• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Intel Says Yes to Overclocking, but No to Warranty of Overclocked Death Chips

malware

New Member
Joined
Nov 7, 2004
Messages
5,422 (1.13/day)
Likes
954
Location
Bulgaria
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 G0 VID: 1.2125
Motherboard GIGABYTE GA-P35-DS3P rev.2.0
Cooling Thermalright Ultra-120 eXtreme + Noctua NF-S12 Fan
Memory 4x1 GB PQI DDR2 PC2-6400
Video Card(s) Colorful iGame Radeon HD 4890 1 GB GDDR5
Storage 2x 500 GB Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 32 MB RAID0
Display(s) BenQ G2400W 24-inch WideScreen LCD
Case Cooler Master COSMOS RC-1000 (sold), Cooler Master HAF-932 (delivered)
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic + Logitech Z-5500 Digital THX
Power Supply Chieftec CFT-1000G-DF 1kW
Software Laptop: Lenovo 3000 N200 C2DT2310/3GB/120GB/GF7300/15.4"/Razer
#1
During Computex 2008, Intel said that they'll change their strategy when it comes to overclocking and allowing users to squeeze extra performance from their systems. Overclocking capabilities will be the main feature of Intel's 4 series chipsets, said Eric Mentzer, Intel's vice president and general manager of the Graphics Development Group, in an interview at the Computex exhibition in Taipei. "We spend a lot of time working with our motherboard partners to figure out all the hidden bits inside, helping them figure out how to bring the best out of these platforms," Mentzer said. In the past and sometimes even today Intel used to lock down its chips to prevent them from overclocking, and that's exactly the time when terms like "FSB wall" started to mean something. Now the company is focusing to eliminate all the overclocking obstacles for us, but that will come with the cost of the warranty which won't cover death chips that were overclocked. Now comes the perfect time to ask, how is Intel going to know if my motherboard or CPU were overclocked?

Show full news post
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,122 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,550
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#2
My bet is a bit on the CPU that can only be activated once, and is permanent - if the voltage goes above stock levels, boom, warranty is gone.
 
Joined
Jun 5, 2005
Messages
4,640 (1.01/day)
Likes
415
Location
Toronto, Canada
System Name old school / new school
Processor 3.0e C0 @ 3.6 / e5200
Motherboard p4p800e-dlx / p5q-DLX
Cooling custom water see sig / air
Memory 2x1g oczPC4000EbPl / 2x2g ocz2rpr1066
Video Card(s) 3850AGP / 4890vaporX
Storage 36g raptor+120g wd / wd 1001fals 1tb
Display(s) BenQ / sharpAQUOS LC-37D64U
Case modded antec plusview / generic
Audio Device(s) audigy 2zs / ASUS Xonar HDAV1.3
Power Supply fan/cable modded powerstream 520 / OCZ 700mxsp
Software Xp pro SP2 / VISTA ultimate OEM
#3
i donth think there should be a problem as long as we keep voltages within spec
 
Joined
Oct 20, 2006
Messages
455 (0.11/day)
Likes
41
Location
Hereford, England
Processor Intel Core i5 750
Motherboard Maximus III Formula P55
Cooling Ultima 90i
Memory 4GB Kingston HyperX
Video Card(s) PNY GTX465 @ GTX470 w/ 1280MB vRAM
Storage OCZ Vertex 2E 60GB + 2x1TB Samsung F1
Display(s) Samsung 245B
Case Black Cosmos S
Audio Device(s) Creative Audigy 2ZS
Power Supply Antec NeoHE 550W
Software 7 Ultimate 64bit, OSX
#4
My bet is a bit on the CPU that can only be activated once, and is permanent - if the voltage goes above stock levels, boom, warranty is gone.
But what if you had a crappy PSU or mobo and the vcore spiked for a tiny period, then bam you have no warranty! This sucks though, quite a lot of people will be put off by this...
What about resellers, do you think they will be given devices by intel to tell whether a CPU has been overclocked or not? Or do resellers just send the chips back to intel?
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,122 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,550
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#5
But what if you had a crappy PSU or mobo and the vcore spiked for a tiny period, then bam you have no warranty! This sucks though, quite a lot of people will be put off by this...
What about resellers, do you think they will be given devices by intel to tell whether a CPU has been overclocked or not? Or do resellers just send the chips back to intel?
as an example, my CPU is 1.250v stock (roughly)

If my crapp mobo or PSU put say, 1.40v through it (which i use to run 3.6Ghz)... intel would rightly blame them. Its not intels fault if your house gets struck by lightning, its not their fault if your mobo or PSU dies and kills their CPU.
 

kylew

New Member
Joined
Nov 19, 2007
Messages
604 (0.16/day)
Likes
70
Location
Liverpool
Processor Main: Intel Core 2 Quad Q6700 @ 3.7Ghz / Server: Q6600@ Stock
Motherboard Main: Asus P5E @ Rampage Forumla / Server: P5K Deluxe
Cooling Main: Thermalright 120 Ultra Extreme (8 x 120mm fans inc. PSU + 2 x 92mm fans.) / Server: Stock
Memory Main: 4x2GB Gskill DDR2 1000Mhz / Server: 4x1GB Gskill DDR2 800Mhz
Video Card(s) Main: 2GB 5870 Eyefinity 6 / Server: HD 4850
Storage 8 Internal (SATA) 2 External (USB). Total storage 5.4TB
Display(s) Triple Dell 24" 2408WFP
Case Main: Silverstone TJ07 / Server: Coolermaster Stacker 810
Audio Device(s) Main: Auzentech Xmystique / Server: NI Rig Kontrol
Power Supply Main: Coolermaster Realpower 850w Modular / Server Tagan 600W Modular
Software Main: Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit / Server: Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
Benchmark Scores 3D Mark 06 19.5k 3D Mark Vantage 12.5k Super PI 13.4s
#6
I thought this was standard procedure already? Overclocking is "allowed" and unofficially "supported" but if you break your chip overclocking it, then it's your problem. Considering that with normal levels of overclocking with no too ambitious voltages, it'd be difficult to fry a modern chip anyway. I've pushed over 1.7v through my Q6600 for extended periods of time (air cooled) and it's still running happily with no problems. This is just to stop idiots who don't know what they're doing from breaking stuff and trying to send it back. They aren't going to add something in to the chip that detects voltage and voids the warranty if it goes about its spec, as it doesn't mean you've overclocked. As Will said, a crappy mobo or PSU could push the voltage up. They couldn't put this sort of "lock" on because warranties would be getting voided all over the place without people even knowing. Now, if they put a "lock" on above a certain voltage, that has to be constant for a certain period of time, I wouldn't say that's too much of a problem, ie, chip killing voltages, so the only people who pushed it that high are the record setting benchmarkers who don't care about killing CPUs.
 

tigger

I'm the only one
Joined
Mar 20, 2006
Messages
10,476 (2.44/day)
Likes
1,673
System Name Black to the Core MKIV
Processor Intel I7 6700k
Motherboard Asus Z170 Pro Gaming socket 1151
Cooling NZXT Kraken X61 280mm radiator
Memory 2x8gb Corsair vengeance LPX 2400 DDR4
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon R9 290 4gb ddr5
Storage Patriot Blast 120gb ssd Boot and WD10EADX-22TDHB0 1TB Data
Display(s) Dell 2408WFP 24" 1920x1200
Case Nzxt IS 340
Audio Device(s) Asus xonar dsx pci-e
Power Supply Corsair CX750
Mouse Logitech G502
Software Win 10 Pro x64
#7
Personally,i agree with the no warranty thing.I overclock my cpu knowing full well i could kill it,i agree with intel saying you can oc but no warranty.If i killed my chip i would'nt even try and rma it.

If you had a spike in voltage or a lightning strike well thats just tough luck i guess *shrug*
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,122 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,550
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#8
Despite how moral many of us are, dont forget that we had threads even here on TPU not long ago where someone asked how to kill a video card, so he could get a faster one from RMA.

People DO overclock, obviously, and ask for warranties. I've had people try and return CPU's bought from me saying 'it just died' and they've popped off the heatspreader, killed the CPU, and glued it back on with superglue... i'm sure intel wont find such things amusing.
 
Joined
Sep 26, 2006
Messages
6,957 (1.70/day)
Likes
331
Location
Australia, Sydney
#9
Well the new CPUs from intel on the new socket have a set of contacts on the TOP side of the PCB of the CPU itself, which I think intel will use as a way to read the CPU clock changes (or max voltage/CPU clockspeed values). Normal boards wont be able to have access to those pins...

I do not mind if they dont have warranty on overclocked chips, intel with their excellent fabrication rarely has CPU deaths (most of the time its the motherboard).
 
Joined
Nov 4, 2005
Messages
9,950 (2.25/day)
Likes
2,309
System Name MoFo 2
Processor AMD PhenomII 1100T @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair IV
Cooling Swiftec 655 pump, Apogee GT,, MCR360mm Rad, 1/2 loop.
Memory 8GB DDR3-2133 @ 1900 8.9.9.24 1T
Video Card(s) HD7970 1250/1750
Storage Agility 3 SSD 6TB RAID 0 on RAID Card
Display(s) 46" 1080P Toshiba LCD
Case Rosewill R6A34-BK modded (thanks to MKmods)
Audio Device(s) ATI HDMI
Power Supply 750W PC Power & Cooling modded (thanks to MKmods)
Software A lot.
Benchmark Scores Its fast. Enough.
#10
Intel had a "black box" on most chips to tell on the user.
 

candle_86

New Member
Joined
Dec 28, 2006
Messages
3,914 (0.98/day)
Likes
227
#11
it wont be that hard, a little bit of static cache can do that, enough to record say the fastest clock speed the chip ever ran at. So if its say a 1.8ghz if they find it ran at 1.9 ever they can void it right there, and that is very possible with say 1kb of static ram
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,281 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,381
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K@4.6GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme6
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR3-1866 9-10-9-27
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX960 STRIX @ 1500/1900
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Corsair 650D Black
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#12
I agree with the no warranty thing. As for how they will detect it, I doubt it will be a voltage reading. My guess would be a register on the chip that reads clock speed. It stores the maximum speed the chip has run at, and if a warranty product is sent in and the register says the chip ran above spec(I assume there will be a small amount of lee-way) then they deny the warranty.

I know last time they said this everyone speculated that they would put a fuse on the chip that would blow when the CPU was overvolted for anything more than a few seconds(this would eliminate the voltage spike killing your warranty issue).

I assume a lot of resellers will have to change their CPU return policies because of this, and give themselve time to either send the chip to Intel for testing or test it themselves before shipping out the replacement.

I think this is a good move, personally. I hate people that kill hardware themselves overclocking or whatever, and then send it in for Warranty when they don't deserve it. It makes the prices higher for everyone.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 29, 2004
Messages
967 (0.20/day)
Likes
111
Location
Danville IL
Processor I7 4770k
Motherboard ASUS z87 pro
Cooling Corsair a50
Memory 4x4 gig Gskil aries ddr3 1866
Video Card(s) Gigabyte r280x windforce
Storage intel 520 120 gig ssd
Display(s) 24 inch Asus IPS
Case Cool Master
Audio Device(s) realtek onboard
Power Supply hiper 880
Software win 7 ult
#13
With the Intel chips now its just about impossable to kill one overclocking. Ive overclocked hundreds of intel chips till they actually shut down, no blue screen just shut down. I pushed my Q6600 b3 to 4.4 with 1.7v before she shut down. If its heat related that could happen at stock speeds and could be detected most likely. But your more likely to blow a cap or ruin a mobo rather than a processor. ALLEN
 
Joined
Sep 26, 2006
Messages
6,957 (1.70/day)
Likes
331
Location
Australia, Sydney
#14
With the Intel chips now its just about impossable to kill one overclocking. Ive overclocked hundreds of intel chips till they actually shut down, no blue screen just shut down. I pushed my Q6600 b3 to 4.4 with 1.7v before she shut down. If its heat related that could happen at stock speeds and could be detected most likely. But your more likely to blow a cap or ruin a mobo rather than a processor. ALLEN
Have you seen stock speed Cedar Mills explode? True, that most Intel CPUs these days dont really die unless you did what Wile E did.

One thing I really wish they did is provide that nice copper flower heatpipe cooler for all their mid range CPUs instead of they super high end CPUs.... :( I want one of those!!!
 
Joined
Oct 20, 2006
Messages
455 (0.11/day)
Likes
41
Location
Hereford, England
Processor Intel Core i5 750
Motherboard Maximus III Formula P55
Cooling Ultima 90i
Memory 4GB Kingston HyperX
Video Card(s) PNY GTX465 @ GTX470 w/ 1280MB vRAM
Storage OCZ Vertex 2E 60GB + 2x1TB Samsung F1
Display(s) Samsung 245B
Case Black Cosmos S
Audio Device(s) Creative Audigy 2ZS
Power Supply Antec NeoHE 550W
Software 7 Ultimate 64bit, OSX
#15
What did Wile E do? To be fair I've never ever had a CPU die on me, not even ones I've had for years running at 24/7 overclock! Probably the only component I've never had to return (except maybe a case!)...
 

flashstar

New Member
Joined
Dec 28, 2007
Messages
743 (0.20/day)
Likes
56
System Name Einstein IV
Processor 1090t @ 3.8 Ghz
Motherboard Fatal1ty 990FX Professional
Cooling Swiftech H20 Cooling Kit w/ Apogee XT Rev. 2
Memory 32 GB DDR3
Video Card(s) MSI 260 XT 216 edition
Storage 2x 120gb Sandisk Extreme SSDs, 1x 120 gb Corsair Force 2
Display(s) Samsung BW206
Case Lian-li Lan-cool
Audio Device(s) M-Audio Profire 610
Power Supply Corsair TX-750
#16
Intel is finally unlocking the FSB on all of their chips??

If this is true, then it would mean the biggest change in policy since the PII! :toast:
 

echo75

New Member
Joined
Apr 11, 2008
Messages
456 (0.13/day)
Likes
46
Location
Denmark
System Name Main
Processor Q6700 @ 3.5Ghz (with 1.50 Vcore)
Motherboard P5K
Cooling Xigmatek HDT S1283 (amazing performance)
Memory Corsair 800mhz 4GB @ 864mhz
Video Card(s) Asus 8800GT@ 720/1800/2100,blue Pcb with 92cm Glaciator cooler(4870 still under testing)
Storage Seagate 250GB SATA , 500GB eSATA
Display(s) LG Flatron 19"
Case Antec Designer (modded)
Power Supply Corsair VX 550W
Software Win XP Pro SP2
Benchmark Scores 3Dmark06 = 15,253 for 8800GT, 3Dmark06 = 15,807 for HD 4870
#17
thats nothing new to me, i actually think they have been operating according to those rules all this time, i have never seen anyone who got his CPU replaced after he carlessly fried it by indescriminate overclocking.
 

DaMulta

My stars went supernova
Joined
Aug 3, 2006
Messages
16,159 (3.89/day)
Likes
1,416
Location
Oklahoma T-Town
System Name Work in progress
Processor AMD 955---4Ghz
Motherboard MSi GD70
Cooling OcZ Phase/water
Memory Crucial2GB kit (1GBx2), Ballistix 240-pin DIMM, DDR3 PC3-16000
Video Card(s) CrossfireX 2 X HD 4890 1GB OCed to 1000Mhz
Storage SSD 64GB
Display(s) Envision 24'' 1920x1200
Case Using the desk ATM
Audio Device(s) Sucky onboard for now :(
Power Supply 1000W TruePower Quattro
#18
thats nothing new to me, i actually think they have been operating according to those rules all this time, i have never seen anyone who got his CPU replaced after he carlessly fried it by indescriminate overclocking.
They replaced my QX9650 and I even left de-electric grease on it.
 
Joined
Oct 20, 2006
Messages
455 (0.11/day)
Likes
41
Location
Hereford, England
Processor Intel Core i5 750
Motherboard Maximus III Formula P55
Cooling Ultima 90i
Memory 4GB Kingston HyperX
Video Card(s) PNY GTX465 @ GTX470 w/ 1280MB vRAM
Storage OCZ Vertex 2E 60GB + 2x1TB Samsung F1
Display(s) Samsung 245B
Case Black Cosmos S
Audio Device(s) Creative Audigy 2ZS
Power Supply Antec NeoHE 550W
Software 7 Ultimate 64bit, OSX
#19
They replaced my QX9650 and I even left de-electric grease on it.
:laugh: LOL! Probably thought it was thermal paste or something....
 
Joined
Nov 26, 2007
Messages
303 (0.08/day)
Likes
44
Processor AMD Ryzen R7 1800X
Motherboard Gigabyte AX370 Gaming 5
Cooling 2x ML140, 1x AF140, 2x SP120, 1x AF120 / Cryorig H5 Universal
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengence RGB DDR4 (3466 kit @ 3333)
Video Card(s) Sapphire RX Vega 64 (undervolted)
Storage x1 SanDisk X400 256GB, 1x Samsung 840 EVO 120GB, RAID0: 2x WD 1TB
Display(s) Samsung CF27F398
Case Corsair 760T White
Audio Device(s) Realtek (ALC1120)
Power Supply Corsair AX860
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard Logitech G510s
Software Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
#20
I wonder if they'll keep the multi locked on the new chips then?
 

DaMulta

My stars went supernova
Joined
Aug 3, 2006
Messages
16,159 (3.89/day)
Likes
1,416
Location
Oklahoma T-Town
System Name Work in progress
Processor AMD 955---4Ghz
Motherboard MSi GD70
Cooling OcZ Phase/water
Memory Crucial2GB kit (1GBx2), Ballistix 240-pin DIMM, DDR3 PC3-16000
Video Card(s) CrossfireX 2 X HD 4890 1GB OCed to 1000Mhz
Storage SSD 64GB
Display(s) Envision 24'' 1920x1200
Case Using the desk ATM
Audio Device(s) Sucky onboard for now :(
Power Supply 1000W TruePower Quattro
#21
on the pins and the chips underneath lol I think not.
 

InnocentCriminal

Resident Grammar Amender
Joined
Feb 21, 2005
Messages
6,477 (1.38/day)
Likes
844
System Name BeeR 6
Processor Intel Core i7 3770K*
Motherboard ASUS Maximus V Gene (1155/Z77)
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 16GB Samsung Green 1600MHz DDR3**
Video Card(s) 4GB MSI Gaming X RX480
Storage 256GB Samsung 840 Pro SSD
Display(s) 27" Samsung C27F591FDU
Case Fractal Design Arc Mini
Power Supply Corsair HX750W
Software 64bit Microsoft Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores *@ 4.6GHz **@ 2133MHz
#22
I can't wait to play with a Nehalem based chip.

^^
 

echo75

New Member
Joined
Apr 11, 2008
Messages
456 (0.13/day)
Likes
46
Location
Denmark
System Name Main
Processor Q6700 @ 3.5Ghz (with 1.50 Vcore)
Motherboard P5K
Cooling Xigmatek HDT S1283 (amazing performance)
Memory Corsair 800mhz 4GB @ 864mhz
Video Card(s) Asus 8800GT@ 720/1800/2100,blue Pcb with 92cm Glaciator cooler(4870 still under testing)
Storage Seagate 250GB SATA , 500GB eSATA
Display(s) LG Flatron 19"
Case Antec Designer (modded)
Power Supply Corsair VX 550W
Software Win XP Pro SP2
Benchmark Scores 3Dmark06 = 15,253 for 8800GT, 3Dmark06 = 15,807 for HD 4870
#23
They replaced my QX9650 and I even left de-electric grease on it.
count yourself lucky, that was an exception not a rule, so dont bank on it.

i personally would prefer it that they take no responsibility but dont lock up the chips allowing for overclocking than if they lock up all the chips!
 
Joined
Oct 20, 2006
Messages
455 (0.11/day)
Likes
41
Location
Hereford, England
Processor Intel Core i5 750
Motherboard Maximus III Formula P55
Cooling Ultima 90i
Memory 4GB Kingston HyperX
Video Card(s) PNY GTX465 @ GTX470 w/ 1280MB vRAM
Storage OCZ Vertex 2E 60GB + 2x1TB Samsung F1
Display(s) Samsung 245B
Case Black Cosmos S
Audio Device(s) Creative Audigy 2ZS
Power Supply Antec NeoHE 550W
Software 7 Ultimate 64bit, OSX
#24
on the pins and the chips underneath lol I think not.
well maybe u spilt some who are they to tell where you can put thermal paste :laugh: but seriously what were they thinking? and how come you didnt clean it off before you sent it back?
 

kylew

New Member
Joined
Nov 19, 2007
Messages
604 (0.16/day)
Likes
70
Location
Liverpool
Processor Main: Intel Core 2 Quad Q6700 @ 3.7Ghz / Server: Q6600@ Stock
Motherboard Main: Asus P5E @ Rampage Forumla / Server: P5K Deluxe
Cooling Main: Thermalright 120 Ultra Extreme (8 x 120mm fans inc. PSU + 2 x 92mm fans.) / Server: Stock
Memory Main: 4x2GB Gskill DDR2 1000Mhz / Server: 4x1GB Gskill DDR2 800Mhz
Video Card(s) Main: 2GB 5870 Eyefinity 6 / Server: HD 4850
Storage 8 Internal (SATA) 2 External (USB). Total storage 5.4TB
Display(s) Triple Dell 24" 2408WFP
Case Main: Silverstone TJ07 / Server: Coolermaster Stacker 810
Audio Device(s) Main: Auzentech Xmystique / Server: NI Rig Kontrol
Power Supply Main: Coolermaster Realpower 850w Modular / Server Tagan 600W Modular
Software Main: Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit / Server: Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
Benchmark Scores 3D Mark 06 19.5k 3D Mark Vantage 12.5k Super PI 13.4s
#25
Despite how moral many of us are, dont forget that we had threads even here on TPU not long ago where someone asked how to kill a video card, so he could get a faster one from RMA.

People DO overclock, obviously, and ask for warranties. I've had people try and return CPU's bought from me saying 'it just died' and they've popped off the heatspreader, killed the CPU, and glued it back on with superglue... i'm sure intel wont find such things amusing.
An important point though is that what if your CPU dies due to reasons not related to overclocking? Is it immoral to RMA your CPU? That's where the issues lie I think.