1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Intel Releases 3.60GHz Celeron D 365 Processor

Discussion in 'News' started by malware, Feb 22, 2007.

  1. malware New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    Messages:
    5,476 (1.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Bulgaria
    Intel has added the Celeron D 365 processors to its Celeron D series for desktops. The Celeron D 365 operates at 3.60GHz and it is the highest model of the series. It uses a 512KB L2 cache and supports a 533MHz FSB. Produced with Intel's 65nm manufacturing process, the Celeron D processor also includes the Execute Disable Bit capability. This feature, combined with a supported operating system, allows memory to be marked as executable or non-executable. For additional information visit this page.

    Source: CdrInfo
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  2. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,814 (2.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    547
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    Celeron Ds are still around?? ::faint:: Are these dual core?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. malware New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    Messages:
    5,476 (1.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Bulgaria
    I believe, it's a single core processor.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. C.Ash

    C.Ash New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2007
    Messages:
    204 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Columbia, Missouri
    Uh.. whats the point of making a more powerfull Celeron proccessor? If u want speed, ull just get a Pentium.
     
  5. Xtant25

    Xtant25

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2007
    Messages:
    178 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    Location:
    Tulsa,OK
    yeah all celerons are single cores for now anyway.
     
  6. Ketxxx

    Ketxxx Heedless Psychic

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    11,510 (2.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    Kingdom of gods
    lolz nomatter what they do to Celerons they still suck.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  7. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    23,251 (5.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,203
    Celeron Ds get the job done, I even do some light gaming on mine. When it is overclocked to 3.8GHz it handles any game I throw at it on medium settings, most First Person Shooters run on high with it. At 4.2GHz, which is what I run it 24/7 at, it is even better.

    I am probably in the minority here just in the fact that I actually like Intel's processors, and am not a raging AMD/ATI fanboy, but I am definitely in the minority for liking Celerons.

    Celerons have their flaws, but they are dirt cheap and actually good performers, ever since the Celeron D series came out I have loved them. They finally had enough L2 Cache to be worth while, and with the newer 65nm ones having 512KB, they are very appealing, and very capable, especially for the price. The best part is how far they overclock, the low FSB and very high multiplier are an overclockers best friend. Getting these things over 4GHz on the stock cooler easily is very appealing to me and every one I have had done it.

    They certainly aren't going to win you any performance titles, but they get the job done, and they get it done cheap.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU Crunching for Team TPU
  8. Ketxxx

    Ketxxx Heedless Psychic

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    11,510 (2.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    Kingdom of gods
    Celerons are goob cheap business solutions, but thats it. Start anything marginally demanding, and watch it fall flat on its face :p
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  9. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    23,251 (5.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,203
    Marginally demanding like what? Gaming? I do that just fine on my Celeron D machine. Video/Audio encoding? Do that fine too. Even demanding things do pretty damn well with a Celeron D.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU Crunching for Team TPU
  10. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,814 (2.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    547
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    Ill admit Im an AMD fanboy, but that in no way reflects my original post. Honestly, Ive used Celerons, not the D, on old systems and laptops, and they couldnt do anything but lag lag lag. So, while you may be liking them and in the minority, I personally dont. However, I was just shocked to see they were still around when I thought I read a post that said Intel was discontinuing them.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  11. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    23,251 (5.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,203
    Indeed, I remember that news post also. I think there are plans to phase them out, but I don't expect them to disappear overnight. Intel isn't AMD, they don't just say they are going to drop a processor then stop making it an hour later.

    I'll admit that the old Celerons sucked, and saddly it is a reputation that they were unable to break. The Celeron Ds certainly aren't your grandma's Celeron. The Celeron M is even better, I can't tell you how quickly I would have traded my golden Opteron 148 for a Celeron M rig...
     
    10 Year Member at TPU Crunching for Team TPU
  12. Scavar

    Scavar New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    Messages:
    573 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ft Lauderdale, FL
    The Celeron Ds and Ms sure ate better then the older stuff. I'd rather have a Celeron D over a Pentium 4, or some of the Athlons/64s.

    newtekie isn't lying when he says they OC insanely. My friend jut recently got a Celeron D, and since I had OCing down pat, I was like lets do it. 4.2GHz on the stock cooler running Prime, Orthos, system never crashed. I dont remember the 3dmark06 score though, was like 6000 something /shrug
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  13. Completely Bonkers New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    2,579 (0.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    516
    Celerons are great for boxes. Cheap and as good as a Northwood Pentium with HT off. Plus they can overclock great. For a cheap box... they cant be beat. Got an office needed 1000x PC's? Running office, email, internet? Celeron. Perfect.

    Got an enthusiasts rig. Don't even consider it. Its for another market segment.
     
  14. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    23,251 (5.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,203
    Agreed, I have my Core 2 Duo rig to satisfy my enthusiast side. Enthusiasts can usually afford more than $60 on a processor too.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU Crunching for Team TPU
  15. Zubasa

    Zubasa

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    3,996 (1.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    470
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    I will rather get a Sempy OCed.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  16. tony929292

    tony929292 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2005
    Messages:
    362 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    usa


    celerons are single core no hyperthearding non emt64 or sse3 and sse4 right these r the one dell put in there $399 computer moniter speaker ect package like to years ago right if those r what i am think of why wouldnt you wont 1 they sucked when the non ht p4s came out
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  17. tkpenalty New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,958 (1.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    Australia, Sydney
    ... When will they make Core 2 Celeron?

    I would hope for features like:

    Single core, but with core architecture.
    1MB L2
    All the SSE instructions.
    Execute Disable Bit.

    I think I know why the Celeron OCs so much, its due to the fact that its not very complex. Ocing will produce less heat than a normal Prescott OC.
     
    Last edited: Feb 24, 2007
    10 Year Member at TPU
  18. mullered07

    mullered07 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,648 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    204
    Location:
    UK
    sounds good to me for a "budget" chip as im planning on doing a build for my wife at some point this year (so she can play sims2 :shadedshu ) but saying that you can get a brand new pentium d 820 2x28ghz for £55 so unless this proccy is gonna be at least £15-£20 cheaper whats the point ?

    looks like a good alt to sempron though, 3.6ghz stock speed and 512kb ram, should be able to hit 4ghz on one of these without even breaking a sweat :rockout:
     
  19. mullered07

    mullered07 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,648 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    204
    Location:
    UK
    ps sorry for the double post, but to this poster, at least do your research, celeron d's DO have em64t and sse3 and have done for a while now, not to mention 65nm= lower power better oc capabilitys. also show me a chip that does have sse4 ? none yet there is ssse3 not sse4 yet :slap:
     
  20. tony929292

    tony929292 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2005
    Messages:
    362 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    usa
    that was more of a question i was asking then an comment
    notice i was asking if i was right and i also said if those r the one i am thinking of
    plz dont be so quick to hate until your sure of what some one saying
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  21. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,323 (6.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    I thought Core 2's had SSE4
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  22. mullered07

    mullered07 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,648 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    204
    Location:
    UK
    no core 2 duo's have ssse3 its like an update to sse3 they were going to call it sse4 but didnt as sse4 is yet to come out(not a v informative explanation but i cant remember the reasons behind it, i just know core 2 has ssse3 not sse4), i think the new penryns will have sse4

    i wasnt hating, just stating facts, as what you said looks like a statement, either way you got an answer to your question ;)
     
    Last edited: Feb 24, 2007
  23. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,323 (6.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    So it's more like sse3.5? lol
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  24. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    23,251 (5.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,203
    I believe Celerons(or at least the equivalent in the Core family) are in the works. From what I have heard through the grape vine(I guarantee no accuracy as this is all word of mouth):

    They will be dual core and single core(to compete with the dual core Semprons that are coming out)
    They will be based off both Conroe and Allendale cores.
    The Conroe based Celerons will likely have 1MB L2 Cache.
    The Allendale based Celerons will most likely have 512KB L2 Cache.
    They will have all the SSE Instructions enabled(this has always been true with all celerons to my knowledge)
    The Celerons based off the Allendale core will most likely not have the Execute Disable Bit, only some based off the Conroe core will.
    They will run on the same old 533MHz FSB, but some of the dual-core models might move up to 800MHz.

    The main reasons Celerons overclock so well is because of their high multipliers and their low FSB. The Celeron D that I use to overclock is the 3.2GHz model. It has a 133MHz FSB and a 24 multiplier. That means I just have to raise it to 200MHz FSB to get 4.8GHz, which is pretty easy for most motherboards. Though the problem with that speed is that you really have to give them some voltage to maintain stability, though it is possible on air cooling(mine handles 3.6GHz on a stock Intel cooler), while a speed like that would be unheard of on air cooling from a full Pentium 4/D. However, they do get rather toasty at that speed/voltage, which is where the next trick comes in. Since they have a quarter of the L2 cache as their bigger parents they run cooler, which helps a lot.

    I would love to get my hands on one of these 3.6GHz models. A 27 multiplier means that at a 200Mhz FSB that is 5.4GHz! Though that really might not be attainable on air. So the 3.6GHz model might not be as good since these processors really suffer from lower FSB speeds, even if the clock of the processor is actually higher.

    The absolute best part about them is that they are extremely cheap. My first overclock was on a Celeron, which is maybe why I am partial to them. They are a great place to start for beginners that really don't want to risk a $300+ processor doing something they have never done before.

    Though the Celeron D 360 is already $70, and the Pentium D 805(another processor I love to overclock) is only $75. So the higher end Celeron Ds are rarely a good buy unless I get a super good deal on them.
     
    Last edited: Feb 24, 2007
    10 Year Member at TPU Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)