 
Joined
Nov 21, 2007
Messages
3,684 (1.00/day)
Likes
402
Location
Smithfield, WV
System Name Felix777
Processor Core i5-3570k@stock
Motherboard Biostar H61
Memory 8gb
Video Card(s) XFX RX 470
Storage WD 500GB BLK
Display(s) Acer p236h bd
Case Haf 912
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Rosewill CAPSTONE 450watt
Software Win 10 x64
#27
I'm using an old Q6600. So this Q7000 which has higher clock speed will be faster? Is it?
at stock i'd put my money on our q6600's :), we have 4x the cache. and q6600's are just awesome, still perfectly fine cpu's that handle gaming as well as the newer c2q's as long as your resolution is 1680x1050+ with max settings
 
Joined
Nov 13, 2007
Messages
6,142 (1.67/day)
Likes
1,636
Location
Austin Texas
System Name silen8
Processor Intel i7 7820X Delidded @ 4.64Ghz / 3.1Ghz Mesh
Motherboard MSI X299 Tomahawk
Cooling 240mm Corsair H105 Intake
Memory 32 GB Quad 3434Mhz DDR4 15-16-16-38-300-1T
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 1080 Ti Gaming
Storage 1Tb Samsung 960 Pro m2, 1TB Samsung 850 Pro SSD
Display(s) Dell 24" 2560x1440 144hz, G-Sync @ 165Hz
Case NZXT S340 Elite Black
Audio Device(s) Arctis 7
Power Supply FSP HydroG 750W
Mouse zowie ec-2
Keyboard corsair k65 tenkeyless
Software Windows 10 64 Bit
Benchmark Scores Cb: 2103 Multi, 209 Single, 10450 Timespy - 10150 GPU/11900 CPU, superpi 1M - 7.71s
#28
yeah man... I used to be part of the "cache doesnt make a difference crowd" that is until I saw my e8500 at 4.0Ghz spank a e5200 at 4.5Ghz in superpi.

Granted its not the best indicator or benchmark, but more cache = faster clock/clock than the same architecture with less cache - especially in memory intensive tasks. It wouldn't surprise me that a 3.6-3.7Ghz Q6600 will beat this chip at ~4.0+ghz.
 

wolf

Performance Enthusiast
Joined
May 7, 2007
Messages
5,576 (1.44/day)
Likes
864
System Name MightyX (MITX)
Processor Core i7 4770K @ 4.2ghz
Motherboard Asus Z87i-Pro
Cooling Noctua NH-L12
Memory 16gb DDR3 1600 LP
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX1080 G1 OC
Storage Lots of SSD's
Display(s) AOC AGON AG352QCX
Case Raven RVZ-01
Power Supply SFX 450 G
Mouse Razer Mamba Tournament Chroma
Keyboard Razer Blackwidow X Chroma
#29
Oohhh its an E5400 with a couple of extra cores :)

This should make for one hell of an easy overclocker, big time pity about the cache tho, the 6mb quads do well, but 2/3 less than that ...... owch.
 
Joined
May 23, 2008
Messages
1,391 (0.40/day)
Likes
216
Processor i5 4670K @ 4.5GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte z87x-UD3H
Cooling Cooler Master Glacier 240l
Memory 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance
Video Card(s) Powercolor 7870xt Tahiti
Storage 2Tb Seagate Barracuda + 30GB OCZ Vertex
Display(s) HP 23" 1080p
Case Rosewill Thor
Audio Device(s) on board w/ JVC HA-RX700 (modded) + harmon/kardon 2.1
Power Supply Enermax Revolution 85+ 1050w
Software Win7
#30
yeah man... I used to be part of the "cache doesnt make a difference crowd" that is until I saw my e8500 at 4.0Ghz spank a e5200 at 4.5Ghz in superpi.

Granted its not the best indicator or benchmark, but more cache = faster clock/clock than the same architecture with less cache - especially in memory intensive tasks. It wouldn't surprise me that a 3.6-3.7Ghz Q6600 will beat this chip at ~4.0+ghz.
I agree the cache will make a diference in benchmark like super pi. Put lets face it the difference will be minimal in game or 3dmark between this and a Q9300 or Q9450 if both are clocked at 4.0. There will be a difference but I am under the impression it will be mininal (such as 2 FPS or 300 3dmarks), Because at most resolutions the gpu not the cpu is the bottle neck.
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,279 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,368
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K@4.6GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme6
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR3-1866 9-10-9-27
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX960 STRIX @ 1500/1900
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Corsair 650D Black
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#31
with that little cache, you would have to overclock that sucker to 4.5Ghz to get the same framerates as a 3.8 - 4.0Ghz 12MB cache quad.
Not really, games are realatively cache independent. The difference would be measurable, but not noticeable in actual gameplay. This would definitely be good for other multi-core tasks. I'd take this over something like the $170 E8400 if I was primarily folding or encoding, the 3rd and 4th core would play a bigger role than the extra cache.

Or I could just get the Q8200 NOW instead of waiting for it to be stocked. 2.33GHz, 4MB Cache - €135. Overclock it and bam, cheap quad core.
The problem with the Q8200 is the 7 multiplier, that means to get to 3.6GHz you need a board that can do over 500FSB, which is hard to find and expensive, there are probably only a handful of boards that can do that. With this, 3.6GHz happens at only 266FSB...what board do you know that can't do that?

yeah man... I used to be part of the "cache doesnt make a difference crowd" that is until I saw my e8500 at 4.0Ghz spank a e5200 at 4.5Ghz in superpi.

Granted its not the best indicator or benchmark, but more cache = faster clock/clock than the same architecture with less cache - especially in memory intensive tasks. It wouldn't surprise me that a 3.6-3.7Ghz Q6600 will beat this chip at ~4.0+ghz.
SuperPi has always been a shit indicator of real world performance, look at when the Pentium Ds were beating the Athlon X2s in SuperPi...

I think you are right about the Q6600, or something like a Q9300 even at 3.6GHz. Of course they would have costed more also. This chip is not targetted at people that already have a Q6600. It is aimed that the people that are still clinging to their netburst processors, the P4 or PD people that just want a cheap system, and heard that they need a quad-core to run Vista...

This is going to compete with the x4 810 and X3 720. The street price on the Q7600 should be around $125-130, remember. The street price on the Q8200 is already $150, and this processor will be possitioned at a lower price point.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 30, 2006
Messages
6,374 (1.54/day)
Likes
983
System Name ICE-QUAD // ICE-CRUNCH
Processor Q6600 // 2x Xeon 5472
Memory 2GB DDR // 8GB FB-DIMM
Video Card(s) HD3850-AGP // FireGL 3400
Display(s) 2 x Samsung 204Ts = 3200x1200
Audio Device(s) Audigy 2
Software Windows Server 2003 R2 as a Workstation now migrated to W10 with regrets.
#32
^^ As newtechie says.

****

Look at this another way: quad core is now becoming the "standard" CPU from Intel... beginning with this "celeron" quad. Prices next year once s1156 has taken off will be well under $100.

At 45nm, perfect for a cooler machine, SFF, or HTPC. I would like to stick one of these processors in a Zotac. http://pden.zotac.com/index.php?pag...age_images.tpl&option=com_virtuemart&Itemid=1 Just imagine!

Even though some processor instructions sets are "disabled", it still has all the Q6600 features. So it is a great cpu for anyone wanting to "upgrade" to a quad at a discount. Q6600's are discontinued,

NOTE, Intel wouldnt "disable" feature sets if it was a bad performer. It must be pretty quick... for intel to decide to handicap it for the low-end.
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,279 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,368
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K@4.6GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme6
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR3-1866 9-10-9-27
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX960 STRIX @ 1500/1900
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Corsair 650D Black
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#33
The E5000 series had those instruction sets disable also, I just hope they leave Virtualization enabled with this one...

IMO, they should call this the Penium Quad Core...
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,279 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,368
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K@4.6GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme6
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR3-1866 9-10-9-27
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX960 STRIX @ 1500/1900
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Corsair 650D Black
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#35
$150 is too much for this chip. Sub $100 sounds more reasonable.
As I already said, the processor will be priced lower than $150 when it is released.
 
Joined
Oct 7, 2008
Messages
1,888 (0.56/day)
Likes
142
System Name The Beast
Processor Intel Core i3-2100 @ 3.1GHz
Motherboard Asus P8P67 LE
Cooling Stock
Memory 4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 @ 1600MHz
Video Card(s) 1GB Sapphire Radeon HD4650 Ultimate Edition
Storage 60GB Corsair Force LE, 1TB Samsung SpinPoint F1, 500GB Seagate
Display(s) 22" Samsung T220HD & 19" Acer X193W
Case Corsair Obsidian 750D
Power Supply Corsair HX650W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
#36
Joined
May 23, 2008
Messages
1,391 (0.40/day)
Likes
216
Processor i5 4670K @ 4.5GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte z87x-UD3H
Cooling Cooler Master Glacier 240l
Memory 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance
Video Card(s) Powercolor 7870xt Tahiti
Storage 2Tb Seagate Barracuda + 30GB OCZ Vertex
Display(s) HP 23" 1080p
Case Rosewill Thor
Audio Device(s) on board w/ JVC HA-RX700 (modded) + harmon/kardon 2.1
Power Supply Enermax Revolution 85+ 1050w
Software Win7
#37
I really don't know how you can bash this chip when you have no clue how it will perform. Can you atleast wait untill u have some indication of performance before you start bashing the chip or its price?
 
Joined
Jan 28, 2009
Messages
325 (0.10/day)
Likes
146
System Name Harley
Processor Intel core i7 3820
Motherboard ASRock Extreme6 X79
Cooling NZXT Kraken X60
Memory Geil Enhance Corsa DDR3 1600+ 16GB
Video Card(s) EVGA SuperClocked GTX Titan
Storage OCZ Vertex4 128GB SSD / Toshiba 7200 2TB HDD
Display(s) Crossover 30" 2560x1600
Case CoolerMaster HAF XB - Custom Modded
Audio Device(s) n/a
Power Supply CoolerMaster Silent Pro Hybrid 1300w
Software Win7 64
#38
i would put a few bucks down to say that dual cores out right now by both AMD and Intel would give this new quad a blow for blow battle after overclocks.

(E8400 and up from intel, PII x2's by AMD

not a worthy chip imo if this is priced at anything over $110
 

OnBoard

New Member
Joined
Sep 16, 2006
Messages
3,033 (0.74/day)
Likes
379
Location
Finland
Processor Core i5-750 @ 3.6GHz 1.136V 24/7
Motherboard Gigabyte P55A-UD3, SATA 6Gbit/s & USB3.0 baby!
Cooling Alpenföhn Brocken HeatpipeDirectTouch
Memory Geil Ultra Series 4GB 2133MHz DDR3 @ 1440MHz 7-7-7-24
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 460 1GB OC (mostly stock speeds)
Storage OS: Samsung F3 500GB Games: Samsung F1 640GB
Display(s) new! Samsung P2350 23" FullHD 2ms / Mirai DTL-632E500 32" LCD
Case new! Xigmatek Midgard/Utgard side window with red cathodes, 1x140mm & 3x120mm fans
Audio Device(s) new! ASUS Xonar DG & JVC HA-RX700 headphones
Power Supply Cougar CM 700W Modular
Software Windows 7 Home Premium x64
Benchmark Scores Logitech UltraX Premium & G5 laser v2 + Ulti-mat Breathe X2 for fragging
#39
Sure now they come up with cheap OC:able Quad when I already upgraded my processor... :)

That would have been a fun CPU to play with, although going for Dual to Quad and getting less cache, would have been iffy. So far I've gone up with Duals of E4300 2MB, E7200 3MB and E8400 6MB.

Those who wonder how much cache really affects performance read this:
http://www.madshrimps.be/?action=getarticle&number=1&artpage=4200&articID=945
 

MrAlex

New Member
Joined
May 14, 2009
Messages
99 (0.03/day)
Likes
14
#40
WTF, the Phenom II X4 810 costs £115, and they want to compete with something with lower specifications at a MUCH higher price? Ok I think Intel need to actually open their eyes a bit to see what the competition offers too.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,118 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,546
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#41
treat this as a quad core celeron.

Good temps, good price, great clocking ability (400x13.5 anyone?)


for a budget encoding system or a mid range gaming system, this would rock!

BTW guys cache *does* help with gaming - its around a 10% difference clock for clock, between a 4MB conroe and a 6MB wolfdale - but when you get a bitch like this can should clock 500MHz higher, its irrelevant. (and cheaaaaaaper)
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2008
Messages
5,230 (1.48/day)
Likes
661
Location
IRAQ-Baghdad
System Name MASTER
Processor Core i7 3930k run at 4.4ghz
Motherboard Asus Rampage IV extreme
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 4x4G kingston hyperx beast 2400mhz
Video Card(s) 2X EVGA GTX680
Storage 2X Crusial M4 256g raid0, 1TbWD g, 2x500 WD B
Display(s) Samsung 27' 1080P LED 3D monitior 2ms
Case CoolerMaster Chosmos II
Audio Device(s) Creative sound blaster X-FI Titanum champion,Creative speakers 7.1 T7900
Power Supply Corsair 1200i, Logitch G500 Mouse, headset Corsair vengeance 1500
Software Win7 64bit Ultimate
Benchmark Scores 3d mark 2011: testing
#42
when i see the cpu multiplier i say it is a good cpu for overclocking , and when i see 2M cash i say it is a good cpu which is better than dual cores , but when i see 150$ i say forget it all
 
Joined
Nov 13, 2007
Messages
6,142 (1.67/day)
Likes
1,636
Location
Austin Texas
System Name silen8
Processor Intel i7 7820X Delidded @ 4.64Ghz / 3.1Ghz Mesh
Motherboard MSI X299 Tomahawk
Cooling 240mm Corsair H105 Intake
Memory 32 GB Quad 3434Mhz DDR4 15-16-16-38-300-1T
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 1080 Ti Gaming
Storage 1Tb Samsung 960 Pro m2, 1TB Samsung 850 Pro SSD
Display(s) Dell 24" 2560x1440 144hz, G-Sync @ 165Hz
Case NZXT S340 Elite Black
Audio Device(s) Arctis 7
Power Supply FSP HydroG 750W
Mouse zowie ec-2
Keyboard corsair k65 tenkeyless
Software Windows 10 64 Bit
Benchmark Scores Cb: 2103 Multi, 209 Single, 10450 Timespy - 10150 GPU/11900 CPU, superpi 1M - 7.71s
#43
I agree the cache will make a diference in benchmark like super pi. Put lets face it the difference will be minimal in game or 3dmark between this and a Q9300 or Q9450 if both are clocked at 4.0. There will be a difference but I am under the impression it will be mininal (such as 2 FPS or 300 3dmarks), Because at most resolutions the gpu not the cpu is the bottle neck.
I agree and disagree... games are VERY cache sensitive - even more so than superpi in most cases...

Unless your CPU isn't the bottleneck - i definitely agree with you there - but if we are talking about pure CPU performance i.e. "I wanna get a 5870X2, will my QXXX bottleneck it?" type of performance, then cache makes up to a few hundred MHz worth of difference.

But right now, I mean unless you're running dual cards an E5200 is enough for games.

This chip will definitely be fun to OC - especially if you have a disposable income and a MB that doesnt like anything past 450FSB on a quad. But they could make a M O N S T E R if they released this chip with even 6 MB of cache...

One day Intel will see the light and separate "gamers without a ton of cash" into their own market segment, and release something like this with 12MB of cache. AMD has already something like this with the 720 and 550 chips.
 
Joined
Mar 28, 2007
Messages
2,481 (0.63/day)
Likes
340
Location
Your house.
System Name Jupiter-2
Processor Intel i3-6100
Motherboard H170I-PLUS D3
Cooling Stock
Memory 8GB Mushkin DDR3L-1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1050ti
Storage 512GB Corsair SSD
Display(s) BENQ 24in
Case Lian Li PC-Q01B Mini ITX
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 450W
Mouse Logitech Trackball
Keyboard Custom bamboo job
Software Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores Finished Super PI on legendary mode in only 13 hours.
#44
The E5000 series had those instruction sets disable also, I just hope they leave Virtualization enabled with this one...
Oh, you know they won't.
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,279 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,368
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K@4.6GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme6
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR3-1866 9-10-9-27
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX960 STRIX @ 1500/1900
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Corsair 650D Black
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#45
i would put a few bucks down to say that dual cores out right now by both AMD and Intel would give this new quad a blow for blow battle after overclocks.

(E8400 and up from intel, PII x2's by AMD

not a worthy chip imo if this is priced at anything over $110
This chip would destroy both the E8400 and Phenom II x2 in anything that uses all 4 cores. Encoding, folding, certain games. And in the things that don't, I doubt the performance difference would be noticeable.

WTF, the Phenom II X4 810 costs £115, and they want to compete with something with lower specifications at a MUCH higher price? Ok I think Intel need to actually open their eyes a bit to see what the competition offers too.
You do realize that $150 does not equal £150 right? Expect sub-£100 pricing.

when i see the cpu multiplier i say it is a good cpu for overclocking , and when i see 2M cash i say it is a good cpu which is better than dual cores , but when i see 150$ i say forget it all
Again, this chip will not be $150 on release, even the original source said sub-$150. That means it could be priced at $149 or $50. AMD is forcing compeitive pricing, so you can bet this will be priced reasonably.

Oh, you know they won't.
I'm not too sure, Intel has recieved a lot of heat about VT since XP Mode surfaced and requires it.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,118 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,546
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#46
comments to newtekies posts:

For encoding and rendering, i agree. For gaming i can cite otherwise - i went from a Q6600 with 2x4MB of cache to a wolfdale Xeon with 1x6MB, and my games got faster. Why? cause even those that do support quad cores, still get most of their performance from the first two threads.

Sub $150 indeed - i'm guessing around $130 USD on places like newegg.

I too dont beleive VT will be in there. I just have that feeling it'll be missing on such a budget chip - i stand by my previous comment that this is a quad core celeron
 

naoan

New Member
Joined
Jul 12, 2009
Messages
303 (0.10/day)
Likes
62
System Name AMD?
Audio Device(s) onboard
Software 7 X64
#47
you want a cheap quad? ha!

Propus Athlon II's already available
Written by Peter Scott
Tuesday, 18 August 2009 11:59



Ridiculously low prices


Recession stricken consumers are a rather cashless at the moment, so AMD though it might be a good idea to offer some cacheless quads aimed at the great unwashed.

The new Propus-based Athlon II quad-cores are starting to appear in retail, and in spite of having no L3 cache, they look like incredibly good value.

Take the Athlon II X4 620 for example. It's a 2.6GHz part with 4x512kB of L2 cache and a 95W TDP. Of course, it's a 45nm AM3 part with DDR3 support. Nothing spectacular, apart from the price tag. At £82 it is truly amazing value, as this is practically dual-core money. In case you need a bit more horsepower, you can go for the 2.8GHz Athlon II X4 630, which is currently listed at £99. A quick glance at Intel's quad-core pricing reveals that the cheapest Q8200 at 2.33GHz sells for £115.

We are a bit surprised by the 95W TDP, as we hoped for a bit less. However, if heat is your concern, you can go for the Athlon II X4 600e at 2.2GHz. It has a 45W TDP and you could probably cool it with a stamp sized strip of aluminium foil glued on with a bit of spit.

Some e-tailers are already shipping the new parts, but you'll probably have to wait a few days to buy them in your shop around the corner. You can find the listings here.
source : http://www.fudzilla.com/content/view/15102/1/
 
Last edited:

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,279 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,368
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K@4.6GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme6
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR3-1866 9-10-9-27
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX960 STRIX @ 1500/1900
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Corsair 650D Black
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#48
comments to newtekies posts:

For encoding and rendering, i agree. For gaming i can cite otherwise - i went from a Q6600 with 2x4MB of cache to a wolfdale Xeon with 1x6MB, and my games got faster. Why? cause even those that do support quad cores, still get most of their performance from the first two threads.

Sub $150 indeed - i'm guessing around $130 USD on places like newegg.

I too dont beleive VT will be in there. I just have that feeling it'll be missing on such a budget chip - i stand by my previous comment that this is a quad core celeron
I can't tell the difference between my Xeon and my E6600, despite the Xeon having 2x6MB and the E6600 only have 4MB. I can measure the difference in benchmarks, but I can't tell the difference when actually play the games. Even my E2180 with 1MB does fine in games.

Which is why I say this won't be a bad chip for even gaming. It won't be breaking any benchmark records, but it at a decent clock speed(3.6GHz) it would be hard to tell this processor from a higher end quad during actual gameplay.
 
I

InTeL-iNsIdE

Guest
#49
WTF, the Phenom II X4 810 costs £115, and they want to compete with something with lower specifications at a MUCH higher price? Ok I think Intel need to actually open their eyes a bit to see what the competition offers too.
No you need to open your eyes to the thread $150 not £150 :slap: = £90 (give or take)
 
Joined
Oct 7, 2008
Messages
1,888 (0.56/day)
Likes
142
System Name The Beast
Processor Intel Core i3-2100 @ 3.1GHz
Motherboard Asus P8P67 LE
Cooling Stock
Memory 4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 @ 1600MHz
Video Card(s) 1GB Sapphire Radeon HD4650 Ultimate Edition
Storage 60GB Corsair Force LE, 1TB Samsung SpinPoint F1, 500GB Seagate
Display(s) 22" Samsung T220HD & 19" Acer X193W
Case Corsair Obsidian 750D
Power Supply Corsair HX650W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
#50
WTF, the Phenom II X4 810 costs £115, and they want to compete with something with lower specifications at a MUCH higher price? Ok I think Intel need to actually open their eyes a bit to see what the competition offers too.
I hate when people say "but AMD is cheaper" Maybe so but you have to take into account the new motherboard you will need if you don't want to continue using Intel.